Kevin Gaussoin's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicsOnline Reviews: 44
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8
Amazing Spider-Man (2022): Gang War: First Strike #1

Nov 29, 2023

So now Spider-Man needs a team but hes hacked off all his friends, or has he?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crave (2023) #1

Nov 28, 2023

Don't mind me, Ill just be here biting my lip, anxiously waiting until the next issue comes out. I know Ill be asking for Crave issue two‘s B cover…

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2022) #10

Aug 30, 2023

This series of Deadpool seems to be over, but does this mean a reset or will the next Deadpool series pick up with more of the delight that Alyssa Wong has brought us? 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dungeons & Dragons: Saturday Morning Adventures (2023) #1

Mar 29, 2023

The art in Dungeons and Dragons: Saturday Morning Adventures is appropriately cartoony, but with additional texture afforded by modern color techniques. The pacing and action evoke the original cartoon perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four (2022) #6

Apr 12, 2023

Im ready for Fantastic Four issue 700 already. The cliffhanger at the end of Fantastic Four 699 seemed a little out of character to me, but Im going to trust that the creative team that has given us such a wonderfully fun ride thus far is going to really pay off next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Golgotha Motor: Mountain (2024) #1

Jan 18, 2024

Golgotha Motor Mountain probably wouldnt have been on my list, but after multiple readings, I realize that there may very well be a seriously good horror story here. Ill reserve that pronouncement until at least the second issue, but Ill let you know.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hack / Slash: Back To School (2023) #2

Nov 22, 2023

From the mind that brought youIts Lonely at the Center of the Earth,Writer/Artist Zoe Thorogood continues to deliver nail biting stories that capture the attention of my ADHD riddled brain. Now she's taking on the world of Hack/Slash created by Tim Seeley and Stefano Caselli. From her artistic talents to her writing style, she kept me wrapped around the pages, never ready for what came next.I couldn't be more excited to see what comes out of a fellow Zoes twisted, colorful mind. Keep an eye out for this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal X-Men (2022) #16

Oct 5, 2023

As eye-rollingly absurd as some components are, this story really seems to be turning back around.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Kill More (2023) #1

Aug 4, 2023

What happens when the worse that humanity has to offer is left relatively unchecked? We had the opportunity to review this first issue out in advance, and the best way we can describe this new story is brutally intense. If you are looking for a new comic outside of the superhero genre that features a horror twist, then this one is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Luke Cage: Gang War (2023) #1

Nov 29, 2023

Where do we go from here? Heroes for Hire? Marvel Knights 2024?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Midlife (Or How to Hero at Fifty) #3

Dec 6, 2023

Hot to read this issue? I'm already ready for next month. And my own powers. Yep. Ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midlife (Or How to Hero at Fifty) #5

Feb 20, 2024

At the end of Midlife (or How to Hero at Fifty!) Issue Five Now that Ruben has acted, now that weve learned about Detective Green, now that the stakes are raised Are you ready for the last issue of volume one coming up next month?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rare Flavours (2023) #1

Sep 20, 2023

Rare Flavours #1 is devilishly delicious. Ram V and Filipe Andrade cook up a tale worthy of Gaiman or Bourdain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rare Flavours (2023) #2

Oct 24, 2023

Rare Flavours is devilishly delicious. Ram V and Filipe Andrade turn up the heat on a tale worthy of Gaiman or Bourdain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rare Flavours (2023) #4

Feb 28, 2024

From soup to nuts, Rare Flavours is devilishly delicious. Ram V and Filipe Andrade continue to cook up a tale worthy of Gaiman or Bourdain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She-Hulk (2022) #13

May 17, 2023

Look, Rowell, I guess we dont need Jen talking to the audience like back in the Byrne days, but her fans have been through a lot lately with her time in the Avengers books, so pretty please lets not hose the sweet thing she has with Jack by interjecting this smarmy Scoundrel to a degree that ruins their relationship. While Im making demands, Id love a bunch of courtroom drama too. Please and thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sins of Sinister (2023): Dominion #1

Apr 26, 2023

Dear Marvel, please dont fail us by ending the Krakoan Age of Marvel mutants. I want to keep buying the stories of the characters I love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sons of Star Trek (2024) #1

Mar 12, 2024

Im already looking forward to the rest of this 4-issue story.So join us on this trip into a previously unvisited alternate Trek reality with the Sons of Trek and enjoy a Star Trek universe that might have been, you know, with maybe less murder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Punk: Arms Race (2024) #1

Feb 28, 2024

While Cody Ziglars youthful dialogue can lean a bit forced, the narration and immediately apparent individuality in character personalities are a treat. Justin Masons art features plenty of fluid movement in action sequences. The large and splashy panels on some pages really work to grab a readers attention. With gritty coloring from Morry Hollowell, this post-disaster world is fully recognized. Travis Lanham also throws in some talented lettering.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Woman (2023) #1

Nov 29, 2023

I don't recognize Steve Foxe or any of this Spider-Woman #1 creative team, but they had big shoes to fill, and so far I'm really digging it. Does Carola Borelli's art in this issue remind anyone else of Bill Willingham meets Ryan Ottley?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Dog of War #1

Apr 5, 2023

As for Mike Chens writing, The story fits, the voices fit, and Im ready for issue two already. How will these events affect the Federations war with the Dominion? I cant wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Dog of War #3

Jun 6, 2023

Dog lovers and Deep Space Nine enthusiasts will continue to love this series. It's so good you may want to go back and watch DS9 season 6 all over again just like we did. The characterization and tone in story, dialogue, and visual representation continues to be spot on with the original series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Dog of War #4

Jul 7, 2023

Were looking forward to the finale of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – The Dog of War #5!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: Deep Space Nine - The Dog of War #5

Aug 1, 2023

Now the only two questions remain: How long will we have to wait to see another such Deep Space Nine miniseries from Mike Chen? And who is gonna get me a copy of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – The Dog of War #5 with the photo cover?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: Defiant (2023) #15

May 29, 2024

And the next one is going to be an epic battle. See you there. Qapla'!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Trek: Picard's Academy (2023) #1

Sep 12, 2023

That said, this is a fun little romp that looks like its for kids but doesnt eschew swear words. And its Star Trek. And it has Boothby and Professor Galen. AndSpock? Okay, Im in. I gotta read Star Trek: Picard Academy #2 to find out where this cliff hanger goes. LLAP until next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stuff of Nightmares (2022): Slay Ride #1

Dec 6, 2023

R.L. Stine has a way of pulling you into his nightmare and hes still giving me Goosebumps. If you enjoyed his fantastic thrillers in the 90s, you are going to love how his nightmares come alive in the comic book world. Artist Pius Bak continues to ooze talent through his illustrations, the dark shadowing created dramatic tension and a plentiful nightmarescape in which colorist Frances Segalas monster ink deposits blood-thick sentiments that hold you in horror, with flights of fear. From the writing to the illustrations, this killer teams tale of terror sent shocks of adrenaline while eliciting a sense of nostalgia. Stuff of Nightmares: Slay Ride #1 is a great stocking stuffer to be on the lookout for this holiday season, just take the foot out first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
TerrorWar (2023) #1

Apr 19, 2023

The premise of TerrorWar is an alluring one. I will absolutely be adding this to my pull list. I can't wait to see how the story about Blue City unfolds. The only surviving city on Earth? I think not!  Im excited to read how Eisner winning writer, Saladin Ahmed will tell the tale of Blue City. Is it the jewel in the darkness or is it one jewel in an infinity gauntlet?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Cull (2023) #1

Aug 15, 2023

How many humans? Is this only 5 issues because its just a horrific tragedy and reminder to not eff with extra dimensional beasts even if they did kidnap/eat your kid brother because you will only make it far worse, you idiot teenagers? I dunno, but I love it so far. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Cull (2023) #2

Sep 12, 2023

So are we going to move on? Okay, fine. Were in. The Cull is staying on top of my to-read list because the art is just so damn great and not all of the characters are idiots. Theyve got three more issues to make up for the eye rolling elicited by the middle of this sophomore installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Cull (2023) #3

Oct 11, 2023

This comic is too good to be this quick. This comic is too good to be this brutal. This comic will win so many awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Last Barbarians (2023) #4

May 17, 2023

One of the main reasons I will be continuing to pursue The Last Barbarians is that the stunning cover art matched the interior, which can make or break a comic for me as a reader. The story and art sucked me in and took me on a magical ride filled with meet, eat, and retreat. I found myself quickly attached to this story. I enjoy all the spell casting, Plaguer magical zombies, panda people, and magical mystical children. Dyke can color me intrigued; definitely grab this issue!  I highly suggest adding this book to your pull list.  With The Last Barbarians‘ fourth issue ending on such a knockout cliffhanger, I will certainly be grabbing issue #5. I don't want to spoil it: go get your own!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Rocketeer (2023): In The Den Of Thieves #1

Jul 18, 2023

The Rocketeer in the Den of Thieves #1 attempts to reward Cliff, Betty, and Peevey the life they deserve and have earned, but unavoidably pulls them back into the airborne danger. This book teases more than it delivers, but does so to great effect. The disastrous potential of Howard Hughes dream turned nightmare is on display as Nazis travel undetected, and with our heroes turned flightless, there is no one equipped to stop them. What will they do?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sandman Universe: Nightmare Country: The Glass House #3

Jun 12, 2023

So at the end of The Sandman Universe Nightmare Country The Glass House 3 we have Thessaly joining the story. The Corinthian is leashed to Madison, but with this added wrinkle, how long will that last? Will Max be able to free his unholy holy sweetheart? What will we learn about The Smiling Man? What nightmares still await us until then?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Seasons Have Teeth (2023) #1

Apr 12, 2023

Really, this issue was a perfect sonnet of horror by itself, but no, there are more issues to come. Im already simultaneously afraid and thrilled. And thats why

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Seasons Have Teeth (2023) #2

May 12, 2023

This series continues to be horrifying in simple real world human ways by telling a story set in a fantasy world where huge season monsters kill and destroy. The Seasons Have Teeth is perfectly horrifying and I simultaneously fear the end and cant wait for the next two issues, like life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Seasons Have Teeth (2023) #3

Jun 27, 2023

This series continues to be horrifying in simple real world human ways by telling a story set in a fantasy world where huge season monsters kill and destroy. The Seasons Have Teeth is perfectly horrifying and I simultaneously fear the end and cant wait for the final season, like life. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimate Invasion (2023) #1

Jun 21, 2023

I wasn't sure I wanted 1610 back after all these years. We got to keep Miles, so what more did we need? I think we're about to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Spider-Man (2024) #1

Jan 10, 2024

Before we wrap up, I also need to mention the art of Ultimate Spider-Man specifically. Marco Checchetto is an ideal choice for developing a band new Ultimate Marvel Universe. Checchettos art style is simultaneously comic-standard, realistic, and pays appropriate homage to artists who have come before. I really hope he sticks around on this book for years. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Werewolf by Night (2023) #1

Sep 13, 2023

THRILL to the exploits of the daring duo as an army of undead, pseudo-dead, and beyond dead creatures of nightmare try to stand up to the combined assault of a chick with a shotgun and a man so angry about being named after a terrier that he periodically turns into the most yoked version of one imaginable! SHUDDER at the fate of the girl they were supposed to help who kind of got lost in the tide of their captioned quippery! CHUCKLE at Jack's dejection when his intentions of getting a little post-action wind-down nookie are derailed when Elsa realizes the awful truth that comic book Jack isnotGael Garcia Bernal, but is instead one of the few men who actually LOSES hair when he transforms into a lycanthrope!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
What If...? Venom (2024) #1

Feb 28, 2024

After a vicious cycle of amnesia riddled nighttime play and exhausted work days, She Hulk's new symbiotic lifestyle transforms her into the homeless Central Park boogeyman. Who is the little birdie that sent Sabertooth and his screeching belt? What does Jake Lockleys appearance under the Moonlit Knight mean for our hulking beauty? How will the boss in Chinatown react to Wolverines snikt snikt SNIKT and piercing questions?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Force (2019) #45

Oct 5, 2023

X-Force has taken what were often cheap flat characters in unending overmuscled sexy action poses and gotten various lineups of the band back together with greater depth of character than ever before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2021) #27

Oct 5, 2023

This issue also has some great scenes with Juggernaut and Firestar and ends with just the right amount of tension. You're gonna be eager for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Before The Fall (2023): Sinister Four #1

Jul 5, 2023

X-Men: Before the Fall The Sinister Four gives us a look back at the relationship between the original Nathaniel Essex and his Rebecca, and shows us why Doctor Stasis is how he is and how he and Mother Righteous feel about each other now after multiple lifetimes since their original selves were together. How will that shake out? And what of the dude in the ball? Is he the greatest Essex clone or is that just my opinion, man?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More