Strikeforce #5

Writer: Tini Howard Artist: Jacopo Camagni Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: January 8, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 8
8.0Critic Rating
7.2User Rating

+ Pull List

GHOST IN THE MACHINE!
Someone is tinkering with the boundaries between life and death - or human and machine. This team has dealt with undead before, but death is due an upgrade. And no one is prepared for this digital revolution!
Rated T+

  • 8.0
    Beyond The Panel - Jideobi Odunze Jan 9, 2020

    They didn't tell a lie, no one was prepared for this digital revolution. Strikeforce #5 was playing with fire between the use of Ghost and messing around with the clashing of science and magic, but the effort paid off by the end. At the end of the day, impossible situations like this is exactly what this team signed up for in the first place. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Aguilar Jan 8, 2020

    This isn't the strongest issue of the series thus far, but it's another delightful example of how entertaining this team can be, and that's perfectly fine with me. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Seren Jan 12, 2020

    Bit of an abrupt turn, but i feel like this is setting up a double cross by Hellstrom. I also loved seeing Monica kick all the ass this issue and when Tini starts to explore Death, you know you're in for a good story. Can't wait for the next issue.

  • 6.5
    Ryan Jan 8, 2020

    I have a feeling Strikeforce 5 will read a lot better in trade, but for a story with so many layers and elements, it just gets so confusing when there’s a whole month in between issues. I was honestly very confused and I’m considering dropping this title and just waiting for the trades. Beautiful art though

  • 6.5
    UW Jan 18, 2020

    Hmm, just when I had gotten fully on board this issue takes an unexpected, and not intensely interesting turn. It’ll probably be fun to see how the two disparate plots will combine further down the line but it feels a bit jarring at this stage.

    It also threw me that Jessica never offered advice on how to take down Ghost based on her previous history with the character. In fact it came over like she had no knowledge of him at all, and there were no clues to suggest this was on purpose rather than an oversight, which is disappointing either way.

    The new artist wasn’t too distracting but I hope we get back to Peralta as I like consistency.

  • 5.0
    YourGreenMuse Jan 10, 2020

    Uh, this was fine? Very weird.

  • 9.0
    Billyndo Jan 8, 2020

  • 8.5
    Grifter Jan 9, 2020

  • 7.5
    Adsun22 Jan 10, 2020

  • 6.5
    Radar Jan 9, 2020

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More