Alex K Cossa's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 119
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
4001 A.D. #1

May 8, 2016

Valiant‘s summer event is off to a cracking start, and I can't wait to see how it proceeds in the coming weeks and months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #2

May 30, 2016

4001 A.D #2, to quote a famous fictional character, belongs in a museum art gallery. It is an absolutely visual treat with some of the best artwork you're likely to see in a comic until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
4001 A.D. #3

Jul 31, 2016

Thankfully, 4001 A.D. #3is as well written as it is drawn, with the comic moving along at an incredible pace (although when the art looks this good, you may want to stop and sniff the roses every now and then).4001 A.D.has been a fantastic read,and I'm really intrigued by the events in this issue (that I won't tell you about – because you should read it). 30-ish days will be a long wait to the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
4001 A.D. #4

Aug 31, 2016

Between Divinity II and this series, Matt Kindt has written some of the best comics I've read all summer, and his conclusion to 4001 A.D. solidifies the story as one of my favourite event style stories I've read in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 9, 2016

If you're reading 4001 A.D.this tie-in has a window into the consequences ofFather‘s actions (he's dismantling New Japan – a sattelite country that orbits the Earth), and is certainly worth a look.If you're not following4001 A.D.you should still read this comic; it's probably the best4001 A.D.comic released so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 4, 2016

Houser and Roberts have come together to co-write a comic that introduces some pretty interesting new characters to theValiantUniverse, and I hope that we see more of them going forward; and depending on the reception to this comic, I think that could be likely in the coming months and years.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 5, 2016

If War Mother is the future of Valiant, then based on this comic, the future is incredibly bright.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #3

May 10, 2016

A&A #3 is one of the most entertaining comics you'll read this month, but there's more to this issue (indeed, this series), than the surface would show you. WatchingArmstrong's emotional attachment to his booze is something that will actually make sense about half way through the issue. Despite the fun here, there's a deeper message to be gleaned from the comic's pages, and one that I may be interpreting entirely wrong " I may also be seeing something that isn't there, but at the end of the day, what you take from a comic is entirely down to you, and for me A&Ahas been a brilliant story that reminds me not that anything can be important to somebody no matter what others may think of that item.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #4

Jun 15, 2016

A&A: The Adventures Of Archer And Armstrong #4 is an absolutely phenomenal comic, and a brilliant end to the first arc in the current series. Read this, or jump on for #5, either way this simply must be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #5

Jul 21, 2016

Pick this up before you leave your local comic shop next time you're in. you'll not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #6

Aug 10, 2016

The entire issue is a fantastic middle finger to the type of by the numbers storytelling that can be commonplace in comics, but it's a bird that's flipped with love " and I enjoyed every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #7

Sep 6, 2016

There isn't much more for me to say about this issue (but there is a talking bear!), other than I really hope you go out and start reading this series. Whether you begin with this arc or not, when you pick up A&Abe prepared to find your new favourite comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #8

Oct 5, 2016

If you're looking for a new series to add to your pull list, then look no further. This is one of Valiant's best titles right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #9

Nov 12, 2016

Not the best comic in the series, but it's still one I enjoyed more than most of the other comics I read this week. Take that however you want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 10, 2016

With only two more issues leftRoberts doesn't have to worry as much about attracting new readers, and instead gets to tell a pretty off the wall story that's a breath of fresh air. It'll be a shame when this series ends, but I'm going to cherish every issue till then.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #11

Jan 4, 2017

Although A&A #11 doesn't really add anything new to the formula that's been followed so far in the previous ten issues, what we do get is a comic that's nothing short of entertaining from cover to cover; this isn't the time to reinvent the wheel, this is the time to deliver a great comic " and that's exactly what fans of this iteration of A&A are getting here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12

Feb 1, 2017

As a concluding issue, this really was everything I could have hoped for. The art was awesome, and the dialogue witty and on point. To say I'll miss this series would be an understatement, but at least it ended with a great bloody bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #2

Apr 28, 2016

If you've never played an Assassin's Creed game, or read one of the other comics being published by Titan, then don't worry. While it certainly helps if you have some background to the universe, it's not required for you to enjoy this series. If you're a fan of the AC universe, or characters like the Shadow, then this is a series that you're going to want to get in on from the ground floor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Batman #5 is strong conclusion to an arc that has certainly had its problems, but none big enough to hamper one's enjoyment of the story "including within this issue " but we're getting a different version of Batman than we have in the last few years,which when combined with the moments of brilliance within the series so far more than compensates for the odd crack in the wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 27, 2016

Bloodshot USA #1 isn't about balls-to-the-wall action, but rather getting the reader engrossed in a zombie-style story as onlyValiantcan do – and that it does exceedingly well. If the publisher's track record is anything to go by, you'll want to pick this series up. It's going to be bloody, brilliant, and well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #2

Nov 26, 2016

Bloodshot USA #2wasn't a perfect issue, but it was good enough for me to tune out the world for twenty minutes, and that's all I ever wanted in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot U.S.A. #3

Dec 23, 2016

WasBloodshot USA #3the finest issue in the miniseries so far? In a nutshell, yes it absolutely is. It's a page turner from start to finish, and it's not bloody long enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot U.S.A. #4

Jan 26, 2017

Bloodshot USA is one of the highlights of the Bloodshot story so far, and a large part of that is this conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 23, 2017

It's just not required reading if you're already invested in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #14

Jun 27, 2016

This is a typically solid start to an arc, which is what you can usually expect fromValiant, but I've noticed that some (perhaps too many) of Valiants arcs tend to havea strong start tapering off to a slightly weaker ending, so I'll keep my expectations lower for now. However the story ends, though, this is a great jumping on point if you're curious about ol' Bloodshot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot: Reborn #15

Jul 14, 2016

Bloodshot Reborn #15 is an excellent second chapter in Bloodshot Island, surpassing the first with ease on every level; the entire issue was a joy to read from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #16

Sep 1, 2016

Bloodshot Reborn #16 is one of, if not the, best comic so far in the series. Lemire is firing on all cylinders, with the plot getting very interesting, and his dialogue between the newest Bloodshot and Bloodhound being a particular highlight. But it's the art from Mico Suyan and colourist David Baron that steals the show yet again. The comic is quite possibly one of the best on the racks this week, rivaled only by Valiant's 4001 A.D. #4, and is a pleasure to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #17

Sep 28, 2016

Bloodshot Reborn #17is, so far at least, the best comic I've read this week (and I'm about 80% through my stack), which,honestly doesn't surprise me. However, if you're new to the series, this isn't the place to start – either wait for the trade containingThe Analogue Manand start there or look forBloodshot Reborn #1,otherwise you'll be a little lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #18

Oct 9, 2016

Don't get me wrong this is a good issue – and the art is superb – but it's not exactly a comic that's a must read in terms of additional story content.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #1

Sep 28, 2016

The rest of the comic is decent, if unspectacular. And I think that's the biggest gripe I have here; nothing is done poorly, but itnor does ever really threaten to be anything other than decent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Aug 26, 2016

What we do get is quite enjoyable, and all the elements are in place for a great story, butthey neverquitecome together.Blue Beetle Rebirth #1 isn't a bad comic, but it's not the best to have come out ofRebirth,either. Here's hoping we have a series that gets better with every issue because the potential of the comic is just beneath the surface – and it's huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Britannia #1

Sep 21, 2016

For a comic that's achieved a significant amount of hype over the past few months, even going so far as to sell out of the first printing at the distributor level, you'd be forgiven forexpectingthe comic to fail to meet the buzz that's been building around it – but that's not the case here;Valiant‘sprestige format miniseries supposedly featuresa better quality of printed comic, which was certainly the case withDivinity II, but the review pdf that I have access to obviously doesn't allow me to judge that side of things (I'll update the review once I've picked up the physical copy my comic shop has for me).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Britannia #2

Oct 12, 2016

With Britannia #2,Peter Milligan delivers a comic far removed from the superhero fare that fills many of the racks at your local comic shop, but it's also far better than most of those comics.We're halfway through the miniseries now, and I've loved every page so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #3

Nov 16, 2016

It's not often I find myself enjoying a horror-tinged comic as much as I have been withBritannia, and I can't recommend it highly enough to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #4

Dec 14, 2016

Britanniawas quite unlike anything I expected going in, and I bloody loved every page. Another home run from one of the best comic book publishers around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Conan the Barbarian Annual #8

Feb 10, 2017

Even having never read a Conan The Barbariancomic from whenMarvelheld the licence, I still found this to bean enjoyable comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #1

Jul 11, 2016

Conan The Slayer #1is ideal for those who have a passing interest in the Cimmerian; the comic opens with an effective display of how dangerous Conan is, before taking a more self-reflective and introspective tone (well, as far as Conan gets, anyway). The comic is well paced, and the story doesn't feel as though it's crammed into the pages given (or stretched out to make page count), rather it strikes a fine balance between the two. Now while the issue more than stands alone on it's own merits, it also succeeds in making me want to come back for more next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deadpool: The Duck #1

Jan 4, 2017

The only issue I have is how long it takes from the initial set up of the joining of Howard andDeadpool to the act itself – we clearly know it's going to happen, so why take your time doing it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dishonored #1

Aug 7, 2016

Overall this is a solid start to the miniseries, reintroducing you to the world of Dunwall, or giving you just enough to get you hooked, but its not spectacular – yet. Stick with the series, though, because I have a feeling that's going to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity II #1

Apr 24, 2016

Divinity IIstarts stronger than the previous series did, and I can't wait to see how this story plays out over the next three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Divinity II #2

May 27, 2016

In a summer where both DC and Marvel are putting out some heavy hitting event stories Valiant are on pace to deliver the best of them all with Divinity II.To say that I am absolutely loving this series would be a bit of an understatement; even only two issues in there has been so much to enjoy.Divinity IIis reminding me why I love comics all over again, and I can't get enough of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity II #3

Jun 22, 2016

If you're not reading Divinity II, I genuinely feel sorry for you. You're missing out on the best comic of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity II #4

Jul 29, 2016

I may not have wanted a sequel to Divinity, but I'm sure glad that I got one. This is a book that only gets better with each read through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Divinity III: Aric, Son of the Revolution #1

Jan 18, 2017

For X-O fans this is bordering on a must-read comic, for those reading the main series, you'll want to check this out for the moment mentioned above, and for the rest of you? Well, that's on you. This is a well written, wonderfully illustrated one-shot comic from one of the most exciting publishers around right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 15, 2017

As a tie-in comic this is pretty good, but when you read this as an Archer and Armstrong comic then itwill reinforce everything you thought you knew about the characters in a story that'll make you want to read it several times over.Rahal‘s understanding of the two unlikely heroes is awesome, and really comes across in the story – if he were given a shot at an ongoing series featuring Archer and Armstrong then I'd be all over that like sprinkles on a donut.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Divinity III: Komandar Bloodshot #1

Dec 28, 2016

But, let's be honest, this comic is not required reading for your enjoyment o fDivinity III. That doesn't mean it isn't worth your money, though, and will give you a deeper understanding of the character in this universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Divinity III: Shadowman #1

Feb 8, 2017

Of the three tie-ins released so far in conjunction with Divinity III, this is the only one that I feel genuinely adds to the story as a whole; the others are good comics, dont get me wrong, but if you didnt read them then youre not missing anything integral to the story (of course were only two issues into the main arc, so things could easily change). If youre reading Divinity III, then youre going to want to get your hands on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #1

Dec 23, 2016

As a first issue, this comic is pretty much perfect.Without a doubt, this isValiant‘s best comic of the year – don't be surprised when you see this bringing home the awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse #2

Jan 25, 2017

I just can't accurately convey how awesome this comic is; the creative team are on one hell of a streak with this series, andDivinity III #2is another brilliant chapter in what's shaping up to be one of the best event stories of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Divinity III: Stalinverse #3

Feb 23, 2017

With only one issue left in this miniseries, I can't wait to see how Matt Kindt is going to wrap this up (I was going to say I wasn't sure he'd be able to, but… I'd be lying if I said I didn't trust the man to wrap this story up with a single issue).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith #1

Jul 19, 2016

Add this series to your pull list and find out whyyou should be reading this comic; becauseit's the kind of comic that all superhero fans should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith #2

Aug 23, 2016

I used thisJody Houser quote in my review of the first issue, but it's a great quote, so I'll end with it today: “[Faith] represents a group of people not featured in comics very often is important, but its not the most interesting thing about her. People want to see themselves in comics, but they dont want to see a character who is just one aspect of themselvesthey want to see a fully-fledged person.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith #3

Sep 15, 2016

If you read comics, or you're involved in geek culture in anyway, then this is the series for you. Faith reminds me why I love comics every month, and I can't thank Jody Houser, Pere Perez, Andrew Dalhouse and Maugerite Sauvage enough for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #4

Oct 18, 2016

To claim thatFaith #4is anything but a light hearted fun comic would be a fallacy, yesthere are still little jabs at comic book tropes, but over all this isa beautifully illustrated comic that's justfun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #5

Oct 31, 2016

Whether you agree with them or not, make sure you do exercise your right to vote on November 8th. You can find your local polling place through Rock the Vote.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Faith #6

Dec 8, 2016

With Faith #6 the creative team have hit another home run " this comic is the best thing I've read all week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Faith #7

Jan 4, 2017

Overall, I'm intrigued by the direction this story is taking, and I'm looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Faith #8

Feb 2, 2017

Now, despite me having just spent the better part of the review picking holes in the comic, if you're already reading the series then you'll want to read this issue because it does lay some groundwork for the future, and despite my hang-ups it's not as bad as I've probably made it sound –I don't regret buying the issue at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith #9

Mar 1, 2017

Faith #9 is less about Faith than it is about the people she works with and how the feel working with a superhero. It's honestly a really interesting story for fans of the character, but it will also make a very interesting read for fans of other superheroes who works at a newspaper like career who haven't revealed their identities to those around them; imagine it as an Elseworlds or What If? story

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith (Mini-Series) #4

Apr 25, 2016

If you can find a copy, grab it. Grab it and find out why Faith is so amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #1

Aug 24, 2016

This series, after one issue, is looking incredibly promising. I just hope we don't get the story from the previews.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Generation Zero #3

Oct 29, 2016

I'm not typically fond of this style of art, but here's an exception to that; without the shift, I don't think the comic would be as strong as it is. Generation Zero #3 is an overall enjoyable comic. It's not the best one I've read this week, but it's far from the worst " the story is furthered, plot details emerge" and the issue builds upon the previous issue in the series very well. I think that once this story is collected in trade, it's going to be a fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Generation Zero #4

Nov 30, 2016

I'll be back next issue, but largely to see where the subplot leads. Hopefully the rest of the comic picks itself back up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #5

Dec 29, 2016

This issue sees a tense confrontation between Generation Zero and the Rook Police Department, as well as shedding some light on earlier events that's going to make you want to reread the series so far if you feel you've missed a few things.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #6

Jan 20, 2017

Fred Van Lente is building to something fantastic here, and we're starting to see glimpses of it now. In a series where a slow burn hasn't always been welcome, we start to see some pay off with the sixth issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Generation Zero #7

Feb 15, 2017

Generation Zerohas been an interesting run so far, but the more I read this series, the more I like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #8

Oct 5, 2016

This issue is one of the stronger comics in a series that is one of DC's best since Rebirth hit all those months ago (it may not be that long, I guess).If you're looking for a place to start reading this series, then look no further; this is going to be one of the most accessible points for at least an issue or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 3, 2016

Harbinger Renegade #1does two things; it gets you thoroughly invested in the series (which isexactly what you want), but it also tells a complete story. If this was a one-shot, I'dbe happy with the comic, but as the first issue on the journey toHarbinger Wars 2, I'm as happy as a pig in shit with this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #2

Dec 23, 2016

You may think that nothing much happens in this issue, I did the first time I read it, but there's a lot of character exploration here, which allow us to get into the minds of Kris, Tamara, and to a certain extent Peter.We also get a glimpse at the man who will more than likely be the “villain” in the story as the series progresses. I use quotation marks, because even Toyo Harada wasn't as evil as you'd think, so I'm curious how Roberts will set the new guy up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #3

Jan 19, 2017

Harbinger Renegadeis a departure in tone and style from the other book Roberts was writing forValiant, the dearly departedA&A, but it's every bit as good as you want it to be, and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 24, 2017

Overall, this was a solidly entertaining book that left me wanting more. I can't ask for more than that in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Harley Quinn (2016) #5

Oct 8, 2016

Look, it's pretty clear that Harley Quinn #5 isn't my cup of tea, but if you've enjoyed the series so far then you'll probably like this one quite a bit. Me? Not so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #15

May 9, 2016

Overall, this is one of the stronger issues ofNinjak I've read in some time, and as the opening chapter to a new story arc, it's a very accessible one to new readers. Whether the arc continues to build on the promise shown here only time will tell, but I'll be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #16

Jun 7, 2016

Overall, this is a solid issue of Ninjak. It's far from bad, but I can't help but feeling there's a little missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #17

Jul 15, 2016

But when my main complaint with the issue is that it's not long enough, I'd say the arc has ended on a high note, wouldn't you?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ninjak #18

Aug 11, 2016

Again, there's nothing I really dislike about this issue, but it just didn't have the magic within its pages that the publisher's other release does this week. Hopefully, next issue will be stronger, and this is the weakest in the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Ninjak #19

Sep 7, 2016

Ninjak #19brings in story element and characters that were previously introduced in the series,rewarding readers who have been around for a few issues – something that I'm a little partial to. This is yet another issue ofNinjakthat didn't deliver on it's promise – a shame, because when the series is on its game, it'sone of the best around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #20

Oct 19, 2016

Overall, Ninjak #20 is better than the previous issue, coming much closer to the quality of comic that I've felt has been missing for several issues in the series. A welcome return to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #21

Nov 26, 2016

Like I said this was never a bad issue, it just wasn't as great as I hoped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak #22

Dec 7, 2016

Trust Valiant to put out the one silent issue I actually enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak #23

Jan 11, 2017

As a jumping on point this far into the series, you can't go wrong starting here if you're willing to dive into a story that's the culmination of the series so far (and, amazingly enough, you really can). I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ninjak #24

Feb 8, 2017

Dodgy use of a British slang term aside, this is an incredible comic from everybody involved, and easily my favourite story we've had in the series to this point (when weighed against the first two issues of each arc so far). I'm beyond impressed with what Valiant have going on here, and this is one of the best issue in the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #14

Dec 4, 2016

It's also worth pointing out the first time I read this comic from the review copy Marvel provided to Graphic Policy I wasn't too fond of the art, but when I picked up the physical copy (Old Man Loganis the last Marvel comic I still pick up in physical form) the art popped, and seemed to translate better from a physical comicthan when it was on the screen.Though that could just be the screen I read it on. Either way, this was an enjoyable comic that keeps the consistency of the series so far. It's not a spectacular issue, butOld Man Logan #14was good enough to hold my interest and get me excited about #15.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Old Man Logan (2016) #19

Mar 8, 2017

At the end of the dayOld Man Logan #19is a solid entry in the series thus far – it's just not one of my favorites.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Prowler #1

Oct 26, 2016

Do you need to readClone Conspiracy to enjoy this? No.The Prowler #1is a solid comic about a man finding his place in the world that happens to also be a tie-in. Whether you're reading the Spider-Man story or not, this is worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #13

May 17, 2016

Powered by some atmospheric artwork by Cafu and colour artistDave Lanphear this comic is an issue you should treat yourself to if you're a fan of machine-led science fiction.Rai #13 is a brilliant comic that will stand alone if you've only got a fleeting familiarity withRai,Valiant and their universe, or if you have no intention of reading the rest of the4001 A.D.story arc. I presume there will be a second chapter in this tale withRai #14and I can't bloody wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rai #14

Jun 23, 2016

WithRai #14effectively forming both an effective standalone tie-in to the main4001 A.D., as well as the continuation of theRai series with alook at a chapter in New Japan's past. It's a well written comic that can be read independently of the series it's tying in to – if you're already readingRai. If you're not, then this may not convince you otherwise, but for thse of us who are already regular readers this provides an interesting insight into the history of New Japan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rai #15

Jul 23, 2016

Rai #15 should appeal to many a sci-fi fan, but especially to those who have been following the character's appearances since Valiant Entertainment debuted in 2012 regardless of whether they're reading the summer event. Not only are Valiant delivering on fans expectations and giving us a great summer event, they've been slaying the tie-in comics as well. Rai #15 is no exception to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Rai #16

Aug 23, 2016

Rai #16 is a solid issue, and for those who have been reading the series from the beginning I suspect it will be one of the best you'll have read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Feb 11, 2017

Make no mistake, this is a comic about Red Hood first and the Outlaws second, but given the series title that's to be expected. Red Hood And The Outlawshas been like a reliable old Ford pickup; solid and reliable, but unlikely to set the land-speed record.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Savage #1

Nov 29, 2016

I had high expectations for the first issue ofSavage, and I can honestly say that the first issue smashed them with an opening to the story that will pull you in and beat you over the head with a bone club. Based on the first issue, I'd sayValiant have another hit on their hands; if you're even remotely interested in the series pick the first up if you have a chance " you'll not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Savage #2

Dec 29, 2016

The only downside to the series thus far is the feeling that this is an excellent set up for a long story about the characters involved, but as this is (at least as far as I know) only going to be a four-issue miniseries, I worry that the page count won't be long enough to do the story justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Savage #3

Jan 27, 2017

As tragic as the comic feels, however, it's wonderfully eye catching withLarosa and Dalhouse the art team on the present, and Henry and Reber handling the past. The comic is as beautiful as it is brutal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Savage #4

Feb 15, 2017

That isn't to say that it was so good I couldn't believe it was over, but rather I'd read it far faster than I expected – more than likely because of the lack of any significant dialogue or narration boxes apparent asB. Clay Mooreallowed the art to tell much of the story. Indeed, it felt a little strange to see the older version of Savage to say so much during the issue, having been largely a silent character up until this point. At the end of the day, I didn't find this issue had as satisfying a conclusion as I had hoped for, and rather than close out the firstSavageminiseries with the strength of a T-Rex's jaw,Savage #4left me feeling as though I had just read an extended – albeit very good – prologue for what was to come next…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Goddamned #4

Jun 2, 2016

The Goddamned #4may not have a feel-good tale at it's core, but it sure does have story that's worth reading.The Goddamnedisanything buta happy comic, and it probably isn't for everybody (especially young readers), but for those whodecide to pick it up, you're not going to be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks (2016) #1

Jul 16, 2016

Ladies and gentleman,The Paybacksare back. And they're fucking amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks (2016) #2

Sep 2, 2016

Look, the thing about The Paybacks is that no matter how much I try, I'm never going to be able to do full justice to just how entertaining the series is. This is a fantastic read, and I love every moment that it's in my hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Paybacks (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

Also, look at me for writing a glowing review without actually talking about the story content of the comic in an even remotely generic way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Wicked Righteous #1

Feb 25, 2017

At the end of the day, this is a very solid first issue and is well worth your time if you're looking for a fresh take on a familiar setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Voracious #4

Jun 9, 2016

Voracious #4 isprobably the best comic I've read this week " which is high praise from me in a week that has the superb4001 A.D.: Bloodshot "and it's a series you absolutely need to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Voracious: Feeding Time #1

Dec 6, 2016

A comic with only one, albeit pretty major, downside: the long wait to the second issue. I may have already waited a month or so since reading the first issue, but it's the next month that'll kill me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Voracious: Feeding Time #2

Jan 11, 2017

This issue we're back with the staff of our favorite diner, and we see… look out of respect for you, the creators, and my own reluctance to divulge spoilers I'm not going recap the issue here. Suffice to say that yet again Naso, Muhr and colourist Andrei Tabacaru have delivered another amazing chapter in a series that continues to amaze me – even more impressive a feat considering how much I expect from the series now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Voracious: Feeding Time #3

Feb 15, 2017

I have no idea how Markisan NasoandJason Muhrwill top this, but I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Vote Loki #1

Jun 26, 2016

A question that may come up will be the longevity of the series.Will it hold up in another two years? It's tough to say. Vote Loki #1 is very much a comic of the moment. This moment, and it's one you absolutely need to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vote Loki #2

Jul 9, 2016

This comic won't be for everybody –and it's certainly arguable as to whether it will hold up over time – but right now, this is an enjoyable series that's won me over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Will Eisner's The Spirit #11

Jun 1, 2016

I honestly can't say enough good things about this series. whether you jump on now, grab the back issues, or wait for the trade… you have to read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #7

May 16, 2016

In terms of the story itself Robert Venditti sets a solid pace, while simultaneously revealing relatively little about the motivations of the antagonist (although this being the opening chapter, I'm quite alright with that). While Wrath Of The Eternal Warrior #7 wasn't as enjoyable as the previous two issues, I honestly never expected it to come close in terms of it's quality. To be clear; this is far from a bad comic, and it's one I think you should definitely read, but I suspect this arc will have a slower pace that the prelude, with the machinations of the antagonist slowly being revealed over the course of the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #8

Jun 14, 2016

Valiant have a series on their hands that's just begging for multiple readings, and when it's this good it'd be rude not to oblige.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #9

Jul 12, 2016

When it comes to the dialogue, there are some hokey moments that feel at odds with the tone of the comic; almost as if Venditti has taken inspiration from the oldest of old school action movies (theExpendableslevel of cheese) in a couple of scenes. It' not enough to take away my enjoyment at all, but it's a little odd all the same. That said, this is still one of the best series on the shelf today, and you owe it to yourself to give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #10

Aug 17, 2016

My expectations were sky high for this comic, and the creative delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #11

Sep 15, 2016

Wrath Of The Eternal Warrior #11isa great place for new readers to start, but it's also a comic that rewards readers who have been with the series for an issue or two. As the first part to a new arc, the comic sets up the story very well; it builds upon the themesof sacrifice, and the loss that comes with that sacrifice, that a thousand lifetimes in service to the Earth can bring a person. Based upon the first issue alone the story shows some significant promise aready, and I'm excited to see where Robert Venditti takes the character from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #12

Oct 12, 2016

We're only getting two more issues of this series, but before it ends do yourself a favour and find out why it's so bloody great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #13

Nov 9, 2016

This is the second to last issue in the series, which is such a shame because this has been one of the best series on the racks for the past year.Robert Vendittiis a master at his craft, and he's set up what promises to be a climactic final chapter. Read this run in single issues, or read it in trade – you'll love every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #14

Dec 18, 2016

But it's a fucking amazing conclusion to one of the best series of 2016. A series I'mreallygoing to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar Annual #1

May 20, 2016

With the main series ending in a couple of months at issue #50, this isn't the best introduction to the character, but it does contain a very good story, and there's also some pretty interesting pieces of theValiant puzzle revealed here as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #47

Jun 28, 2016

Although Valiant have promised this is an all new jumping on point, that may not be strictly true seeing as how the series is coming to a close, but the Robert Venditti penned Long Live The King is going to be one hell of an ending to the series if X-O Manowar #47 is anything to go by.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-O Manowar #49

Aug 31, 2016

X-O Manowar #49 may echo around your brain and make you think of the other times you've read, or watched, this particular chapter in a similar story before, but the comic sets up the final confrontation (and issue) very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #50

Sep 28, 2016

X-O Manowar #50 is one of the most rewarding, and satisfying, conclusions to a comic book story arc that you're ever likely to read. Plot threads are wrapped up, bows are tied, the saga is over, and my jaw is firmly on the floor.Remember my earlier question of whether you should start reading X-O Manowar with the final issue? It is possible to do that and still appreciate the comic for what it is: fucking amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 4, 2017

This is an exciting, layered, and beautifully drawn and coloured comic that is the perfect jumping on point for new and old fans alike (second only to the 2012 debut). Add this to your pull list today and forget anything else from any other publisher coming out this year; based on the first issue alone X-O Manowar is going to be THE superhero title of 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More