Brian Daley's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 17
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.2
Daredevil (2019) #19

Mar 5, 2020

The art is simply fantastic. Marco Checchetto is definitely one of my favorite Daredevil artists ever. His style fits the tone so well it's insane. And Mattia Iacono's coloring blends perfectly with it. The way Marco draws the fights makes them feel so real and visceral. And the explosions and fire and smoke all look really good as well

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2019) #20

Jun 19, 2020

This might be my favorite issue. The action is so intense and amazing to look at, Marco Checchetto's art is gorgeous as always. The fight against all of the Owl's villains was so cool. Matt is the best he's been all run, and that's saying something because he has been amazing since Zdarsky took over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Daredevil (2019) #22

Sep 30, 2020

This series continues to be one of Marvel's finest ones currently running.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Daredevil (2019) Annual #1

Aug 29, 2020

It's like One More Day but actual thought is put into it and it serves a purpose beyond regressing characters. As I said, I won't be spoiling the changes, because I want anyone reading this review to go buy this issue as soon as possible. It's just really good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Once & Future #10

Aug 19, 2020

Overall not a lot happened in this issue, but it's still a fun time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Quantum and Woody (2020) #2

Mar 6, 2020

Overall this is a fun time. It's kinda hard to summarize since it's mostly jokes and comedy, so it's better to just read it yourself to get an idea of how funny it can really be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Quantum and Woody (2020) #3

Jul 9, 2020

This was easily the best issue so far. There's a lot of great jokes here, like with the principal being the same from Quantum and Woody's childhood and how he just hates everyone around him at all times.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Ham (2019) #2

Jan 29, 2020

Anyway, Spider-Ham #2 is fine. I'm going to keep reading it because there are some funny bits here and there, and I'm hoping this series will turn me around on Spider-Ham as a main character in something. Plus if it means more Black Colt in my life I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Spider-Ham (2019) #3

Feb 26, 2020

It's still a decent series, especially if you like Spider-Ham.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Ham (2019) #4

Mar 13, 2020

It's a fun issue in a fun series, especially if you're a fan of Spider-Ham. Unfortunately much like last issue, no Black Colt, so I'm gonna have to say it's bad(not really).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Sweet Heart #1

Jul 24, 2020

The art by Iban Coello and Juan Gedeon is really good here, the way they draw the symbiotes is cool and I love how they drew the apocalyptic Ultimate Universe, with everything on fire and various signs asking where the Ultimates have gone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom (2018) #21

Jan 2, 2020

Cates continues to show why he's one of my favorite writers at Marvel right now. He sets up some interesting ideas to come involving Eddie and his placement in the Marvel universe following Absolute Carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Venom (2018) #23

Feb 13, 2020

Bagley's art is really good here, as usual. I'm in love with the way he draws Symbiotes, Carnage in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Venom (2018) #24

Mar 16, 2020

Bagley's art continues to be good. I always loved the way he draws Symbiotes and I always will. And I am in love with this depiction of Carnage with the orange glow to the eyes and mouth kind of like in Ultimate Spider-Man. The way the place Dylan goes looks is very cool, like a black inky void. Even Dylan is a silhouette in there. And of course, the thing at the very end of the issue is awesome and I can't wait for more in the next issue (hoping it does more than Immortal Hulk Venom in Absolute Carnage though). Anyway, this issue was very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Venom (2018) #25

May 28, 2020

This was the best issue of the arc. Venom T-Rex vs Carnage. I'm gonna keep saying it until you buy the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #28

Sep 29, 2020

A LOT of things got revealed this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Wonder Woman: Warbringer #1

Jan 8, 2020

Overall, this is a pretty good one, though I hope we move past "Carnage Infection" soon. We need a new plot device for a Venom story in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More