Cameron Tevis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 62
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aquaman (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

Great issue! Abnett and Sejic make a great team. They continue to elevate a character that has only become cooler and cooler over time. If you like Aquaman you will like this issue and if you are just curious about Aquaman, this issue will leave you wanting to know more about him. I recommend this issue as well as this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #28

Sep 21, 2017

Another great issue by Abnett and Sejic. This may be the weakest issue in the arc so far, but considering how great this arc has been, that isn't too bad at all. It doesn't move the storyline forward tremendously but it does have some great moments with Vulko and with Tempest. The cliffhanger makes me excited for Mera's role in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #29

Oct 19, 2017

I have a small issue with the actual characterization of Aquaman himself, but overall this issue and the arc as a whole has been a really interesting take on Atlantis and its politics. I'm really looking forward to the next issue and seeing how Abnett ties it all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #30

Nov 15, 2017

Dan Abnett continues to weave an interesting story that gets more and more intense as it leads to its climax. However, the climax is not in this issue nor is it part of the current arc. But this is still a great storyline with beautiful artwork. If you are new to Aquaman, this arc is a great starting point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #31

Dec 20, 2017

This is a great follow up to the previous arc. Not only does Abnett make Aquaman more like the leader he should be, but the change in artists does not pull the reader out of this world. An alliance between Aquaman and the resistance with the Mob underworld of Atlantis is an intriguing idea and I look forward to seeing where that goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #32

Jan 18, 2018

Even though I feel it might be a step backwards for Aquaman himself, this is a great issue. Mera is the standout in an unexpected way. I'm really looking forward to seeing how her storyline progresses in the upcoming issues. With the growing tension, the final confrontation between Corum Rath and Aquaman looks like it will be explosive and I can't help but get excited for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #33

Feb 21, 2018

Overall this issue as well as this arc have been great. Abnett and Federici tell an epic storyline that really brings Atlantis to life. Im excited to see the rise of Mera as the Queen of Atlantis and how this all ends with the final confrontation between Aquaman and Corum Rath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #34

Mar 22, 2018

I have really enjoyed the last two arcs but wish there had been more reason to dislike Corum Rath. This new issue and new arc looks to be headed in that direction. But unfortunately, now the art suffers. However, if this arc can give a powerful conclusion to the entire saga, then it will be worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #35

Apr 18, 2018

While this is a step up from the last issue, I think we are ready to see the final confrontation between Aquaman and Rath. Its being stretched out a little too long in my opinion. But this issue was an exciting and action-packed issue that also had some big reveals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #36

May 19, 2018

A good, action-packed issue that sees the return of one of the artists that helped propel this storyline and title. It teases the climactic final battle between Aquaman and Corum Rath but if they wait to much longer in getting there, the teasing will become monotonous and audiences may lose interest. Fortunately, Aquaman and Rath come face-to-face in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #37

Jun 21, 2018

A nice action-packed issue with a interesting reveal about the Shades. Ultimately, however, this entire arc is beginning to be redundant: attack Rath, fail, retreat, repeat. This storyline needs to come to an end soon or it wont be worth remembering down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #38

Jul 25, 2018

Great issue, with a great ending. I have some issues with aspects of the arc as a whole, especially the unnecessarily long length it took to tell it, but overall it was a great story. Im curious to see where the story goes from here, but I am relieved to see this conclude.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #39

Aug 17, 2018

Despite a couple minor concerns, this was a fun, action-packed issue. Im looking forward to seeing how the world, either, accepts or rejects the newly risen Atlantis. But before that, Im excited to see the team that Aquaman puts together to counter the Suicide Squad which continues in Suicide Squad #46.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #40

Sep 20, 2018

As a single issue, it was a decent end to a fun arc. It was great to see the Suicide Squad utilized as a strike force against Atlantis. But my concern is that an overall title, Aquaman is quickly losing my interest. I still suggest this title to new readers, but I think the New 52 Aquaman is a much stronger sample of what this character can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #42

Nov 21, 2018

While the Drowned Earth arc has been a refreshing and different type of Aquaman story, this issue fails to deliver anything meaningful to either Aquaman or the Drowned Earth story. Im still looking forward to upcoming issues of Drowned Earth due to its potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 29, 2017

Despite the artwork being inconsistent and the story being lifted from Alan Moore, this is still a great read. As a story it's great; as an original story it's horrible, so it loses points for originality, but I still enjoyed the issue overall. The visionary and optimistic characterization of Aquaman alone is worth the read and the one thing the ongoing title is missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

Overall it seems like this arc, which had so much potential, was actually a major step back for both Aquaman and DC Comics as a whole. If you want a fantastic epic that shows how great Aquaman can be, stick to Throne of Atlantis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 10, 2017

Another well-written tie-in to the Dark Nights: Metal event. This issue gets particularly weird with its dreamlike sequences but it does so for the benefit of the story. As we dig deeper into Batman's psyche we get to see some of the most vulnerable aspects of Batman. Dream-state stories don't typically appeal to me, but this was well executed and anyone that enjoys those types of stories will definitely enjoy this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

Perhaps it was my own anticipation for this issue that caused me to have unrealistic expectations, but ultimately I feel as if the other tie-ins work better, particularly Batman: The Murder Machine. But despite the fact that this tie-in has a few minor, yet explainable, issues, it's still a great tie-in to Dark Nights: Metal. If you are enjoying the Metal event as a whole then I suggest you take a look at this issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 1, 2017

Another great tie-in to the Dark Nights: Metal event and another great story by Tieri and Tynion IV. If you have been enjoying the Metal titles so far, then you will definitely want to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Drowned #1

Oct 19, 2017

Batman: The Drowned has a more complicated task of turning Batman into an evil version of another League member than some of the others. In Batman: The Dawnbreaker, it just required him getting the Green Lantern ring while here Batman needs to be genetically altered. If they spent more time developing that aspect of the story over battle sequences, then maybe this issue would've been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 25, 2017

After a couple lackluster issues, Batman: The Merciless brings the tie-ins back on track with this exciting installment, which also has a memorable ending that most will not see coming. Great issue all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 27, 2017

I was blown away by this issue! I wasn't actually expecting much from Murder Machine compared to some of the others like Dawnbreaker or Red Death. After reading Red Death, I thought it set a high bar, but this issue easily raised the bar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

This is a great one-shot that fits nicely into Dark Nights: Metal while setting the standard for the other upcoming one-shots. If you have not been reading Dark Nights: Metal, don't let that shy you away from this issue. I feel there is enough here that the reader would really enjoy the story and not feel lost. The fast pace of the story is driven by the energetic art style. If this is what we can expect from the tie-ins, then I look forward to the rest of them" especially Batman: The Dawnbreaker.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

I was excited for this mini-series just because of the concept, but the actual issue went far beyond my expectations. The dialogue and artwork draw you in immediately and before you know it, you've read the entire compelling piece of work. It's already better than I expected and I cannot wait for the next issue, I just hope the entire series is this good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: White Knight #2

Nov 1, 2017

This issue was excellent as is the mini-series as a whole. Murphy really spins a thought-provoking story while really digging into an aspect of the Joker we have never seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 6, 2017

Another great issue in this mini-series. As someone that has a bit of Batman burn-out, I am surprisingly excited to read each new issue as they come out. This is such a refreshing, new take that you can actually see happen in today's day and age.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #4

Jan 4, 2018

I have said in past reviews of this mini-series that I can only hope Murphy can finish this mini-series with the same level of storytelling that it began with because if he does then it has the potential to become one of the top five Batman stories of all time. I cannot recommend this mini-series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #6

Mar 8, 2018

This mini-series has been so well done and exciting all around and this issue is no different. Im sad knowing this series will be ending soon, but very excited to see how it ends. It has been such a unique take on the Batman and Joker dynamic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #7

Apr 4, 2018

If the next issue can give a satisfying conclusion to this story, in my opinion, this will be one of the best and unique Batman stories in the last ten years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

This issue concludes one of the best Batman stories I have read in years. I would easily put this in the top five Batman stories of all time, among the likes of The Dark Knight Returns, The Long Halloween and The Killing Joke. I wasn't sure what to expect going in but it was a unique take that took risks that not only paid off but were entertaining and thought provoking as well. I cannot recommend this mini-series enough to anyone but especially to Batman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 15, 2017

This is arguably the best one-shot coming out of the Dark Nights: Metal event. Tynion takes the story to a terrifyingly dark place, and even though it's a one-shot, it makes it clear to the reader how much trouble the DC Universe is actually in in the central Dark Nights: Metal mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 12, 2017

Dark Days: The Casting is a great follow-up to Dark Days: The Forge. As the mystery thickens the story itself is becoming more and more epic. The ending of this issue takes us to the Metal chapters and Im very excited to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 14, 2017

Pick up this book! It has something for everyone and if it lives up to it's potential, I think it will be one of the most exciting events in comics, right up there with Blackest Night, Flashpoint and Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

A great issue all around. If you enjoyed Dark Days: The Forge and Dark Days: The Casting, then you will enjoy this. If you haven't read any of them, then what are you waiting for? This is the event of the summer and it's already living up to the hype" so get on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 14, 2017

This series is delivering on the promise to be the comic event of the summer! The size and scope of the story grows with every issue. Questions are finally answered in this issue, but even more are asked. The fast pace works well and I can't wait to see where it all goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Another great issue in the Dark Nights: Metal event. This issue advances the story nicely and leaves you asking more questions that you don't dare miss the answers to. It's unfortunate that we have to wait 2 months to see where this goes, but, again, we at least have the tie-ins to keep us busy until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

It took a moment to get back into the mode for the series, but overall it was a great, action-packed issue that moved the story forward nicely. I loved the appearance of Black Adam and really look forward to seeing how the series wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Nights: Metal #5

Jan 31, 2018

This has been a fun mini-series to this point, but I'm actually ready for it to end. Perhaps it's due to some of the issues being shipped late or perhaps the story is being stretched out too much, but it's beginning to feel as if it's been going on too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 29, 2018

The mini-series started out strong, but unfortunately fizzled out along the way. But I think the bigger concern is that this book is meant for DC fans that know DC in and out. I understood all the references but the casual reader may be lost. So as a long time fan it's nice to have something like this, but it may not be the best jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

The story is not a complex one by any means but it is a fun read. These Specials are meant to celebrate Jack "The King" Kirby and show how much he influenced the industry with his versatility and what seems like endless creations. Darkseid is one of his most intriguing characters. If you like Kirby, comic book history, Darkseid or just self-contained stories, then you will enjoy this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Legion of Super Heroes/Bugs Bunny #1

Jun 14, 2017

This is another home-run for DC Comics. They have been turning out quite a few crossovers recently and I have enjoyed them all, and this book is no exception. It's a nice turn from the more serious crossovers like Green Lantern/Star Trek or Green Lantern/Planet of the Apes. There is room in the marketplace for all of them, so it's good to see DC explore them all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Batman/Elmer Fudd #1

Jun 28, 2017

The DC/Looney Tunes crossovers have been a ot of fun to read and this one is by far the best one. The juxtaposition of these two characters to the noir backdrop just works and works well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil #1

Jun 21, 2017

It's a decent read, but falls short of some of the other Looney Tunes/DC Comics crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #1

Nov 22, 2017

This is just the first issue of a 12 part maxi-series and it's immediately evident this is going to be something special. Whether or not it will be the historical piece of literature that the original Watchmen is has yet to be determined, but it is obvious that this will be the book to read this year. Doomsday Clock will be looked at with an uncommon level of scrutiny due to the significance of the original, but if it maintains this quality, then it will win over some of the most devout skeptics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #2

Dec 28, 2017

As of now, this series is great, and I cant recommend it enough. The artwork, the pacing, the new characters, everything is just done very well. Geoff Johns and Gary Frank have really brought their A game to this series so far and I am anxiously awaiting the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #3

Jan 25, 2018

I am really enjoying this title so far and I not only wait anxiously for the next issue, but I dread the end with only 9 issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #4

Mar 29, 2018

Another great issue in the series and one that really gives us our first look at the new Rorschachs history. It connects the original Watchmen in a thoughtful way that really makes us feel for the character. The team of Johns and Frank is one of the best out there and they are giving us perhaps their best work yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #6

Jul 26, 2018

A great issue with a great backstory to characters that I think are instant classics. We are now at the halfway point for the series and it has been nothing short of fantastic so far. I am really excited for what this series will still bring us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 27, 2018

This was a very powerful issue, which is understandable since it is now past the halfway point. The reader can expect things to really pick up from here and if this issue is a taste of that, then we have some great issues coming up. I cant recommend this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 5, 2018

I wish this series came out on a quicker schedule, but I would never want them to sacrifice the fantastic quality for speed. That being said, this is an excellent series so far and with only four issues left and the introductions done with, I can only imagine how intense the next four issues are going to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern: Earth One #1

Mar 22, 2018

Bechko and Hardman have crafted a universe that has me excited to see what a Volume 2 could look like. With such a vast mythology to alter and play with Id love to see what they can do with the rest of it, especially with Sinestro.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #26

Aug 9, 2017

It's always hard to judge on the first issue of a new arc because you never know which direction the story may go. But this issue successfully makes the reader want to find out more. Who is this enemy? How are the New Gods tied to it? How well will the Green Lantern Corps work with the New Gods, especially after such a recent and utter failure with the Sinestro Corps?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

It usually takes me a few issues to decide whether or not I like a title, but this issue had me hooked immediately. The endless possibilities for the character are exciting to think about and I cant wait to see where Venditti takes this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 12, 2018

A great follow up to a fantastic first issue. Venditti and Hitch suck the reader into Hawkmans mystery with ease and leaves the audience clamoring for Hawkmans answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #3

Aug 9, 2018

I am starting to sound like a broken record with my praise for this book, but I cant help it. It really is a fun, action-packed, adventurous series with a compelling mystery so far. Archaeology, mythology and ancient civilizations has always been right up my alley and here it is combined with sci-fi and DC Comics. It doesnt really get any better than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #4

Sep 14, 2018

This issue moved the story forward, but if readers are just jumping on this title, reading this issue could confuse them. Especially considering how confusing the Hawkman mythos was previously to this title. But Venditti is cleaning up that mythos in a very compelling and exciting storyline, so I would suggest to any of those readers to definitely go back and read the first three issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #6

Nov 15, 2018

Venditti and Hitch deliver another great issue and leave the reader wanting more. Its a fun, fast-paced issue that gives the reader a reunion of one of the greatest friendships in comics. The arc is too short in my opinion, but I also understand the point is to get to the Deathbringers and dwelling too long in the Microverse could postpone that too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #7

Dec 13, 2018

I cant recommend this title enough to readers new or old. Venditti has given new readers a great hopping on point but at the same time given something old readers will love. This Hawkman series has been the kind of book that made me fall in love with reading comic books for in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 2, 2018

Derek: I wholeheartedly agree that it's great to have a storyline that establishes Aquaman as a major player in the DCU. Even as a perennial member of the Justice League, he still gets ignored, but it great to see him in the forefront for once. I look forward to seeing wither this story leads and to see what the lasting effect it has on Aquaman and the rest of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #6

Jun 7, 2017

As a single issue, readers will be lost. But as a full mini-series, The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom has a lot going for it. It's definitely worth taking a look at, especially if you are a DC fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016): Steve Trevor Special #1

Jun 7, 2017

Anyone still wanting more after seeing the movie may want to pick this book up since this is a great jumping on point. Though the story has it's weak points, it's worth reading simply to see Charlie, Sameer and Chief again.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More