Caryn A. Tate's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 73
7.2Avg. Review Rating

6.0
100 Bullets #73

Jun 20, 2006

Because of the talent and the unmistakable gift of storytelling that the creators have, while still taking into account my opinions Ive expressed, is why Im giving this issue the rating that I am. In the end, I cant in good conscience fault the creators too much for my personal feelings about the comics drawbacks; who can blame them when they have created such a creative, expressive story with such realistic and enjoyable characters? I get the feeling that if I consistently kept up with the trades of the comic more than I currently do, I would probably have enjoyed this issue quite a bit more. But that is a huge downfall for the monthly issues of 100 Bullets, and the practice of creating good montly comics (not for trades) is becoming something of a lost art in the industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #15

Aug 21, 2006

Because some of my favorite creators are writing this series, I want it to be one of the best books out there, and it simply hasnt been that yet. Its been enjoyable and entertaining, but I want to feel compelled to buy it every week. After reading this issue, my hope is now that the fantastic creators that are on this book can continue to improve upon the pacing and quality of storytelling that theyve begun to display here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics #845

Dec 1, 2006

For the first time in years, Action Comics is one of my all time favorite books to buy each month, and I couldnt be more excited to see what the next issues will bring. If youre a Superman fan and you havent picked up these issues, what are you waiting for? If youre not necessarily a Superman fan but youve always had that nagging feeling that the character should be a whole lot more awesome, now is the time to pick up this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Superman #6

Jan 11, 2007

Issue #6 is a quintessential Superman story that explores the more human side of the character, and his roots that help make him the ultimate hero. This creative team understands the core of Superman better than I would have imagined, and I cant wait to read more from them. If you havent picked up this title yet, youre missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Superman #10

Apr 7, 2008

I cant say enough about this issue, and yet I dont want to say too much. Anyone who has not read this issue and has any interest in superhero comics whatsoever -- even if you used to as a child, but that interest has since faded -- please go and pay the $3 to show DC Comics and the industry in general what kind of stories we respond to as readers. Spend the $3 to reward Grant Morrison & Frank Quitely for this kind of heartfelt, ground-breaking work. Its the best $3 you could ever spend.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Astounding Wolf-Man #1

May 25, 2007

This title will probably be a good fit for some readers; it just wasnt particularly for me. If youre a huge fan of classic horror/suspense, werewolf tales, etc., then go ahead and pick this up; its just not necessarily the comic for readers more like myself, who are fans of those things but are looking for a little something more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City Special: Samaritan #1

Jul 28, 2006

If youve never read Astro City before, this is a great issue to try. Youll get a lot of story for your $4, and it will no doubt inspire you to read as many of the previous issues of the comic as you can get your hands on!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Astro City: The Dark Age Book 2 #2

Feb 27, 2007

So, while I am a bit disappointed with the length of this storyline, I fully acknowledge that it has its merits and may be absolutely wonderful to someone else. Regardless, this title is still one of the best out there, and Im looking forward to the next story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman #654

Jun 30, 2006

So, if it werent for that one disappointment that I mentioned above, I would have given this comic . But despite that, this is still the best Batman comic that Ive read in a long time, and I cant wait to see Mr. Robinson on more Batman storylines in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman #655

Jul 30, 2006

Mr. Kuberts art is brilliant here. His panels are so detailed and so clear that, combined with Mr. Morrisons storytelling, create a truly engrossing comic. It feels real, and the characters feel the same way. In addition to the action scenes, which pop off the page, I really enjoyed Mr. Kuberts interpretation of Bruce Wayne. Mr. Stewarts colors are appropriate and rich, adding a lifelike quality to the pencils. This is a superb creative team, one that I wish could stay on the comic for a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman #658

Nov 12, 2006

Theres only one last point to be made about this issue: I wish comics were always this fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman #676

May 18, 2008

This is definitely a good end result and worth the cover price. Just not the best work I've seen from this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Spirit #1

Dec 3, 2006

This comic was a great example of how a one-shot should be done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Battlestar Galactica #1

Sep 7, 2006

All in all, this is a very well done comic, and I have to admire the creators ability to step in on a model of storytelling like Battlestar Galactica and continue in the spirit of its excellence.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Battlestar Galactica #5

Feb 6, 2007

If the art situation could be improved on this title, it could be one of the best books on comics stands. I look forward to that because quite honestly Im not sure how much longer I can go on buying each issue of this title. The comic book format requires that each aspect of the story (the writing/dialogue, and the artwork) carry equal weight and impact. If one is lacking, it blatantly affects the other. So as much as Im enjoying the writing on this title, I dont know how much longer I can go on buying it because of my issues with the art that I mention above.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beyond #1

May 29, 2008

All in all, I am surprisingly pleased with this new series, and Im actually looking forward to buying the second issue. Thats not something I can say very often with new comic series, unfortunately, so Im always thrilled when it happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2005) #23

Jan 19, 2007

With this issue, Black Panther continues its run of excellence, and I look forward to picking up this book next time. Its a rare treat to read such insightful writing combined with great characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Panther (2005) #34

Feb 12, 2008

If the subjects I've broached here are intriguing to you, or if you're a die hard Panther fan, I'd recommend picking up this issue. But if you're at all unsure, it might be a good idea to hold off on spending the $3.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bomb Queen II: Queen of Hearts #1

Oct 1, 2006

Hopefully Mr. Robinson will sharpen the bluntness of the comedy in the Bomb Queen comics; if that occurs, they would be a lot more appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #25

Mar 11, 2007

Because of Mr. Brubakers strength as a storyteller, I fully expect this to be just the beginning of another great story arc. I just dont know if Ill stick around for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain America: The Chosen #1

Sep 2, 2007

On the whole, this isnt a bad comic, and if youre a big Cap fan (Im talking the kind of Cap fan who will read anything and everything with him in it) or a big War story reader, youll enjoy picking it up. For the rest of us, its probably better to pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cobb: Off The Leash #2

Jun 22, 2006

Bring on issue #3! Im excited to see how it unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Criminal #1

Oct 12, 2006

Im so excited for the Criminal #2 that I can hardly wait till its released. Now that is something Id love to say about every comic I read.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Dark Mists: Kuroi Kiri #4

Aug 4, 2006

I am reluctant to write such a negative review of any comic, so I re read this issue a few times to see if there was anything positive that I could say about it. I did find one: this issue does reveal the efforts of the writer, in particular, and I hope that Annika Eade will rise above what she has done here. I believe she has it in her. There is an undercurrent of talent and ideas in this story, despite all of the negative aspects of it, and I hope to see her progress as a writer and storyteller.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Tower: The Gunslinger Born #1

Feb 4, 2007

Overall, this was an excellent comic. Im looking forward to issue #2 a lot more than I thought I would, and its always so great to be pleasantly surprised like this. The creators have given us a lot more than just another western comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics #820

Jun 12, 2006

Im excited to see how the storyline ends in Batman #654. Robinson has set up an interesting mystery without dumbing down the supporting cast of characters around the worlds greatest detective. Well done! Not to mention, Im pretty sure hes not pulling any cheap shots, meaning I believe hes given us enough hints and ideas about the culprits that once the truth is revealed, I dont think well feel cheated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics #823

Sep 12, 2006

Mr. Dini is doing an impressive job on Batman in this series, and all I can say is that I hope he stays on this title for as long as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics #826

Dec 7, 2006

This issue of Detective really is a prime example of how superb Batman comics canand shouldbe. I hope this creative team will stay on this title for as long as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Devi / Witchblade #1

Jun 26, 2008

But I am now interested in picking up Devi and giving it a shot, and this also solidified my enjoyment of Witchblade. If you are open to fantasy books at all, give this one a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dragonlance: Chronicles #8

Aug 3, 2006

So my final assessment of this issue is that if you happen to be looking for a customary fantasy story with dwarves and dragons, with good action and a decent storyline, then this is worth a look. If, however, you are looking for something more unusual, you may be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Firestorm #28

Aug 14, 2006

I will be willing to read another issue of the book, in the hopes that it will become more interesting to me once I get to know the characters. Its just unfortunate that its not necessarily easy to jump on any issue and understand, for the most part at least, what that hero is all about. This is something at which I believe older comics did a better job, typically, than modern comics. They didnt take readership for granted nearly as much, and assumed that all readers, new or old, would be able to read each issue and comprehend what was happening. Hopefully more modern comics will begin to take this into consideration again, because otherwise, how can the industry expect more new readers to begin buying comics on a regular basis?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #1

Jun 25, 2006

All in all, Id say this was an average issue, but I was somewhat disappointed since I had high hopes for it. But Ill be willing to read the next issue and see if I feel the story is improving.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Gen13 #1

Oct 17, 2006

I may occasionally flip through an upcoming issue of this title to see if it looks good enough to pick up, but I am not convinced that will happen very often. Its too bad, because I think this could be a very good ongoing comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2005) #25

Dec 16, 2007

The bottom line is that even if youve never been a Green Lantern fan, this comic will most likely make you one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hard Time Season Two #7

Jun 15, 2006

I was glad to see the stories of the supporting characters resolved, and although several of them were tragic stories, a couple of main characters stories reached happy endings, and that was refreshing. This issue was a fitting end to a series that I wish had gained enough readers to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
High Rollers #1

Jul 10, 2008

I would really like to enjoy a book like this one. God knows we need more genre tales, especially great crime drama, in the comics industry. Im hoping the creators will improve as they go; if thats the case, due to the solid story concept, Id be willing to give it another shot. But unless that happens, I cant recommend this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Highlander: Way of the Sword #1

Feb 24, 2008

All in all, a good amount of events fill each issue and make them worth picking up and spending $3 each. While they have their faults, they kind of remind me of a lot of episodes of the Highlander TV show: not excellent, but so full of fun and mythological archetypes that you really dont mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Ion #2

Jun 8, 2006

Hopefully this comic will become what I hoped it would be originally, and (if it does well enough) be made into a regular series by DC. I cannot recommend it right now, but if I do pick up any other issues of this run, Im hoping Ill at least be able to recommend them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ion #6

Sep 26, 2006

All in all, this issue has given me hope that the rest of the Ion mini-series will be great, but more importantly, that if DC chooses to make this a regular series (which I sincerely hope they do), it will portray Kyle Rayner the way he should be. Now, if only they can put an end to the tiresome everyone Kyle loves ends up dead routine, I would be even happier!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ion #12

Mar 27, 2007

A note to the folks at DC: I most definitely want for Kyle to have his own ongoing series. But I dont want that at the expense of this refreshing character. If the series would be like this, then I dont want it. Please put a storyteller who respects the character and superheroes on the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Jack Staff #11

Sep 19, 2006

The only way that I can imagine I might buy another issue of Jack Staff is if there is a much more in-depth tale of Kapitan Krieg. Even then, its somewhat doubtful..., but Im happy to see that Mr. Grist did create one interesting character in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2006) #0

Jul 23, 2006

As far as the art goes, it was a great chance to display art by several different artists, and I enjoyed them all. Its always fun to see different takes on the characters, and it all fit here. And of course, Im always excited to see a Michael Turner cover, and this fantastic one was no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2006) #1

Aug 27, 2006

Im more excited about Justice League of America than I have been for a long time, and I cant wait to see what the next issue has in store. Red Tornado, in particular, is more interesting than Ive ever seen him, and I think The Tornados Path will become a key storyline for the Justice League and Tornado in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2006) #2

Oct 3, 2006

Overall Im more excited than ever about this series and where its headed. I cant wait to see whats in store for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2006) #7

Apr 13, 2007

All in all Im excited for the next issue, for the continuation of whats begun here. The creative team here is some of the best that DC has ever put on this title, and I hope they put this caliber of talent on every main title they have.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice Society of America #1

Dec 10, 2006

While I couldnt give this issue a higher rating, it is definitely above average, and I think that Mr. Johns will bring the book back to the old JSA titles quality (where every issue was absolutely fantastic). Ill definitely be buying issue #2 of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lexian Chronicles: Full Circle #7

Aug 11, 2006

However, some of the dialogue feels a little bit stilted; it doesnt flow quite as well as it did in previous issues. Its not as dynamic and interesting, and in general it seems just a bit more mainstream in its portrayal than I expected of this book. Hopefully it was a temporary thing, but this difference combined with the fact that a new creative team begins on the book with issue #8 has me just a bit apprehensive. I will still buy the book, in the hopes that the series continues to be as good as those first five issues were.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lone Ranger #1

Sep 12, 2006

Im curious to see where this series goes, and if the things I didnt care for in this issue are improved upon. It would be great to have a fantastic monthly western comic; and while this issue isnt fantastic, it was enjoyable. Hopefully it will only continue to get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mouse Guard #6

Mar 12, 2007

The back of this issue announces a new Mouse Guard series, starting in July, and Im excited for it. This is a great comic for anyone who enjoys a story thats pure and out of the ordinary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Noble Causes #23

Sep 4, 2006

I will probably pick up Noble Causes again in the future; Im not sure if I enjoyed it enough to pay $3.50 each month (granted, its only about 50 cents more than your typical comic, but its the principle of the thing). I will probably pick up a few issues here and there to see whats happening with the story, though; and heres hoping they move that character bio to the beginning of the comic for other new readers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja: She-Devil With a Sword #13

Aug 29, 2006

Other than that, though, the issue was completely enjoyable, and I find myself eagerly anticipating the next one. Im hoping the creators keep up the great aspects of the comic and avoid any pitfalls along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robin (1993) #159

Mar 6, 2007

This is, essentially, a superb example of what I want in this title and in superhero comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Robin (1993) #170

Jan 24, 2008

Im doubtful right now that I will pick up issue #171 next month. I would love to keep buying the book, but I dont know that Ill be able to. Hopefully the Spoiler return is just a tease, and hopefully the other aspects that I disliked will be swept away by the great storytelling that I know Mr. Dixon is capable of. Its just a little hard to believe at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sam Noir: Samurai Detective #1

Oct 17, 2006

So, despite my enjoyment of the art, I wont be able to pick up Samurai Detective again. I cant pay money for anything that takes two of my favorite genres and creates something that I dont enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai: Heaven and Earth Vol. 2 #1

Nov 5, 2006

All in all, Im pleasantly surprised by this title, and Im looking forward to issue #2. While its not perfect, its definitely a quality book that deserves to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai: Heaven and Earth Vol. 2 #4

May 8, 2007

Im anxiously awaiting the continuation of this story, and I dont even care that I think I know how its going to end (well see if Im right!). This is, in essence, a timeless adventure/romance with beautiful art work added to it. Whether youve been keeping up with this title or not, pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six #1

Jun 9, 2006

It wasnt a perfect issue, and it wasnt quite as good as just about any of the Villains United issues, but I have a feeling thats all about to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shazam The Monster Society Of Evil #1

Feb 11, 2007

Im so happy with this book that all I can say is, if you havent bought it yet and you have any interest in the superhero genre or Shazam, you need to read this title. Its worth the $5.99 price tag, and its a sadly rare occasion when I can say that about a lot of modern superhero comics. Itll have you waiting (impatiently) for issue #2, I promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #159

Sep 14, 2006

Overall, the issue is an entertaining read, something that I may not mind picking up if I was just looking for an enjoyable but not particularly challenging comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Legacy #12

Jun 12, 2007

Keep em coming, guys. This is the next best thing to a new Star Wars film.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Westerns Starring the Black Rider #1

Aug 22, 2006

Following, there are two Stan Lee/Jack Kirby Rawhide Kid comics that were wonderful. The first one, titled The Bat Strikes, I liked very much; the art is classic and expressive. It made me feel like I was watching a classic western film, from the execution of the panels to the clothing worn by the characters. The story is light-hearted and exciting, not waiting to pull you in, just the way a short comic should be. The final story with the Rawhide Kid, titled The Bullet-Proof Man, is also a lot of fun, and the art is just as fantastic as the previous story. One of my favorite things about these Lee/Kirby stories was that Mr. Lee wrote the dialogue so expressively, spelling out the characters western drawls the way classic western authors like Zane Grey used to do. It served to pull me into the stories that much more, and now I look forward to finding more Lee/Kirby westerns to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman #654

Jul 16, 2006

But any negatives aside, the bottom line on this issue: For the first time in years, Ill be able to confidently buy the next issue of Superman with no concerns about its quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman/Batman #28

Jul 25, 2006

Mr. Van Scivers pencils are strong and explode with action. In a lot of ways, his style is somewhat reminiscent of the great Neal Adams in that theyre expressive and portray the storytelling the way a penciller should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tales of the Sinestro Corps: Parallax #1

Oct 4, 2007

Mr. Didio, Mr. Marz, Mr. Berganza - please, please, give us more comics like this one, especially for Kyle Rayner. Its great to see him act like the hero I love again!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Authority: The Lost Year #1

Oct 22, 2006

Im willing to buy issue #2 to give it another go and see if the drawbacks that I noticed here were rectified. This could be a great title, especially with the talent thats working on it, and I hope they begin to produce a comic thats consistent with their (and the titles) potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold #1

Feb 25, 2007

If you have any interest in superheroes, and especially if you have a love for classic styled stories and storytelling, pick up this issue. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Trials of Shazam! #1

Sep 14, 2006

Im hoping that the editors and creators on this book will take the initiative and begin to create a fun, refreshing Captain Marvel comic that is worthy of a great character. Otherwise, I will probably never pick up this title again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity #1

Jun 8, 2008

But for now, "Boys and Their Games" absolutely saved my overall opinion of this comic. If the series continues in this vein, this will be a fantastic weekly read that's well worth the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
True Story, Swear to God #1

Oct 20, 2006

I will probably begin to pick up True Story Swear to God on a regular basis. Im glad to see such a quality indie comic on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
True Story, Swear to God #3

Feb 13, 2007

Im looking forward to reading more of this series, and if you havent checked out this book yet, nows a great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wildcats: Worldstorm #1

Oct 26, 2006

I will definitely check out Wildcats #2, and I am confident that this title will become one of the best books on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #50

Jan 21, 2007

All in all, this was a pretty good comic, and Im interested enough to check out issue #51. With talent like this, I cant believe that my complaints from this issue will continue. I have a feeling the title will expand upon the greatness of the first half of this issue and become one of the best monthly titles out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2006) #1

Jun 11, 2006

Cheers to the creative team on this book. I feel like Ive breathed a sigh of relief. Finally, a portrayal of Wonder Woman that lives up to her name and iconic status!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More