Christina Williams's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 52
8.1Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Batgirl (2016) #16

Nov 2, 2017

This is a great iteration of Batgirl. Shes lively, well drawn, intelligent, and a fun heroine to watch grow. The pacing is perfect; not too fast, not to slow. The art is clean, expressive, and well proportioned. The Rebirth was a great new beginning for Barbara, and Im interested to see just where this arc takes her character growth. If you havent read this series yet, you should.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #17

Nov 26, 2017

The Summer of Lies arc draws to a rapid close, and my excitement can hardly be contained. This issue had a lot more emotional involvement than the previous ones, which was surprising to me considering how in touch with emotions the entire series had been. I am so interested to find out exactly why the Red Queen exists and why she is after Ainsley so badly. This is definitely one title I'm glad I picked up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Battlecats #1

May 12, 2018

The Battlecats are an elite force of warriors sworn to protect Valderia. While on such a quest to protect, we see our band of heroes square off against fake Noct Spectres. What this means for the warriors, we will have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Battlecats #2

May 31, 2018

Kaleera faces off against an unexpected foe of the past! Eltoreq is powered by the red moon, and the battle is fierce between the two warriors. Our five heroes continue their journey after an ominous promise from Eltoreq. Just what is waiting for them in this region of La Marque? Why is the ground continuously shifting?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Battlecats #3

Jun 28, 2018

The Battlecats are on a quest to take down a beast so powerful the only name for it is Dire Beast. Along the way, they run into Eltoreq and battle ferociously. When they finally make it to the Dire Beast, Kelthan realizes there's more than meets the eye about this beast... Pick this series up. It's worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Battlecats #4

Jun 29, 2018

We get to see the history of the Lion God and the Kingdom of Valderia. The issue is beautifully drawn and colored, and more secrets are just waiting for us to discover. Issue 5 is going to drop a huge reveal on us, I just know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodborne #1

Feb 28, 2018

Yharnam has once again begun the hunt, and the Hunter must transcend it by seeking paleblood. The same people, the same church, the same monsters. Even the doll and the old man stay the same. Can the Hunter break the cycle or will he fall into it as well?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodborne #2

Apr 1, 2018

The Hunt continues throughout the nightmare, and the Hunter has decided to break it. They seek shelter in the clinic with the paleblood child only to be sent straight back out after no answers are to be had. Can the Hunter truly succeed? Will the nightmare ever end?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Bloodborne #3

May 3, 2018

The Hunter and Paleblood child continue to attempt to leave the nightmare. As their journey progresses, we see how perception changes everything. The comic has been a ride from start to finish, and I'm excited to see where it will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

Selina is back in print! She's given up the suit-- I know, I know-- and life seems to be standing at a halt for her. She can't sleep. Can hardly think, and now there's another sinister plot out to ensnare her. The artwork is great. All in all, I'm excited to see where Catwoman is led.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 14, 2018

Cat's far from out of the bag as Selina is still trying to uncover this sinister plot against her. There are multiple women donning her suit, and none of them will give her a straight answer. Two police officers are dead, and there's an angry woman lurking behind the scenes. What will happen to our beloved Catwoman?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 14, 2018

After being escorted further into the casino, Selina is given an offer she has no choice but to refuse. The stakes are too high, and this cat works alone. We get a peek into the villain's backstory, and the truths we see are far harsher than expected. Selina has her work cut out for her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Domino (2018) #1

Apr 22, 2018

Domino's luck may have run dry, and the deep-seated worry she finds herself with is growing. Domino gets a dog as well, much to my surprise. The idea of it is wholesome and brings a smile to my face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 22, 2018

Eternity Girl, aka Caroline Sharp is feeling stuck. No matter what she does, nothing about her can change. She can't even hold her human form for very long anymore. Caroline is offered an out to this problem, but will she truly take it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 10, 2018

Eternity Girl is the only constant in the universe. As everything else changes, she simply is. She cannot maintain one form or another for long. She goes to a comedy club in order to try to relax, but she finds it insulting and instead leaves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Eternity Girl #3

May 12, 2018

If you aren't reading Eternity Girl, pick her up. She's really worth the shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Geek Girl #1

Jun 8, 2018

Geek-Girl is your next up-and-coming Big-League Superhero! With her glasses on her side, there isn't much Ruby Kaye can't do. However, it isn't all cupcakes and rainbows. In fact, Geek-Girl's life just got turned upside down. With a brand new and deadly dangerous villain on the loose, does Geek-Girl have what it takes to avenge Neon Girl?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Giants #1

Dec 11, 2017

Giants have taken over the surface, and we know nothing about how and why. The story opens up with two young orphans, and through their eyes, we begin to see the darkness in the world immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Giants #2

Jan 8, 2018

Giants roam the surface, and one of the orphans, Gogi, now roams among them. What will devour humanity first? Ambition? The Giants? Time will tell. It's time to take what you've been told about the surface, and the world, with a grain of salt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jupiter Jet #1

Nov 11, 2017

If you hadnt noticed, I skipped the story so far. There isnt a story so far, as this is the origin issue. This is where Jackys adventure begins. She is a spunky young girl who just wants to protect her family. The art is absolutely fantastic, and I love the dialect created for her surroundings. The speech patterns combine old and recent popular phrases while giving life to its own style. The art is engaging and full of life. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to read this issue. You should hop on board and read Jupiter Jet! Jacky is a heart-warming heroine thats easy to relate to. Im looking forward to seeing where her journeys lead her!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ms. Marvel (2015) #1

Feb 5, 2018

Kamala Khan, a supposedly average high school student, finds herself growing larger in the spotlight, while simultaneously shrinking in her personal life. She is exhausted, misses her friends, but is overjoyed to be fulfilling her dream of being an avenger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ms. Marvel (2015) #25

Dec 29, 2017

Kamala Khan, aka Ms Marvel, has left without a trace. No one knows where she went, and that's the problem. She's needed and doesn't even realize it. What will happen in her absence?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #26

Jan 11, 2018

With Kamala still gone, it's up to her group of friends to keep the city safe. This doesn't come without risk, however, as the new group of Marvels and Red Dagger are soon to find out. What secrets does the Inventor have within that retirement home, and why won't the others believe Zoe?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #27

Feb 22, 2018

With Kamala Khan, the true Ms. Marvel, still missing, it's up to her friends to protect the city! The Teenage Wasteland arc is rapidly gaining momentum as our Marvels take on the INVENTOR. Do they have what it takes to save the day?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Ms. Marvel (2015) #28

Mar 30, 2018

The Teenage Wasteland arc comes to a dramatic end! With Kamala's return, can everything finally return to normal?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #29

Apr 22, 2018

Kamala Khan is officially back, and she sees countless reasons to be filled with joy. Her friends are excited to have her back, she's a new aunt, and what's this, a first kiss? What will this arc bring?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #31

Jun 27, 2018

Kamala Khan is your average teenage superhero. She dons the mantle of Ms. Marvel whenever someone needs help, at the cost of her social life. With the guilt mounting once more over leaving her friends always waiting, will Kamala make the right choice and tell her friends the truth? I think she will, but you should read to be certain for yourself! Ms. Marvel is here to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Supergirl (2016) #14

Oct 13, 2017

Supergirl has always had a soft spot in my heart, and Rebirth knows how to hit me just right. The writing, as always, is fantastic. The art is detailed and builds the world seamlessly. Claps for you, Orlando, the story is great. I cant wait for the next issue. This arc has captured my attention without a hitch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Supergirl (2016) #15

Nov 10, 2017

The art is fantastic, specialized, and expressive. Kara has my full attention. Im enjoying the story lines that come with Rebirth. Supergirl has been in need of this kind of hype that can only come with a well written comic, and Rebirth delivers. If you arent on board yet, you need to check her out. Youll understand the love and the hype behind Supergirl once you read her yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl (2016) #16

Dec 16, 2017

The hunting of Supergirl continues in this thrilling arc! We see the kind of person Kara truly is in this issue. She knows she could be captured or hurt, but she continues to try to help as many as she can. This shows how amazing she really is. The art is phenomenal, and the plot is driven by her determination. There are dark secrets afoot; will Kara be able to push through?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Supergirl (2016) #17

Jan 12, 2018

Kara Danvers is once more faced with the impossible choice between being Supergirl or Kara. We see her internal conflict among literal conflict throughout the issue. Where will the DEO's fight against her lead? Just why do they want Supergirl so badly? Who is Director Bones?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Life Of Captain Marvel #1

Jul 22, 2018

Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel, is back! Her new origin story is a tearjerker, and you're left wanting more. I'm excited to see what happens. I honestly didn't know how to feel when I heard she was getting yet another origin story. Well, let's just hope that this one sticks around and leads to more Carol comics without cancelation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
The Life Of Captain Marvel #4

Oct 22, 2018

Carol Danvers' mysterious past has been revealed (again)! Marie tells all, and the artwork beautifully supports the story. I recommend giving this mini-series a shot if only for the sake that it is Carol Danvers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
The Silencer #1

Feb 2, 2018

The Silencer #1 is the origin story of one of DC's deadliest assassins, and what's that? You don't know her? The Silencer is more than just a formidable assassin. She's a mother and a wife. The duality of her life catches up to her quickly. Just why is Leviathan rearing back up?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #2

Feb 28, 2018

This is a fast paced issue that keeps your heart pumping.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Silencer #3

Apr 1, 2018

Honor Guest is forced to attack the current Remedy and his men in order to truly show them that she wants nothing to do with the offer they are giving her. However, this may prove to be the wrong decision. Can Honor Guest really survive the world she escaped from long enough to get her peaceful life back?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Silencer #4

May 1, 2018

Honor is prepping for war. She has to stop this the only way she knows how, violence. She will stop at nothing to protect her husband and son. Why is Deathstroke back? Just why did Talia have her go on that final mission 5 years ago?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #5

May 31, 2018

With Honor Guest finding out that she can trust no one, what will she do? The very person she trusted to get her out of the assassination world may have been the one to sell her straight back into it. Deathstroke promises her this: next time they meet, talking is off the table. This series is well-written and paced. I'm enjoying it thoroughly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #25

Oct 13, 2017

Squirrel Girl is always a blast to read. Its exciting and engaging, with the perfect amount of zany quirks that make you laugh and smile the whole time. Plus. Who can ever turn down DINOSAURS? Not this fan! The art is really great as always. Squirrel Girl never ceases to amaze me, and with any luck, it will always hold a beloved spot in my heart. Hats off to you, North, you did it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #32

Oct 12, 2017

The storytelling is enthralling. I want to find out more of the energy spikes belonging to Apokolips. Information would really be the treasure of Hercules at this moment, not just for us, as the readers, but for Diana as well. It was difficult to put it down, and the art only adds to it. Plot driven and emotional, the issue leaves you begging for more. Narrative pacing allows for the emotions to come across cleanly without being rushed or dragging too far along. I have few criticisms. The only one of note would be that the art can be a little rough in the beginning of this arc, but the artists have captured the emotion so thoroughly, it is easy to ignore. I found it very easy to become engaged with the story, and eagerly await the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #34

Nov 9, 2017

Wow. Diana just cant catch a break. On top of the betrayals from her government work, she has to deal with finding out the truth behind her family. I cant wait for us to find out just why Jason has acted the way he has. Heras ire is going to be a big part of this, I can feel it. The story is expansive and the art is beautiful as always. Im impressed with what Robson has done to bring Diana into the Rebirth series. I await the next issue with baited breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #36

Dec 13, 2017

With Jason's betrayal still fresh, Diana's anger gets the better of her. Grail, Darkseid's daughter, has Jason so far into her grasp, it's seemingly unlikely that he will break free. The art holds a nice fluidity that keeps you reading with ease. Emotions are running even more rampant than ever before, and there are still few answers to the multitude of questions we have. This arc will keep you guessing. Just what do the old gods want with the new? Why is Darkseid's daughter so adamant about taking Wonder Woman alive?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #37

Dec 29, 2017

The revival of Darkseid's power and strength has come. The world, including the old gods and new, are in danger. What can Diana do? What will Jason do with the new information he has been told? Will the twins of Zeus learn to work together to overcome these pressing issues and help save the world?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Wonder Woman (2016) #38

Jan 13, 2018

This issue marks the change of a massive arc, and it promises to keep the momentum going. The art is wonderful and expressive of how each character truly feels. We even get a newer glimpse into how Diana feels about Jason. I am looking forward to seeing where this arc will lead us. Robinson has a way to make you want to root for the characters even when you have no idea how they will tie in yet, and I appreciate that talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Wonder Woman (2016) #39

Jan 25, 2018

A new villain strikes fear into the hearts of citizens! Silver Swan has taken the lives of a family, and it is up to Diana to stop her. Can she work out Silver Swan's motives in time to save more lives from being lost? Will Vanessa ever forgive Diana?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #40

Feb 17, 2018

As the Swan Song nears its tragic end, can Diana save the Silver Swan before she manifests into something she will regret further? Jason is starting to doubt himself, as he cannot handle seeing the brutality of Wonder Woman's reality. Being wonderful, it turns out, is not everything it's cracked up to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #41

Mar 2, 2018

Diana is preparing to take down Darkseid, and in order to do that, she needs to partner up with the other Amazons to slowly pick off his subordinates. Jason has gone missing. ....Again. Can Diana prevail?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Wonder Woman (2016) #43

Apr 1, 2018

Steve Trevor lets Jason know how little he is trusted. Diana is attempting to force the information out of the Female Furies. Just what does Darkseid have planned?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Oct 19, 2017

This is the first Conan comic Ive read in a long time, and it stood up to what I remembered it for. Strong art, stronger dialogue, and a well set pace. The story itself draws you in and makes you want to read it faster and faster, even though you know its only a mini-series. The art has no major flaws, and is beautifully constructed. I look forward to seeing where this will go for Diana and Conan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Nov 15, 2017

I didn't know how I was going to feel about this mini-series as I read it. It's completely blown my expectations away. The art is beautiful, and it is very reminiscent of classic Conan meets Wonder Woman. The perfect combination in both story and art. There is romance, loss, battles, and more awaiting the readers when picking up this series. Pick it up and read! You won't regret it. I haven't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wonder Woman/Conan #4

Dec 21, 2017

In the newest release of Conan and Diana's tale, we find ourselves immersed into a plot that could steal the lives of hundreds. Diana still cannot reclaim her forgotten memories, and Conan clings to who he used to know instead of seeing the present. This issue pushes past the previous installments with fantastic art and writing. This mini series isn't one to take lightly. It's all around a great series that will hopefully lead to more cross-overs at this level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Jan 22, 2018

Conan and Diana are once more discussing their lives and memories. They continue to bond over what they are slowly learning from each other, but sadly, all good things must end. The Amazons have been seeking Diana for a very long time, and the moment of truth is drawing near.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More