David Canham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 22
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Bea Wolf (2023) OGN

Mar 20, 2023

In conclusion, Bea Wolf is a light, silly and fun reimagining of the ancient epic poem that celebrates the joys of childhood while poking fun at grown-ups. Probably most appropriate for 10 to 12 year-olds with a good vocabulary who will enjoy the humorous details in Boulet's drawings while they giggle at the butt-jokes in Weinersmith's light-hearted prose. As an added bonus, both parents and children will probably learn more about Beowulf from Bea Wolf than they ever did in school.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Beyond Real (2023) #1

Nov 29, 2023

'Beyond Real' #1 is exactly the type of indie comic I love: a visual feast in which the art carries the story and themes. It"s a comic that explores the deep, existential questions arising out of simulation theory. Or maybe it"s a character study exploring grief and loss within this sci-fi framework. Whatever you take out of it, the entire creative team has obviously given their very best to produce a fantastic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Everyday Hero: Machine Boy OGN

Sep 7, 2022

Strangely nostalgic and amusingly quirky, familiar themes of adolescence are explored through the eyes of a lovable alien robot in an eccentric world of domed cities and anthropomorphic animals.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Forever Forward (2022) #1

Aug 1, 2022

Zack Kaplan's and Arjuna Susini's Forever Forward #1 is a fairly standard time-travel story with a good concept that fails to live up to its potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Forever Forward (2022) #2

Oct 24, 2022

The games that Kaplan plays with time-travel are a bit too obvious for someone who's already read or seen enough time-travel stories. The life lesson is also too obvious for a more mature reader. Consequently, Forever Forward #2 is just an average comic book for me. But if it's trying to be a comic for pre-teens and teenagers, I'd probably call it a good time-travel action adventure with a positive message.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Hendrix: Electric Requiem OGN

May 23, 2022

A few times, 'Hendrix: Electric Requiem' shows how a graphic novel could be the perfect medium for a Jimi Hendrix biography. Unfortunately, most of the book doesn't come close to reaching the level of originality and imagination required to adequately inspire the reader. In the end, we end up with an average biography of one of the greatest rock stars of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jean Grey (2023): Flames of Fear brings the Phoenix back home #1

Feb 21, 2024

For what it is, the Jean Grey: Flames of Fear collection is a very good miniseries held up by the strength of writer Louise Simonson and artist Bernard Chang. I was hoping for more Phoenix mythos than "What If" stories, but with these creators, I can't complain too much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Lotus Land (2023) #2

Dec 20, 2023

'Lotus Land' #2 is a solid continuation of the sci-fi noir. The art by Caio Filipe with colors by Patricio Delpeche create exactly the right atmosphere for the technologically advanced, yet somewhat dystopian metropolis. Poelgeest probably lays the noir-mystery on too thick in this issue, leaving me a little too confused by the end of the issue. Still, the overall premise exemplified by the fantastic opening page has me intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lotus Land (2023) #3

Jan 24, 2024

'Lotus Land' #3 is a much more character-focused issue of the sci-fi noir series. At once an origin story for the main character as well as a continual build-up of the central mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Lotus Land (2023) #4

Feb 20, 2024

Darcy Van Poelgeest continues to build the noir mystery in 'Lotus Land' #4. The art by Caio Filipe with colors by Patricio Delpeche create exactly the right atmosphere. At this point, I'm invested, anxiously anticipating the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mindset (2022) #1

Jun 13, 2022

The central concept of the sci-fi thriller, 'Mindset,' from writer Zack Kaplan encapsulates our modern, smartphone-driven culture so well. John J. Pearson's great art and Otsmane-Elhaou's amazing lettering add layers of depth and intrigue to the thought-provoking examination of what outside factors influence our free will.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mindset (2022) #2

Aug 4, 2022

'Mindset' #2 gives us more of what made the first issue great. Zack Kaplan, John J. Pearson and Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou continue a fascinating multi-layered exploration of free-will and control based on a mind-controlling app.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mindset (2022) #3

Sep 14, 2022

Although 'Mindset' #3 isn't quite as strong as the outstanding first issues, it's still a great continuation to an already fantastic series. It starts slow but is saved by a tense and exciting second half.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mindset (2022) #4

Oct 18, 2022

I would argue that Mindset is the very best comic series of the year. Each issue has left me thinking for days about free will and my cell phone use, all the while wondering what will happen next. In other words, I can't wait for issue #5 to come out next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mindset (2022) #5

Nov 22, 2022

The twist at the end of Mindset #5 alone makes this comic great. It completely changes all that has come before, turning everything on its head.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mindset (2022) #6

Jan 10, 2023

The final issue of this excellent miniseries brings the all-too-real narrative of a mind-controlling app to an exciting and satisfying conclusion, while revealing even more hidden truths about our modern digital society. The incredible work of the whole creative team has me hoping that 'Mindset' will be considered for a few awards this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Oz #2

Apr 18, 2022

Whether you should pick up a copy of The O.Z. #2 probably depends on how much you are willing to pay for it, because these kinds of crowdfunded comics often come with a heftier price-tag than a normal double-sized issue. Apart from that, I would definitely recommend this story and the creators are worthy of support. Let yourself get lost in this war-torn fantasy which will remind you just enough of the land of Oz you know, while taking you on an action/adventure you never would've expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Incal: Psychoverse OGN

May 2, 2023

The Incal: Psychoverse is a good addition to the Incal universe that doesn't quite live up to the excellence of previous Incal books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Ministry of Compliance (2023) #1

Nov 14, 2023

For what it is, The Ministry of Compliance #1 is really very good. But, in the end, it is much more a conspiracy-filled political/espionage thriller rather than a social commentary framed in an alien invasion story. The writing and art are good enough to keep me intrigued. Unfortunately, I'm just not sure that it's really what I was hoping for when I originally heard about the premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Unnatural Order (2023) #1

Oct 31, 2023

'Unnatural Order' #1 by Christopher Yost, Val Rodrigues and Dearbhla Kelly feels like a condensed version of a fairly standard swords and sorcery fantasy story with truly excellent art. It unfortunately lacks character development, instead presenting lots of plot. While the bulk of the story feels average, the last-page reveal is intriguing enough to get me to check out issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Unnatural Order (2023) #2

Jan 2, 2024

In Unnatural Order #2, Christopher Yost provides much more character depth to the villain, the Druid, as well as the main character, John Murphy. The story also really gets going. The mixing of sci-fi with swords and sorcery separates this series from others on the shelf. But, even without this aspect, the excellent art of Val Rodrigues and Dearbhla Kelly would be reason enough to check out this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Way of X (2021) #3

Jun 23, 2021

Way of X #3 presents a complex, thought-provoking discourse on sex and reproduction. Through characters of wonderful depth and complexity, the issue gains heart and compassion. Maybe the best of the great 'Way of X' series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More