Felicity Gustafson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 44
8.0Avg. Review Rating

6
10th Muse: Revenge of Medusa #1

Jul 5, 2011

ADVANCE REVIEW: 10th Muse: Revenge of Medusa #1Posted: Tuesday, July 5, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Darren G. Davis, Chad RebmannAdam Ellis, Bobby Breed, Johnny Lowe (l)Bluewater Comics This a series that revolves around Greek mythology, so of course I was instantly interested. I've always been a big fan of mythologies in general, but Medusa's one of my favorites, so I jumped when I heard this was released. "Revenge of Medusa" is a miniseries spinoff from the 10th Muse, the story of Emma Sonnet, an ordinary girl who finds out her father is really Zeus and she's the 10th forgotten muse. Actually, 10th Muse was one of the biggest sellers back in 2000, so if you were reading comics 11 years ago, I'm going to assume you've at least heard of this series already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel & Faith Season 9 #1

Sep 3, 2011

Honestly, if you're a fan of Buffy or Angel, you're going to want to pick this up. Period. Angel & Faith takes off at the end of season eight of Buffy. For those of you that were unaware, there were only seven seasons on TV. The eighth season was done via comic series after the show was canceled. If you haven't read the eighth season yet go read it. Now. There were some huge developments. Quite frankly, if you haven't read the eighth season yet, you're not going to have any idea what's going on in Angel & Faith at all. Considering how epic it looks to turn out, you might want to give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Charismagic #1

Apr 9, 2011

Overall, this one was nothing special, but I have high hopes that Charismagic will pick up in the near future. It has the set up for a truly epic plot that could be a riveting page turner full of druids, magic and mystery -- not to mention memorable characters with a side of calamitous destruction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dollhouse: Epitaphs #2

Aug 9, 2011

Oh, this series. There's a new plot twist at every turn. That's what I look for in a series -- plot. Romantic storylines are nice, but ultimately leave me wanting something more substantial. With Dollhouse, you get lovable characters, an evil corporation, technology of the future, the necessary apocalypse in ever epic story and more importantly, action-packed plot twists that leave you on the edge of your seat wanting more. Have I mentioned that I love this series?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Epoch #1

Sep 3, 2011

Ever wonder what a good story filled with supernatural creatures would be like? In these days of sparkly vampires and teen drama werewolves, they can be hard to come by. The nice thing about Epoch is that it doesn't just stick to vampires and werewolves either. There's a multitude of different creatures spanning from angels to what appears to be Medusa. The story seems to revolve more closely around angels and demons though. Either way, I'm pretty happy from just the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Extinction Seed #0

Aug 30, 2011

Well, what can I say about Extinction Seed? Not much, actually. Does it look intriguing? Yes. Do I understand much of what's going on? Not at all. The thing about this issue is that it's a glorified teaser. Most #0 issues are. It does look like it'll be a very in depth, long storyline about the age old trio of doomsday, superheroes and saving the world. This particular threat against humanity comes in the form of an ancient Akkadian cylinder. What's in the cylinder? Well, that's part of the secret, but it's supposed to change the destiny of the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fathom Primer #1

Jun 4, 2011

Overall, the Primer is really only useful to get people interested in Fathom. Unless you want it to add to a collection, most fans won't really want to buy this to tell them what they already know. But if you're looking to get into it and want a taste of what it's all about, the Primer is a great read. It comes off a little rushed, but they're condensing 15 issues into one, excluding the summaries of Volume 2 and 3 at the end. I love the series and I've been following it for years, so I can honestly say it's a good one to get into, especially if you like the ocean. There's a solid plot with decent character development throughout and I'm interested to see what they come up with for Volume 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Wake #1

Apr 5, 2011

If you find yourself wanting something a little more clear cut with simple fun (Superman vs. Lex Luthor), this probably isn't a good series for you. Combining the depth of the storyline (especially the ending) and the detailed artwork, Green Wake is more of a comic for someone who enjoys thinking about philosophy and peeling away the layers of the human psyche. Have you ever had one of those moments where you finish reading and you just have to stop and say, wow and then set down the book to think about what you've just read? That was basically my reaction by end of this issue. If you like an intellectual read that blends psychology, philosophy and mystery all into one comic, I would highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Wake #2

May 7, 2011

As always, Green Wake will keep your mind speeding along while you read, desperately trying to make sense of the plot twists and ferret out answers to the many mysteries. The endings are generally left wide open to set up the next installment, which seems to work well keeping the readers wanting more. I'm happy to report that Green Wake is still going strong and I'd recommend picking this issue up. While it's more of the "food for though"t type and not exactly light reading, it's definitely worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Wake #3

May 31, 2011

The third issue is definitely a must-read if you've been following along so far. The plot's slowly starting to unfold and peek its beady little eyes out. Of course we're not able to see the plot in its entirety, just little pieces here and there to keep the mystery and suspense flowing freely. This is definitely the type of series any thriller fan would love -- full of enigmatic questions and chilling puzzles that will no doubt leave you hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #4

Jul 5, 2011

So were winding down in the Green Wake universe with only one more issue to go, but by no means does that suggest the storys getting boring. Green Wake resembles Silent Hill in that a persons presence in the town is based on feelings of guilt. Usually the guilt revolves around hurting a loved one and forms an entrapping world of punishment. This understanding is slowly being brought into the light by Morley, whos finally piecing everything together since his earlier revelation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #5

Aug 2, 2011

I found it very difficult not to feel intensely bad for Carl. His guilt and horror over what happened to Ariel basically ate him up. But that's what the town of Green Wake does to people; it will take you down until you drown in your own guilt and then it will sink you further until you hit the shit of rock bottom. Poor Carl. I can't delve in depth into it, but there are some pretty dramatic and suspenseful pages revolving around him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #6

Oct 25, 2011

Green Wake is back! I can honestly say I'm not disappointed either. Normally when you have a relaunch or a continuation of a series, well, things change. Green Wake isn't any different. There are some major differences in the town now compared to the first original five issues, but they're not necessarily a bad thing. I am sad to say that the original tradition of answering one question and having three more pop up is still going strong. Wiebe insists on keeping the reader hooked by giving minute amounts of information, as he should. From a reading standpoint, I want to know. Luckily, it doesn't look like Green Wake is going anywhere, so it appears like we'll continue to get new answers in every issue. This story arc, "Lost Children" takes place after the original Green Wake though, so I'd suggest reading those five before starting on this one, since it's a continuation rather than a new storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Wake #7

Nov 30, 2011

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this issue. Green Wake doesn't generally disappoint, so I'm starting to expect more from this series than I usually would. Wiebe gives just enough answers to tantalize into the next issue and, as usual, this installment ends with a small cliffhanger for exactly the same reason. One question gets answered and three more branch out until you're left with a massive weave of speculations that need confirmation. You just have to know. Well, we will know eventually, but until then, we just have to wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Wake #8

Dec 27, 2011

Overall, this issue had its good points and bad. It wasn't as suspenseful as the last couple, but it made up for it with a few revealing plot points and (of course!) that customary cliffhanger that just throws your world upside down and leaves you needing more. Green Wake is definitely my rare gem in the horror genre since it's getting harder and harder to find a decent comic anymore. I absolutely adored this series from the start and could easily point out that it was destined to be a great thing. It has a dark flare that most stories lack; a twisted creativity that leaves you thinking about story hours after reading it. Wiebe and Rossmo are the perfect team to bring these characters to life and make a damn good comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Griff: A Graphic Novel (The) #1

Jul 27, 2011

Griff: A Graphic Novel (The)Posted: Wednesday, July 27, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Christopher MooreIan CorsonWilliam Morrow-Harper Collins When you can manage to combine an apocalypse, dragons, little gray aliens and a rag tag, unlikely group of survivors, you're pretty much destined for a great read. The Griff has all of that and more. The world wasn't prepared for an onslaught of this magnitude and simply wasn't able to fight back, so when the dust finally settled, six billion people were dead and the planet was overrun with the Griff. The nickname, the Griff, were given to the creatures by a newscaster who said they looked like griffons. Personally, I don't see the griffon part, they look like huge green dragons to me, but with artwork that's done so beautifully, I can't even nit pick over such a thing. The dragons were masterfully rendered on the pages so that they look like they're ready to leap off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gumby One Shot #1

Aug 30, 2011

For those of you who have no idea who our green, wannabe Mr. Stretch hero is, Gumby was originally an American television show that started in late 1955. Using whats now commonly called 'claymation,' stop motion clay animation, Gumby captured the hearts of many in his 233 episode stretch. So yes, hes pretty old school, but thats not really a bad thing. Despite being over 50 years old, Gumby is still popular enough for comics and merchandise. In fact, I just saw a Gumby bag in a store last weekend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
inFamous #1

Mar 14, 2011

I'm still in awe of exactly how much information was stacked into this one comic. I've grown accustomed to comics that hardly have enough plot to capture interest and use the excuse that's it's just the first issue. Not with this one. inFamous comes out of the gate with both barrels blazing and keeps you guessing the whole way through. So, if you like a story with a serious plot based on tragedy and strength, with some good old fashioned mutant abilities thrown in, I highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
inFamous #5

May 19, 2011

Overall, the fifth issue is an improvement that actually made me excited to read the final installment. In one issue, they managed to pull everything together and somewhat form it into a story that needs to be read. It's a pity the whole series couldn't have been that way, but most story arcs have their fluctuations. I'm just glad this one seems to have picked up. It sets up for a hopefully mind-blowing finale, but we'll have to wait a little while and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
inFamous #6

May 30, 2011

inFamous seems more geared towards younger men, but it's a good series for anyone who loves thrilling fight scenes and doesn't want to get bogged down by too much reading. It's the type of thing you might read after coming home from a long day and you just want to kick back, relax and read about something compelling that's not too in-depth. Who doesn't like reading about superpowers, mutants and time traveling mad scientists? It's pretty easy to recommend this series to just about anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Kuzimu #1

Jun 23, 2011

Pteros is an alien that was thrown into the depths of a place called Kuzimu, a dark world of spirits. The spirits reside in Kuzimu until theyre forgotten. Im not sure where the forgotten spirits go or if they simply fizzle out of existence, but Pteros is on a quest to find a way out of the maze-like depths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Land of the Rats IV #1

Feb 22, 2012

Find out more about Land of the Rats at The Underground Forest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Last Zombie: Dead New World (The) #1

May 18, 2011

I recommend The Last Zombie to anyone who likes a good post-apocalyptic read sprinkled with some good old fashioned zombie flavoring. For those of you interested in reading further, the story arc is continued in Inferno, which covers issues 6-10. Inferno #1 was just released 4/27/11.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Littlest Zombie (The) #1

Jun 1, 2011

The Littlest Zombie is a true gem, and I'm hoping there will be more installments in the series. Either way, I'd recommend this book to just about anyone. It's an easy read full of witty humor and enticingly cute characters--with a sprinkling of gore thrown in for good measure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Malinky Robot: Collected Stories and Other Bits #1

Aug 24, 2011

Malinky Robot is quite possibly the most charming set of comics that I have ever read. I was absolutely enchanted from cover to cover by the enthralling personality of this book. You know how you can sometimes get a feel from certain books? Malinky Robot feels like reuniting with an old friend. Its a comforting tale full of emotion that focuses on the adventures of two friends in a futuristic, grunge metropolis. Rather than some epic, long story about saving the world thats been done a dozen times, Malinky Robot is instead about a simple journey through the lives of two kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Monkeys and Midgets #1

Jul 13, 2011

Monkeys and MidgetsPosted: Wednesday, July 13, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Mike GagnonNelson Danielson Open Book Press Come on, look at that name! Who doesn't want to read about wrestling midgets and monkeys? The title was what drew me to read this in the first place. Monkeys and Midgets is a simple, comedic read full of moral underlying values. It reminded me of a time before the 'gray area' new age comics, when heroes were always good and the villains were clearly bad. None of this misunderstood bad guy crap or the good guys killing innocent bystanders. Monkeys and Midgets is a breath of fresh air amongst the comics that have forgotten that their stars are the heroes we secretly wish we could be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
MYTHOI #4

Mar 29, 2011

Overall, I would definitely recommend this series to anyone who enjoys folklore and mythology. You just dont see this type of creativity in a lot of comics nowadays. Mostly its all variations of people gaining powers through some sort of accident and their quest to overcome their training and save the world. MYTHOI manages to take characters born of legends and bring them to life in a way that readers can relate to and thats something to be applauded.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
MYTHOI #7

Feb 7, 2012

Felicity Gustafson was born in Ohio and, after the astounding realization that there was more to do than look at trees and cows, she decided to become a nerd and got into comics, anime and video games. At Comics Bulletin, she sticks mostly to reviewing things out of the horror and comedy genres. She spends most of her time working in the manufacturing industry, finishing her computer degree and steadfastly avoiding ham fat at all costs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
MYTHOI Book 2: Where the Circle Begins #1

Dec 28, 2011

Overall, I'd easily recommend MYTHOI to anyone who likes a good story with a supernatural twist. Ninness has definitely packed a lot of creativity into this series and it's something you just don't see a lot of nowadays in comics. It's a refreshing vacation from the monotonous lot of mainstream superheroes and will slap you in the face with some real imagination that'll leave you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Peter Panzerfaust #1

Jan 19, 2012

Overall, the first issue was pretty short, but looks promising. For me, Peter is definitely the point of interest in the comic. He looks to be a great character, full of depth, and I expect a lot from him. The kids could go either way, in fact, I expect to dislike one or two and love the rest, but we'll have to wait for their individuality to flourish. I'm the type of person that loves to figure out puzzles and finding out answers, and Peter Panzerfaust is wrapped up like a perplexing riddle. A lot of action to soak up, but we're not given enough answers yet to have an idea of what's going on beneath the surface. I think it's worth sticking with and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes a good mystery. Puzzle lovers, unite!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Sonja: Break the Skin (one-shot) #1

Apr 23, 2011

Red Sonja is something I like to read while kicking back after a hard day. Break the Skin is a particular treat that can be savored by everyone, not just the long time fans. If youre simply looking for a good, fantasy based comic, this would be a good one to start with. After all, shes a fiery, redheaded sword master with a chip on her shoulder -- whats not to love?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Sonja: Deluge #1

Mar 31, 2011

For the most part, I really enjoyed this one-shot due to the brilliant interweaving of the storyline and artwork. It just wouldn't be as good without that balance. You can always count on Red Sonja for good, simplistic fun. In this case, the memorable characters, symbolism of the rains and the surprising ending makes Deluge a worthwhile read and a great addition to anyone's collection

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silent Hill: Past Life #1

May 4, 2011

I could go on for hours praising this story, but its not the same as actually reading it for yourself. I highly recommend any horror lover to read this book. While Past Life is a little different than the other Silent Hill series and can be read as a stand-alone, its a magnificent read nonetheless. Since hes written almost all the other comics, Tom Waltz has Silent Hill down perfectly, so youre guaranteed a bone-chilling, captivating read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Subculture: Webstrips Vol 1: Wrath of the Geek #1

Jun 8, 2011

Overall, Subculture comes off as a dramatic story for geeks, which I will admit to being sucked into. I truly enjoyed reading the book. Its a light and simple read thats plain comedic fun at its best. Id easily recommend it to pretty much anyone--even people with shallower leanings of the nerd nature who dont normally read comics. Theres a joke inside for everyone, which makes Subculture a rare treasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tabatha #1

Jan 23, 2013

Find out more about Neil Gibson at neilgibsoncomics.com and buy Tabatha #1 on ComiXology.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teddy and the Yeti's Back #1

Jun 23, 2011

Teddy and the Yeti's Back #1Posted: Thursday, June 23, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Jeff McClellandAlan GalloWheel Wagon Comics Teddy and the Yeti is a story revolving around a robot and a yeti who defends the earth. From what? Well, just about anything. They both work as agents for a place called the Global Defense Agency. Of course you'd only know that if you read the first three comics. Well, in Teddy and the Yeti's Back, Teddy and the Yeti are back to... take a test? It would appear this short issue takes our heroic duo back to the halls of GDA to take their recertification exams needed to stay agents.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Guild: Bladezz #1

Jun 25, 2011

The Guild: Bladezz (one-shot)Posted: Saturday, June 25, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Felicia Day, Sean BeckerAndrew Currie, Michelle Madsen (c), Nate Piekos (l)Dark Horse As a former World of Warcrack -- ahem, World of Warcraft player, I will admit that The Guild is one of my guilty pleasures that I still indulge in. Its one of those series that will only hold hilarity if you play WoW, Dungeons & Dragons or some equivalent because of the experienced understanding of the nerdlinger way. Basically, the whole series is a giant inside joke for gamer nerds.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Intrepids #1

Mar 7, 2011

Overall, The Intrepids wasn't as good as I thought it would be. While it's far from the worst I've read, it needs a little more variation in the plot and a little less variation in the artwork. It does have potential, though, and it is only the first issue, so I'm remaining hopeful for future releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Testament of Doktor Zeitpunkt Part II #1

Feb 9, 2012

After I finished reading this book, and this counts for both the first part as well as the second, I was happy that I did. I have a firm belief that independent comics are the backbone of the comic industry. It's where all the great ideas spawn and Candiloro came up with a gem when he thought up The Testament of Doktor Zeitpunkt. This isn't the type of story for someone who's looking for another Superman remake, but if you're looking for honest originality, this is definitely a comic you'd want to check out. Mad scientists, time travel, robotic animals this story has everything needed for an enrapturing tale that's perfect for an evening curled up on the couch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Testament of Doktor Zeitpunkt, Part 1 #1

Jul 7, 2011

The Testament of Doktor Zeitpunkt, Part 1Posted: Thursday, July 7, 2011By: Felicity Gustafson Frank CandiloroFrank CandiloroFranken Comics The Testament of Doktor Zeitpunkt is refreshingly different, especially the artwork. You know that story where the scientist comes up with a brilliant plan and his hero steals it? Well, not many scientists have a demented mind like Zeitpunkt. Instead of wailing in self pity, he decides to get back at the thief with some diabolical revenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Tooth #1

May 29, 2011

This book has a solid plot that's shadowed with some silly humor. It managed to capture my attention in a manner that was quite unexpected, and I'm now sad that there isn't any more. So long as you don't take it too seriously, The Tooth is an entertaining read. Nowhere else are you going to hear about bicuspids and incisors leaping from a man's mouth to rip people apart and wreak havoc on a general area.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Three Shadows #1

Sep 7, 2011

The story revolves around a small family just a wife, husband and their young son. As with most books, in the beginning, everything's perfect. Everyone's happy. Now enter - you guessed it - three shadowy figures that steadily add more stress until tempers fray and fear takes over. Despite the shadows not acting aggressively, the family turns itself upside down to save the boy, Joachim. This story stands on a strong base of family values. There is definitely a moral structure that you don't see too often nowadays. I will admit that I'm a little surprised it was the father who took drastic measures to save the child while the mother more or less accepted the situation. Generally when you screw with a mother's child, you're in for a ride. Either way, it was a charming tale that brings to heart a multitude of emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Zombie Fairy Tales #1

May 19, 2011

Overall, Id say this is definitely one of the comics Id recommend to just about anyone who has a good sense of humor. If you can laugh about munching on entrails, this is the comic for you. With the zombie trend lately, its getting hard to find something that stands out, but Ive found a ray of hope in Zombie Fairy Tales and Im very interested in seeing it continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Zombies Christmas Carol #2

Jun 30, 2011

Following the Charles Dickens storyline, this installment revolves around Scrooges visit by the Ghost of Christmas Past that presented not only Scrooges past, but who started the zombie plague -- or rather, what started the plague. I wasnt overjoyed at the depiction of how it began spreading. It just seemed a little farfetched to me. Normally, a zombie outbreak with result from two things, a virus or necromancy and Zombies Christmas Carol doesnt really state which, though it leans towards virus for sure. It doesnt give the origins of the virus, just that an animal started it. I was a little disappointed in not learning where the virus came from, but McCann looks like hell string us along to keep us interested and hopefully give an answer sometime in the next few issues. I suspect the next two will be about the present and future ghosts and then therell be a final issue to tie it all together.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More