James Cesena's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics, Comic Watch Reviews: 38
8.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Iceman (2017) #2

Jun 24, 2017

A good issue, but this early on I wish there was a bit more characterization from the star of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #3

Jul 30, 2017

Iceman hits a high point (and hopefully continues the trajectory) this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #4

Aug 27, 2017

Iceman is shaping up quite nicely as a very engaging and entertaining read. Keep up the excellent work!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Iceman (2017) #5

Sep 9, 2017

I've gotten spoiled with Kevin Wada's covers and he is missed this issue. however, I'm familiar with this issue's cover artist Marco D'Alfonso's work and would have loved it if he had full art duties this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #6

Oct 27, 2017

Iceman #6, CHAMPIONS REUNITED: PART 1 is a humorous and touching read that leaves you wanting more in the best way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #7

Nov 7, 2017

This Iceman series has shaped up quite nicely to be a wonderful character piece on a hero we knew was so much more. A must-have for X-Men fans old and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Iceman (2017) #8

Dec 29, 2017

One of my favorite issues in the run so far, the team of Grace and Gill havesome great work here!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iceman (2017) #9

Jan 8, 2018

Just before this issue hit the shelves, it was announced that issue #11 would be the series' last. I have no doubts that Sina Grace and the creative team have something very special in store for the final chapters, on what will remain Marvel's best Iceman series ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jean Grey #9

Dec 27, 2017

A rushed attempt to have witty dialogue and a wrap-up to a character's story only creates a frustrating couple of issues leading to the inevitable finale. I only hope it gets cleaned up properly before riding off into the sunset"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #25

Jun 20, 2017

A very strong start for the new creative team, who manages to maintain the tone of the series, while stepping into an intriguing new direction. Could we be witnessing the beginning of a new classic run? If they keep this up, most definitely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #26

Jul 13, 2017

I'm enjoying this arc so much, it's like watching a really great film. Pick up this issue! And if you haven't, pick up Part 1 in Old Man Logan #25!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #27

Aug 18, 2017

An issue that felt more like a stepping stone to the finale, yet doesn't dull my excitement for the arc overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #28

Sep 18, 2017

As we gear up for the finale of Days of Anger, I continue to be truly entertained and impressed by the creative team. A virtually flawless book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #29

Oct 26, 2017

I recommend picking up issues #25-#28 if you haven't already. This arc has been truly enjoyable and exciting. I can't wait for the finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #30

Nov 6, 2017

Days of Anger has been an epic and truly entertaining adventure Logan fans old and new will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #31

Dec 27, 2017

"Scarlet Samurai" begins a new story arc featuring Logan in Japan. This is a great jumping-on point for new readers! If you aren't already picking up this fantastic book, I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Logan (2016) #32

Dec 30, 2017

An edge of your seat, heartbreaking tale that is destined to be a classic! I can't wait for the next chapter!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #33

Jan 22, 2018

WIth Mariko alive and seemingly free of the Hand's control, what now? This issue leaves a lot of questions to be answered. As always with this creative team, the synergy is on-point, and I'm still "on the edge of my seat", anxiously awaiting the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #36

Mar 18, 2018

Setting Logan up for a battle royal with Wilson Fisk and Bullseye has all the makings of an epic throwdown! What's on that flash drive???

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Pack (2017) #63

Nov 8, 2017

A very solid, single, issue that has me wanting more! I hope people pick up this well-crafted book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rogue & Gambit (2018) #1

Jan 24, 2018

A very strong start to a series I didn't know I would look forward to this much! Bravo!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #6

Jul 1, 2017

Long-time readers, collectors, and completest will want this issue, but it's disappointing the interior art fails the way it does here. Although the writing is improving, I wouldn't be surprised if casual readers passed on it, which is frustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #7

Jul 13, 2017

The engine is finally running! This is the kind of issue first-time readers will one day look back fondly on. This is the kind of issue long-time readers will rejoice with. The strongest issue of X-Men Blue to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #8

Jul 30, 2017

After last issue's success, X-Men Blue #8 offers a fantastic second installment to this adventure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #9

Aug 21, 2017

A satisfying end to this story arc, with high hopes for the future, X-Men Blue #9 is a must-have for old and new fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #10

Sep 2, 2017

A great jumping on point and an even better treat for readers who have been around since the beginning, X-Men Blue is really an interesting and satisfying read that is growing to be a leading X-Men team book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #11

Sep 17, 2017

A slight speedbump in an otherwise good story arc so far, Toil and Trouble Part 2 only partially delivers. I hope the following chapter makes up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #12

Sep 30, 2017

A slightly damp firecracker of an ending, but with seeds for other stories planted, X-Men Blue needs to “fuel up” if it's going to maintain the momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #13

Oct 25, 2017

A fun, nostalgic, yet current story that sets the book back on track after last issues' underwhelming finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #14

Oct 31, 2017

This cross-over has been a fun read, that manages to appeal to new and old readers of the X-Mythos. The bi-weekly schedule works well for a cross-over like this , but, I wouldn't mind the title going monthly for the sake of further fleshing out subplots and characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #15

Nov 18, 2017

An unpredictable ending, strong characterization, and consistently good art highlight the Finale of this 6 part "popcorn" comic. It's tasty and it makes you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #16

Dec 28, 2017

We finally see the book dealing with the time paradox problem. It's been years now, and it's long overdue. Will X-Men Blue deliver?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #18

Dec 30, 2017

I'm enjoying Cross Time Capers, more than Mojo Worldwide. I'm looking forward to the next issue with high anticipation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #19

Jan 24, 2018

My favorite chapter of this arc so far, X-Men Blue is really moving along quite nicely and finally revealing some secrets!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #20

Jan 26, 2018

Ultimately, I enjoyed this issue, but I feel like it could have been condensed and added to last issue. All in all, a few more steps forward in Cross Time Capers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #23

Mar 17, 2018

As I stated before, I didn't miss the O5 this issue, and I somehow feel as if a weight has been lifted. If it has, it was done magnetically! Magneto, Polaris and the supporting cast taking the spotlight, several running plotlines coming into play, and the fleshing out of characters in both words and art, really set this issue on fire!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Grand Design #1

Jan 3, 2018

It is a Herculean effort to condense almost 55 years of material into a limited series but Ed Piskor greatly succeeds in doing so. He also manages to inject an easy to follow and fresh take on the X-Men's often convoluted, overly complicated at times, history. This is a well thought out, product. It's the perfect introduction to the superhero soap opera we continue to be obsessed with called the X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Grand Design #2

Jan 11, 2018

Subscribe to us on YouTube, Follow us onTwitter,and Like us onFacebook!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More