James Redington's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 65
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Comics #814

Apr 20, 2004

All in all, a very solid start and Austen has set up some nice ideas in play; not sure about the demotion of Kent but lets see how that pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Action Comics #815

May 21, 2004

Two out of two for the team from Action Comics, this may well be the sleeper hit of the Superman revamp. Austen seems to found a niche for Superman, and lets hope he continues to bring more issues like this. Well done to DC for signing up Reis as well, this guy has proven with this issue that he a star!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Action Comics #818

Sep 6, 2004

Now thats a confident Superman, more like this please.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventures of Superman (1987) #627

Apr 25, 2004

Overall I enjoyed the issue, but did find myself expecting more. I liked the art and the dialogue was cool. The plot itself wasnt up to much, but I get the feeling Rucka is building up to something that I am sure will develop as the issues continue. I hope that Rucka doesnt spend too much time with SCU. I know its Clarks new job BUT lets remember this is the ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN, not the SCU and Clark Kent. I must admit I enjoyed Action Comics better, but so far for the new teams its two out of two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventures of Superman (1987) #632

Sep 21, 2004

PS. On a separate note it is a shame there is so much wasted paper on advertising in the middle of the story cant you keep it to the end and beginning of each book, I know its needed so keep costs and prices down, but it really distracts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aleister Arcane #1

May 4, 2004

I dont want to give too much away (hence the short review), but pick up this book. I think the next issue is going to propel this series like 30 Days of Night. Its a good set up, and the rest of the story looks very promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-Star Batman and Robin the Boy Wonder #1

Jul 17, 2005

I give this a high mark because it really is a quality comic; the writing and art are both spot on. I did feel the issue ended too soon, and again, we have read it before. The use of the Vicki Vale narration helps to spice up the comic and change the pacing. This is good. I look forward to the next issue, but I am counting down the days until All Star Superman!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #512

Oct 3, 2004

JMS has a lot to answer for, but not half as much as the editors at Marvel who agreed to this story arc. I will give this issue an extra half mark for being so stupid to think this was a good idea. Also I have given JMS an extra mark on the off chance this is all a buff, and the last part of the story will expose the truth that Mary Jane has indeed gone nuts and got it all wrong!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #513

Oct 31, 2004

This issue is okay, it continues the story and plays out the drama in a very nice fashion and nice pace. It doesnt completely feel like its being dragged out for a trade like some of the previous story arcs in this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman #626

May 4, 2004

Its refreshing to see a normal, fun for everyone Batman story. I could give this to a ten year old and they would easily enjoy this comic, its not dark or really scary and its not violent. Batman is himself, Alfred is present and we have two recognisable villains that any Batman fan knows and loves. Its a story that wants to be a Batman adventure, not a lesson in the dark knight. Its a fun Superhero story (did I make my point?), my only real problem with all these arcs lately is how long they are - this arc along is another six issues, again it may well be worth waiting till the trade comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bite Club #2

May 21, 2004

This is a comic that is worth picking up if you can spare the cash, if not wait for the trade - I am sure there will be one and like most comic arcs nowadays it will probably flow much better reading it as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Brodies Law #1

Nov 8, 2004

Issue 2 has just come out and is also pretty good; there is a cool chase scene which I will talk about more in my review of that issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Brodies Law #2

Nov 18, 2004

The issue leaves you looking forward to the next, and I am. If you havent checked out this comic yet... do it!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Brodies Law #3

Feb 7, 2005

In a nutshell: A welcome change of pace, but now lets bring on the action. It's great to finally have Jack have his power in place and, thanks to that last page, is using it to get his revenge. If Jack makes it though his mini series we have a great character in the making if he can hold on his own identity, that is. Check out Brodie's Law website if you are interested in picking up this series. You really should because it is a special comic book, and it's based in London!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Brodies Law #4

Feb 14, 2005

The team behind the series have told me that there will be a trade coming out soon. If you cant find the previous issues, wait for the trade. I think together this will make one hell of ride. You can check out more of Brodies Law at its website where you can even buy the issues you need!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Daredevil (1998) #67

Nov 28, 2004

I really found it hard to write something about this comic, hard to form an opinion. There is nothing really wrong with it. Its just that I have found it hard to enjoy, and thats not because of the different artwork styles (which are pretty cool) or the writing (which is as good as ever). I guess the problem is with everything that happened to Matt Murdoch lately, I find this situation a little boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Daredevil: Redemption #1

Feb 6, 2005

In a nutshell: because I like the interior art. I am sure if I read the comic again I might get more from it, but on first reading not my bag baby!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Comics Presents Superman #1

Aug 8, 2004

A Quarterback on his way out of the game decides to overdose, Superman stops him and thats about it. A simple story, some nice art that doesnt really suit Superman but good never the less. Could have been interesting if we had further character development but thats about it. Nice to see Jimmy and the SCU, but since when can Superman time travel again?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
District X #1

May 21, 2004

Good 1st issue, finally a comic that Neil convinced me to buy that I like. I will probably pick up the next issue to see where this series is really going, but it has a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Flash (1987) #212

Jul 25, 2004

I havent got a lot to say about it, it just wasnt up to standard. The art was ok, shows good action and movement in the panels, but the story just dragged. Heres to next month when something might actually happen, that involves the title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern: Rebirth #1

Oct 31, 2004

Overall, this is a good solid issue where things are put in place and set in motion. I bought the issue to see whats going on with some old friends I havent really looked in on for a while, and I found myself caught up in the story. I will be buying the rest of the series, if the quality and story remain at this level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern: Rebirth #2

Nov 28, 2004

The only reason this doesnt get full marks is because I dont like what seems to be going on with Kyle Rayner a character I still think has a lot of potential. And to think I wasnt going to bother buying this mini series. Well, Im glad I did because it is shaping up to be a classic!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
H-E-R-O #15

Apr 22, 2004

A good start to a new arc that promises to be very interesting, but because its not very original: powerful magical device falls into wrong hands, that old chestnut; I wont give it more than just above an average score. The issue has comedy, drama, a little bit of action and a good last page that makes you want to pick up the next issue. The artist shows promise and hopefully he will shine in the next issue with some more action/splash pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harry Johnson #1

Oct 3, 2004

While not too special, I would recommend this comic if you want to try something else and have the money to spend - I will be buying the second issue to see what happens and also because my girlfriend thought it was quite funny (it fact she is upset because she think it is worth 4 bullets and I am in trouble because she doesnt feel this review is fair) and would like to read the next one as well. This is a well produced comic on all levels, it just a shame the jokes are not able to hold their own further into the comic than 6 pages before they become stale. I would like to see more from this creative team though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Identity Crisis #2

Jul 18, 2004

If this mini series continues to hit the mark and perform like it has in this issue and the last, we comic fans are in for a treat. There are few comics which have made the characters human to me, this is one of them. This is better than the 1st issue. This is superhero drama at its finest and I welcome the next issue with open arms.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Identity Crisis #4

Sep 19, 2004

What Brad Meltzer has done is turn these heroes into us, he has made them human while keeping them super-human this is why this series works, it will make one hell of a graphic novel thats for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Identity Crisis #5

Oct 24, 2004

Nice cover again by Turner, I kinds feel sad for Tim Drake the only real question I ask of his series is where the hell does it fill into continuity? Its sometime after War Games (the current, buy everything if you want to enjoy it, Batman story), but then? But thats doesnt really matter I am enjoying this series too much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Identity Crisis #6

Nov 14, 2004

Thats all you need to know everything is working here and makes for one hell of a final issue next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Identity Crisis #7

Dec 19, 2004

I do feel let down by the ending, not for the quality of the work but because the killer ended up being Mrs. Atom I was hoping for more. I really was. Where was the big villain the big final fight? To be honest this ending does work because it was low key, and it kept with the level of the story so far. It was a story about the heroes as humans, about their identities and thats why I can forgive the lack of battle that the fanboy in me wants. This story impacts where it counts and succeeds on every level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infinite Crisis #1

Oct 16, 2005

Its hard to judge just how good this series will be without comparing it to the original Crisis and also by looking at just one issue; One thing is sure though, this is a fine start and an exciting one as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #10

Apr 20, 2004

Buy this comic - good art, good writing, and a good story. This is a comic that is made by creators that love comics - and it shows.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #12

Jun 18, 2004

I really dont want to give too much away about this issues contents because its one of the defining moments of the series. This issue and issue 11 have really turned this series in a new direction. The art is good and the writing even better, as I have said before this series is the find of the year so far for me in the mainstream comics. Its funny, exciting and kinda scary (especially this issue) all in one. I cant remember when I have been so excited about reading the next issue. Buy the trades and start picking up the new issues as soon as you can, this is one to watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
JLA Classified #11

Sep 9, 2005

As with most multi-part stories at the moment, the second part usually feels like filler. This is no exception here, BUT it is quality filler and exciting filler, so all is forgiven, and the story does more on a little. I have no doubt that this is going to be a great story when we get to read all six parts together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Killer Stunts, Inc. #1

Apr 17, 2005

Scott Kinney has definitely created something I like. I feel that the actual 22 page format has worked against him as the comic moves very fast and just as you start to get into it we have the cliff-hanger and a month to wait. A little more background into the characters would have been nice, but I am sure things will be filled out more in the upcoming issues. Overall, its a very slick, fun, action packed comic and to be quite honest, its better than a lot of the other stuff out there on the shelves by the bigger companies. Recently, I have definitely become more excited by reading titles like this than I am in reading half the regular titles I pick each week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #1

Jan 2, 2005

Entertaining issue, but it felt weighted down by me not having previous knowledge of The Legion. Maybe not for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lions, Tigers & Bears #2

Mar 24, 2005

If you are not reading this, you should. Good luck in finding the back issues. This is a hot book for a reason. If you end up having to wait for the trade, buy an extra copy for that kid you know. This comic is for everyone: kids, adults and even my girlfriend is reading it That in itself is worth the I am giving this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Man-Thing #1

Jul 25, 2004

Buy it if you a little bit interested in the upcoming movie - if not then only if you have the cash to spare, its worth a read at least. It doesnt set new ground, and if the terrorists is not the Man-Thing I dont know what I am thinking. I hoping this will shed some light on the character before the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Marvel Team-Up (2004) #3

Dec 19, 2004

This latest Marvel Team-Up series is shaping up to be something special, and I can not wait to see what happens next and where these guys take it. Can Kirkman do no wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mr. T #1

Jun 5, 2005

I would definitely recommend this if you are in the mood for some fun and a throwback to your childhood. I think that it may actually be better to wait for the trade, but thats up to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Avengers #1

Dec 5, 2004

Anyway, solid 1st issue with really nice art and fluid story telling and great character work. I expected more though

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers #2

Jan 9, 2005

I do feel like this opening act of the new series is really just being written for a trade, and from what we have so far I have no doubt it will make an excellent trade when it does come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Avengers #4

Mar 26, 2005

By the way at the end of the issue the team go to the Savage Land, and some mutant, small, hairy with metal claws turns up on the last page not sure who he is, so could be interesting next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
New Avengers #8

Aug 7, 2005

Great end spread, but I dont really see the point of the all those characters being there. The build-up seemed non-existent for such a dramatic event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Outsiders #24

May 29, 2005

I am looking forward to the next part, but if Superman doesnt turn up to sort out the mess that he has caused with all these bloody Superbots, I might just not bother with the last part. How can the JLA be annoyed with Bats because of the Brother satellite and not at Supes for creating Superbots that have killed people while he did nothing to stop them?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Remains #2

Jun 20, 2004

All in all a solid comic which once again leaves us well set for the next issue. Like all comics at the moment if you havent got it already buy the trade when it comes out. It will be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Klarion The Witch Boy #1

Apr 24, 2005

Wow is all I can say I have been impressed so far with the Seven Soldiers comics, but this is the first one that has truly blown me away on art and story. So its 4BULLETS for the art and 4BULLETS for the story can I have 8 bullets?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Zatanna #1

Apr 10, 2005

All in all, a good comic. Not great, but solid. Im definitely buying the next issue, and now looking forward to the Witch-boy which I think is the next release from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Starkweather #1

Jan 2, 2005

Good entertaining fun, a good comic with promise for the upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sundown: Arizona #1

Jul 10, 2005

We got to read this in PDF format on a computer screen, which usually puts me off, BUT this time I found myself captivated by the story and art. I will definitely be looking out for this at my local comic shop - which I bet doesnt stock it, so I will buy it from Arcana Studios website, which I suggest you do as well. If you like adventure and murder, with some zombie like creatures (that I am guessing might be vampires given the title Sundown and if they are vampires I am happy because my idea featured Zombies) set in the backdrop of the Wild West, this is a book you need to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (1987) #204

May 2, 2004

A good solid start, great art with an interesting set up. Its three out of three for the new Superman titles, heres hoping it continues next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman (1987) #205

Jun 18, 2004

Next issue a new villain is introduced, so heres to some action I hope. Solid issue art wise, but Superman talking and eating a peach for most of the issue it just didnt do anything for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Superman (1987) #210

Nov 2, 2004

I may have mentioned it before but this whole story will probably work and play out much better when it is collected in trade. This may be the better selling title of the new teams, but I am not sure it is my favourite - it would probably be Rucka's Adventures, in fact it is as Superman doesn't really appear in Action too much (although Austin is piling in the Action and exciting stories, he just doesn't get Superman character right). If you haven't been following from the start wait till the trade - and stay Super! (sorry)

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman (1987) #213

Feb 6, 2005

In a nutshell: Super work all round from all involved. I have faith that my questions will be answered. I guess its time to dig out those old issues and get myself up to speed on what has happened so far. If you havent read this arc, pick up the trade in a few months. I am sure it will be super! (Sorry, had to get one more in before I left)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman/Batman #9

Apr 25, 2004

I have a feeling this arc will make a good TPB when its complete, if I had the staying power I would wait and read it all at once. The issue is good, but it didnt really have the flare and excitement of the 1st part. As mentioned I really hope this is the real Supergirl, Loeb has said its the introduction of someone new into Supermans life, but I hope he means for good and not another villain. For all those purists who shout Superman has to be the last of his kind, I say as long as he remains The last SON of Krypton I dont mind the introduction of his cousin (I think Supergirl could be very positive for any young female readers). I wouldnt even mind not being the last son if they found a way to return the real ZOD and not the rubbish we have had recently in Action Comics (it had potential, but was ruined by being revealed as a Russian lookalike). Anyway, enough ranting - Buy this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman/Batman #12

Oct 4, 2004

Anyway, good solid comic - good work from the creative team, poor show though for the issue being so late. Why was it so late DC?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman: Birthright #10

May 10, 2004

If you havent been following the story up to now wait for the trade, I think it read well as one story. This is a solid issue apart from a few art moments that lets it down. The final page was great, but the art make it less of impact than it could have been. A new series that springs from this would be great, make it Ultimate Superman and have Waid write it. He could be free to do early Superman stories and also revisit and re-imagine some of the greatest Superman stories his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teen Titans (2003) #16

Sep 26, 2004

A solid issue and introduction to the Titans/Legion crossover, buy if you are interested in either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans (2003) #20

Jan 23, 2005

This is solid comic from start to finish. It has no faults to see, but the best bits come from Robin and Superboy and the last two epilogues: Lex Luthor and Dr. Light are coming!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Six #7

May 2, 2004

Disappointing ending to an ok mini series, I guess it will make better reading in a graphic novel or if I read all seven issues in a row.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Ultimate X-Men #49

Jul 18, 2004

Overall a disappointing end to a lacklustre arc, I enjoyed it to a point, but it left me feeling empty. Again, it wasnt bad it was just average.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ultimates 2 #3

Feb 13, 2005

To conclude, go out and pick up volume one if you havent already. Then go and buy issue #1 and #2 of this series, pick up this issue and join in on the ride. If Miller and Hitch continue to produce each issues like this one, readers are in for a real treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ultimates 2 #4

Mar 20, 2005

Hitch is great. I find it hard to find fault in his work. If there is one, it is that he needs to be quicker but again God took 6 days to make the world, and he didnt rush it. Anyway, from Cap curling dumbbells bigger than a car to Thor pleading to the satellite in the sky this is great work. I didnt like the last page as much I thought I would, its a close up of Cap ready to kick ass. I am not sure if it is because of the distance we are given in the previous pages to the relationships of the characters, or if I was expecting something else. Maybe its because we have similar close ups in previous issues. Either way it leaves us waiting for the next issue with baited breath!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #443

Apr 26, 2004

In a week where we get two X-Men comics by Austen this is definitely the weaker of the two. Its a nice set up of where Xavier will be next month, but if you have the money to spend on a comic you are better off picking up something else. If you are planning to buy Excalibur next month buy this issue. Chuck Austen, however, is doing better work in Action Comics and (just about) in New X-Men. I liked the 1st part of this story better, this issue just lets itself down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Villains United #1

May 8, 2005

this was a good read, not as good as The OMAC Project, but it sets itself up well for the next five issues. I loved the cover by J.G. Jones, but I would have liked to see a bit more of a background. I am definitely looking forward to Gails run on Action Comics, and after reading this, seeing her write threatening villains bodes well for the gallery of monsters available to her in the Superman titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Vimanarama #1

Feb 13, 2005

I am looking forward to the next issue. It is refreshing and fun. Remember The Panel a few weeks back where we asked about how to get different races etc into comics? Well comics like this are a start. The themes of a superhero comic are all here, and this makes for damn good reading!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More