James Remolde's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe, Comic Watch Reviews: 78
8.3Avg. Review Rating

10
ArkhaManiacs OGN

Dec 10, 2020

Overall, I found the book faultless. This a fun book to escape with and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Army of Darkness: 1979 #1

Sep 11, 2021

This is quite the introduction to Army Of Darkness. It is an introduction that makes me want to dive deeper into this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Barbarella (2021) #4

Oct 30, 2021

This story though action packed, really does not have a lot of violence. The people are not freed by violence but by love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin and Howard #1

Nov 12, 2021

This is a fun little story geared towards children. With that in mind, the story, writing, and art all are geared for that particular age group.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #43

May 27, 2020

It is hard to rate the story, but the art does make this an enjoyable read. I am interested to see where this is going. I would like to see more Batwoman and more of a partnership between Terry and Elainna that I hope does not become a love interest for the two characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #44

Jun 24, 2020

I enjoyed this issue, but it is still a set up for a story that hasn't truly begun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #45

Jul 23, 2020

I am looking forward to the future issues in this arc, and I believe we have gotten past the exposition now. The fight in the end and the debut of Batwoman helped make this issue more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #46

Aug 26, 2020

A little too much bickering but the fighting was exciting and the cliff hanger makes the reader want to see what happens next issue. At least it does with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman Beyond (2016) #47

Sep 23, 2020

It's a good ending to the “Mister Zero” arc, but this isn't really a wow issue in terms of character/story progression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #48

Oct 28, 2020

This was a surprisingly well-done time travel arc featuring Booster Gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman Beyond (2016) #49

Nov 25, 2020

The story is fun but again the character of Bruce Wayne has been tarnished even now that he is no longer Batman. After finishing the issue, I was just left with the question of why.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #50

Dec 23, 2020

This was a good issue, not a bad issue, but no real wow factor. Batman Beyond ends with a murmur in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Detective (2021) #4

Jul 13, 2021

Despite my reservations about the art depicting Bruce Wayne, I like this story and its take on the Dark Knight, which makes me look forward to continuing the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Detective (2021) #5

Sep 23, 2021

This story really provides a likable villain in Equilibrium and just as I would like to see a Batman figure, I would like to see a figure of her in the future. She truly is a unique antagonist and it is difficult to use the term villain to describe her because even though she is willing to kill, she cannot be looked at a solely evil. Overall, the story is great but the art is not my favorite aspect about this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: The Detective (2021) #6

Dec 1, 2021

This is an interesting story with a very real-world message. Good or bad, all of our actions have consequences, and the sooner we realize that the better. The story is fantastic, thought-provoking, and action-packed with high stakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Becstar #3

Jul 24, 2021

The mysteries continue to pile up as we travel with Becstar and her crew. Why does Mordecai dislike Bec so much and can Anyssa be trusted? This issue leaves me hanging, in the best of ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Curse of the Man-Thing (2021): Avengers #1

Mar 29, 2021

Thrilling book! I am saddened I have to wait a month to find out what happens next!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Festival of Heroes: The Asian Superhero Celebration #1

May 13, 2021

This story gives a good glimpse into the various Asian characters of the DC universe but I prefer longer stories to flesh out issues and themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Deadpool (2019): Nerdy 30 #1

Mar 10, 2021

If you like short vignettes of stories, this comic is for you and I recommend you to pick up. For me, this was not the greatest comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Dejah Thoris vs. John Carter of Mars #4

Nov 1, 2021

This story provides mystery and action. It has a beady eye villain in Gall. A seemingly unstoppable force that can spell doom. It has heroes that are flawed but determined to win.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #2

Apr 24, 2021

The mystery ramps up for the crew and they need to call on some past friends to help solve it. I enjoy this issue and it is a worthy part of the Firefly universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #3

May 13, 2021

This is a human story set in outer space. If you're an old fan ofFirefly or a newcomer, this is the book for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #4

Jun 17, 2021

This story continues to be an action packed space soap opera with heart. I have enjoyed every issue and the issues illustrated are really thought provoking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #5

Jul 24, 2021

This series continues to provide the heart that I have grown to love about Firefly. Sci Fi does not have to be full octane action all the time, as the use of the future to highlight the human condition is very powerful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Firefly: Brand New 'Verse #6

Aug 18, 2021

I really want an ongoing series with this crew and maybe phase Zoe out a little to make this a true Next Generation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Nightwing #1

Jan 20, 2021

The cliffhanger makes me want to see the end of this story and I am interested in picking up the other titles and seeing what they have. Future State, for this fan, is future shock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Nightwing #2

Feb 17, 2021

I enjoyed reading this issue but I wish there was more. I really would like to explore this timeline a little more and I feel there are many more stories to tell. This was just a teaser for Future State and I would like to see more. Not perfect but very satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
I Am Batman (2021) #6

Feb 8, 2022

This story creates a new normal for the Next Batman. It's a normal that does not rely on Gotham or the Bat-Family but instead gives this character the chance to grow into his own. It is a great setup that introduces a lot of new characters and creates an intriguing mystery for the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jennifer Blood (2021) #2

Nov 4, 2021

This story is full of twists and turns. It is also proving to be a chess match between two very capable assassins. Definitely not for the faint of heart

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Man-Bat (2021) #1

Feb 3, 2021

This is an entertaining issue, and I particularly liked the exploration of Kirk Langstrom as an addict in this story. The biggest gripe is the visual depiction of Batman. It's inconsistent, and in some instances, downright cartoony. But overall a solid start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Man-Bat (2021) #2

Mar 3, 2021

I missed the addiction angle of the previous issue, and that lack of connection in Man-Bat #2, for me, just makes this an okay follow-up issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Man-Bat (2021) #3

Apr 7, 2021

I miss the addiction angle that was dropped in this storyline, but finally meeting Lisa makes up for that loss for me. The art continues to be good in Man-Bat #3, excelling in depicting the horror elements of this story

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Man-Bat (2021) #4

May 5, 2021

This issue brings back more subtext and intelligence to the story, and I am happy to see that. Because of that, I'm looking forward to the final issue more than any other point in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Mighty Morphin (2020) #7

May 12, 2021

This issue was not as good as prior issues but it could be just that point of the story where there are more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #24

Mar 24, 2021

This is a great cool-down issue to give the reader a chance to catch their breath before Miles faces his own Clone Saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #25

Apr 26, 2021

I am enjoying this run and my opinion of Miles remains high! Don't let the clones fool you - this is a great comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #26

May 26, 2021

These clones have an endgame and it is something that we all can relate to. This arc continues to amaze me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #27

Jun 17, 2021

This story is not a rehash of Peter Parkers Clone Saga. This is entirely Miles Moraless story and now thanks to Selim it is personal. Miles' reputation is not only on the line but his family is as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #28

Jul 22, 2021

The stakes are high but I feel they may be a little too high in this story. Definitely a lot more compact and more story-driven than Peters own clone saga. In the end this was an enjoyable arc that gives great character beats for Miles and makes the reader fall more in love with this character if that were possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #29

Aug 10, 2021

This is a great cool-down issue and we are left with no idea what is next for our wall crawling hero. Only that he has a new suit and a new supporting character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #30

Sep 27, 2021

This issue is a show off of Miless new suit. I personally liked the showcase of Miless power set and his endearing character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #31

Oct 14, 2021

This is a great opening salvo that puts Spidey on the defense while he is trying to understand what just happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) Annual #1

Aug 16, 2021

I am a sucker for a good supernatural story and add superheroes and I am in heaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #71

Jun 10, 2020

There was a good mix of action and intrigue even though the Jokers reveal felt flat for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (2016) #72

Jul 16, 2020

The story really is starting the heat up, and I am hooked for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) #73

Aug 19, 2020

The action is compelling, and there is a nice setup for conflict in the next issue, especially with Nightwing teaming up with Red Hood and Red Robin to take down Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nightwing (2016) #74

Sep 9, 2020

It is good to have Dick back, and I do want to get back to the Sap storyline and the eventual return of the real Nightwing. I hope that Bea and Dick do get together since Dick does remember her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #75

Oct 21, 2020

Overall I liked the issue, but the ending and the art are downers for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Nightwing (2016) #76

Nov 18, 2020

The abrupt ending to what I thought would be a positive relationship really brought this issue down for me. Lets have our heroes stop brooding and be happy and successful for once, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #77

Dec 16, 2020

In a year of real-life hardships and grim storylines in comics, this is an uplifting issue to close the year on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) Annual #3

Jun 18, 2020

As a one-shot issue, this was enjoyable but probably not very memorable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nocterra #4

Jun 3, 2021

Nocterra continues to grab the readers attention. Snyder creates characters that are easy to empathize with. This story places relatable and likable characters in an apocalyptic environment. The danger is ever present and there is not clear salvation. There is the possibility that this situation cannot be fixed and the only thing that can be hoped for is to live the best way they can. The cliffhanger to this issue is that there may be salvation after all. The sun may come back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nocterra #5

Jul 10, 2021

This story continues to draw me in, in this mixed feeling of I want to know more, but maybe I do not want to know more. From the visual to the narrative, Nocterra shows great storytelling muscles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Nocterra #6

Aug 18, 2021

This story continues to grab my attention and I eagerly wait the next installment

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Norse Mythology: II #2

Jul 15, 2021

Neil Gaiman with the script of P. Craig Russel in addition to the art of Matt Horak brings a masterful tale of old to todays audience. Todays readers are able to immerse themselves in the art and story of how and why the world is today based on the stories from the Vikings of old.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nyx (2021) #1

Nov 10, 2021

This is a great opening chapter for the character of Nyx. Nyx is a complicated character that has a lot of aspects about her. She is really neither good or evil. She is just trying to find her way, deal with who she is and survive or not. Nyx only wants to be human but can her demonic half and her fellow demons allow her to be who she wants to be?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Poison Ivy: Thorns OGN

Jun 11, 2021

This is a fascinating telling of a possible origin of Poison Ivy. It creates some pathos for this character, a character I have always found to be very intriguing. I loved it, but I did have a slight question about the lack of consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Power Rangers (2020) #7

May 22, 2021

For a heavy topic, this issue uses brief moments of frivolity to lighten the mood a little but again Parrott switches to a serious tone when dealing with the Hartunians and their society, setting intrigue and brilliance to come with both its story and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Power Rangers (2020) #8

Jun 24, 2021

This continues to be my favorite Rangers title. The art and story is compelling. There is a definite world shattering threat

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Project Patron #1

Apr 15, 2021

This story is great, it is a definite change to the status qo of superhero storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Purgatori (2021) #1

Oct 20, 2021

This is a fascinating lead in issue. The use of time is just as interesting. We see the result of the fight in the first page and the rest up to the very end is a flashback. This issue leaves a lot of questions that need to be answered and I look forward to those answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #49

Sep 30, 2020

I was not captured by the art or that moved by the sacrifice of Bizarro. I was, however, moved by the interactions of Jason with the original set of Outlaws even though I am not sure that Jason even knows the true fate of Kory.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Red Sonja (2021) #1

Sep 11, 2021

This is a switch, The child Sonja is supposed to rescue ends up saving the warrior herself. Who is this girl and is there a connection to Red Sonja herself?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Red Sonja (2021) #3

Nov 4, 2021

The mystery of this girl increases. She is very powerful but it is an untrained raw energy that if not properly harnessed can be very dangerous. Can Sonja find that guidance for her or will she have to eliminate a possible threat? Given Sonjas character, she will stop at nothing to save this girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Sonja: Black, White, Red #3

Sep 25, 2021

These are great one off stories that showcases Sonja in all her iterations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Red Sonja: Black, White, Red #4

Oct 25, 2021

This issue was not as good as the previous issue but it is still enjoyable. My favorite stories are the Iron Queen because the art is so dramatic and beautiful and the Cold Monger because it depicts a Red Sonja I admire and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2021) #1

Nov 3, 2021

This is a great opening issue that further explores the world and mythology of Sheena, the Queen of the Jungle. I hope to learn more about her character and if she has any other connections with Ms. Jeffries other that she really does not like her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Sonjaversal #9

Nov 10, 2021

Sonjaversal continues to provide inferential versions of the legendary Red Sonja. They are all intelligent capable and powerful women. If they get together, they will be unstoppable. Wait that is about to happen

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Specter Inspectors #2

Mar 13, 2021

This is a terrific story that is a real page turner!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Specter Inspectors #3

Apr 24, 2021

This issue appears to be a slow burn which makes me concerned that the pacing may increase too rapidly for the remaining issues. This is an enjoyable read with more character moments that that I find very satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #1

Aug 5, 2021

Suicide Squad: Get Joker #1 is an entertaining read that harkens to the Suicide Squad film from 2016 making this accessible to readers who may not be overly familiar with Task Force X and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #2

Sep 9, 2021

This is a confusing chapter and now we have more characters to add for the last part. Is this going to become a Squad versus Squad story with the A-Team versus the B-Team?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Invincible Red Sonja (2021) #5

Nov 1, 2021

This is the penultimate issue of this arc. We have gone back to the beginning of this arc where we saw an entranced Red Sonja forced to fight for her hated enemy. By the act of her remorseful adversary she is unwittingly freed. Now she can truly face her past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Vampiverse (2021) #1

Sep 18, 2021

This is an action packed story with dynamic art and visuals to enhance the story. This is what a comic should be, and specifically a comic for mature readers, as violence is a constant even if not as graphic in other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Vampiverse (2021) #3

Nov 3, 2021

Vampiverse despite being a common tale in comics, see Sonjaversal and He-Man and the Masters of the Multiverse, is an entertaining ride for the reader as well as the creators. The reader gets to see different realities and with them different types of characters and locales and that might create new interests in the readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Vengeance of Vampirella #23

Oct 30, 2021

This story brings us back to the beginning of this series. Vampirella cannot escape her past, even when that past is a ghost. What does Sebastian want or more importantly what does he want Vampirella to do?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Victor and Nora: A Gotham Love Story OGN

Nov 5, 2020

This is a touching story that has heart and a message, however, I do have a problem with the use of sex and sexuality especially when the characters are all minors. Overall, I liked it but the sex scene does take away from the heart of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero OGN

Sep 10, 2021

This is a fun story that is not hampered in continuity and I would like to see more of these stories in the future. Overall, the story is great and I enjoyed the art. My only concern is how some of the side characters and extras are drawn. If there is a purpose, I cannot see it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More