Jamie Remolde's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comic Book Spot, The Batman Universe, Comic Watch Reviews: 40
7.9Avg. Review Rating

9
Alpha Flight (2023) #1

Aug 20, 2023

A scary but needed story to be told in today's climate. As I am reading this, I truly hope that I will not see a day where something like this happens. This story needs to be told and is a glowing example that comics are a valuable art form that can give commentary to our societies.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman / Superman: World's Finest (2022) #15

May 18, 2023

This story has mystery and action. It includes a major worldwide threat that encompasses all the heroes. It is a standard but enjoyable superhero story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman: Off-World (2023) #1

Nov 23, 2023

Batman: Off-World #1 has an interesting concept. Chronicling the training of Batman to fight aliens, unfortunately it still shows Batman as being too formidable to be believable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Birds of Prey (2023) #1

Sep 6, 2023

For a setup issue, Birds of Prey #1 is kind of weak both in writing and art, but one hopes it'll pick up with the impending invasion of Themyscira.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Birds of Prey (2023) #3

Nov 7, 2023

Interesting concept but I feel the execution is just very weak here. There is so much good character opportunities missed in just putting together a heist story for a group of the most skilled female combatants in the DC universe. I do not want to read about them sneaking around, I want to see their skill in battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Catwoman (2018) #57

Sep 21, 2023

Catwoman #57 has a beautiful, dark, and stormy art that matches the tone so well. Surprisingly, it's an issue centered around Batman, and there is also another wrench in the form of a villain reveal to contend with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Catwoman (2018) #59

Nov 22, 2023

Catwoman #59 introduces an interesting story concept. Selina Kyle appears to be given a chance to close the loose ends in her life, but it definitely comes at a cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #8

Apr 28, 2022

I like more cerebral thought provoking stories. This is a mystery through and through, and after the first three issues there really aren't many answers. That will change in the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #9

May 26, 2022

This story continues to be fantastic and enjoyable. There is more emotion and pathos than violent action, and that is unusual for a story such as this. I cannot wait for the next installment in the pages of Robin.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Doctor Strange: Nexus of Nightmares #1

Apr 18, 2022

This is a great story for both the experienced and inexperienced reader. One does not need to know the minute details of the myths to enjoy and the story is not bogged down with unnecessary exposition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fire & Ice: Welcome to Smallville (2023) #1

Sep 5, 2023

Personally this is not my favorite type of story but that is my own personal opinion. I do have an interest to see where this goes in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Grimm Fairy Tales (2016) #58

Apr 2, 2022

This is an interesting premise. Use classical characters, remove them from their time and update their looks and attitudes and see what happens. This story takes that a step further, place these updated characters and place them in a different environment and see what happens to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hawkgirl (2023) #2

Aug 15, 2023

The continuation of the story where the art and colors are top notch. The plot still has some confusing elements especially in the goal and actions of the antagonist. The fight sequences however are action packed and exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hawkgirl (2023) #3

Sep 19, 2023

Dynamic action scenes. Beautiful art sequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Am Batman (2021) #16

Dec 13, 2022

This is the opening issue of the new arc that appears to dive feet-first into the Fox family themselves. Jace may not reveal to the entire family that he is Batman, but that does not mean there will be changes in the status quo. The first change is that Jace is not the son of Tanya Fox. This issue is essential reading for fans of the Fox family. Lucius is more than the technical genius behind Bruce Wayne. He is a man with secrets, lies, and faults.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
I Am Batman (2021) #17

Jan 10, 2023

This story helps us get deeper into the lives of the Fox family and at the same time allows for more character growth in the main protagonist. It appears that another masked hero is now in New York in Nobody.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Am Batman (2021) #18

Feb 14, 2023

This story creates a new normal for the characters. Batman has a new partner and possibly a new mystery ally as well. Jace takes on a new identity by referring to his birth father and the woman who raised him from infancy by their first names. He gives the title of mother to his birth mother.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Jean Grey (2023) #1

Aug 28, 2023

The writer, Louise Simonson had a field day with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Knight Terrors: Punchline (2023) #1

Jul 21, 2023

This is a well-written and drawn horror comic. The last page delivers a great cliffhanger. We see the terror in Punchline as she realizes that despite the impossibility of this situation, it is very real for her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knight Terrors: Ravager (2023) #2

Aug 5, 2023

This is probably not the best story Knight Terrors, but at the same time, it is not really bad either. I particularly liked the characterization of Rose Wilson, and this story showcases her humanity very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Knight Terrors: Robin (2023) #1

Jul 14, 2023

This is a very enjoyable part of the Knight Terrors story line and also is a great stand-alone story that does not require the reader to be fully immersed in the overall story as is often the case with these types of crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Knight Terrors: Robin (2023) #2

Aug 9, 2023

This story with its writing and art is what makes this kind of theme so enjoyable. The art can be fanciful and it allows the artists to have fun in their creation of the world and its inhabitants. It also allows for rich introspection of the characters and what really makes them tick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knight Terrors: Zatanna (2023) #2

Aug 11, 2023

A good ending to this mini arc. The art and writing is solid however I would have liked to have seen more of how Zatanna has paid the price for her magic. The death and harm to her loved ones can be shown as a powerful price a price that Cliff seems to have had to pay as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Ms. Marvel: The New Mutant (2023) #1

Sep 3, 2023

A good jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Outsiders (2023) #1

Nov 15, 2023

I look forward to continuing to read this series. It appears that DC is willing to maybe look into other types of stories and characters and that can only be a good thing for the publisher in the future. It is good for a large publisher to diversify its offerings.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Project Superpowers: Fractured States #1

Apr 9, 2022

This is a great opening chapter and at the same time it is a great jumping on point for readers that are not familiar with the Project Superpower universe. It creates suspense and mystery as the reader is trying to find out what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robin (2021) #12

Mar 23, 2022

This issue furthers the relationships of the al Ghul family, especially Talia and Damian. It provides a great mini contrast with the relationship of Ra's and his own mother. Things look positive for Damian and Talia, not so much for Ra's and Mother Soul. The storytelling is insightful and intelligent and the art is absolutely gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shadow War (2022): Omega #1

Jun 2, 2022

Overall, this story and the arc had many good points, but unfortunately, the ending does not excite like many stories. This is just a last boss battle that leads into the next event. It is a shame that the excellent writing and development throughout the arc are lost with this ending. It is not forgotten; just put it on the back burner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadow War (2022): Alpha #1

Mar 30, 2022

This is a great opening chapter to the story. It grips the reader in action and mystery, and it looks like the status quo is being changed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spirit World (2023) #3

Jul 15, 2023

Spirit World #3 continues to amaze both with its different characters and the subject matter described. It's a wonderful story with overall fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spirit World (2023) #4

Aug 10, 2023

This issue continues to build the world of the Spirit World as well as provide magical visuals to an already enjoyable story. The use of the they/them pronouns continue to provide the affirmation that Xanthe is non-binary and that is an exceptional detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spirit World (2023) #5

Sep 28, 2023

The art is good and dynamic with the magic flying all over the place, but the writing is really not good. I hope for improvement next issue, but it may be the curse of the end of the story and suddenly realizing that things need to get wrapped up quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spirit World (2023) #6

Nov 4, 2023

This is a satisfying ending to this story. It showcases the reason this story is told. It also shows the tenacity of Cassandra Cain, a quality that makes her a worthy member of the bat family.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Suicide Squad: Get Joker! #3

May 12, 2022

The story is okay and the art is okay. Overall, I am left with the question of why this story needed to be told, much less in a prestige format miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #2

Oct 26, 2022

I am falling out of the story, and I am focusing more on the design of the characters. The design is not helping me stay in the story but is creating a sensation that I do not care about. I am growing more and more disappointed in the direction of this story, and I am so hoping for an improvement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #3

Nov 23, 2022

With the change in the tone of the storyline becoming evident, I am becoming more of a fan of this art style. I feel it is going along with the fantastical shift of the story from a mystery to a more horror theme. I look forward to the continuation of this theme. I am beginning to want to see more of Tim and Bernard and the growth of their relationship. I am looking forward to the issue where Tim reveals to Bernard who he is. It is evident that Bernard wants to be there for his boyfriend, and I think he needs to see that Tim trusts him with this very important secret in his life. I want to learn more about Bernard, who is he, and how he identifies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #4

Dec 28, 2022

I am interested in what happens, but the art style makes it increasingly difficult to care. I am not getting used to the art, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I continue to read this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #5

Jan 25, 2023

The story is starting to feel drawn out and I don't feel like enough is happening to keep me engaged and looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #7

Apr 5, 2023

This is a wonderful story that has the requisite action of a superhero comic book, but the focus is on one of the supporting characters. This story opens the book on Bernard Dowd, what he knows, feels, and thinks. It also is a positive depiction of gay relationship between two men.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Tim Drake: Robin (2022) #10

Jun 29, 2023

Overall this is a good issue, but I have a real problem with Batwoman's depiction here. She is a person and a fighter in her own right; she is not a plot device for showing the strength of Robin. He does not need it, and it is belittling to both characters to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More