Jonathan Mullen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 31
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aquaman (2016) #39

Aug 15, 2018

With Aquaman about to become mainstream (pardon the pun) you should definitely get back into the comic books. This new arc, while not quite as great as Underworld, The Crown Comes Down or The Kingslayer, continues Dan Abnetts great run on Aquaman and gives the character the respect that the (former) King of the Atlantis truly deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016) #40

Sep 19, 2018

In the end while this undoubtedly feels like a bit of a step down from the previous three arcs of Aquaman, it also feels like a necessary diversion after three long and dramatic arcs. This feels like a chance to catch our breaths before we embark on much bigger things much like Scott Snyder messing with as many books as he can so he can tell his Justice League stories. But thats a rant for other day. This is a good read, just one that unfortunately is overshadowed by the preceding three arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #41

Oct 17, 2018

In the end, it's sadly hard to recommend this one as it's a tie-in to an event I already hate. I wish Scott Snyder would just leave talented writers in peace to tell their own stories instead of taking all the toys for himself. There's a good Aquaman story here, it's just sadly buried underneath a disappointing Justice League one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #42

Nov 22, 2018

In the end this is a pretty good ending to the run. It takes the character on one last epic journey, and while it never reaches the amazing heights of the Underworld arc, it still feels like a good note for Abnett to end his run with Aquaman on, with the main character once again put front-and-centre. And at the end of the day, thats exactly why this run, and issue, worked as well as it did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 19, 2018

From the skilful writing to the truly award-worthy art this is masterful work. Give this a read because I have a feeling that we'll all be talking about this one for a long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #4

Aug 17, 2018

If you enjoyed Doctor Strange in his solo movie or in Avengers: Infinity War, or if like me youre a long-term Doctor Strange fan, then read this. Were only on issue four so far so you shouldnt have too much trouble finding all the single issues still in comic book shops, which is something I would strongly suggest as this arc so far feels like a set up for much bigger events yet to come. Give this a read and see the true wonder of the Mystic Arts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #5

Sep 21, 2018

This feels like the start of a very good and very special run for Doctor Strange: Sorcerer Supreme.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #6

Oct 6, 2018

This issue to me feels like a mission statement, with a battle between Waids new Strange and the Strange of the Aaron/Cates run. What you knew before was great but its time to move on. Waid kills the old with the new in a way that solves longstanding questions from years ago and brings old characters back in new and very interesting ways. This arc is going to be good, so Id highly recommend picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #7

Nov 10, 2018

This latest arc has been pretty good so far, finally answering a long-standing question from Stranges history. However, without that prior knowledge, theres really not much here at the moment. The context from reading Strange: The Doctor is Out! is pretty much essential, and even Kannas backstory is only covered briefly. Read it if youre a long-term Strange fan or if youve started reading this run from issue 1. For every one else, issue 400 is coming in January, and Im sure thatll be a better jumping on point than right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #8

Nov 22, 2018

This is the beginning of Waids massive issue 400 story and he has certainly kicked things off with a bang. Strange is on top form here as hes pushed to his limits, finding himself left with very few options as a new and lethal enemy closes in. Pick this one up, folks. Its only going to get more and more epic and we inch towards issue #400 in January.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #9

Dec 9, 2018

This book gives us all some much-needed breathing space before the titanic issue #400 and with an ending that I dare not spoil due to how shocking it is, well… lets just say if youre a fan of Doctor Strange youre going to want to read this. Its a well written story with some of the best artwork Marvel is currently producing. Pick it up and prepare yourselves because next month, Doctor Strange hits 400 issues and nothing will ever be the same again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 26, 2018

In the end you should be reading this. Its the spine of the current DC Universe and Its beyond amazing. Everything here is on top form and Im already waiting with giddy anticipation for the next issue as its pretty clear where the story is going to end up. Namely with a battle that will shake the universe to its core and provide a personal catharsis for five years of pain and suffering.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 5, 2018

Look, this is the easily most important book DC is publishing right now. Its relevant, its thought provoking and its challenging. This is a book that isnt afraid to challenge what the DC Universe and our world have become. Its unrelentingly dark but in a way that works magnificently. If you only pick up one book from DC then let it be this one. This is the end of the Rebirth and the start of something truly special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #5

Jul 31, 2018

In the end this book is clearly aimed at those who are franchise die-hards. If you love the Ghostbusters and their history, then youll have already started reading this but if somehow you havent you really need to pick it up. Youll find what you always find with this team, plenty of imagination and an absolute love of the Ghostbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #6

Sep 8, 2018

As I said previously, if you love Ghostbusters you need to be reading this. If you are a fan of Ghostbusters and you havent already started this series well, you have a lot of catching up to do. But either way, this is yet another solid issue by the IDW team, and I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how this arc ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #7

Oct 19, 2018

In the end theres not much more to say that I havent already said in my previous reviews. This is really damn good, and if you love Ghostbusters then you owe it to yourself to read this. I cant say much more without ruining the final page surprise, so all Ill say is youre definitely going to want to read the next issue. Its going to be an epic finale as all this dimension travel has caused no end of chaos and, as we all know, its in chaos that she walks

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #8

Nov 18, 2018

As an end to this mini-series, this issue really works. But its not just the end of the mini-series, its the conclusion to what feels like many years of plotting and different storylines, and in the end, it's immensely satisfying to see everything coming together as well as it does here. Its the joy of a long running creative team. The book can set stuff up way in advance to pay it off later down the line. As such if youve been reading these comics for as long as I have then its no surprise that you should pick this up. Its a brilliant showing by this creative team that reminds me why theyre the absolute best at writing the Ghostbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Go Go Power Rangers #12

Aug 1, 2018

At the end of the day, if youre following the Shattered Grid event then this should be considered required reading. If you arent already on board though, you should probably consider skipping this " or at least waiting for the trade that will collect the whole of Shattered Grid, because while this is definitely an improvement on the rest of the arc, its still sorely lacking when you compare it to the much better Mighty Morphin Power Rangers series coming out in between these issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018) #1

Nov 7, 2018

Look, if you knew this book was coming then you already have it. But for those who somehow still are wary then please take my advice and just go for it. Grant Morrison has returned with all of his masterful knowledge and skill in this particular medium, which combined with peerless art and colours from Liam Sharp and Steve Oliff make this an absolute must-read. Get it, read it and prepare for a Green Lantern run that well all be talking about for a long, long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2018) #2

Dec 5, 2018

Bottom line, if youre a Green Lantern fan then you need to read this. If youre a fan of 80s sci-fi madness filtered through the best of 200AD then you need to read this. One of the best writers in the industry has teamed up with two of the best rising stars in the world of art and colours to bring you something that is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkman (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

In the end its great to see Hawkman soaring again. If youve enjoyed Carters stories in the past then you should find plenty to love here. Plus, with what has already been teased for next issue it feels like its going to be something truly awesome to read. This new series is well worth a look, and would make a worthy addition to anyones weekly stack.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #4

Sep 14, 2018

Ill say what Ive been saying since I started reviewing this series. If youre a fan of Hawkman then its amazing to see him soar once again, especially in a book written by someone who both cares and respects his mythos. I hope this book goes beyond this plot with the Deathbringers because this series is a truly good read and for any fans of the character in any of his forms. This is a delight to read, especially with this books future promising some classic Silver Age action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #5

Oct 10, 2018

As Ive been saying since I started reviewing this book, you really need to pick this one up. But you especially need to pick up this latest issue. Its a glorious slice of Silver Age goodness, and with two classic heroes on board this arc looks set to tell a memorable tale for both heroes – regardless of what size they are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #6

Nov 19, 2018

This is a really fun read, and with the next issue finally promising us some answers this is an easy issue to recommend. If you havent picked this series up yet then youve still got a chance to start from the beginning. Hawkman is back in a big way and he has never soared higher. Pick this one up, folks. Its a blast from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mars Attacks (2018) #1

Oct 24, 2018

If you need something funny or youve got an appreciation of the film then you should enjoy this, its harmless black comedy and thats pretty refreshing from time to time. It's not going to set the world on fire, but definitely give it a read if you want something to laugh about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #30

Aug 14, 2018

I simply cant recommend this book more than I already have, and I absolutely cannot wait to see how this story ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #31

Sep 26, 2018

Look, I give out praise like this very rarely, but even if you dont care about Power Rangers at all, pick this one up. Its a bleak masterpiece to set the stage for an emotional but hopefully rewarding arc. This is Power Rangers at its best and its truly spectacular. As a jumping-on point for new readers this is great, as a book for long-term fans this is great, as a great read for people who just like good superhero sci-fi comic this is great. Read this. Its going to be building on probably the best story in the franchises history to deliver something that truly earns the title Beyond the Grid

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #32

Oct 24, 2018

Despite the fact that this issue still is mostly set up, this is a truly brilliant read. If you care about Power Rangers or just good, character-focused Sci-Fi then you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. Its pretty dark for Power Rangers but it rewards fans with brilliant moments for new and established characters alike. Pick this one up. Its the best Power Ranger related content available right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #33

Nov 30, 2018

Just pick this up. If you havent jumped on at issue #31 then do so immediately. The writing and the art are some of the best in the industry right now and its all going into a Power Rangers story that might even top Shattered Grid. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saban's Power Rangers OGN: Soul Dragon #1

Dec 6, 2018

If youre a long-term Power Rangers fan like I am then you really should be picking thing this one up. This is a great final piece of Tommys story and a fitting ending to a character who has become the Stan Lee of Power Rangers. Read this and see how the story of The Legendary Ranger comes to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She Could Fly #2

Aug 9, 2018

In the end well, just read this. You will feel emotionally drained after and youll wonder why you still go on in this messed up world. Its rare to find a book that understands the monster in us all and acknowledges that were not alone for having it. This book should be in your stack because in the end these books are important because these books should be celebrated, and these books should inspire us because we can all still fly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More