Justin Swenson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nation Of Nerds Reviews: 23
8.5Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 21, 2017

This is becoming an unintentional comedy in my honest opinion. There is not a whole lot to think about in this issue other than some brief history of Tahani. As well as some double crossing going on at the end. I will continue to read it because I can picture this getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 4, 2017

A solid issue with superb writing and radiant artwork throughout. Tynion IV has done a stellar job in his ability to convey an interesting story and to bring these wonderful characters to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

We are going to have some epic runs once all of our current comics that are being released have laid the foundation for this huge event that is coming. Detective Comics #960 does it's part 100%. Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

This was a great read. Slow to start, and little action. But that's perfectly okay. Tynion IV is setting up some major stuff, and he's not rushing it. The art is great, full of dark tones, but a very colorful fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Tynion IV killed it in this storyline. The dialogue and character interactions felt real and palpable. The story was smooth, no holes, and was very well thought out. There was never a moment of boredom or that feeling of "what the heck is going on?" Very, very well done. The artwork in this issue was amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 23, 2017

Tynion IV and Sebela are setting up something that I think has the potential for a good story. Though I can't say I like Lonnie as a character in general. The panels in this issue pull you in and that's what I like to see/feel. Include this in your weekly pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 13, 2017

The story and art are okay. In the last issue I was really hoping that we were ramping up for a great run, and we still might be, but this issue was boring. I really liked that Lonnie got taken out because he is obnoxious, full of himself, and generally has super unlikable qualities. To be honest, I am so over the whole Victim Syndicate thing. I hate that theyre bringing it back. The issue ends on a scheme that they are plotting so we know that were definitely about to see more of them again. But Justin, we still dont know who the first victim is yet. I DONT CARE WHO THE FIRST VICTIM IS! If DC Comics were a person Id want to grab them by the shoulders and shake the shit out of them while saying enough with the Victim Syndicate! Aside from that, I can be objective. The dialogue between characters worked well, and the art was decent. There were a few really cool looking Clayface panels when he was going all agro on Dr. October. Really the writing is good, Tynion and Sebela are

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 6, 2017

The dialogue between characters is so well written that it puts you as the reader right there in the story with them. I don't even care what happened to Simon and Jessica at this point, I want to read more about the first Green Lanterns and how they stopped Volthoom. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

This book is getting better and better. I have to give this issue a 10/10 because it peaks my interests in so many ways. From the A.I. to the Life Energy, this story is crazy interesting, the art is pretty creative. The creatures/landscape both paint a believable "10 billion years ago" picture. Humphries kills it with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

Humphries writes an amazing book. This issue wasn't as exciting as the past few issues, but I'm not mad about it. Great stories need to be set up and that is exactly what he's doing. I'm not a fan of the cover art because Cruz looks incredibly disproportionate, but the issue itself is very colorful and well drawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 16, 2017

This is a great team that is on a great run right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 6, 2017

The artwork was good. I especially like the panels that represented Volthoom in the several conflicting spectrums. Those were done colorfully and with great detail. Theres one panel where Volthoom is holding up an unconscious Jessica by her hair that looks evil and awesome at the same time. All-in-all the art was very pleasant to look at. After Simon received four rings he seemed to have a slightly new look, and I like it more. To be honest I was never a Simon Baz fan with his Kick-Ass looking wetsuit thing that he had going on.and I dont mean Kick-Ass as in badass, I mean Kick-Ass as in Mark Millars Kick-Ass. I hope he keeps this look. Its better. Include this issue in your weekly pull. Green Lanterns #30 continues its epic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #26

Aug 9, 2017

The flow of the issue is brilliant, the writing is on point, and the artwork is arguably my favorite out of all of the current titles right now. It's so well drawn and colored beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 23, 2017

Robert Venditti writes a remarkable story. Subsequently, the flow is on point. Never at any time while reading his work have I ever felt bored or thought to myself "ok, next" like I have with some other titles. His writing is enthralling and totally takes my imagination to another place. I hope he stays on this title forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 13, 2017

Robert Venditti knocks it out of the park again with this issue! He is easily becoming my favorite writer in DC right now. This story is so well put together with no holes and no wtf moments. The flow of the story is so on point. Nothing moves too slowly and nothing moves too fast. The artwork is killer! Once again, there is not one lazy panel in this issue. There is so much detail and you can really see the amount of work that has gone into this title. This is what blows me away: If you read this story with no art, just words, it would suck you right in. If you looked at this story through only the art, and no words, it would suck you right in. Put the art and the words together and it is mind blowing! I truly think it is that amazing. A gigantic thumbs up to Venditti, Sandoval, and their entire team for this whole run. Definitely, without a shadow of doubt include this in your pull for the week. Absolutely brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

In issue #23 of Justice League, we get to see Tom DeFalco take over writing as Shea Fontana wrote issue #22. DeFalco has written for titles such as G.I. Joe, Spiderman, and over a dozen graphic novels. I was truly intrigued to find out what he was going to bring to the great and wonderful Justice League. I must say, of the characters in this issue, he represented them quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The artwork is fantastic and the colors are not very bright. I don't mean this in a bad way, I'm just pointing out that everything looks dim against the dark gray sky in the background. Which really is quite fitting for what's happening, and it sets the tone for the issue. So a big thumbs up to Adriano Lucas for proper coloring, and to Ian Churchill for wonderful art. Dan Abnet guest writes this issue and I think he did a pretty good job. The writing and story are pretty usual of a Justice League comic and I feel like it's setting up for something really cool. I recommend picking this book up in your pull for the week. I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 20, 2017

This whole issue feels rushed from the setting up of Metal tie-ins to a villain who was introduced and defeated in a matter of a couple pages. You can tell they are trying to make Molly seem like this dark, mysterious, badass who knows....things....but I can't take her seriously no matter how hard I try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

don't know if I am more disappointed that this issue was terrible, or that it's part one in a multi-part series. I just don't get this issue, I hope the Justice League gets canceled at this point, I have lost all hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Scott Lobdell's writing in Red Hood and the Outlaws has been unprecedented. The flow of the story and character interaction has expressed a high degree of realism. Red Hood and The Outlaws #11 does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 13, 2017

This issue continues a fantastic run of the Outlaws. The story is so well written, the dialogue between the characters is tremendous, and the artwork is absolutely stunning to look at. This is such a perfect team of people, creating a story about a perfect group of heroes. I truly look forward to every issue of the Outlaws that comes out, and I enjoy them all. I also really like this smart version of Bizarro a lot. I suppose I knew that it wasnt going to be forever, but deep down I was really hoping that we were going to see this version of Bizarro permanently. Pick up this issue in your weekly pull. It is splendidly entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

This was an alright read. Annuals, in my opinion, are hit-or-miss. This felt more silly/fun than a serious story. But that's okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superwoman #14

Sep 13, 2017

I have really enjoyed the Superwoman Rebirth run. The issues have been really fun reads and the art has been so fantastic to look at. Stephen Segovias portrayal of Lanas Superwoman is brilliant, and I truly mean that. This issue, however, was a little dry. The art was good, but the story and dialogue was off. Like I mentioned earlier, the way the issue opened didnt make any sense to me. There was no need for aggression when the situation had already been neutralized. I would have liked to see how the situation was neutralized though. A battle between Superwoman and Supergirl, drawn by Segovia, would have been freaking awesome! The whole issue was clunky. I found myself saying howd that happen too much, and there were a couple moments when dialogue between characters didn't make any sense to me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More