Justin Swenson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 68
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 21, 2017

This is becoming an unintentional comedy in my honest opinion. There is not a whole lot to think about in this issue other than some brief history of Tahani. As well as some double crossing going on at the end. I will continue to read it because I can picture this getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 4, 2017

A solid issue with superb writing and radiant artwork throughout. Tynion IV has done a stellar job in his ability to convey an interesting story and to bring these wonderful characters to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

We are going to have some epic runs once all of our current comics that are being released have laid the foundation for this huge event that is coming. Detective Comics #960 does it's part 100%. Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

This was a great read. Slow to start, and little action. But that's perfectly okay. Tynion IV is setting up some major stuff, and he's not rushing it. The art is great, full of dark tones, but a very colorful fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Tynion IV killed it in this storyline. The dialogue and character interactions felt real and palpable. The story was smooth, no holes, and was very well thought out. There was never a moment of boredom or that feeling of "what the heck is going on?" Very, very well done. The artwork in this issue was amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 23, 2017

Tynion IV and Sebela are setting up something that I think has the potential for a good story. Though I can't say I like Lonnie as a character in general. The panels in this issue pull you in and that's what I like to see/feel. Include this in your weekly pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 13, 2017

The story and art are okay. In the last issue I was really hoping that we were ramping up for a great run, and we still might be, but this issue was boring. I really liked that Lonnie got taken out because he is obnoxious, full of himself, and generally has super unlikable qualities. To be honest, I am so over the whole Victim Syndicate thing. I hate that theyre bringing it back. The issue ends on a scheme that they are plotting so we know that were definitely about to see more of them again. But Justin, we still dont know who the first victim is yet. I DONT CARE WHO THE FIRST VICTIM IS! If DC Comics were a person Id want to grab them by the shoulders and shake the shit out of them while saying enough with the Victim Syndicate! Aside from that, I can be objective. The dialogue between characters worked well, and the art was decent. There were a few really cool looking Clayface panels when he was going all agro on Dr. October. Really the writing is good, Tynion and Sebela are

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #965

Sep 27, 2017

Include this in your weekly pull because it's amazing and super important to the DC timeline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #966

Oct 11, 2017

All-in-all this book was great. The story flowed well, the colors were dark and set an appropriate tone for the events at hand. I really wanted to see more action with Doomsday but perhaps thatll come later. The artwork was once again phenomenal and super detailed. I especially loved the pages with Doomsday. This depiction of him is really quite enormous and scary. I totally dig it. This issue is going to set the stage for not only future Detective Comics issues but it will add to the mold of other stories as well. So its important. Pick it up in your pull for the week. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #967

Oct 25, 2017

The ReviewI am overjoyed with how the return of Tim Drake is coming along and I really like how we got him back in a very direct way. There was no lollygagging around for 10 issues before we got him. Over the past three issues we dived straight back into the world of Tim Drake and I wouldnt have it any other way and no better writer to give it to us than James Tynion IV. He is one heck of a writer. The narration of his work and the character dialogue fits so well together and is perfectly believable. The art is incredible as well. Martinez draws a killer book and the colors are perfect. The whole issue is filled with dark tones and shadows as expected from Detective Comics. But there are a few warm colored panels stuck in here and there when Tim is reuniting with his team. I love that because it lets us know that yeah Tim is back, and this is good, but were not out of the woods yet. Pick up this issue, it is excellent and definitely one I want in my collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #968

Nov 8, 2017

Speaking of art, DC made sure that we got some quality work done because Alvaro Martinez and his team killed it. Their artwork is so detailed and immaculate. I especially loved the page where Tim and Bat-Tim are looking out over the city. I could frame that and put it on my wall with my collection. I highly recommend this issue for the conclusion to this wonderful story. Include it in your pull for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #969

Nov 24, 2017

Definitely include this in your pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #972

Jan 10, 2018

James Tynion IV brought another excellent story and the artwork of the series has been extraordinary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #973

Jan 24, 2018

Detective Comics has been reliably fantastic. James Tynion IV brings so much depth to each of these individually unique characters and creates a dynamic between them that is splendidly attractive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #979

Apr 25, 2018

It's beginning to feel like a chore to read this title, which is unfortunate because Detective Comics was reliably awesome, and now it is taking a nose-dive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 13, 2018

I wasn't wowed by this story, and it didn't leave me wanting more. But again, it's a filler issue. If you are generally a Detective Comics fan, then include this in your pull for the week. Otherwise, it's safe to skip I think. Until next time, happy reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 27, 2018

This story didn't grip me or move me in any way. The artwork was good, it was dark in the right places, and colorful where it needed it. Batman was drawn very well throughout this issue. Though overall, I was not impressed, I still recommend including this issue in your pull for the week. This is only part one of a new run, and I want to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

Hill's second issue of Detective Comics is beginning to pull me in. I am intrigued now. I want to know who this villain is. I'm racking my brain trying to put together who it could be. Perhaps we've seen the character before? Or maybe it's a new character? The art so far on this run is amazing. Batman is drawn especially well. Include this in your pull for the week and I think you will enjoy it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #987

Aug 22, 2018

We see in this issue, Katana from the Suicide Squad makes an appearance and introduces another new villain by the name of Martina Dementieva from Markovia. I must say, I am excited to see the interactions between Martina and our Bat-Family because she has quite an interesting power. I want to know what happens next and if you want to know what I'm talking about, include this issue in your pull for the week and find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) Annual #1

Jan 31, 2018

This annual was simply amazing. Definitely include this issue in your pull for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 6, 2017

The dialogue between characters is so well written that it puts you as the reader right there in the story with them. I don't even care what happened to Simon and Jessica at this point, I want to read more about the first Green Lanterns and how they stopped Volthoom. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

This book is getting better and better. I have to give this issue a 10/10 because it peaks my interests in so many ways. From the A.I. to the Life Energy, this story is crazy interesting, the art is pretty creative. The creatures/landscape both paint a believable "10 billion years ago" picture. Humphries kills it with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

Humphries writes an amazing book. This issue wasn't as exciting as the past few issues, but I'm not mad about it. Great stories need to be set up and that is exactly what he's doing. I'm not a fan of the cover art because Cruz looks incredibly disproportionate, but the issue itself is very colorful and well drawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 16, 2017

This is a great team that is on a great run right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 6, 2017

The artwork was good. I especially like the panels that represented Volthoom in the several conflicting spectrums. Those were done colorfully and with great detail. Theres one panel where Volthoom is holding up an unconscious Jessica by her hair that looks evil and awesome at the same time. All-in-all the art was very pleasant to look at. After Simon received four rings he seemed to have a slightly new look, and I like it more. To be honest I was never a Simon Baz fan with his Kick-Ass looking wetsuit thing that he had going on.and I dont mean Kick-Ass as in badass, I mean Kick-Ass as in Mark Millars Kick-Ass. I hope he keeps this look. Its better. Include this issue in your weekly pull. Green Lanterns #30 continues its epic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #31

Sep 20, 2017

This is was a great read. As expected, Sam Humphries writes a killer story. I have been enthralled with his entire run on Green Lanterns.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Green Lanterns #32

Oct 4, 2017

It holds no substance to anything happening in the Green Lantern universe, or the DC universe for that matter. I totally love Sam Humphries' work, and I am by no means taking a stab at him right now, this issue just felt very out of place next to the work we've seen thus far from him. I look forward to his upcoming work on Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #33

Oct 18, 2017

All-in-all, I don't really recommend this issue. I feel like this is part one of a garbage filler story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #35

Nov 16, 2017

Pick this up if you don't mind a non-serious/silly read, and if you don't, you're not missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #36

Dec 6, 2017

This issue is not bad, nevertheless, the characters are irritatingly silly and unbelievably smart.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #37

Dec 20, 2017

Again, I vote for this title to start following different Green Lanterns now, and give us a new writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #38

Jan 3, 2018

I really don't care what happens next because I feel like this title is more about selling a political viewpoint rather than telling a story. And again, that's gross.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #26

Aug 9, 2017

The flow of the issue is brilliant, the writing is on point, and the artwork is arguably my favorite out of all of the current titles right now. It's so well drawn and colored beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 23, 2017

Robert Venditti writes a remarkable story. Subsequently, the flow is on point. Never at any time while reading his work have I ever felt bored or thought to myself "ok, next" like I have with some other titles. His writing is enthralling and totally takes my imagination to another place. I hope he stays on this title forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 13, 2017

Robert Venditti knocks it out of the park again with this issue! He is easily becoming my favorite writer in DC right now. This story is so well put together with no holes and no wtf moments. The flow of the story is so on point. Nothing moves too slowly and nothing moves too fast. The artwork is killer! Once again, there is not one lazy panel in this issue. There is so much detail and you can really see the amount of work that has gone into this title. This is what blows me away: If you read this story with no art, just words, it would suck you right in. If you looked at this story through only the art, and no words, it would suck you right in. Put the art and the words together and it is mind blowing! I truly think it is that amazing. A gigantic thumbs up to Venditti, Sandoval, and their entire team for this whole run. Definitely, without a shadow of doubt include this in your pull for the week. Absolutely brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #29

Sep 27, 2017

The story is incredible, the artwork is so totally fantastic and tirelessly great to admire. Get this issue for the conclusion to a great story, and get it just to add it to your collection because it truly is that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 11, 2017

I consider this writer/artist duo to be an unstoppable force right now. Pick up this issue, it is the beginning of something fantastic. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #31

Oct 25, 2017

I hope Zircher and Wright never get taken off this title. Their art is incredible! The detail, the colors, its all perfect and logically follows the flow of the book. Pick this title up its definitely worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #32

Nov 8, 2017

A truly wonderful team working on an epic title. The Metal tie-in is also brilliant. With this huge event happening in the DC Universe right now, this issue contributed its piece to the puzzle. I have no complaints. Pick this issue up, especially if you are following the Metal story closely".and if you're not, you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #33

Nov 29, 2017

We have another excellent book this week in Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #33. I hope Robert Venditti never leaves this title because he does Hal Jordan and Green Lanterns in general superbly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #34

Dec 13, 2017

Venditti and Herbert are an epic team and really truly deliver an excellent comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #36

Jan 10, 2018

Robert Vendittei's stories are so captivating and interesting. They are well thought out and never get boring. Each character is written into the story in their own unique and classic ways. Additionally, seeing these four Lanterns interact and work with each other in the same book is a real treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #37

Jan 24, 2018

Robert Venditti and his team of artists never fail to bring a title to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #39

Mar 14, 2018

Robert Venditti does a terrific job on this title. Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps has certainly been the most reliable comic in terms of quality of writing, story, and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #42

Apr 12, 2018

There are a couple things that really get me excited about this new run. First, Venditti is easily my favorite writer for DC, and he has done nothing but amaze me on his entire Hal Jordan run. Second, my man Ethan Van Sciver is now on art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #43

Apr 25, 2018

Whenever I read an issue of this title, I get pulled into like I am right there with Hal Jordan. The art is on point too, stunningly breathtaking. Include this in your pull for the week. After all, it is the best DC title out right now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #46

Jun 13, 2018

We are seeing temporary alliances from characters who share, or potentially share, a common enemy, and it's flat out cool to see. From Stewart and Zod, to Jordan and Hammond, Robert Venditti has put together a marvelously interesting story, and I am so excited to see where he is going to take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #47

Jun 27, 2018

All-in-all this was a great issue. Venditti doesn't let us forget the strength of willpower, the driving force behind the Green Lanterns. There was not too much action in this issue, but you can tell big things are about to happen. The artwork is detailed, bright, and colorful. I highly recommend including this issue in your pull for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #48

Jul 11, 2018

All in all, this issue was action-packed! Tons of fighting, lots of pretty colors and explosions, incredible artwork, Guy driving a monster-truck-ring-construct" I mean geez, what more could you ask for? Hats off to Robert Venditti for always always always delivering a reliably fantastic read. Include this in your pull for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn: Harley Loves Joker #1

May 2, 2018

All in all, pick this title up. It's fun, it's silly, it's serious, it's not-so-serious, the art is fantastic, and I truly do want to know what happens next. It's nice to take a break from being so stern with the comics I generally read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn: Harley Loves Joker #2

May 16, 2018

This was a great comic. There are many funny moments in it that you just have to read to appreciate. The art is, again, cartoony yet super detailed. I was excited to turn each page because, even though the overall story is somewhat predictable, you can't really guess how you will get to the predictable outcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

In issue #23 of Justice League, we get to see Tom DeFalco take over writing as Shea Fontana wrote issue #22. DeFalco has written for titles such as G.I. Joe, Spiderman, and over a dozen graphic novels. I was truly intrigued to find out what he was going to bring to the great and wonderful Justice League. I must say, of the characters in this issue, he represented them quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The artwork is fantastic and the colors are not very bright. I don't mean this in a bad way, I'm just pointing out that everything looks dim against the dark gray sky in the background. Which really is quite fitting for what's happening, and it sets the tone for the issue. So a big thumbs up to Adriano Lucas for proper coloring, and to Ian Churchill for wonderful art. Dan Abnet guest writes this issue and I think he did a pretty good job. The writing and story are pretty usual of a Justice League comic and I feel like it's setting up for something really cool. I recommend picking this book up in your pull for the week. I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 20, 2017

This whole issue feels rushed from the setting up of Metal tie-ins to a villain who was introduced and defeated in a matter of a couple pages. You can tell they are trying to make Molly seem like this dark, mysterious, badass who knows....things....but I can't take her seriously no matter how hard I try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

don't know if I am more disappointed that this issue was terrible, or that it's part one in a multi-part series. I just don't get this issue, I hope the Justice League gets canceled at this point, I have lost all hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Scott Lobdell's writing in Red Hood and the Outlaws has been unprecedented. The flow of the story and character interaction has expressed a high degree of realism. Red Hood and The Outlaws #11 does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 13, 2017

This issue continues a fantastic run of the Outlaws. The story is so well written, the dialogue between the characters is tremendous, and the artwork is absolutely stunning to look at. This is such a perfect team of people, creating a story about a perfect group of heroes. I truly look forward to every issue of the Outlaws that comes out, and I enjoy them all. I also really like this smart version of Bizarro a lot. I suppose I knew that it wasnt going to be forever, but deep down I was really hoping that we were going to see this version of Bizarro permanently. Pick up this issue in your weekly pull. It is splendidly entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #15

Oct 11, 2017

Pick this up for your weekly pull, I guess. But prepare to be frustrated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #16

Nov 8, 2017

I'm back on board with this issue. It was well written, there was a nice bit of humor, solid story, and tremendous art. Scott Lobdell is truly a great writer and Soy and Gandini are a magnificent team on the artwork. A big thumbs up to the team for this issue. Include it in your weekly pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #17

Dec 13, 2017

Scott Lobdell continues to deliver an entertaining read this week in Red Hood and the Outlaws. Jason, Artemis, and Bizarro are teamed up with the Suicide Squad, and Lobdell's ability to portray character personalities is brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #18

Jan 10, 2018

Each release of this title, whether on a run or a filler issue, never fails to captivate me and all my attention; especially the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #20

Mar 14, 2018

This title never misses its mark, include it in your pull for the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #23

Jun 13, 2018

Scott Lobdell on Red Hood and the Outlaws has been more than consistent, from the start of Rebirth to now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 11, 2018

This issue captures Bizarro's fall from grace wonderfully. As Artemis deals with the self-destruct sequence of their ultra-hidden base, and as Jason Todd shoots Oswald Cobblepot in the head, Bizarro mindlessly watches super-hero cartoons in a stupor. A little past mid-issue, Bizarro has a touching moment with pup pup (his imaginary Superman plushie-doll). "I did my best, pup pup," tears rolling down Bizarro's face and me trying to hold back the feels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

This was an alright read. Annuals, in my opinion, are hit-or-miss. This felt more silly/fun than a serious story. But that's okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

The art was fantastic and the writing was on point as usual. Believable and powerful. Will we see our outlaws back together again? I really hope so. Include this issue in your pull for the week, and stay tuned until next time in: "Red Hood, Outlaw."

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superwoman #14

Sep 13, 2017

I have really enjoyed the Superwoman Rebirth run. The issues have been really fun reads and the art has been so fantastic to look at. Stephen Segovias portrayal of Lanas Superwoman is brilliant, and I truly mean that. This issue, however, was a little dry. The art was good, but the story and dialogue was off. Like I mentioned earlier, the way the issue opened didnt make any sense to me. There was no need for aggression when the situation had already been neutralized. I would have liked to see how the situation was neutralized though. A battle between Superwoman and Supergirl, drawn by Segovia, would have been freaking awesome! The whole issue was clunky. I found myself saying howd that happen too much, and there were a couple moments when dialogue between characters didn't make any sense to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Superwoman #15

Oct 11, 2017

Skip this issue and this entire run as this was only part one.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More