Keith Callbeck's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 64
8.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #993

Dec 13, 2017

This issue kicks off the arc that will carry us most of the way to #1,000 and we get a lot thrown at us in these first pages. With appearances by Flash and a few other recognizable faces, this issue casts a wide net in its appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Western #11

Jul 27, 2012

This team continues to produce one of the most consistent books in the New 52 and as a reader who seeks that connective tissue we call continuity, this is a gold mine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie Vs Sharknado #1

Jul 24, 2015

And all of the Sharknado elements are touched as well. Chainsaws revving, sharks flying, and cameos galore! Along with a hilarious meta-joke 14 years in the making, Archie vs Sharknado is the most fun you can have outside of the Riverdale Wild Summer Nights Dance!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astro City (2013) #49

Nov 22, 2017

At times risking being a bit heavy-handed in its politics, this issue nonetheless pulls back from that brink to tell a more human story of leaving this world better than you found it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #12

Aug 10, 2012

Engaging new characters, good dialogue, solid action, and bold narrative choices. Welcome to the Bat Family, Harper Row, you have a great future ahead of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Creature of the Night #1

Nov 29, 2017

Destined to sit with the great Batman stories, this is a must-read. With echoes of its narrative big brother, Superman: Secret Identity, Creature of the Night is a beautiful story well told.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Creature of the Night #2

Dec 27, 2017

Starting strong, this issue still manages to raise the stakes and dig deeper into this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.5
Black Kiss 2 #2

Sep 7, 2012

There were times I was shocked, times I was appalled, times I was just bored. At no time was I in the least interested by what he had to say, if there was indeed something said at all. I am very tempted to give this book aminus rating because it will unfortunately reflect on my next reading of the original that this travesty has hit paper.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

It's the future by way of the 60s, and I'm looking forward to where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Creator Owned Heroes #8

Jan 18, 2013

The anthology format continues to struggle and there will be talk for some time to come about what worked and didn't from this attempt. That it hits the shelves the same week as the announcement that DC Universe Presentshas been cut is worth noting. There seems little strength in the market to have a masthead carry a book through a cycle of creators and characters. More's the pity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Danger Club #1

Apr 3, 2012

In a string of remarkable debut issues from Image, Danger Club is another unique and engaging work from a company that has been discovering the talent like no one since 90s Vertigo. Put this one on the shelf next to Morning Glories, it has the goods.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Danger Club #2

May 16, 2012

Jones art is clean and his characters expressive. Kid Vigilante grows as a character through quiet moments th

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Super Sons/Dynomutt Special #1

May 30, 2018

Overall this one shot is a great addition to the DC/Looney Tunes fifth week alumni. An entertaining tale that does not require any pre-work to understand the characters and the state of affairs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death or Glory #1

May 2, 2018

An interesting start with some enough meat on it to really feel like a meal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #1

May 7, 2012

One unique point that had me heading to Twitter after reading this, Earth 2 #1 is the only debut title from the New 52 that does not feature an appearance by the mysterious Pandora. The other three Wave 2 books we've seen this week do have this hooded woman search game, but not this one (unless someone leaps in to prove me wrong). My only thought is that Pandora is limited to Earth Prime. I will assume regardless that it is a story reason to have her absent. More to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Frankenstein Alive, Alive! #4

Mar 8, 2018

I am so grateful Niles and Jones came together to finish this series. Rather than issue a trade of an incomplete work with 5 scattered pages in as a footnote, this issue allows us to have a final, complete, story from a comics legend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Future Quest Presents #8

Mar 21, 2018

I'm not the nostalgic sort, but this issue reminded me that though I have enjoyed many of the narrative changes in comics storytelling over the years, it can be nice to step back to the comfort-food feel of a good guy fighting a bad buy to save the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 7, 2018

Gideon Falls is one of the finest examples of craftsmanship I've seen in comics in recent years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hell Yeah #1

Mar 12, 2012

Benjamin Day is one of the most complete characters I've seen in a first issue in some time. While the lack of action in the middle slowed the pace, Keatinge has created a solid foundation that makes me care about what happens to Benjamin. As a debut, it has introduced a dozen threads that could be followed and I am very interested to see which journey they have ahead for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hell Yeah #2

Apr 3, 2012

I'm still on board with Hell Yeah, and Keatinge has kept me interested in what he has planned. This is more a sci-fi book than a super-hero book and I want to stay with what he's playing with. This is the second issue in which his final twist had me thinking “what is going on here?” and that's a question that gets me picking up next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infidel #1

Mar 14, 2018

The real terror is waiting. Just beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond: Casino Royale (2018) #1

Apr 11, 2018

A note for those sensitive to 'problematic material' " this graphic novel series is attempting to be a very loyal adaptation of the Bond novels and so includes text and situations that would never make it to the page today. When the choice comes down to verisimilitude versus current sensibilities, the weight is firmly on the former. Vesper may have gained a grudging respect from this Ur-Bond, but he still believed firmly that "women were for recreation."

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
James Bond: Moneypenny (One Shot) #1

Aug 30, 2017

Overall, some good ideas but lacking clarity in some of the storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
James Bond: The Body #1

Jan 17, 2018

This is an interesting start to what seems another strong chapter in Dynamite's Bond line. Having recently become a fan of the novels, and being a long-time fan of the films, I greatly enjoy these new adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
KFC: Across the Universe #3

Jul 18, 2017

I greatly enjoy this series and the way it echos the Hostess Twinkie ads of yesteryear. And given that they usually offer them free, you can not go wrong with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kong on the Planet of the Apes #1

Nov 8, 2017

The splash pages and reveals are particularly effective and Magno shows great talent for framing the big moments. The last pages of this issue play like the end of the first chapter of a movie serial. Which perhaps summarizes the issue – Kong On The Planet Of The Apes is the movie serial that we can only dream of seeing. But thanks to the magic of comics, we can experience it. Don't miss the next exciting installment!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kong: Gods of Skull Island (One Shot) #1

Oct 18, 2017

Gods of Skull Island carefully skirts the edges of the troubling history of colonialism. Not aggrandizing the explorers, but not making the story into a specific critique either. While introducing religious conversion and the exploitation of indigenous peoples, the creators leave space for the reader to draw their own conclusions. Though that conclusion may be that some of these topics should have been addressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Looney Tunes #239

Sep 27, 2017

The Trek parody is the main feature, so perhaps read this issue backwards so you start with the warm ups.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Next Men: Aftermath #44

Jun 20, 2012

It's the end of an era for Byrne. I look forward to the next thing and will probably skip this little side trip the next time I visit in with the Next Men

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #6

Jan 24, 2018

I have a hunch this is not an intended message of the creators, but I note it as a reminder that the meaning of a story happens halfway between the art and the reader. As a story, I found the series quite strong, as a parable, I think there's a lot of gray.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #0

Sep 13, 2017

As someone familiar only with the concept of Ninjak, though not the stories, I felt at ease. Being gently immersed in the backstory while not feeling either rushed or catching up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
No Place Like Home #2

Mar 21, 2012

If you don't feel you played out the “Oz as __” genre, then you should give this book a look. I'm still finding it a bit too clever clever to give a rave. It's a well-done book, I just want it to tell its own story instead of making me try to decifer what all of this has to do with Oz. Since the characters aren't analogues and it isn't set in that world, the whole concept seems forced onto the story instead of being an organic element. Jordan's art is worth a look regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Peter Panzerfaust #2

Mar 15, 2012

Peter Panzerfaust is one of the best books on the shelf right now, if you can get to that shelf in time. Both issues have second prints coming . This is good old-fashioned monthly comics. No trade waiting and no story decompression. The comic moves fast and you need to catch up right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Peter Panzerfaust #4

May 30, 2012

Wiebe and Jenkins are making magic. First star to the right, straight on to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Peter Panzerfaust #5

Jul 11, 2012

This arc will be collected soon in a tradepaperback and the series returns in the fall with the second adventure, which promises to bring a different voice and perspective on Peter and his Lost Boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Peter Panzerfaust #6

Sep 19, 2012

There is no excuse for missing out on this remarkable book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Peter Panzerfaust #10

Mar 17, 2013

The creators have promised that Peter Panzerfaust will continue to issue 25 and so far isseems the audience isgrowingsince this commitment. There is so much more to be told. Wiebe and Jenkins remind their loyal fans that as long as you believe, you can fly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planet of the Apes: Ursus #1

Jan 3, 2018

There is one downside to how heavily covered this small bit of POTA continuity has been, and that is repetition. If you have not read many of the various tie-in comics and books, you will likely get much more out of this. Having devoured as much as I could find over the years, I will be on my third or fourth variation on the Landon story. I'm not docking any marks for that, of course. I think the storyline presents interesting new ideas so far and I very much look forward to the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Planet of the Apes: Ursus #2

Feb 14, 2018

This continues to be one of the strongest POTA comics ever put on the shelves. A terrific midquel to the original talking apes film and developing into a fascinating character study of the most malevolent of apes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocketeer Adventures Vol. 2 #1

Mar 21, 2012

Throw in a pin-up by Arthur Adams and we have another winner from the Rocketeer Adventures. It's a wonderful tribute to Dave Stevens that IDW has published his pioneering work in great collections and is bringing together talent of this calibre to continue Cliff's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocketeer Adventures Vol. 2 #3

Jun 6, 2012

History Lesson by Wagner and Canete is the oddest of the set. Told almost entirely in beautiful full-page montages, it is a great introduction to a character you've been reading for two stories already. If they shuffle the stories in the collection, it would a sensible decision to put this one first in it. Canete's art is very good, though there isn't a lot to challenge him as far as story-telling. Look at this one for the great pictures, but don't look for a lot of depth.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #6

Oct 11, 2017

I am often reminded of Jack Kerouac's “Visions of Gerard,” about his own brother who died in childhood. There is an inescapable sense of loss in Royal City. Of an imagined ‘better world' that would have been had Tommy not died. A wish that the pain the family still feels could have been transformed into a wonderful life. If only…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saucer Country #1

Mar 20, 2012

As I anticipate Cornell keeping with the Vertigo tradition of writing for trade, I will likely trade-wait on this series as I did on Y: The Last Man. I'm not positive I can go that long without checking back in on these characters, though. I'm on board with what has started here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saucer State #6

Jan 10, 2018

The underlying idea of what is ‘true' and ‘real' is an on-going tension. Characters are told that even if they knew the truth, they might not understand it. During this arc, we saw our assumptions being challenged and deceived at every turn. It is beginning to feel like even when we find out the big secret, we won't know if it's any more trustworthy than the smoke and mirrors we've seen throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 18, 2018

I think this might not work for me. Perhaps I need to know if there is method to this, or if it's one of those “don't think about it! Comics R Fun!” sort of deals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: New Visions: The Hunger #19

Dec 20, 2017

Having tried an earlier issue, I can see Byrne has certainly expanded this form since the beginning. The story is clearer and the photo manipulation more creative. If they could land the right artist, this could be drawn over like a light box and made into a traditional comic with no rearranging.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Strange Attractors (2012) #1

Dec 21, 2012

I highly recommend this first chapter in Strange Attractors. I'm very intrigued to see what will happen next. I expect Heller will find that the system he seeks to study may already be including him in its patterns. It can't hurtthe salesthat rumours Soule will take over Swamp Thing hit the day the debut issue was released.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stretch Armstrong and the Flex Fighters #1

Jan 31, 2018

Regardless, the team continues to fight the giant preying mantis while Stretch makes a phone call.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #7

Mar 29, 2012

My Superman doesn't say "what can you do?" My Superman says, "Stay behind me. I havethis!", and now he's back.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2016) #32

Oct 4, 2017

All in all, a disappointed second chapter to what had begun as a good spotlight on Lois the reporter. While the primary teams on the Superman books have been so very strong, the fill-ins are increasingly better treated as fly-over issues (pun intended).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #36

Dec 6, 2017

The only stumble to the issue is the final wrap up, which feels a bit like checking off a to-do list item related to a new status quo in the greater DCU rather than an organic end to the storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #17

Feb 28, 2018

This issue has that bit of drama and team friction that has always been a Teen Titans hallmark. Jump on the bus for a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Crow: Memento Mori #1

Mar 28, 2018

The backup story, Buried Virtue, is a beautifully-drawn story that unfortunately does not have enough space to develop into anything. Dinisio's colors add a lot to the thin four-pager. I wish this warrior woman story would have been given its own issue to breath a bit. A bite-sized piece that left me wanting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Jetsons (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

Setting up the story to come, hitting a few fan service moments, and making an accessible sci-fi that does not require any previous knowledge to enjoy it. Everything fits together for a great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Jetsons (2017) #6

Apr 3, 2018

A solid ending to the story, wrapping up threads going all the way back to the first short story in the Flintstones/Booster Gold one-shot last year. Mark it down on your to do list – “Meet George Jetson. His boy, Elroy…”

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Manhattan Projects #1

Mar 12, 2012

As I said, I was not on the Hickman bandwagon before reading The Manhattan Projects. This has convinced me to take a look at more of his non-Marvel work right away (made easier by the digital omnibuses just released). As for The Manhattan Projects, I can't wait to explore the world Hickman and Pitarra are creating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The People Inside #1

Sep 14, 2014

The People Inside is an exceptional work and Ray Fawkes is pushing the comics medium toward its artistic potential. This isn't art with words pasted on it, it's the marriage of word and image in a unique form that is only possible with comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Prisoner (2018) #1

Apr 25, 2018

Lorimer's art is a good fit, sliding ably from realistic to 60s psychedelic. The flow of the action is smooth and the panels filled to the brim with detail, bringing the locations alive. He is particularly adept at layer panels over one another to create a step-by-step feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: JFK Disclosure #1

Oct 25, 2017

Ending on a final moment that brings the X-Files part of this story to the forefront, this issue kicks off an accessible and engaging take on the assassination. It almost makes one believe Mr. Mulder Sr. will show up somewhere in that last pile of files.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thief of Thieves #2

Mar 15, 2012

After a first issue that seemed a bit formulaic, issue 2 has made a hard left turn into a different story of a man full of regrets. I expect we'll still see the action of his old jobs for a bit, but it is all in service of developing Redmond as a character both now and then. I can easily see Kirkman's name turning up on a TV or movie screen again attached to this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Trio #1

May 10, 2012

The Fantastic Four analogue stretches a bit too far though as they fight a Namor analogue. I hope Byrne drifts from early F4 stories quickly or this will be an expensive way to get stories that are much more affordable in an Essential collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
True Blood #1

May 29, 2012

Given that we are between seasons, I would have liked a bit more sense of where this story fits, or if it does at all. It's enjoyable enough for a fan like me, but won't mean anything to a non-fan and the characters will be cyphers. Hand me an B-Positive bottle of Tru Blood and I'm in for the short term.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 25, 2017

A few pages of story, a lot of pages of intense imagery. And all of it demands you find out more next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
VS #1

Feb 7, 2018

I will confess after two reads I am still not completely sure what is happening. Is the gladiator battle Flynn's memory, or a VR game? Or both? My confusion only adds to my interest. I look forward to seeing this world unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More