Keith Dallas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 94
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics #827

May 13, 2005

Thats nit-picking, Ill admit. Overall, Im excited to see where this story arc goes, and this comes from a reviewer who NEVER read Superman on a regular basis in his life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All Flash #1

Jul 17, 2007

All in all, All Flash #1 provided both a satisfying resolution to Barts demise and an interesting glimpse of the Flash series to come. Then again, I am already a card-carrying member of The Flash Fan Club.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Annihilation: Prologue #1

Mar 12, 2006

I wont complain too much though about any comic book with nearly 40 pages of Scott Kolins artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
ArmorX #1

Mar 6, 2005

Again, I am intrigued by where this story will go next, but I feel obligated to stress one point: ArmorX is NOT a serious exploration of high school social dynamics and/or incidents like the shooting at Columbine High School. Andy Smiths tight artwork and Keith Champagnes dialogue dont provide the comic book with grim, naturalistic gravity. ArmorX is a (anti-)superhero narrative, and as such, it is a fantasy. What kind of fantasy it turns out to be is what Im interested to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men #25

Jul 1, 2008

Lately, whenever a new creative team takes over a title for a high-profile run, I've been finding that my reactions often fall into the same pattern. It's been a while since I've been really wowed by an opening issue, because it's becoming the norm for creators to use their first issues to set the scene for the rest of their run, rather than getting to the meat of their story straight away. Whilst this might result in a better structure for the stories once they're complete, it does make it hard to evaluate issues like this one in their own right. With no context bar that of Joss Whedon and John Cassaday's previous run on the title, this feels like a fairly slow opener that exists to (re)introduce the book's cast and set several plot threads in motion. Looking forwards, however, I get the sense that this issue is setting a solid foundation for Ellis and Bianchi's run on the book, and I'm already looking forward to seeing where the story goes. There's more here to absorb than many

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo #4

Jan 13, 2008

So, its a pretty good issue overall, continuing a trend of fun action and revealing flashbacks. For added value, theres even a flashback backup strip in which Robo fights the ghost of Rasputin which has been conjured by Thomas Edison in an effort to sabotage his rival Tesla. Funny stuff. The main story ends with the promise of crazy action next month, so while we had a bit of a breather here, well be back to the large-scale violence soon. I for one cant wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers (1998) #502

Sep 26, 2004

I must echo the sentiments of Dr. Mike Robinson whose letter was printed in the back of Avengers #501: Ultimately super heroes are meant to entertain, to give us a good story, and to be fun. This was not fun. Hear, hear.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Avengers (1998) #503

Nov 7, 2004

Thankfully, Avengers Disassembled has finally come to its pathetic conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers Finale #1

Nov 14, 2004

But other than this, Avengers Finale just doesnt close this version of The Avengers in an extraordinary way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bad Planet #1

Dec 12, 2005

The second issue though better be a solid drive down the middle of the fairway. Check back with me in a months time

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman #666

Jul 29, 2007

Sure, Batman is a symbol that strikes fear into the hearts of criminals of Gotham. It could be conceivable then that if Wayne ever kicked the bat-bucket there would still be a Batman. To quote Lee Corso, Not so fast my friend. I cant say this book was a bad read, because its got only one real downside.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beyond #1

Jul 2, 2006

Whether or not youre going to find Beyond! worthy of your time and money depends really on your taste for frivolous, unconnected-to-anything-else-currently-going-on-in-the-Marvel-Universe fare. I, for one, am on board; I miss playing Villains & Vigilantes on my Saturdays.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #13

Apr 5, 2008

This issue of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, despite containing nothing newsworthy, still exemplifies writing and visual storytelling at its very best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable (2008) #2

Apr 1, 2008

The second issue of Cable really improves upon the first, and the momentum is building. Swiercynski's writing is strong, and he definitely has enough material to cover a compelling first arc or two. I am still a bit wary about where this series can go in the long run, but depending on what the X-editorial squad is going for, they could have a lot of fun pitting Cable against Bishop on different eras before the idea runs its course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America (2004) #35

Feb 26, 2008

So when does Bucky as Cap make his debut in every other book in the Marvel Universe? Or will he even leave this title? That is a big question considering the two major forthcoming events that will no doubt involve Captain America. Will Bucky have a role in Secret Invasion? Will Bucky still be around for the Alex Ross story The Return? A lot of questions are popping up as the big factor of this story in terms of the entire Marvel Universe is seemingly nonexistent. I do love the covert feel of Bucky as Cap, but Cap, whoever is under the mask, also needs to be a big part of the universe. Regardless of that fact, this storyline continues to keep me excited. Brubaker has kept me hooked for damn near three years, and I honestly cant wait to see what happens next, especially with Sharon Carter someone found out shes pregnant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain America (2004) #42

Sep 23, 2008

Brubaker has a daunting task ahead of him. Most people I talk to are just counting down the days until Steve Rogers returns. However, those same people, me included, absolutely love what Brubaker has done with this series and are welcoming the continued exploration into Bucky's new status quo. With that said, Brubaker sets up quite a few plot points that are sure to be explored in the time until Steve Rogers inevitably returns. And as I've said over and over, so long as Brubaker maintains the same quality storytelling and action-packed sequences that have been a highlight of his entire run, I'll be right here happily along for the ride. And next month, come on back and join me again when I take on Brubaker and Bucky's first issue post-"Death of Captain America."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America 70th Anniversary Special #1

Mar 31, 2009

The villain of the story is a parody of the then-owner of the Chicago Cubs, William Wrigley Jr., who dressed up in a bad Batman costume to murder players on his team (the Brooklyn Badgers)--including an analog of Joe DiMaggio. I wonder what the real Wrigley and DiMaggio thought about this story (if they were ever made aware of it).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Britain and MI:13 #12

Apr 7, 2009

*** Thor's back! It's Thor! Oh wait, it's actually a hitherto unknown robot clone of Thor which has nothing to do with the story and is just included to give everyone the wrong idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Children of the Grave #1

Jan 30, 2005

Therefore, I wish to encourage readers to purchase Children of the Grave IF you are entertained by war action narratives. This book deserves support because its not a clone of some other title and because of the artwork of Casey Maloney.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Children of the Grave #3

May 24, 2005

Issue #3: Diamond Preview Number: MAR053100 (page 326)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Children of the Grave #4

Sep 1, 2005

I have no idea what Waltz and Maloney plan to do next. Whatever it is: Im on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War #1

Apr 30, 2006

An event like this needs to satisfy causal conditional logic: IF as a result of the negligent actions of a group of C-list super-heroes 900 people died (mostly children) THEN the American public would demand accountability of the super-hero population and THEN Congress would enact legislation requiring all super-heroes register with S.H.I.E.L.D. IF S.H.I.E.L.D. ordered all the super-heroes to take off their masks (effectively revealing their identities to the public) THEN Steve Rogers and Tony Stark would find each other on opposing sides of an ideological war that is bound to become violent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War #4

Sep 24, 2006

Lets hope issue #5 doesnt cause me to jump off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cobb: Off The Leash #1

Apr 28, 2006

EDITORS NOTE: The first issue of Cobb arrives in stores on May 31.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Conan #18

Aug 25, 2005

This short storys theme along with the incomparable workmanship of John Severins artwork creates an exceptional issue. If you were waiting for the perfect issue before giving Dark Horses Conan a try, this may be it. Its worth your time to see if your retailer has any leftover copies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dan Dare #5

Mar 24, 2008

For the moment, anyway. And that's the ultimate problem I have with the series, but it's my problem, not the series'. This is a solidly structured, well-paced action adventure that is really focused on promoting and revealing a particularly British hero and a noble, controlled form of heroism. I have no complaints about any part of the story or the art. I'm just coming to it from the outside and haven't been able to overcome that distance. But that's just me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2005) #1

Jul 24, 2005

The funniest part of Defenders #1, however, wasnt written by DeMatteis or Giffen nor drawn by Maguire. That honor goes to the series Editor Andy Schmidt. The last page of the issue provides a column by Schmidt where he answers questions fans have asked him about the Defenders series. In response to the question How does this mini-series fit into continuity? Or does it?, Schmidt writes, You bet it does! This is real stuff! One of the reasons you may notice (if youre a fan of Keith, JM, and Kevins previous work) that this book reads a little differently from their work across town is that this stuff is happening right here in the real Marvel Universe. Yes, its funny (I hope), but its more about the characters and the adventure. If Dormammu and Umar dont scare you, then weve not done our jobs. As characters from Giffen/DeMatteis/Maguires other work from across town might proclaim, BWA-HA-HA-HA-HA-HA!!! Andy, what have you been smoking, and where can I buy some?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Drax the Destroyer #1

Sep 25, 2005

So, although Im not particularly impressed with the story at this point (I am hopeful that the second issue will get the story out of first gear), Im excited to see more of Breitweisers work. This is a star on the rise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exterminators #2

Jan 31, 2006

Although this might not be as heady as some other Vertigo titles, The Exterminators nonetheless is a great addition to comicdoms most distinguished lineup of titles. This series begins with a lot of material that will make it a very successful on-going. Look past the creepy bug covers and youll find characters with mysterious pasts and uncertain futures, situations threatening to become apocalyptic

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exterminators #4

Apr 4, 2006

Funny, morbid, vulgar, mysterious, and complex, The Exterminators has been a worthy addition to Vertigos line of on-going titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fear Agent #1

Oct 23, 2005

Meanwhile, back at the beginning of the issue, a malevolent creature has seemingly devoured everyone aboard a space station. Its a monster that Huston, of course, will have to deal with in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fell #2

Oct 10, 2005

2. Ellis admits in his Back Matter that he originally intended to script 16 panel grids but found that format killed the dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ferro City #2

Sep 16, 2005

1. Smythe and Weston. Get it? This is only one of many, MANY puns Armstrong deposits throughout the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (1987) #209

Apr 30, 2004

But if that doesnt interest you, Id tell you to buy this issue just to see which super-hero truly is the fastest of the DC Universe

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (1987) #217

Jan 7, 2005

Second, Wally and Linda's reunion encompasses 5 pages of a 22 page comic book. There's so much more happening in Flash #217 than just this reunion, and that's the principal reason why I admire this issue. The uninitiated Flash reader will probably be a bit lost about some of the goings-on of this issue. I have to acknowledge that, but after hopping on to any comic book-related message board and asking a few questions, anyone can be brought up to speed on this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash: Fastest Man Alive #1

Jun 25, 2006

Unfortunately (and despite being a life-long fan of the concept of The Flash), I havent been hooked into buying and reading a second issue. Barts new situation doesnt interest me, his supporting cast irritates me, and the manner in which this issue unfolded was severely flawed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation M #1

Nov 27, 2005

Im eager to follow Ramon Bachs and John Lucass collaboration.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #9

Feb 27, 2006

Overall, Id say this was a very strong issue. A new villain was introduced that lives up to Geoffs great line of new villains both in this title as well as Geoffs run in Flash, and we got to see the teamup of Hal and Bruce, with classic exchanges between them. I look forward to seeing where Geoff takes the title one year later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Rebirth #1

Oct 31, 2004

This season weve been presented with too many must-read story arcs by both Marvel and DC Comics (Identity Crisis, Avengers Disassembled, Amazing Spider-Man: Sins of the Past), but with its first issue, Green Lantern: Rebirth lives up to its hype. The best compliment I can pay to any comic book is that I cant wait to read the next issue, and Rebirth #2 cant be published soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern: Rebirth #3

Dec 26, 2004

I really have never been much of a Green Lantern fan (regardless of what GL you want to throw at me: Hal, Kyle, John, Guy, Chp, Gnort), so its hard for me to get too charged up about the goings-on of Rebirth. However, I cant deny that the mini-series so far has demonstrated notable writing on Johnss part and been a glorious showcase for Van Sciver and Rollins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Rebirth #5

Apr 8, 2005

Meanwhile, the Rebirth story over the first five issues has been cleverly diplomatic, crafted to appease fans of every popular Green Lantern over the past 20 years. Well, it appeases everyone except those extremist fans who want the entire Green Lantern concept razed and reduced to just one ring bearer--whichever one is their favorite, of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: Rebirth #6

May 15, 2005

My lasting impression of Rebirth though is that its a series where Van Sciver placed himself into the highest of echelons of comic book artists. With tremendous assistance by Prentis Rollins and Moose Baumann (I can imagine Baumann would prefer to stay away from the color green for a while), Van Sciver now is a maestro. Of course, Van Sciver has produced distinguished work before Rebirth, but just think about how comic book readers a generation ago only finally realized George Perezs magnificence once he drew New Teen Titans (even though he had been drawing super-hero comic books like The Fantastic Four for years already). Or think about what happened to John Byrnes stature once he took on Uncanny X-Men. Rebirth will have a similar effect on Ethan Van Sciver. He has now earned an enormous fan following who cant wait to see the next brilliant work he can produce.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harry Johnson #1

Oct 3, 2004

Ultimately, Harry Johnson deserves a place in the marketplace. Too many independent comic books are derivatively conceived and executed. Harry Johnson, on the other hand, is unique, and its certainly NOT the type of book Marvel or DC would produce. Considering how much money Fulp shelled out to get his comic book published, we owe him one favor: if you see Harry Johnson on one of your comic book stores shelves, pick it up and flip through it to see if its worth your money. If you dont like what you see, at least you gave the comic your consideration.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Identity Crisis #2

Jul 18, 2004

But I sure hope the series begins to make more sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Identity Crisis #3

Aug 15, 2004

So overall Im intrigued by Identity Crisis, but still not impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Identity Crisis #4

Sep 19, 2004

This leads to my one complaint about Identity Crisis #4. Although the cover to the issue features a threatening Wonder Woman, her presence in the issue is limited to two pages, on which only her lasso, right hand and left butt cheek are shown. She really needs to be placed besides Batman and Superman as a major player of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Identity Crisis #7

Dec 19, 2004

The crowning achievement of Identity Crisis is, again, how it changes the tone of the DC Universe and creates situations and developments for the other DC on-going titles to address, elaborate and resolve. As a murder mystery, Identity Crisis is disappointing. But as an event that impacts the DC Universe, Identity Crisis was both necessary and notable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Immortal Iron Fist: Orson Randall and the Green Mist of Death #1

Feb 19, 2008

If you're a fan of the regular series, you'll certainly want to check this out, as it provides a bumper-sized issue's worth of Orson Randall goodness, as well as offering new background information on the history of K'un-Lun and shedding more light on the motivation of the Prince of Orphans (who has recently become one of the more significant characters in the book). And if you're not a regular reader of Immortal Iron Fist, this is a continuity-light collection of fun adventures which exemplify the tone of the monthly book perfectly, and should be a good indicator of whether you'd enjoy it. This is exactly the kind of book that I'd like to see Marvel and DC produce more often: an enjoyable, self-contained issue which acts as a perfect gateway book for new readers, and provides a satisfying treat for loyal followers of the regular series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible #48

Feb 17, 2008

Editors Note: Invincible #48 arrives in stores this Wednesday, February 20.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man #1

May 6, 2008

Overall, I enjoyed this issue. It moves a bit slowly and definitely allows for reader jump-on, but there will be a number of questions for new Iron Man readers to find the answers. The extremis is explained decently, but Iron Man as Director of S.H.I.E.L.D., not so much. Granted, the majority of new readers will more than likely be those who are familiar with the current Marvel Universe, but there are still others who could be roped in. However, Ezekiel Stane should prove to be a formidable new villain, and I am excited to see where Fraction goes with this. I also thought it was refreshing to see the "superhero Tony Stark" once more. Fraction writes him as very self-aware and somewhat vulnerable. This title does a decent job making Tony somewhat likeable again after he essentially became a villain following Civil War.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
JLA #115

Jun 12, 2005

And if youve already made up your mind to ignore Infinite Crisis, then, again, its best you skip the next five issues of JLA as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex #1

Nov 18, 2005

Remove all the dialogue and narration from this book, and its still worth the $2.99 cover price. Lucky for comic fans that the story is so entertaining anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Unlimited #5

Jan 7, 2005

To some degree, ALL super-hero comic books are insipid. JLU invites me to channel my ten-year-old self. Some weeks Id rather consume a fun, juvenile story that reminds me why I began reading comic books in the first place than an overblown or cynical juvenile story that tries to deny (or seems embarrassed by) its own juvenility.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Unlimited #8

Apr 10, 2005

Thats my ONLY complaint about the issue. Otherwise, its yet another engrossing issue of JLU which proves monthly that good stories CAN be told in only 20 pages, not unnecessarily ballooned to six issues. Carlos Barberi provides his usual stellar work. Yes, his style perfectly emulates the Justice League Unlimited cartoon, but it is a consistent, admirable comic book style in its own right as well. Flat out, Barberi knows how to tell a story with lines that are thick and clean. Im glad to see he was given the opportunity to provide the issues cover which vividly encapsulates the Questions dilemma within the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kick-Ass #2

Apr 1, 2008

Kick-Ass is not what I would call a particularly edifying read, but it's an entertaining one nonetheless, and this second issue has surprised me by continuing the heavy focus on characterisation that we saw in the first issue as well as taking the plot to some unexpected places. The final developments of this issue mirror the denouement of the previous issue, which initially made me worry that the book was going to get repetitive very quickly. However, Millar twists the premise of the nasty cliffhanger from last issue into a different direction here, with a final page which promises to take the story to a different level next issue. Im interested to see how it plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Legion #31

Apr 2, 2004

Im left wondering how much input Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning (the writing duo who has guided the past four years worth of Legion adventures) had on this issue. I really cant find much of their influence. If Abnett and Lanning did contribute greatly to this issue, perhaps their intention was to do their best imitation of a Keith Giffen Justice League International issue. For this issue to fit in with the previous 30 issues though, Abnett and Lanning needed to drive the car while Giffen stayed in the back seat, holding the map and telling them where to go. Instead Giffen here is both driving the car and navigating.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Legion #34

Jul 3, 2004

So while I wasnt overwhelmed by the story, I was entertained, and after I put the issue down, I found myself wondering why a radical alteration or start from scratch reboot was needed for the Legion of Super-Heroes. Theres plenty of stories left to be told for this version of the super-hero group from the 31st century.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Legion #35

Jul 21, 2004

And consider The Legion #35 this fans evidence #2 (my evidence #1 is Keith Champagnes/Steve Lightles entertaining The Legion #34) that a re-boot of the Legion of Super-Heroes isnt necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Legion of Super-Heroes (2004) #1

Jan 2, 2005

I do though sincerely believe that Legion of Super-Heroes deserves to be a long-lasting success because what Waid, Kitson and Wacker have crafted is better than 90% of the super-hero comic books being produced today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Madrox #2

Oct 24, 2004

And why arent you buying this comic book?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel 1985 #1

May 27, 2008

At times, though, the images seem to evoke a time even earlier than 1985--partially due to the faded colors and partially due to Toby and his neighborhood friend living in A-frame houses with attic loft bedrooms. These are houses that look like they were built in the late 1930s or early 1940s.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Marvel Team Up (2004) #1

Nov 15, 2004

No doubt about it, MTU is a Scott Kolins showcase, and I would encourage you to buy the book if you in any way admire this artist. The story may not grab you, but the artwork should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Team Up (2004) #2

Nov 30, 2004

If youre eager to digest a light-hearted, action-packed compressed super-hero tale, I dont think you can do better than spending $2.25 on Marvel Team-Up #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Team Up (2004) #3

Dec 19, 2004

MTU has quickly become my favorite on-going title. Each issue so far has delivered an entertaining mix of witty dialogue, intriguing developments, wonderful character moments and the presentation of a wonderfully crowded Marvel Universe where youll never know who will show up, even just for a panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
New Avengers #1

Dec 5, 2004

A friend of mine remarked that The New Avengers initial story arc will read much better as a trade paperback collection than as a monthly serial. Thats an astute observation, and I can think of no better way to honor my friends intelligence than to avoid buying any more issues of The New Avengers. I figure by the time the fourth of July rolls around, this first story arc will have finally reached its end. Who knows? Maybe by then, Wolverines reason for joining yet another super-hero team will be revealed. Hes nowhere to be found in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers #11

Oct 13, 2005

Im one of those comic book readers who can forgive certain story flaws if Im really taken by the artwork. And Im very really taken by what Finch provides here

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
New Avengers #13

Dec 4, 2005

Hmmn. It appears my attempt to avoid unamusing sanctimonious snarkiness failed, but you really only have yourselves to blame I told you to skip to Kelvin Greens review.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers #15

Feb 9, 2006

As a new line-up issue, New Avengers #15 for the most part fails because there are no roster changes, and it relies too much on J. Jonah Jamesons actions as the surprise of the story. However, despite the narrative flaws, any Marvel Comic that features Frank Cho artwork is worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers #50

Feb 24, 2009

Overall, this issue was solid, but I honestly expected more from the 50th issue of New Avengers. I'm also a bit torn, because while I wanted a bit more, I was satisfied with what was presented, the great fight scene featuring numerous guest artists, and I am very happy that the Dark Avengers did not battle the Avengers. Norman Osborn is certainly becoming the Lex Luthor of the Marvel Universe, and he's playing games to remain on top. While this issue is dialogue heavy, I think Bendis does a great job handling the characters and keeping the banter realistic and humorous at times. But it is the ending that really interests me and what Osborn's next move will be against the Avengers. This issue's story rates 3.5 silver bullets, but the inclusion of the guest artists bumps this issue up to 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Omega Flight (2007) #1

Apr 1, 2007

In fact, based on their impressive output over the past year with books like Red Sonja, Beyond!, X-Factor, and Annihilation, I have complete confidence that Oeming, Kolins, Reber and Schmidt will produce an exciting, high quality limited series with Omega Flight. If they dont, then I might be willing to conclude that the alpha has finally reached the omega, and that Alpha Flight is truly an exhausted concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Samurai: Heaven and Earth Vol. 2 #2

Jan 21, 2007

Thats my only complaint about a comic book that remains one of the industrys treasures. If you dont like comic books that have intricate plots, interesting characters and majestic artwork then yes, you should be passing this by and reading something else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Samurai: Heaven and Earth Vol. 2 #3

Mar 1, 2007

Samurai: Heaven and Earth remains a prime example of how wonderful and mature comic books can be. Im excited about the possibility that Samurai may be extended by two more volumes, although I would encourage Marz to give Yoshiko a break at the conclusion of this volume. Even Candides suffering eventually ended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Invasion #5

Aug 14, 2008

*Id like to thank my buddy Blythe for that evening in the pub, because he made me appreciate that there might be something deeper to Bendis' story than I originally thought.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Son of M #1

Dec 19, 2005

Still, I wouldnt recommend Son of M to readers who arent already vested in House of M and its aftermath. This is not a comic book for the uninitiated. Marvel has thrown a lot of titles into this DeciMation story (Generation M, Son of M, X-Factor, New X-Men, adjectiveless X-Men, et al.), none of which are inexorably linked to each other. Thats a good thing in my opinion as I think consumers are fed up with being told they have to purchase five other titles in order to understand whats happening in their one favorite title. Thankfully, whats happening in, say, X-Factor doesnt affect, and isnt being commented upon, in Son of M. Instead, what these titles are doing individually is providing separate facets of the post-M Day phenomenon. For the most part, its pretty compelling, but also geared toward the already Marvel convert.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Squadron Supreme Vol. 2 #1

Jul 1, 2008

Regardless, I don't think I care enough about this new scenario and these new characters to care about the mysterious cliffhanger at the end. It's not poorly done, by any means, and your mileage may vary with the new characters. As for me, I'd have preferred to read something this creative team could put together for the MAX line, instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sundown: Arizona #1

Jul 10, 2005

Not all is perfect with this issue, to be sure: Clay too much resembles Logan/Wolverine, a more distinctive font should have been used for Wills journal captions, and near the beginning of the issue, theres a poor transition into a double spread page (Im not sure who is attacking Will there, but maybe thats the point). These are all minor quibbles though because all in all, Sundown: Arizona #1 is an enthralling book. It certainly made me eager to read issues #2 and #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2003) #16

Sep 26, 2004

If the goal of Teen Titans #16 is to spark interest in next weeks Teen Titans/Legion Special #1, then I say it sufficiently accomplishes that goal in an entertaining fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2003) #20

Jan 23, 2005

All in all, Teen Titans #20 is a prime example of how DC will use Identity Crisis to redirect and recharge its super-hero universe (see this weeks Adventures of Superman #636 as well).

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans/Legion Special #1

Oct 10, 2004

For now though Ill keep reading Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Testament #2

Jan 17, 2006

Testament is the epitome of what Vertigo prides itself as being: thoughtful, sophisticated, controversial, avant-garde. Comic book enthusiasts are always on the look-out for titles that legitimize and dignify the medium, titles that reveal the grandest of possibilities for sequential narrative, titles that are worthy of being taught in the college classroom alongside canonical literature, titles like Neil Gaimans Sandman and Art Spiegelman's Maus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Testament #3

Feb 14, 2006

The page is impressive, intriguing and mystifying, and those are also appropriate terms to describe the first three issues of Testament as a unit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Testament #4

Mar 21, 2006

2. Im referencing Rushkoffs On the Ledge column as found in Testament #1 or other December 2005 Vertigo releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Testament #6

May 23, 2006

Testament remains a title that presupposes its readers are intelligent and curious enough to grasp some high-minded concepts. The marketplace currently publishes very few intellectually rewarding comic books, and its an honor to us that Testament doesnt come with any editorial notes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Surrogates #1

Aug 18, 2005

2. Although it might initially seem that surrogate body use would create a crime epidemic (as many owners may use their surrogates to engage in reckless deviant and violent behavior), according to a fictitious article at the end of the issue, the exact opposite would occur. For one, violence inflicted upon a surrogate body is NOT inflicted upon its owners real body. So violence inflicted upon a surrogate body is nothing more than vandalism or aggravated property damage. Second, since surrogate bodies are all registered to specific owners and since the surrogate bodies are equipped with sensory data recording and playback, crime solving would involve a very unchallenging process of accessing a surrogates memory banks in order to determine which owner is responsible for a crime.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor: Blood Oath #4

Dec 2, 2005

The adventure alone should excite any comic book reader, but Oeming also infuses into the narrative an interesting commentary about the harmonious assumptions of both science and mythology. When this idea was introduced in the first issue, I thought it was tangential to the mini-series conflict. But since it has been repeated a couple of times over the next three issues, obviously it is essential to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men #500

Jul 22, 2008

It is a solid start for a major line of books for Marvel. Hopefully the story will kick off in a major way next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War of Kings #2

Mar 31, 2009

Still a solid storyline, though I'm wondering where it's going now. The war seems on the upturn, Crystal has seemingly won over the Kree and Gladiator's turn is looking eminent. I'm hoping for the best, but knowing Marvel's recent storylines, I'm bracing for the worst.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2003) #66

Jun 17, 2008

However, there's a very simple reason why I haven't rated this issue more highly, despite enjoying it, and that's that it feels like the story has only just got started by the time the issue ends. It's a clich, but I genuinely had to flip backwards to check that there weren't fewer than 22 pages of story here (in fact, there are more). Whilst I appreciate that this is just the first chapter of a longer story, and that things are sure to kick into a higher gear in later issues, I can only evaluate the story based on what we've seen so far, in this instalment. That's not enough to convince me that this story is guaranteed to be an entertaining read, even though I expect that it probably will be, based on the pedigree of the creators involved. However, the fairly interesting premise, the solid characterisation, and the good-looking artwork will at least ensure that I pick up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #69

Nov 11, 2008

I might be enjoying this story even more if it were a finite miniseries rather than a monthly ongoing title, but due to the self-contained nature of the story arc, there's essentially very little difference. As a regular reader of monthly superhero books, I'm used to creators spreading a story over multiple issues, and even if "Old Man Logan" looks as though it's been slightly stretched-out and padded (at this point, I can't see why the story needs eight issues), it at least feels as though it has been structured well as a complete story, with a beginning, middle and an end. At this point, I'm still keen to see how it plays out, and I'm hopeful that Millar's resolution of this issue's cliffhanger will really start to deliver on the story's potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Factor Vol. 3 #1

Dec 11, 2005

Its one impressive visual among many impressive visuals within an impressively structured and executed issue. Im eager to see where David, Sook and company take these characters. I expect theyll take them down some avenues that we dont normally see in a super-hero team title.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Men #166

Jan 23, 2005

So the combination of a hackneyed plot, deficient art and an oppressive continuity force me to decline to read another issue of X-Men. Maybe after another 10 years, Ill come back to this title. Im sure it will still be around by then

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Young Avengers Presents #1

Jan 22, 2008

SPOILER WARNING: The following reviews discuss plot developments of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young X-Men #1

Apr 1, 2008

This book was okay. It wasnt horrible, but it wasn't great. I've had a tough time adjusting to Guggenheim's style over the past couple of years, and I'm facing some of the same problems here. His characterization of Cyclops also throws me off a little bit because it's radically different than what is being seen consistently in the other X-books. The inconsistency in storytelling voice and quality of dialogue is also a bit off. I do like some of these characters, and I'm curious to see where Guggenheim goes with this story early on. I just hope that the series finds a more consistent voice, and I can deal with the playful banter of the team if Cyclops becomes more of the hard-ass commander he's portrayed as elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Zombie #1

Sep 17, 2006

Heres the bottom line: if you dont enjoy zombie stories, you need to pass this one by. Zombie isnt going to change your mind about the sub-genre. This is not a reinvention of the zombie story; this very much adheres to the conventions of the zombie story. But if youre devoted to the zombie sub-genre and havent yet had your fill of comic books involving zombies, then Id recommend you purchase this book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More