Kevin M. Gallagher, Jr's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News, That's Entertainment Reviews: 24
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batgirl (2016) #15

Oct 1, 2017

Batgirl #15 works on all levels. Larson knows these characters and continues to pump out fantastic scripts; each one seems to get better than the last, and this issue is no exception. The pacing is enhanced with the flashback scenes"this has been a favorite style of mine recently and it works really well for Batgirl. Including the big moment that the cover teases (spoils?) checks off everything I want to see in a Larson scripted Batgirl. I love that the cliffhanger this week ended with a flashback scene instead of the present day"Larson is giving both stories equal importance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #16

Oct 28, 2017

Batgirl #16 continues to deliver. By focusing on the past as much as the present, Larson gives us two stories that are closely tied together. This issue was not only written intelligently, but the art accentuated it. Batgirl continues to be the light in an otherwise dark DC world that literary dealing with darkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #22

Apr 25, 2018

To be perfectly honest, I wasn't looking forward to another short story arc; especially once I discovered that 'Strange Loop' would be Larson's last. I like meaty stories, but the twist at the end pulled everything together for me. I've always called this title a perfect model for a Batgirl TV series on the CW. And while it still could be, this issue feels a bit different. Not necessarily darker, but definitely more adult than the CW typically goes. If you've been a fan of Larson's work in the past, be sure to soak this in"it's one of her best Batgirl issues yet!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #23

Jun 30, 2018

Batgirl #23 is the final issue in Larson's run. While the story is about Batgirl struggling to find balance, it equally feels like a story about Larson saying goodbye. I didn't touch on the art in my review, it's (as always) wonderful. Minkyu Jung feels right at home in the world of Batgirl.Hope Larson leaves this title at the top of her game and while both her new path, and Batgirl's, is an unknown… anything is possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #46

May 5, 2018

I've really enjoyed King's run on Batman and, now that I'm caught up, look forward to reading at a normal pace to fully enjoy his work. This alternate timeline story arc is interesting, but came out of no where. Having binge read this entire run is likely why this arc feels off; but the art is too good to not want to see more of it; especially the way Batman #46 ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #47

Jun 29, 2018

The Gift story arc just didn't hit me the way the rest of King's Batman stories have; however Batman #47 still has quality writing and art to keep my attention. The arc has also provided me some more context about Booster Gold as a character, making me more interested in other stories that feature him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #48

Jul 21, 2018

Batman#48 brings King's story back to a place where I can't find anything to complain about. Great art, great story. It's the first time in a while that we've seen the Joker and Batman acting properly with one another and just as one would expect, it's not an all out brawl. The Joker is crazy and Batman broods.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 11, 2017

This was a near perfect issue. There were only two flaws: beyond fleshing out the Metal story, it had zero impact on the greater story and for readers who aren't following the event, the issue makes no sense. If you're reading Metal, or just into a great examination of Batman, then it's well worth your time. Batman Lost #1 has a strong enough story to make the wait for Dark Nights Metal #4 not feel so long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

Jul 17, 2018

Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. R'as Al Ghul has two terrific stories at its core; but it does seem like the wrong one was picked up as the "main story"the 'B-story' featuring Selina nad Damian should have been the focal point. Other than that; this book felt right at home with any other "Bat" story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Sep 1, 2018

This team delivered a great issue here. It's all about friendship and we get several points of views on it throughout the book. Through both Nightwing and Hush, we learn a lot about both Bruce Wayne and Dick Grayson. I really hope that we get anotherSuperfriendsstyle of arc between these two down the road as that friendship deserves some TLC.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 5, 2017

This book needs a second read. You simply can't appreciate it after the first ass"I initially wasn't that thrilled with the issue; I appreciated the art, but it felt like a reworking of Batman's origin. After reading it for a second time, I noticed more and it flipped the issue completely for me. Yes, this version of Bruce chose to be evil, but I defy anyone in that situation to not take the power of a god exact your revenge. The Dawn Breaker Batman may the most relatable yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Devastator #1

Nov 4, 2017

Batman: The Devastator #1 will be one of these Metal one-shots that live on. Tieri has become masterful at keeping the story paced while giving clear motivation for why a nightmare Batman is truly evil. Frank Tieri is easily becoming one of my favorite writers. There's nothing to dislike in this book, from top to bottom, it's a wonderful story with Daniel providing excellent artwork to go along with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Drowned #1

Oct 21, 2017

This has been the toughest Metal related book to read. The issues I had with Batman: The Red Death were related to pacing issues and not understanding Batman's motivations. My issues with Batman: The Drowned are related to the story itself. Very little felt new in this book. While the writing wasn't bad and touched on interesting themes, it was repetitive and exposition heavy. It felt like a wasted opportunity to explore Bryce Wayne as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Merciless #1

Oct 28, 2017

Batman: The Merciless is one of the best laid out one-shots in the Dark Nights one-shots and tie-ins. The script is nearly flawless and the art keeps you in the Metal event. Despite all these positive things, the story doesn't feel like one that will be talked about forever. I'm not sure if it's because Batman is an amalgamation of himself and Ares instead of Wonder Woman, or if it's just that the Merciless didn't feel like the star of this issue, but Batman: The Merciless won't likely be one that helps define this comic book event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 29, 2017

Out of all the post Dark Nights: Metal #1 tie-ins we've seen so far, Batman: The Murder Machine #1 is easily the best to date. The pacing felt great and I didn't feel like I was missing anything by the end of the issue. A great self-contained story that also progressed the greater event story. I really love how, although similar to Cyborg, this evil Batman is an amalgamation of himself and Alfred. It gives me hope that there is more to these evil Batmen that meets the eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

This issue suffers from pacing issues"which is no fault to anybody on the creative team. I needed to see Batman's motivation for wanting to go on a murder spree explained more. I was expecting him to go back in time to prevent something terrible from happening based on his motivation. Pacing issues aside, this felt like a Metal story from beginning to end, especially with the art. I would love to see this story revisited with a second issue, or perhaps as a longer graphic novel. Giving Williamson more pages to work with would have fixed most of the problems with this issue. I'm calling it now though, The Red Death Batman will be a factor in saving the day"Barry Allen is part of him and that means something.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 18, 2017

The Batman Who Laughs #1 lived up to every expectation I had for it. There's little to no exposition and just enough recap of what the Dark Multiverse is for new readers; while respecting the current readers. Both Tynion and Rossmo are at the top of their game on this issue. Though I do wonder, who's moral code is brought into question here? Tynion for writing this issue? Rossmo for bringing it to life? Or us, the readers, for enjoying it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 15, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal #2 picks up the pace from issue one and continues to deliver the promises made about Metal. Fun dialogue, Batman on a jet ski, and heart pounding moments help shape this comic event to be one of the best ever produced. Snyder and Capullo continue to be a dream team in the industry, proving that their styles mesh very well together. Batman is gone and the nightmares have been released, can the multiverse survive? While we have to wait a month for the next installment ofMetal, we will have two tie-ins a week until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

Dark Nights: Metal #3, in the overarching story, is another fine addition. The heavy exposition, while needed for readers who may not be reading all the one-shots and tie-ins, slows down the pacing of the story. I'm hoping that issue four takes a cue from the extended stories in the event"they have found a great way to solve their pacing issues the last few weeks. And while we have to wait over two months for the next issue, there will be plenty of other one-shots and tie-ins to keep us busy; including Batman Lost #1"the story of Batman in the Dark Multiverse!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 14, 2018

Justice League: No Justice #1 is a great first entry into the next great DC event series. The all-star writing team is able to connect this story to the previous event without making it a required read. Manapul's art really pulls it art together. The creative team had a lot of characters to service in this issue and they did it remarkably well. I'm very excited to see what the next three issues of No Justice brings us, especially with these mixed up teams. Great read all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #2

Jun 12, 2018

Justice League: No Justice #2 is a very enjoyable read. While the previous issue didn't do much but setup what was to come, this one knocks my expectations out of the park. I'm happy to see these new teams working together and seeing how what's happening on Colu could potentially effect Earth. The story does a great job at raising the stakes these same characters had recently faced with the dark multiverse and is executed with perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: No Justice #3

Jul 5, 2018

Justice League: No Justice#3 continues to deliver. It's interesting to see these new team configurations, especially now that they're clicking. I'd like to see more unlikely friendships, like Martian Manhunter and Starro, be born from this and look forward to the concluding issue and how things will be dealt with on Earth. The only ding this issue gets is on the artwhile it's all very good, I'd like to see one style to keep me fully engulfed by the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: No Justice #4

Jul 19, 2018

Justice League: No Justicepromised some shake ups and it delivered. Snyder and his team of writers and artists gave a great follow up to the megaMetal crossover event and it leaves the doors open for some new, interesting stories.No Justice#4 wrapped up a self-contained mini-series that didn't requirethe reading ofMetalto follow. This particular issue looked and read great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #12

Sep 16, 2017

I haven't been reading theTeen Titans line, but I have to assume that this feels more like a one shot than something that is happening within the confines of the current story Percy is telling. However, it fits in with theMetal story line seamlessly. I'm not sure how much input Snyder had, but Percy handled this very well. My only true problem with this issue was the art"it seemed out of place, especially when it comes to the characters that were birthed fromMetal.Still, “Gotham Resistance” Part 1 is well worth reading, more so if you're reading the DC comic event.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More