Pierre Arnette's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 42
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 19, 2017

If this issue is any indication, Batman will continue to be a great book. The combination of King, Jones, and Bellaire will be something great. King has a great grasp on all of these characters and Jones/Bellaire combo will be killer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #34

Nov 1, 2017

This story arc may be only two issues in, but I think it has the potential to be one of the best arcs King has crafted so far especially with this amazing art team he has the pleasure of working with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #1

Dec 6, 2017

If you didn't read the first series, don't fret because the second series is looking like it's going to be just as good as the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Lost #1

Nov 8, 2017

This book may come at a $4.99 price tag, but I believe it is definitely worth it. Batman: Lost has been one the better tie-ins to Metal, so pick it up and enjoy the awesome story. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #7

Apr 4, 2018

If you haven't been reading this series, please rectify that mistake immediately because I'm sure the last issue will definitely be worth it because this issue is definitely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

White Knight was a series that took its time to get started, but once it found its footing it really took off. That's something that most miniseries, or any title, can take away from this book, and that is finishing on a strong note.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Who Laughs #1

Nov 15, 2017

This was the best out of all the one shots for DC Metal. James Tynion IV knows how to write the Joker and this is further proof of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bingo Love #1

Feb 15, 2018

Bingo Love should win best OGN this year. I know it's only February, but this book has it all. It has great writing, fantastic characters, and it has beautiful and vibrant art. But most of all, it's a relevant story for any person of color that has struggled with expressing their love for a person of the same sex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #1

Nov 1, 2017

Black Lightning Cold Dead Hands #1 is a must buy.  The writing is stellar because it introduces Black Lightning while telling a new story, and the dialogue is just a joy throughout the issue. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #2

Dec 6, 2017

Everyone should definitely be reading this because of the story, art, and some of the real world issue it tries to address.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Science #33

Nov 15, 2017

Black Science #33 has everything you could want in a single issue. It gives you great action sequences, character development, and you'll definitely feel a tad bit sad, but it's worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #5

May 30, 2018

Doomsday Clock #5 may be the best so far because many issues are being discussed and the final five pages made it worth it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #5

May 2, 2018

This was the best issue of the series so far. The previous issue held that honor, but there was so much to unpack in this issue.With the way this issue ended, it seems like the next issue is the final issue. If that's the case, please do not miss the next issue and pick up this issue too because it was very powerful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #6

Jun 6, 2018

This is the last issue of Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, and I'm really sad to see it go, but Mark Russell and company did a wonderful job of wrapping this miniseries up in a natural and authentic manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #2

Apr 18, 2018

This is only the second issue to this arc, but I would recommend it to anyone. Whether you're a big time Ghostbuster fan or a casual comic book fan, this series has something for everyone. Try it out and be prepared to be amazed by the storytelling and great art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ghostbusters: Crossing Over #4

Jul 4, 2018

I am enjoying this series from Burnham, Schoening, and Delgado, and I would expect nothing less from this team. The character depictions are on point, and it has the awesome art to pair with it. This series will continue to excel. The Ghostbusters have a special place in my heart because I have been a fan since I was five years old, but they continue to evolve. That's why I continue to read this series, and that's why everyone else should too. If the Real Ghostbusters aren't for you, maybe the Prime Ghostbusters are, and if not them, don't worry because there are plenty to choose from and you will definitely find the Ghostbusters that are to your liking in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #1

Mar 7, 2018

It feels so good to see Jeff Lemire and Andrea Sorrentino working together again. When these two creators come together something special happens, and that trend will continue on Giedon Falls.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gideon Falls #2

Apr 11, 2018

I have no idea where Jeff Lemire is taking this story, but I can't wait to see. Andrea Sorrentino and Dave Stewart continue their fantastic work on the art as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gideon Falls #3

May 16, 2018

If you haven't jumped on board please do because it's only three issues in, and I have a feeling Jeff Lemire is going to tell an amazing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gideon Falls #4

Jun 20, 2018

Lemire and Sorrentino are building something mysterious and stunning with Gideon Falls. Father Tom keeps questioning his faith, Dr. Xu is losing her mind from what she has seen, and Norton may be the only one to help Dr. Xu. There's a lot going with the town of Gideon Falls and can't wait to see what the next issue brings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #2

Oct 25, 2017

Zub, Morissette-Phan, and Russell have a real good story on their hands and I can't wait to see how it all ends.  The first issue did a real good job of setting up the story and this issue does a nice job of moving the plot along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #3

Nov 22, 2017

I'm sad to see this series wrapping up again, but I am enjoying the story and art.  Jim Zub is telling his story and isn't letting the story drag.  After every issue has ended in the series, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Glitterbomb: The Fame Game #4

Dec 28, 2017

I am sad to see this series end again, but it ended it with a bang. The creative team on this book never disappoints and I hope to see them return with a third series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 17, 2018

The writing was excellent and that art is a perfect match for the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #20

Jun 27, 2018

Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips, and Elizabeth Breitweiser killed it with Kill or be Killed. Every issue was a must read, and it was certainly a joy to look at because of Phillips and Breitweiser.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

If you're not a big Fourth World fan (because I'm not) don't let that stop you from picking up this book.  Tom King and Mitch Gerards are making something great and you don't want to miss it. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #4

Nov 8, 2017

Mr. King and Mr. Gerads know how to tell a great story and Mister Miracle #4 is great example of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 13, 2017

If you are not reading this series, please correct that mistake immediately. This is one series that deserves to be read by all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mister Miracle #6

Jan 10, 2018

Tom King and Mitch Gerads are halfway through their story, and they continue to do magnificent things. I never knew an issue that contained so much talk about home improvement could be amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #9

Jun 13, 2018

Mister Miracle continues to be a splendid series, and the ending was something to witness. If you know just a tad of Scott Free's backstory, then the ending will make even more sense. King and Gerads do go over it slightly in the first or second issue. Regardless, it is still a cliffhanger to behold. King and Gerads are the dynamic duo of comics right now, and I can't to see how they bring it all to an end in a few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Postal #23

Oct 4, 2017

This issue may have been light on action, but it was definitely essential because it lets the reader knows more about Mark, Issac, Chris, and Laura.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Redlands #3

Oct 11, 2017

This is only the third issue, so if you need a new horror/rural noir book to add to your pile, please make it this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redlands #5

Dec 20, 2017

Redlands is a comic I look forward to reading every month. The art is amazing, great story with amazing characters, and different back matter every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #7

Nov 22, 2017

Lisandro Estherren and Dee Cunniffe are on their "A" game as usual and I continue to love the gritty tone they continue to convey in this series.  P

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #18

Oct 4, 2017

Southern Bastards continues to be an amazing comic.  It may not have the most consistent schedule, but there has never been a bad issue in this series. This issue is definitely a must have because Roberta's quest for vengeance seems to be ramping up, and it is not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Southern Bastards #19

Jan 24, 2018

The story continues to amaze and the art continues to match the gritty tone of the book. The duo of Aaron and Latour can do no wrong when it comes to this superb series, so I'll always forgive the schedule this book has.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #20

May 9, 2018

Jason Aaron and Jason Latour have finally seen the light with Coach Boss and his dirty ways. This issue not only highlighted how Coach Boss had no help in this issue, but the fact he may have no help from anyone in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #19

Mar 14, 2018

With all the craziness that's going on in this country, it was nice to see something positive and informative. I consider myself an ally to the LGBTQ community, but I am still learning about the community. This issue made me step out of my comfort zone and hope it makes others step out of theirs as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Cape: The Fallen #1

Jul 4, 2018

I read the original series and loved it, and I have good feeling about the start of this series. If you haven't read the original, do so asap. You'll see why this series was nominated for an Eisner, and it'll give you a better feel for Eric as a character. The original team returns on the series so be prepared to be amazed again. I definitely recommend picking up this issue, and the first series can be read for free with a trial subscription on Comixology Unlimited, so no excuses not to be caught up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Demon: Hell is Earth #5

Mar 28, 2018

This series also made me want to delve into more of the magical parts of the DC universe because I am not very knowledgeable about it, but I aim to change that now because of this series

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wasted Space #1

Apr 18, 2018

If you're not familiar with Michael Moreci, please rectify that mistake immediately. This first issue is worth your time because it has an intriguing premise, cool characters, and it seems like it will absolutely be worth the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

Caitlin Kittredge and Roberta Ingranata absolutely hit a homerun with this first issue of Witchblade.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More