Raymond Hilario's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weekly Comic Book Review Reviews: 17
5.8Avg. Review Rating

7
Action Comics (1938) #871

Nov 15, 2008

First and foremost, I would have liked to seen the battle between the Kryptonians and Doomsday executed more brutally and more excitedly. The battle in this issue is spread out throughout the book between two Kryptonians' critiquing humanity, and the exchange between General Lane and Luthor; constantly interrupting the action and never really allowing it to take off. Perhaps with Gary Frank on board, each scene would've been done better and had us turning the next pages eagerly to get back to the fight. My second gripe with this issue is the “WTF moment” in the end. Except it's not really supposed to be a moment to be excited about since the appearance of Nightwing and Flamebird were indicated on the cover, camouflaged with the other ridiculous-looking Kryptonians. I honestly don't see what the fuss is with the emergence of these characters. I guess we're finally going to learn more about these two, other than we finally see who Dick Grayson gets his name from and this time

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Action Comics (1938) #873

Jan 14, 2009

This closing issue is clearly disappointing, since I expected more epic scenes and something revealing. Johns had a chance to challenge Superman with a story involving family and with this concept of him not being alone anymore. But instead, he gives us an arc that doesn't seem fully delivered, as he leaves us with an easily forgettable final chapter. I think it's pretty obvious that this issue isn't exactly a conclusion. The reader is left with an ending similar to the previous arc– where Superman stands before Pa's grave and rips his shirt to reveal the “S,” and two epilogues that are supposed to wet our appetites that features a highly prominenet member of Superman's rogues. But we've seen this formula before in your last story, Johns. Superman is served with a personal loss, and a known villain is re-introduced. Should we expect another story with an ending absent of closure that's going to be filled with these recurring elements?

View Issue       View Full Review
0.8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #583

Jan 19, 2009

As for the Barack tale, Zeb Wells and Todd Nauck give you nothing but 5 pages of Spider-Man standing next to some black guy. Biggest highlight in the story? You wondering if Spidey and the awkward terrorist fist jab between him and the President is racist. Ditch this piece of shit. I'm sorry if you had to call x number of comic stores for this book, and ask your hot female friend who lives x miles away, to pick it up for you. But if you really need to see what all the hype is about, save yourself the time and money, and find it somewhere online. And for the record, I generally don't like to encourage piracy, considering it forces the publishers to raise the price on our books. However, I'm making an exception for this one. Besides, Marvel already got what they wanted with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman #681

Nov 26, 2008

After reading and investing in what you've given us these past months in Batman, your arc doesn't deserve the title “R.I.P.” With many questions left unanswered, and the abrupt moments and with all the sloppy explanations, Batman #681 concludes as another unimportant Batman story within the DC universe. Zur En Arrh? Zoro In Arkham? Really? Do you really want us to meditate on that after reading it backwards? I pray you don't have Bruce Wayne lose his mind and get locked up. Ditch this piece of shit, and hope that Neil Gaiman paints us a better portrait of the Dark Knight in the way Alan Moore gave us “Whatever Happened To The Man of Tomorrow.”

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #686

Feb 11, 2009

“Whatever Happened To The Caped Crusader” is off to a not so memorable start. The portrayal and “revelation” of certain characters will never be remembered, as their depiction tampers with history; making you wonder if this is some “What If” story. Also the focus on the multiple perceptions of the Dark Knight isn't a memorial of the past's numerous renditions of Batman. It's a rehashed concept all packed neatly in one book. We've seen this done before in Warren Ellis' “Planetary/ BatmanNight on Earth,” but I guess we can see how Neil Gaiman does it. So expect to hear more eulogies and more stories that summon the Batman from different eras. However as of right now, this book is not measuring up to Moore's notable tale, which makes the title undeserving. This tale is rather starting to look more like a mere “imaginary story;” an account that fans DON'T HAVE TO exactly consider canonical with the Batman lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman #687

Jun 14, 2009

Judd Winick successfully cleans up after the chaotic mess of an ending in Battle for the Cowl, as he offers us a truly fresh start. Furthermore, he gives us the logical and believable (and much needed) “before moment” where Dick Grayson chooses to become the new Batman. As this book manages to be pretty new reader friendly, it also provides fans the logical transition and closure to the death of Bruce Wayne. With that, Winick promises us a Batman that's worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman #688

Jul 13, 2009

Batman #688 doesn't really contain anything important. But since we're only one issue in for a new arc, I suppose Winick and Bagley's run is still somewhat worth sticking around for another issue. It's just too bad that this main Bat book doesn't have fans wishing for the next chapter to come out already.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.6
Batman #690

Sep 7, 2009

Thankfully, there are ways to get your comic books for free. I'm sorry, Judd Winick, but your tale of Dick Grayson's first adventure as Batman has become forgettable. Ever since Gran Morrison's Batman and Robin was released, there has only been one Bat-book worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman: Battle for the Cowl #2

Apr 8, 2009

BatmanBattle for the Cowl is shaping up to be a good story. Which is a relief since fans everywhere are treated to a tale that's not obscured by nonsensical references, and lame story angles. For the first time in a long time, you can read a Batman book that you can buy. I can buy that there would be this much chaos if Batman is supposed to be dead. And I can buy how this is a battle that needs to be told. Longtime Bat-fans won't be disappointed, and neither would those who've been turned away by R.I.P.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Blackest Night #0

May 3, 2009

Blackest Night #0 is no mere free comic book. For a promotional item, it's packed with a rich narrative that invites all readers of good stories. Furthermore, it also serves as good summary of where comics are todayliterary tales that are capable in tackling themes and characters involving death and the idea of a super-hero. You simply shouldn't miss this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #853

Apr 27, 2009

Just as I mentioned in my review for part one in Batman #686, “Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader?” is a mere imaginary story. A tale that you are going to forget and fast forward through, and never really consider as a legitimate part of the Batman folklore. Furthermore, it's also just a reminder of how stupid DC is for trying to pass off that Batman is dead or can be killed. My suggestion, enjoy the Neil Gaiman tale, and I guess forgive DC when the dead rise on the Blackest Night.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #1

Jul 15, 2009

If you like Philip K. Dick or dig science fiction that deals less with fantasy and more with social and conceptual commentary, then I would highly recommend this inaugural issue. The fact that it is the actual text of the novel and not an adaptation, it truly immerses you in the world that the author intended. If you are looking for an easy read or another rehashing of the same characters in a different setting then look elsewhere, because everything about this story intense and challenging.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern (2005) #40

May 3, 2009

What's troubling about Agent Orange is that the villain is not quite established. Instead, this arc is packed with lots of subplots that are either being developed, or are finally being revealed. To make up the bulk of the story, new laws are added to the book of Oa (which we've seen before), and a new thread is introduced involving John Stewart (which is supposed to play some role later on, and not validate Fatality's boring monologue in the beginning). But this isn't what the fans were looking for. They wanted what they got in Sinestro Corps War, where Johns introduced a new color, and a new emotion. In a story that is supposed to introduce a new formidable opponent for the Green Lantern Corp, we are only getting a childish villain that seems to be making a cameo appearance. In a story that's supposed to be rich in metaphors and overtones, we're treated to fast-paced action sequences that are to be forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Green Lantern (2005) #41

Jun 2, 2009

Although these preludes have been rocky, we just need to sit tight since we all know Blackest Night will be way much better. It's just frustrating to buy these books and think about jumping ship as we get closer to the summer event. Thankfully, we still have Green Lantern Corps.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern Corps (2006) #36

May 16, 2009

Although Green Lantern Corps #36 doesn't exactly read smoothly, it is probably the most entertaining chapter in the Emerald Eclipse arc. I'm glad that this title is able to hold its own. It has definitely become a book worth picking up, as it manages to keep the readers wanting more from its multiple storylines.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #2

Sep 9, 2009

Definitely not a good read, but I'll still stick around to see if it gets better. Issue three will probably read more like the real “#2,” when we finally find out just what the hell happened to the Human Torch. But as of right now, the prolonged storytelling and the annoying anime look are not helping.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #4

Nov 9, 2009

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man scores pretty high this month, as Bendis gives us the familiar compelling Spider-Man storytelling. If Bendis can consistently deliver memorable villains and the exciting drama surrounding Parker's relationship issues, Ultimate Comics Spider-Man might not just be a good reboot of the character and the series, but it might just be the Spider-Man book that everyone should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

1st

May

More