Sheena Fisher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Pop Break Reviews: 88
8.4Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Adventure Time: 2017 SpOooktacular #1

Oct 12, 2017

Well, this was everything I expected from an Adventure Time comic with a spooky theme. If you like the show and want to learn more about Peppermint Butler I recommend picking it up. Theres not really much plot that is super important to the main story in the cartoon, so it can be enjoyed by itself. If youre not a fan of Adventure Time I could see this comic being really odd and not quite understood. But if you are a fan check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 19, 2017

Like I said, this issue was intense. The action as well as the plot blended pretty much perfectly. My interest was held. I did not want to stop reading. I look forward to learning more about the evil corporation that has tainted Coryana, finding out where Safiyah has gone, and why Tahani wants to kill Kate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 22, 2017

It also looks like we havent seen the end of the Kali Corporation. We get a glimpse of the twins talking to a mysterious woman at the end of this issue. This issue had some very intense fight scenes. It was a little crazy to learn that Tahini hates Kate so much that shes willing to kill thousands of innocent people for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bettie Page #1

Jul 19, 2017

This comic was so much fun to read. Any new information about Bettie Page is welcome to me. So if you like old school Hollywood, strong women, and weird tales this comic is for you. The story unfolds beautifully. Oh, and the language is very fun in here as well. Using slang terms from the 50s really helps place you in the right timeline. I cant wait to see what Bettie does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bettie Page #3

Sep 28, 2017

I hope you're on the edge of your seats. I really liked that Bettie and Lyssa teamed up in this issue. We don't learn a ton about Lyssa, but what we do learn has me excited for more. I hope they keep working together because Lyssa seems really awesome. I always feel like I'm watching an old school sci-fi mystery when I read Bettie Page. Trust me, that's a compliment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bettie Page #5

Nov 29, 2017

I like that the story has headed in a different direction. All the points are lining up and we know everything with Richard, Benway, and now the air force is connected somehow. But, we're not sure what the full connection is. The story is building up to something far more complex than I originally thought it would. If you thought this comic was about a damsel in lingerie you were way off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bettie Page #6

Dec 20, 2017

She's just as dynamic as Bettie Page is, and I'm very happy to see her back. I think the ladies work really well together and love their team-up. I also didn't expect the ending of this comic so the twists were nice and refreshing. Of course I can't go into detail on those twists without totally spoiling this issue. That being said you should pick up issue #6 at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bettie Page #8

Feb 28, 2018

When Bettie Page first started I wasn't sure what to expect from this series of comics. But, what I got was a story that bended science fiction with non-fiction aspects of Bettie's personality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #2

Feb 27, 2019

I'm really loving the new ways these beloved characters are interacting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #3

Mar 13, 2019

I really love this re-telling with all my favorite characters. In a way I actually like their interactions more in the comic. Because Jordie Bellaire is doing one hell of a job in the story-telling and character development department here. Writing is fast-paced, funny, and really an homage to Joss Whedon's original tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #4

Apr 18, 2019

This issue focused mainly on the scoobies and their personal lives. Not a ton of action, but it's nice to see what the gang does when they're not slaying vampires and demons. It was also interesting to get inside Xander's head more in this issue to see what he's really thinking. So even though I've been spoiled by action with this comic, I know character development is also important. So is story-telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Coyotes #1

Nov 8, 2017

Something I really like about this comic is its almost all being told from the perspective of Red. The only time that changes is when the storys perspective changes to that of the cop, Frank. Frank too deserves an origin story. Its looking like he will be working with Red and the girls more in future. Another thing I really liked about this comic is it gives away just enough about the coyotes to give you an understanding of them, but it leaves you wanting to learn more. Oh, and in case you missed it all our badass characters so far are women with crazy pasts. Frank is pretty awesome so far too even if he is clueless. I personally cannot wait until the issue #2. Pick this up at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Coyotes #3

Jan 10, 2018

Dont let that dissuade you from picking up this issue. Even though this tale has a classic fairy tale inspiration, the characters inside are all original with their personas. There are supernatural forces at play, and women rule. Coyotes has twists and turns that keeps the reader on the edge of their seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Coyotes #4

Feb 7, 2018

This creative team has worked together to flawlessly tell one hell of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC House of Horror (One Shot) #1

Oct 25, 2017

Overall most of the tales had a fun twist to make them interesting. Things I don't want to spoil obviously. Most of these tales drew me in with the "what if?" factor. I promise there are no happy endings here, true to horror form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadman (2017) #2

Dec 6, 2017

Wow. I didnt expect this issue to be so action-packed, but it really was. I think any fan of Deadman will want to see exactly how he would exact revenge on his killer. And, you get to see that very thing happen in this issue. Theres also a lot more information that you can gather from the dimension Deadman exists in from this issue to. Phantom Stranger has always been a mysterious character to me, so I was happy to see him make an appearance. I am interested to see what happens in issue 3 now with an ending like that. Pick up this issue today at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathbed #1

Feb 21, 2018

I feel like Deathbed is shaping up to be one of my favorite comics of 2018, and is one of the more original tales I've had the pleasure of reviewing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathbed #2

Mar 21, 2018

I feel like Antonio Luna is pretty out-of-touch with the real world because of his ridiculous adventures. The fact that he doesnt keep in touch with any friends is a bit jarring. Basically what I got from this issue is that he just kind of meets people on his adventures. Then they do whatever it is Luna needs help with. And, then he moves onto the next person. I hope Vals story doesnt end like the rest of Lunas friendsat a funeral. For Deathbeds dynamic character development, absurd action sequences, and pitch black dark humor Im giving this issue gets a high score.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathbed #3

Apr 18, 2018

As usual, the writing is filled with hilarious dark humor. The artwork conveys a hilarious and gruesome story as well. And, the character development? Off the charts. Even though Luna is this well- traveled adventurer it really seems like he's learning a lot from Val.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathbed #4

May 16, 2018

Again, the writers have done an amazing job of intermingling plot points for this odd couple. Even though this issue wasn't as nuts as the last few, it certainly revealed a lot for Luna and Val.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #0

Jan 3, 2018

I can't wait to read issue #1, and Amy Chu is doing a great job of evolving this princess into a bad-ass. Fans of the classic written by Edgar Price Burroughs will appreciate this version of Dejah Thoris and translates well to new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #2

Mar 7, 2018

The story is getting pretty intense. Things from the last 2 issues are all falling into place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dejah Thoris (2018) #3

Apr 4, 2018

First off, the interactions between the leader of Thurd and Dejah are always tense and entertaining. Secondly, the plot is coming together in a great way. Amy Chu is tying up loose ends and putting in plot points that foreshadow future events all over the place. And, last but not least, Dejah Thoris is fully thinking for herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #4

May 9, 2018

This wasn't the most engaging installment of Dejah Thoris, but it still gives us necessary plot development and a step towards to obviously soon-to-be big event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 14, 2018

I did pick up on something after reading through this issue again, Madame Atom seems to be in Caroline's head from the very beginning. That's a pretty eerie thing to think about. Eternity Girl has a story with so much depth, and has laid out so much amazing story line in the first issue already. Did I mention I read Eternity Girl #1 multiple times already? Yeah, that's because I liked it that much and wanted to experience it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 11, 2018

Eternity Girl is one of the most human superheroes in comics today because of her emotions in dealing with once being famed and in the limelight. Could you imagine being one of the strongest beings in the universe and not being able to use your powers for anything? This story is a brilliant take on being powerful, but feeling powerless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eugenic #2

Nov 8, 2017

There's all kinds of creepy little things revealed about the Numans as well that you will not want to miss out on. Again, this story is creepy because the root of it is something that could realistically happen if someone meddled with genetics enough. There aren't quite as many twists this issue as the last, but the plot development is pretty insane because it all links up even 100 years later.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eugenic #3

Dec 27, 2017

I believe this series is written so superbly to blur the lines of what could be reality and what is obviously a horror fantasy. Of course I couldn't tell you the exciting conclusion to this issue, but it is the most fitting conclusion in my opinion. I cannot praise this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham City Garage #2

Oct 26, 2017

Wow guys, okay, so we meet more characters we have grown to love in so many other forms in this tale. I feel like by the end of this run we will see all of our favorites in one form or another. I really like this weird universe and this story was actually pretty fun and adventurous. Another strong point is the way the writers convey Bardas past and present thoughts as she is navigating through a wasteland trying to protect Banshee and Kara. This issue is a wild ride, but lighter than the dark aspect from the first issue.okay, not much lighter. Pick up this issue at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham City Garage #4

Nov 22, 2017

It was also great to see Kara more confident and working with this team. She's grown a lot since issue #1 in regards to knowing her physical capabilities. Kara is also feeling more at home with the Gotham City Garage and its members. I can't wait to see what Catwoman has planned for the future from here. Pick up this issue to get the whole story at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gravetrancers #1

Dec 6, 2017

There were also a few points in the story I didn't describe that were highly disturbing. Horror fans will appreciate that though, especially if they're more into the violent thrillers. The art meshes well with the story to convey the violent nature. I only had one complaint and that was the character's faces all look very similar. I had to pay close attention to clothing, hair color, and eye color to differentiate between characters. But, overall the story is strong, disturbing, and fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 5, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed reading this issue. I liked the set-up for both stories, and was super excited to see classic Harley Quinn. I hope to see Poison Ivy show up in the future, yea, Im one of those Ivy/Harley shippers. But, if youre a fan of Batman The Animated Series pick this issue up immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 3, 2017

Harley Loves Joker is more classic Harley and Joker shenanigans. You can expect to see Bats make an appearance in this story as well. He kinda has to. Harley and Joker have been on a crime spree. Do they out-smart Bats? Do they make a clean getaway? I can promise you there are no clean getaways with Joker and Harley. I enjoyed this issue. Its always great to see Batman make an appearance, and who doesnt love classic Harley Quinn?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 17, 2017

This entire rebirth of Harley Quinn has been amazing. The story keeps going in great directions. Harley is very well developed. And, Im in love with the Harley Loves Joker tales as well. Any Harley fan will appreciate this series. This issue was filled with a good balance of plot and action. Im excited for where the stories are headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 7, 2017

This issue was a lot of fun. Some pretty funny things happened, there was a good mix of action and plot. Also LOTS of reveals for Red Tool and bat-lady. And, of course Harley Loves Joker is cute and true to classic Harley as always. I cant praise Dini and Palmiotti enough for what theyve done with Harleys character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 22, 2017

So, not a lot of action happens in our main story arch, but we get lots of information. Its always cute and fun to learn more about Harleen. And, it sets up some crazy stuff for the next issue. Harley loves Joker is cute, funny, and charming in its own way as always. I really havent disliked anything in this DC Rebirth Harley Quinn run. All of the writers are finally giving Harley Quinn fans what they want with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #23

Jul 6, 2017

So, as you can tell this issue isnt action-packed. But, it definitely is setting up some awesome stories. The water is getting murky for Spoonsdale. And, Soon Ivy and Red Tool will be helping out Harley. Lets not forget that some conflict could come up between The Joker and Harley in Harley loves Joker. Im fine with story set-ups and waiting for butt-kicking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

Ok so in this issue we learn that The Penguin has something going on in our main arch. We also saw Red Tool talking to Poison Ivy in the last issue so things are getting interesting. Maybe well see a bunch of Gotham villains duking it out? Maybe teaming up? Im not sure but Im excited either way. Lacking action and a little slow, but still a strong and fun read. My rating 7.5/10 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #25

Aug 9, 2017

Well, our main story arc has been building up for quite a few issues. Not just the conflict between Harley and Madison, but the surprise party for Harley as well. Everything was executed very well. Plot points came together in both story arcs, and cameos from some of our favorite villains and heroes is always a plus. DC Rebirth continues its streak of strong plot points, humor, and bloody action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #29

Oct 5, 2017

Ok so obviously this issue doesnt have a lot of ass-kicking from our girls. What it does have is lots of heart. Many things that point out how much Ivy loves Harley, and how supportive Harleys friends are. Ill forgive the lack of violence that weve grown to love from Harley in this one. Because who doesnt love a classic batman villain appearance? Also the campaign is getting interesting. Pick up this issue at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #32

Nov 23, 2017

I can say that I personally liked the way this tale ends. Everything is fitting for each of the characters. And, of course I didn't want Mason to die, but I think his death really helped fuel the level of revenge we get to see from Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 20, 2017

This issue was interesting because it was nice to see what Harley does when she's not being threatened by assassins, and other outside insanity for that matter. It's unfortunate that this down-time is a result of Mason's death. Issue 33 was still a fun read even though there's still sadness.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 17, 2018

All-in-all I can say I like the story and where it's heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #36

Jan 31, 2018

Well overall this part of the story was pretty predictable. I don't think we could have Harley-Bat for the rest of this run. Of course the team had to cure her and Tony. But, the nice thing is the ending of this tale wasn't predictable. The story is continuing in a direction I saw as an option, but wasn't sure would be the path taken by the writer. I always like it when classic Gotham villains are brought into Harley's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #42

Apr 18, 2018

Ok so there were some really funny and creative baddies in this issue. There were also a ton of reveals for things that have yet to happen in Harley's future. And, at the end of this issue we learn that on May 2nd we'll get to travel back in time. The title of that story: Harley Loves Joker. Overall if you're just looking for a funny and entertaining read pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 10, 2018

All of Harley's wishes link up to one another in a creative and funny way that makes for good story-telling. If you need a good laugh or if you just love Harley Quinn this special is a lot of fun. It's something you can read with zero knowledge of any other comic series. You just need to know who Harley Quinn is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 14, 2017

This anniversary issue was fun, tying our main story in to lots of other fun side tales. There are more cameo's in here from other heroes and villains than I can even mention. And, another thing I must mention is there are pages dedicated to nothing but art. Beautiful drawings of Harley in different styles to make your eyeballs happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn: Harley Loves Joker #1

May 2, 2018

I absolutely loved this issue. It's great to have a throwback to classic Harley by one of her creators. Dini does an amazing job of showing us Harley's roots. There's even one little tidbit in here I forgot about her past. Another great thing about Harley Loves Joker is that the story ties together so many other classic Batman villains. Bat-nerds rejoice Harley Loves Joker is full of classic baddies, fun story, and nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #10

May 24, 2017

Ok, so this issue was a little hard for me to follow. It jumped around a bit. But, it seems like the story is getting more cohesive from issue #9. Im hoping the story keeps improving.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mystik U #1

Nov 29, 2017

Mysik U can best be described as Hogwarts in the DC Universe. And, a lot of your favorite magic users are either students or professors there. Some things I didn't go into detail about are the classes. Yes, you do get to see the students learning magick in different class settings. These small details really bring this story to life. I've always loved Zatanna and Enchantress so seeing them as roomies at a university together is pretty awesome. I feel like this is a really strong start to a detailed story about magick and monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mystik U #2

Jan 31, 2018

Wow I love Mystik U, can I just start off by saying that? I love watching these young adults learn how to use their unique powers. I also love that classic and new characters are mingling together in this inventive and magical new tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mystik U #3

Mar 28, 2018

Something I should definitely praise the writers on is even though there's foreshadowing as to who is the source of the Malevolence is, the appearance of it is unexpected. The way things play out went in a direction I didn't expect. During the middle of this issue I was worried I would predict the ending totally, but that didn't happen. The creative character development, tying up loose ends, and leaving an open-ended story is why I'm giving Mystik U a high rating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

Things move fast in this introductory issue, giving Kubert plenty of opportunities to cut his teeth. He captures the crazy and the mundane with equal aplomb, but that fact that his strongest work is in the last pages bodes very well for this new title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Prism Stalker #1

Mar 7, 2018

Prism Stalker makes me feel like I need to stand with Vep and rescue her people. I'm so angry to see everything Vep has gone through up to this point. I hope this tale ends with Vep feeling empowered enough to liberate her relatives from quarantine and overthrow the Svervan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Prism Stalker #2

Apr 11, 2018

If you need a totally original out-of-this-world sci-fi adventure, you need to read Prism Stalker.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Radically Rearranged Ronin Ragdolls #1

May 29, 2019

Radically Rearranged Ronin Ragdolls has a very 90's vibe to it for me. The same kind of good feels you'd get as a kid eating cereal and watching cartoons on a Saturday morning. The art was seamless with the story-telling, and held my interest. What can I say? Radically Rearranged Ronin Ragdolls is just a fun comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

This issue closes with our girls walking through a mysterious magical mirror. The mystery is where exactly have they all been transported to? I have adored Volume 2 of Rat Queens so far. The writers do a great job of character development, and the characters also are super relatable to me. Well, if you take away the fact that some have magical powers. The plot points mix well with the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #5

Aug 16, 2017

This issue like every issue before was fun and full of adventure. A nice bonus was some back story told for each of our queens via the mirror of regret. Very cool to get some insight to each characters inner psyche. And, as usual always great humor mixed into the serious plot points and adventure. Pick up this issue in your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017) #6

Nov 22, 2017

The Rat Queens always have the strangest luck on their adventures and things never quite go as planned. So, that being said you can look forward to a hilariously awesome and weird battle with a giant rainbow toad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017) #7

Jan 3, 2018

You just have to pick up this exciting issue and read for yourself. Kurtis Wiebe does an amazing job of writing and connecting so many small details that may have originally seemed insignificant. I cannot wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017): Swamp Romp Special #1

Apr 10, 2019

Rat Queens Swap Romp is a brilliant story about unicorns, magic, and disgusting diseases that exist deep within the swamp. That last bit will make you laugh your ass off once you read this amazing special. The Queens are back, and they're more fun than ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #1

Jan 24, 2018

I love the story for the mysterious girl so far. It almost seems as if she and Raven are connected somehow. She gets a name at the end and we learn more about her origin and abilities. But, I just didn't want to ruin those reveals for the readers. If you're a fan of Raven you absolutely need to be reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #1

May 10, 2017

What happens when something from your past squirms its way to the surface? Regression seems to be trying to answer just that question. Some theories claim that events that took place in a past life can impact a current life. You may think that theory is poppycock. But, what if it's not?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #2

Jun 17, 2017

In this issue we have a few answers, but even more questions. Watching Adrian become what he once was is scary and intriguing. The mystery of his past has me wanting to learn more. Who was the deity in his vision? Is he being fully possessed by a former version of himself? What havoc will that wreak in the present day? These questions have me excited to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #3

Jul 13, 2017

We close this issue with Molly at the art gallery. She is with her friend Annie and shes trying really hard to call Adrian. Molly has tried her best to help him up to this point by getting him in touch with the hypnotist. He doesnt answer, and just as Molly and Annie are closing up to get drinks Molly hears a dreadful scream coming from downstairs. Ill let you read the issue to find out what happens from here. I dont want to divulge too much or spoil anything. This comic has been great so far and I just love learning more about Adrians past life experiences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #4

Aug 16, 2017

The story has been leading us to this point from the start. Adrian very much needs more regression therapy and should have never started this without a formal plan and a professional. I dont quite think Sid was cut out for the type of therapy Adrian needed, and should have stuck to parlor tricks. The visions and possessions have been very terrifying and interesting to follow. I wonder if Mollys friend can do anything for Adrian at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #5

Oct 5, 2017

I have given this series of comics high marks because its just done so well. Every detail down to the way the artwork is shaded is creepy just when it needs to be. There are some points in the past where the story line was predictable, but not in a way that made the story stagnant. The story has been flowing really well, and in this issue there are some twists I didnt even touch on. And, of course I didnt reveal the exciting ending. Pick up this issue at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #7

Feb 21, 2018

The story only gets creepier and more intriguing with every issue of Regression.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #9

Apr 25, 2018

Vastly different outward appearances for both. Things aren't always what they appear to be, and Regression does a great job of conveying that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #10

May 24, 2018

Regression continues its streak of strong story, amazing character development, utter creepiness, and mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocko's Modern Life #1

Dec 6, 2017

Can you hear the B-52's Rocko theme song as you see this cover? Cause I can, but I wasn't sure on what to expect when I first picked up this issue. I was happy that it was a new tale and a continuation of the story. I also really liked how realistic (in some aspects anyway) yet absurd Rocko's job hunt went, because I've had some go almost as ridiculous as his did. The writers did a really good job of setting the scene for modern day job hunts. And, another really strong point was the writers really captured our main characters Rocko, Filburt, and Heffer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #0

Aug 2, 2017

Ok, so I have been reading Sheena of the Jungle since I can remember thanks to my dad. He had comics and of course the terrible movie. I can say that this version of her so far has been my favorite. Sheena is meant to be a protector, and even though she's not the smartest with technology, she's ridiculously intelligent and great at overcoming difficulties. Both of those important things shined brightly in in this version.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #3

Nov 16, 2017

I had previously wrote about a mistake I think previous writers of Sheena of the Jungle made, and that was making her more like a side character when a male was introduced. But, so far Sheena and Chano bounce well off each other. Sheena is still the main strong lead. The couple gives each other information when needed and work well together as a team to solve problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #2

Jul 27, 2017

If you havent read issue 1 I highly suggest it because its hilariously brilliant. This issue falls right in line with that brilliance. If you want to see action and insane bear fights this series is for you. The story is ridiculous and absurd but in the best way. If you want to see THE manliest bad ass in comics right now you need to be reading Shirtless Bearfighter. Rating: 9/10 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

This issue is full of more plot, reveals, and action. As I said in the last issue, we didn't really have much of a plot until issue #3. Well, it's getting thicker and thicker. Some plot points are predictable, while others are insane. I didn't reveal any spoilers in this review so you can discover them all for yourself. I continue enjoying this story and can't wait to see if Shirtless and Silva escape this insanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 23, 2018

Issue #2 of Skyward did a wonderful job bringing further life to a planet without gravity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 12, 2017

Batgirl can be seen briefly in this issue spying on Supergirl. She is oblivious Batgirls spying for sure. But, it looks like there could be a fight between them. Im a little lost because they just teamed up in the Batgirl Annual and the story line was said to continue in issue 9 of Supergirl. Guess we have to wait and see where that is headed. Theres not a ton of action going on in this issue. Everything is just plot points leading up to a bigger story line. Its still an interesting read, but its a little slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #9

May 10, 2017

Action-packed read. Nice story build-up, and I want to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #10

Jun 15, 2017

With no plan Supergirl tells Batgirl sometimes you have to work on the fly. And, takes a leap at the dragon leaving Batgirl and Ben in shock. This issue was crazy guys. Lots of bad guy insanity, action, and reveals. It was also nice to see our heroines work together and make use of their different fighting styles. I trust Kara when she jumps into things, hopefully Batgirl does too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2016) #11

Jul 13, 2017

Another action-packed issue with Kara and Babs working together to get out of The Phantom Zone. And, on the same physical level because Kara doesnt have her powers. Ben is awesome too and a huge help to escaping as well. The story set-up for the next issue has me intrigued as to what changed while Supergirl was in The Phantom Zone. I wonder, just how long she was really there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #12

Aug 9, 2017

Its interesting to see Kara somewhat out of control of her own powers. Its almost as if shes living on the cusp of a paradox with all of the sudden changes she is seeing. Our future baddies are trying their best to tear her down from the inside. Its truly a scary thought. This issue is setting us up for some crazy future events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Supergirl (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

This annual was fun. There were a lot of reveals, Emerald Empress shares exactly why she is trying to bring down Supergirl. We learn more about Indigo, and theres some insane things leading into issue 13. The writers have been good with mixing story and action. They have also been good with making you care a lot for Kara as shes going through this weird change with her powers. Pick up the annual and judge for yourself. My rating 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl: Being Super #3

Apr 26, 2017

This issue helps to put bigger things in motion. Theres not a lot of fighting or action. But, trust me there is a good amount of mystery and discovery. Its also very humanizing to see how Kara interacts with her friend Dolly while they grieve over the loss of a mutual friend. Theres a few first-time powers Kara discovers making this issue notable. Im not about spoilers so youll have to pick up issue #3 to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jul 1, 2017

This series so far has done a great job of mixing plot points with action. The story is great, and the discovery of powers is exciting. Another exciting thing thats revealed is Lex Luthor is at the core of villainy in her tale as well. So I figure well soon have a Superman and Supergirl team-up. Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention, Dolly names Supergirl in this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Damned #1

May 10, 2017

Mobsters? Check. Demons? You bet. Bloody gore and supernatural lore? You know it. If any of those things are up your alley you need to read The Damned. I cant wait to learn the full story of Eddies curse. I also cant wait to see what these demons have up their sleeves for Eddie moving forward. But, the thing Im most looking forward to is how Eddie will face these demons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 17, 2017

The family starts walking and luckily they find a person driving by to give them a ride to the nearest town. Something is really off about the town though. And, thats where our story ends. I do like the set-up and the mystery. I also find it interesting none of the characters have been named yet (bet theyre expendable). I feel like this is only going to get darker and more messed up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #1

Feb 7, 2018

All new tales, or some new things blending with existing tales sorta like this issue? Basically the bottom line is if you like strong women and warriors you should already know about Xena. If you dont already know about Xena pick up this comic and learn. You will not regret this decision.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #3

Apr 18, 2018

I'm so happy to see that the characters are being portrayed in this fashion. This issue was full of adventure and laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More