Sheena Fisher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Pop Break Reviews: 31
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 19, 2017

Like I said, this issue was intense. The action as well as the plot blended pretty much perfectly. My interest was held. I did not want to stop reading. I look forward to learning more about the evil corporation that has tainted Coryana, finding out where Safiyah has gone, and why Tahani wants to kill Kate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 22, 2017

It also looks like we havent seen the end of the Kali Corporation. We get a glimpse of the twins talking to a mysterious woman at the end of this issue. This issue had some very intense fight scenes. It was a little crazy to learn that Tahini hates Kate so much that shes willing to kill thousands of innocent people for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bettie Page #1

Jul 19, 2017

This comic was so much fun to read. Any new information about Bettie Page is welcome to me. So if you like old school Hollywood, strong women, and weird tales this comic is for you. The story unfolds beautifully. Oh, and the language is very fun in here as well. Using slang terms from the 50s really helps place you in the right timeline. I cant wait to see what Bettie does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 5, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed reading this issue. I liked the set-up for both stories, and was super excited to see classic Harley Quinn. I hope to see Poison Ivy show up in the future, yea, Im one of those Ivy/Harley shippers. But, if youre a fan of Batman The Animated Series pick this issue up immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 3, 2017

Harley Loves Joker is more classic Harley and Joker shenanigans. You can expect to see Bats make an appearance in this story as well. He kinda has to. Harley and Joker have been on a crime spree. Do they out-smart Bats? Do they make a clean getaway? I can promise you there are no clean getaways with Joker and Harley. I enjoyed this issue. Its always great to see Batman make an appearance, and who doesnt love classic Harley Quinn?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 17, 2017

This entire rebirth of Harley Quinn has been amazing. The story keeps going in great directions. Harley is very well developed. And, Im in love with the Harley Loves Joker tales as well. Any Harley fan will appreciate this series. This issue was filled with a good balance of plot and action. Im excited for where the stories are headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 7, 2017

This issue was a lot of fun. Some pretty funny things happened, there was a good mix of action and plot. Also LOTS of reveals for Red Tool and bat-lady. And, of course Harley Loves Joker is cute and true to classic Harley as always. I cant praise Dini and Palmiotti enough for what theyve done with Harleys character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 22, 2017

So, not a lot of action happens in our main story arch, but we get lots of information. Its always cute and fun to learn more about Harleen. And, it sets up some crazy stuff for the next issue. Harley loves Joker is cute, funny, and charming in its own way as always. I really havent disliked anything in this DC Rebirth Harley Quinn run. All of the writers are finally giving Harley Quinn fans what they want with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #23

Jul 6, 2017

So, as you can tell this issue isnt action-packed. But, it definitely is setting up some awesome stories. The water is getting murky for Spoonsdale. And, Soon Ivy and Red Tool will be helping out Harley. Lets not forget that some conflict could come up between The Joker and Harley in Harley loves Joker. Im fine with story set-ups and waiting for butt-kicking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

Ok so in this issue we learn that The Penguin has something going on in our main arch. We also saw Red Tool talking to Poison Ivy in the last issue so things are getting interesting. Maybe well see a bunch of Gotham villains duking it out? Maybe teaming up? Im not sure but Im excited either way. Lacking action and a little slow, but still a strong and fun read. My rating 7.5/10 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #25

Aug 9, 2017

Well, our main story arc has been building up for quite a few issues. Not just the conflict between Harley and Madison, but the surprise party for Harley as well. Everything was executed very well. Plot points came together in both story arcs, and cameos from some of our favorite villains and heroes is always a plus. DC Rebirth continues its streak of strong plot points, humor, and bloody action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 14, 2017

This anniversary issue was fun, tying our main story in to lots of other fun side tales. There are more cameo's in here from other heroes and villains than I can even mention. And, another thing I must mention is there are pages dedicated to nothing but art. Beautiful drawings of Harley in different styles to make your eyeballs happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #10

May 24, 2017

Ok, so this issue was a little hard for me to follow. It jumped around a bit. But, it seems like the story is getting more cohesive from issue #9. Im hoping the story keeps improving.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

This issue closes with our girls walking through a mysterious magical mirror. The mystery is where exactly have they all been transported to? I have adored Volume 2 of Rat Queens so far. The writers do a great job of character development, and the characters also are super relatable to me. Well, if you take away the fact that some have magical powers. The plot points mix well with the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #5

Aug 16, 2017

This issue like every issue before was fun and full of adventure. A nice bonus was some back story told for each of our queens via the mirror of regret. Very cool to get some insight to each characters inner psyche. And, as usual always great humor mixed into the serious plot points and adventure. Pick up this issue in your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Regression #1

May 10, 2017

What happens when something from your past squirms its way to the surface? Regression seems to be trying to answer just that question. Some theories claim that events that took place in a past life can impact a current life. You may think that theory is poppycock. But, what if it's not?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #2

Jun 17, 2017

In this issue we have a few answers, but even more questions. Watching Adrian become what he once was is scary and intriguing. The mystery of his past has me wanting to learn more. Who was the deity in his vision? Is he being fully possessed by a former version of himself? What havoc will that wreak in the present day? These questions have me excited to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #3

Jul 13, 2017

We close this issue with Molly at the art gallery. She is with her friend Annie and shes trying really hard to call Adrian. Molly has tried her best to help him up to this point by getting him in touch with the hypnotist. He doesnt answer, and just as Molly and Annie are closing up to get drinks Molly hears a dreadful scream coming from downstairs. Ill let you read the issue to find out what happens from here. I dont want to divulge too much or spoil anything. This comic has been great so far and I just love learning more about Adrians past life experiences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #4

Aug 16, 2017

The story has been leading us to this point from the start. Adrian very much needs more regression therapy and should have never started this without a formal plan and a professional. I dont quite think Sid was cut out for the type of therapy Adrian needed, and should have stuck to parlor tricks. The visions and possessions have been very terrifying and interesting to follow. I wonder if Mollys friend can do anything for Adrian at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #0

Aug 2, 2017

Ok, so I have been reading Sheena of the Jungle since I can remember thanks to my dad. He had comics and of course the terrible movie. I can say that this version of her so far has been my favorite. Sheena is meant to be a protector, and even though she's not the smartest with technology, she's ridiculously intelligent and great at overcoming difficulties. Both of those important things shined brightly in in this version.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #2

Jul 27, 2017

If you havent read issue 1 I highly suggest it because its hilariously brilliant. This issue falls right in line with that brilliance. If you want to see action and insane bear fights this series is for you. The story is ridiculous and absurd but in the best way. If you want to see THE manliest bad ass in comics right now you need to be reading Shirtless Bearfighter. Rating: 9/10 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 12, 2017

Batgirl can be seen briefly in this issue spying on Supergirl. She is oblivious Batgirls spying for sure. But, it looks like there could be a fight between them. Im a little lost because they just teamed up in the Batgirl Annual and the story line was said to continue in issue 9 of Supergirl. Guess we have to wait and see where that is headed. Theres not a ton of action going on in this issue. Everything is just plot points leading up to a bigger story line. Its still an interesting read, but its a little slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #9

May 10, 2017

Action-packed read. Nice story build-up, and I want to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #10

Jun 15, 2017

With no plan Supergirl tells Batgirl sometimes you have to work on the fly. And, takes a leap at the dragon leaving Batgirl and Ben in shock. This issue was crazy guys. Lots of bad guy insanity, action, and reveals. It was also nice to see our heroines work together and make use of their different fighting styles. I trust Kara when she jumps into things, hopefully Batgirl does too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2016) #11

Jul 13, 2017

Another action-packed issue with Kara and Babs working together to get out of The Phantom Zone. And, on the same physical level because Kara doesnt have her powers. Ben is awesome too and a huge help to escaping as well. The story set-up for the next issue has me intrigued as to what changed while Supergirl was in The Phantom Zone. I wonder, just how long she was really there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl (2016) #12

Aug 9, 2017

Its interesting to see Kara somewhat out of control of her own powers. Its almost as if shes living on the cusp of a paradox with all of the sudden changes she is seeing. Our future baddies are trying their best to tear her down from the inside. Its truly a scary thought. This issue is setting us up for some crazy future events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Supergirl (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

This annual was fun. There were a lot of reveals, Emerald Empress shares exactly why she is trying to bring down Supergirl. We learn more about Indigo, and theres some insane things leading into issue 13. The writers have been good with mixing story and action. They have also been good with making you care a lot for Kara as shes going through this weird change with her powers. Pick up the annual and judge for yourself. My rating 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl: Being Super #3

Apr 26, 2017

This issue helps to put bigger things in motion. Theres not a lot of fighting or action. But, trust me there is a good amount of mystery and discovery. Its also very humanizing to see how Kara interacts with her friend Dolly while they grieve over the loss of a mutual friend. Theres a few first-time powers Kara discovers making this issue notable. Im not about spoilers so youll have to pick up issue #3 to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jul 1, 2017

This series so far has done a great job of mixing plot points with action. The story is great, and the discovery of powers is exciting. Another exciting thing thats revealed is Lex Luthor is at the core of villainy in her tale as well. So I figure well soon have a Superman and Supergirl team-up. Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention, Dolly names Supergirl in this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Damned #1

May 10, 2017

Mobsters? Check. Demons? You bet. Bloody gore and supernatural lore? You know it. If any of those things are up your alley you need to read The Damned. I cant wait to learn the full story of Eddies curse. I also cant wait to see what these demons have up their sleeves for Eddie moving forward. But, the thing Im most looking forward to is how Eddie will face these demons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 17, 2017

The family starts walking and luckily they find a person driving by to give them a ride to the nearest town. Something is really off about the town though. And, thats where our story ends. I do like the set-up and the mystery. I also find it interesting none of the characters have been named yet (bet theyre expendable). I feel like this is only going to get darker and more messed up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More