Spin Dash's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Following The Nerd Reviews: 55
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New X-Men: Special #1

Oct 4, 2013

If you want more from our favorite Spider-Ock I recommend picking up this issue and the rest of the Arms of the Octopus story. It may have long lasting effects that will be Superior.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #700.1

Dec 6, 2013

Now while I have gone on record to say how much I love Otto as Spider-Man and I still do, I will not deny that it was great to see Peter again. This was the Peter I grew up with and loved, no wife, no bigger plans, just him working and looking after his Aunt. That was always my Parker and this issue brought back the memories of reading his early adventures and me saying this is a guy like me. So if you have missed Pete and want to read some really fantastic material this is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 7, 2013

If you were hoping for something epic in Amazing X-Men #1 then you will not be disappointed. Beautiful art, fantastic writing and the makings of something truly special, this is a great first issue and a great way to reintroduce not only Nightcrawler but Firestar as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #23

Aug 28, 2013

For those who are not reading I say now is the time to start. Aquaman gets better each month and with what has happened in this issue you do not want to miss a second.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #23.2

Sep 27, 2013

Once again this one-shot proves why the Aquaman title is one of the best currently going in the New 52 and why all the jokes we have all made about Arthur and his world over the years should be stopped because at this moment he has never been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Joker's Daughter #1

Feb 7, 2014

All in all though this issue proved the point I made in the Joker's Daughter review and that is you need to stop looking at the surface of a book and start looking deeper and how a story could affect a universe. You also need to look and see and ask where could they take this character in future appearances and I am proud to say I told you so on this one. An excellent issue and one I feel many people are going to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #23.1

Sep 6, 2013

As far as the Villain one-shots go this is one of the ones I would highly recommend people to pick up. With a fantastic story and a deep look inside one of the newer rogues in the bat gallery, Ventriloquist is a demented, twisted, sick ride that must be experienced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #23.4

Sep 27, 2013

With a good story and actually very good art from writer Ann Nocenti and artist Georges Jeanty, this may not be the best book of the month but it is worth the pickup. Especially if you are interested to see how she ties into the Joker and why she was able to accomplish what she did. There are specific reasons that are explained and ones that may have you think about the larger world of Gotham as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Battlestar Galactica: Starbuck #1

Nov 22, 2013

I think more people need to go back and take a look at the original BSG and realize how awesome it truly was for the time. I also think this is a series I can give to dear (can't say old or she will slap me) Mom and she will love every minute of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Coffin Hill #1

Oct 17, 2013

I truly hope this book does not turn into a teen drama, but I honestly do not see it going that route. It did leave me with questions that I hope that are answered but for a first issue not all that bad of a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptozoic Man #1

Oct 10, 2013

The interpretation, pacing and story may turn some readers off, but if you want a book that honestly makes you think and travel down a path of the unknown then you should pick up Cryptozoic Man. Yes it is weird and yes it will make you feel really dizzy at the end, but it is like Mr. Toad's Wild Ride, you just want to get back on and go again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe vs. The Masters of the Universe #1

Sep 6, 2013

Any fan of He-Man and DC should pick up this series because it is going to be fantastic. Just the mere fact that the DC characters you see in the premiere issue are two of the biggest Mystics in the universe tells you that magic is going to play a huge role and while we know the Justice League will be making appearances, I really think we are going to see Xanadu and Constantine take charge in this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Future King #1

Aug 13, 2013

Dead Future King is a combination of two truly fantastic genres and one that everyone should give a look at, both Arthurian and Zombie fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #23.2

Sep 12, 2013

For those of you who have never seen the true brilliance that his Harley Quinn, I highly recommend picking up this issue. It is in my honest opinion the best one-shot so far in Villains month. Try it out and see for yourself why Harley is more than just a dumb blonde"err red I mean blue I mean, oh just give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hacktivist #1

Jan 24, 2014

This book was interesting to say the least. The premise is actually pretty engaging and the story does seem like something you would see out of a big budget Hollywood film. Though I have seen many who have taken shots at the writing and I have even seen trolls attacking the writers and the creator (one decided to input into a tweet conversation I was having with writer Lanzing). However I urge you the readers to make your own opinion on the material.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #0

Nov 22, 2013

I had high hopes for this issue and it did not disappoint. This was fantastic in every sense of the word and showcased the talents of the artists very well. Each page dedicated to a specific artist to show what they are best at and for me that is a check in the win column. Let's hope that this kind of great fun is carried over into the ongoing series because if it does Harley might well help to save the New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #1

Dec 21, 2013

So from Spin to all of you I give this Puddin of an issue

View Issue       View Full Review
10
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe (2013) #5

Aug 23, 2013

What will happen now that Adora has started to question her very well being? Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hinterkind #1

Oct 3, 2013

Ian Edginton has taken a classic motif and created something new, something that could lead to some pretty fantastic revelations for the characters and the readers alike. He has done what every good first issue should do and that's draw the reader into a fantasy world and give them just a taste of what is going on so as to make them come back for following issues. There is a bit of fantasy mixed with science that really has the makings of a great title and one that I hope others pick up and give a shot. Add in the art from Francesco Trifogli and you have the recipe for an end of the world story that will be all kinds of different from what you are used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Inhumanity #1

Dec 6, 2013

I truly feel that as a follow up to Infinity which has rightfully so been praised, Inhumanity is going to be fantastic if you take this issue as an example. I love the Inhumans and I think newer readers who read this arc and learn about them and their struggles will learn to love them too. There is so much history to them that while I don't think you will get everything in Inhumanity it may actually get people interested to go read an older adventure. - See more at: http://www.followingthenerd.com/comics/comic-reviews-ftn-reviews-inhumanity-1/#sthash.rDGdNN0W.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inhumanity #2

Jan 31, 2014

All in all, except for the art on those few pages Fraction and his team have made a great book that showcases, in my opinion, one of the strongest women in Marvel Comics. They told a story of growth and development that in today's comics is needed. So I highly recommend this issue of Inhumanity and I hope you will agree with me on the beauty that is Medusa when you see her rendering.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #24

Oct 24, 2013

I will say this, this issue was a great lift for the Justice League title, from the backwards recreation of the first issue of the New 52, to the origins of Ultraman and the battle at the end, and this has taken the lull out of the title. Though that is to be expected from Johns, he understands the characters he is writing and if he has to create something he will and I feel he has done a fantastic job here in this issue. This issue marks the beginning of what should be a great next chapter in the Forever Evil series and hopefully will have it end on a high note. I think the villain's month bogged down the entire arc in a big way but this issue brought it back. So let us hope this keeps going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #23.2

Sep 20, 2013

Dan Didio and artist Philip Tan have brought this week my pick for the best Villains title. A fresh look at a character that is one of the more interesting villains in the line-up, rather than re-hashing old stories like most of the villains titles have. That is why this works and why those that are not origins stories, but those that allows the continuation of the current universe are the ones to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark #24

Oct 24, 2013

However, was this a story for the JLD or should it have been in Constantine instead? Should it have focus on what was going on with the members and not just a Constantine narrative? Perhaps, but still even if it had Constantine on the cover instead of JLD it was still a pretty interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Legends of Red Sonja #1

Nov 11, 2013

This is a great series already and it has only been one issue! With Simone doing fantastic work with the ongoing Sonja title, this one is following right in its footsteps. Dynamite is proving why they are quickly becoming a publisher to be on the lookout for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Longshot Saves the Marvel Universe #1

Nov 7, 2013

So from Spin to you I give this issue a not so Lucky"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #1

Oct 10, 2013

For those who are waiting for Pete to return in Superior, you may have to wait longer, but until that time I highly recommend picking up Marvel Knights Spider-Man for a fun, trippy adventure that will have you wishing you had some of the pages to put framed on your wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mega Man #28

Aug 13, 2013

While like I stated I would have loved for the memories of the crossover to remain intact with the characters, I have hopes it will be revisited at some point, this is still a great start to the next stage in the Mega Man series. Based off this issue alone and the surprising events that take place this is an issue not to miss for anyone who has ever been a fan of Mega Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mega Man #32

Dec 14, 2013

I always say that Archie has some fantastic titles that while they may seem to be kid's books they are actually great action adventure stories. There is so much character depth in them that a lot of the time they are better than what we are getting from the big two. With that I think Mega Man is a book that everyone should at least give a try and I am sure you all will love it like I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Avengers (2013) #4.INH

Dec 12, 2013

This is a title not to be passed over. It is brilliant and is bringing a lot of Marvel characters that truly need time to shine in their own book. Plus it has the Superior Spider-Man and right now that equals gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miss Fury #6

Sep 28, 2013

This is a series many may not have heard about but it is one of the best currently being printed. Miss Fury has been around since the 40's and is still a great character to this day. I will put her up against any of the current ladies in comics who claim that they are a "Bad Ass" and watch Miss Fury knock them down a few pegs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Miss Fury #7

Nov 15, 2013

I have said it before that Dynamite is becoming a major player in the comic book world and this is one of the books that are making that possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Morbius: The Living Vampire #8

Aug 23, 2013

Sadly this will never materialize but for what it is Morbius is a fantastic read and Issue 8 is no different. Full of revelations of one's self, the true spirit of friendship and monsters. Who could ask for much more?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Morbius: The Living Vampire #9

Sep 19, 2013

If you want an outing that truly is something of pure beauty please go pick up this entire 9 issue run. Morbius is unlike any of the character you may be reading in Avengers, he is one of those Marvel characters that really is more fantastic than most people know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Night of the Living Deadpool #2

Feb 1, 2014

If you loved the Deadpool Killogy then you will love this new series and everything that has gone into it. From the writing to the fantast art by Rosanas, this is a fantastic series. - See more at: http://www.followingthenerd.com/comics/comic-review-ftn-reviews-night-of-the-living-deadpool-2/#sthash.BIakAQAq.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
NOIR #1

Nov 15, 2013

All this and the revelation of Miss Fury herself at the end of the book just make me giddy for the next issue to come out (Yes it is already on my pull). Don't miss out on this book if you like classic characters, lavish backgrounds and fantastic stories set in the early part of the century. Let's face it; we all love those types of books!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Original Sin #1

May 8, 2014

If some past events have given you a bad taste in your mouth, I would say give Original Sin a try as you might be pleasantly surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phantom Stranger (2012) #13

Nov 11, 2013

If you are tired of the mundane issues of Superman, sick of the Green Lanterns constantly involved in some kind of wa,r and tired of everything being a Zero Year tie-in, then go pick up some issues of The Phantom Stranger. This is a very well written series with fantastic art and it is a good escape from the world of capes and costumes. So immerse yourself in mythology, theology, and demons. Most importantly, have fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revolutionary War: Alpha #1

Jan 12, 2014

Everything was spot on with the writing of this issue, even down to the slang used by the British heroes. This adds so much to the dialogue as I want to read this with them being themselves and not speaking like people in America do as there are different terms and slang used all over the world so it brings more realism to the story that I found exhilarating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #1

Sep 27, 2013

Matt Fraction has done it again, he has taken a book that based on the cover and synopsis had me going "ok I'll check it out" to "OMG I have to buy this every month"! His way of writing can make you feel so many emotions it tugs at the heartstrings. This book gives you all of that but mostly gives you the biggest laughs you will have in a while from a comic. Add that to the fantastic art from Chip Zdarsky and this is a must have for comic fans. (Well those who can understand the material)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #2

Oct 24, 2013

Matt Fraction has not dipped in quality from issue #1 to issue #2. He has kept the humor and fantasy of this book and the breaking of the 4th wall that I found one of the best parts of the first outing. He has something up his sleeve for this series and I can't wait to see what it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #4

Jan 14, 2014

Sex Criminals continues to be one of the most fun and naughty good reads currently in circulation (good circulation, not bad"..no Viagra). The art is fantastic, the colors in the quiet are trippy and get even trippier when you smoke pot while in the quiet (I don't recommend this). Everything about this issue and this series just hits the mark and for those Mature Readers out there I highly recommend sticking with it and picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic the Hedgehog #251

Aug 1, 2013

Don't miss this issue and if needed go back and get the whole Worlds Collide saga, if you are or ever were a fan of the Sonic and Mega Man games, this is the story for you. So much nostalgic memories throughout these titles, it truly made me want to go and play all the classic games again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic the Hedgehog #253

Oct 3, 2013

Once again a solid story and fantastic art make Sonic one of the best and most action packed comics that is currently out there. It is to coin the phrase "Way Past Cool!"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonic the Hedgehog #256

Jan 17, 2014

So with all that gushing once again Sonic #256 is a solid issue and sets you up nicely for the next story arc title "The Chase".

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic Universe #55

Aug 22, 2013

With all the dark storylines going on in comics these days and all the adult oriented themes, sometimes it's good to grab a book like Sonic Universe and just sit back, relax and have fun with it. We all deserve that, don't you think?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sonic Universe #56

Sep 19, 2013

If you are in the need for a good fun filled adventure with robots, pirates"heck ROBOT PIRATES! Then this is the book for you. Also don't forget to ask your retailer for the SEGA Variant, this month showcasing Amy Rose herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2011) #23

Aug 22, 2013

No matter WHO is writing the Squad this has been one of the best books each month. Don't pass it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2011) #24

Oct 11, 2013

For those who doubt him, say he doesn't know what he is doing, I say read this issue and really read it because it is fantastic and has laid the groundwork for future issues that will have major ramifications on the Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2011) #24

Oct 18, 2013

The artwork is solid in this issue and it is indeed bright and vibrant. It is just a shame that the story was rushed because thinking on it; it was a good story and one that could have been longer. We should have had more time with Zor-El as he contemplates what he has done and shown more of the scientist and loving father he was. We do see that he truly cares for Kara and is ready to sacrifice his body and memories just so she can live, but still the pacing was off. Still as issues go while it should not have been the end of this arc it will lead into the Return of Krypton and I hope once that is done we can see Kara do a little more than weep for lost times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #21

Nov 15, 2013

Once again though Superior Spider-Man proves why he is fantastic and proves why Dan Slott is the mad genius of the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Unchained #1

Jul 25, 2013

Beautiful artwork, a look at the making, and just the pure respect between writer and artist is enough for me to say this is spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Green Team #3

Jul 26, 2013

The only saving grace for this book is the art. For me it's great, the artists really did a fantastic job of creating this world. Sadly it is just not enough to make me recommend this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Maxx: Maxximized #1

Dec 14, 2013

The reprint is simply beautiful in every way shape and form. The colors are vibrant, even the black pops out at you and that is saying something. The designs of the characters and the differences of them from the city to Outback are still as spectacular as it was in 1993. Sam Kieth has brought back his masterpiece for a new audience to enjoy and for those old fans to relive. I can't say enough about how beautiful these issues are and how much people need to read them and see what all the talk was about. I just hope that with this reissue that maybe we may get some new MAXX stories in the futures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #15.INH

Dec 13, 2013

This is a great book even if I felt it didn't need to be a tie-in. It could have cut out the part about the Inhumans and actually just focus on the ladies and what they are doing. However for what it was this was a great issue that I did enjoy and I hope Bendis continues and brings more of the character development in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More