Tyler Saldaa's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 20
6.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #26

Nov 11, 2015

Overall, I enjoyed the story and am pretty interested to see what Vandal Savage has planned with that massive Nazi war ship.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #27

Dec 9, 2015

I still find the art to be a little rough. There wasnt as many oddly-drawn characters as last issue. I still do think theyre drawing Batgirl a lot bigger than she is in any other book which is fine. However, it can just look weird. Also, I enjoyed how some of the flashback panels captured previous generations art styles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #28

Jan 13, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. After not having both Superman and Bruce Wayne as Batman together for some time now, it was great to return to the original cast. I also enjoyed seeing an awesome and, in recent years, rare Clayface battle for a handful of pages. Tom Taylors first issue along with the entire new creative team hit this issue out of the park. There is so much tender meat to chew on. Why was Lobo hired to kill that giant lady? Who is Superman referring to when he says someone has been discovered that shouldnt have been there? With all my questions out on the table, I am eager from Tom Taylor, Robson Rocha and cos next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #29

Feb 10, 2016

Final Thoughts: Wow. I havent enjoyed an issue this much in quite a long time. The story, the humor within the dialogue, the art. Overall, this was such an exciting and interesting story. The next issue cant come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 9, 2016

Final Thoughts: I absolutely love this arc. Of the many DC books I read, this arc is probably one of the more exciting books for me to read at the moment along with Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. My only hesitancy in rating this issue higher than a four is it did seem a little rushed for a finale. Overall, the arc felt short. I doubt that Tom Taylor couldnt have stretched this storyline into two or three more issues. At the same time, I also understand that many of DCs writers are wrapping up their current books while most likely getting a jump on the Rebirth title/s they may be on so it makes sense. With all that being said, I consider that flaw to be far outnumbered by the exciting arc, fun dialogue and gorgeous art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

Apr 13, 2016

I did not read Superman #51 nor did have any idea going into this book that I was about to read part two in essentially a Superman mini-series by Tomasi and Co. There are definitely components to this arc that I still have no idea whats going on. Having said that, overall, I found the book enjoyable. Tomasis story somewhat caught my interest but was drawn further in by Mahnke and his art teams visual storytelling. After reading this book, I found myself asking if Im compelled to pick up Action Comics #51, the book that contains part three of this arc. As of right now, Im still unsure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #12

Dec 3, 2015

This issue was jam-packed so Ill be brief in my thoughts. I absolutely love Gotham Academy. While giving resolution to this arc, the mystery of Olive and Calamity potentially residing in her has me eager to read issue #14 (issue #13 is a Robin War tie-in so I doubt well see much progression in this story arc). The art as usual was fun while also tense, in particular the sequence between Olive and Professor Strange.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #13

Dec 10, 2015

I wouldve given it a higher rating but the art this month wasnt for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Gotham Academy #14

Jan 14, 2016

For the beginning of a story arc, issue 14 was quite underwhelming. For starters, the actual narrative didnt seem to bare much weight. Instead, it felt more like a Bobs Burgers comic rather than a Gotham Academy. Dont get me wrong; I very much enjoy the Bobs Burgers comics probably because I absolutely adore the show. However, I wasnt expecting that fun and animated style to invade Gotham Academy. I hope these next few issues take us somewhere. The La Pisada ending is hardly a cliffhanger although thats probably where theyre going. As of now, it seems like were almost on a hiatus with this book and, in the mean time, are releasing silly short stories, briefly satisfying our cravings with a bag of Cheetos rather than a burrito. Initially, we feel content until but a few hours later when we realize were not only still hungry but also feel disgusted, having wasted our time and calories.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Gotham Academy #15

Feb 11, 2016

Aside from the deep Batman references, I wonder where this is all going. Are these all random short stories or are they all building to something bigger?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #16

Mar 10, 2016

With two more issues in the Yearbook arc as well as technically in this series (will return in the fall as Gotham Academy: The Next Semester), Im optimistic for the final two issues. Again, theres still not much of an arc per se but rather a compilation of short stories with the gang written and drawn by lesser known artists. Those at the helm of this book clearly have an appreciation for The Batman Universe and characters deep within the history which is why I always enjoy reading Gotham Academy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #17

Apr 14, 2016

This was probably my favorite issue of the arc so far. Gotham Academy continues to delve deep into The Batman Universe toy box, drawing from Batman: The Animated Series and Batman 1989. Overall, as a Batman fan, I enjoy looking for Batman Easter eggs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2015) #5

Nov 27, 2015

In regards to rest of the League, Philip Tans pencils seemed a little choppy. Its also worth noting that Tan inked the first two pages which is where the League is featured in The Watchtower; Im glad Jason Paz took over inks from then on. Tans pencils married with Pazs inks and Jeromy Coxs colors were phenomenal when looking at Martian Manhunter and The UnNamed. The fight sequences, especially when Jonn punches The UnNamed up at least seven floors of a building through the roof, are visually thrilling. I wish that specific panel was a full-page shot. The only other downside to the art section was how the humans looked. Often, I felt they looked too cartoon-esque or, in some areas, anime-like.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #6

Dec 25, 2015

For the most part, I found the art to be incredible. Hitch and his art team of Henriqeus, Currie and Sinclair delivered two breathtaking fight sequences: one between Superman and Rao that climaxes with a two-page spread of Superman being blasted through a mountain and the second being Aquaman and Wonder Woman battling Raos prophets on whats left of Olympus. This second fight sequence builds to another fantastic two-page spread of Olympus exploding after Raos prophets give their lives to Rao.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2015) #7

Jan 29, 2016

Hitch continues to produce incredible pencils. Specifically, I think he nails Superman as good as anyone Ive seen. This issue in particular possesses a handful of gorgeous shots that highlight his skill as well as the inks of Henriques and Currie and Sinclairs vibrant colors. The nearly full-page shot of the sun beaming down on Olympus powerfully exudes rich emotion which sets up the scene well. The scenes between Rao and the imprisoned Superman are worth the $3.99 cover price. Lastly, the handful of panels featuring Wonder Woman and Aquaman in Dianas weaponry rooms are such a joy to experience. The room with weapons previously owned by the likes of Apollo and Zeus are simply fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2015) #8

Apr 1, 2016

Part of me thinks that years from now, Ill pull these issues out of my long box, reread them and actually enjoy them. But for now, as long as I still am somewhat calloused by the seemingly inevitable delays of Hitch and Co., I await the day this series is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter (2015) #6

Nov 5, 2015

Story-wise, I did not see the ending coming. I was shocked and blown away. Perhaps I needed to read back issues more closely to see twist. Having read this issue a few times now and a few of the previous issues, I think going forward I can approach issue #7 with the expectation that sequential order is in no way a given.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Midnighter (2015) #7

Dec 3, 2015

Personally, Im not a fan of 1) how long the fight sequences can go and 2) some of the art layout. Theres one page in particular with twelve square panels, often containing close-ups on somewhat random objects. This can be confusing and difficult to follow in an initial read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Midnighter (2015) #8

Jan 7, 2016

These filler issues that buy a months time in between story arcs are often hit-or-miss. I enjoyed seeing a throwback character that we rarely see in Freedom Beast. However, the story was so-so. I'm assuming Orlando is a Grant Morrison fan considering he's now used two of his original characters (Prometheus and now Freedom Beast). The last few pages are the best part tying the conclusion of the first arc to the next arc. I look forward to ACOs returning to pencil in issue #9 as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Midnighter (2015) #9

Feb 4, 2016

Even more sadly, an after-thought is exactly what this book is becoming to me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More