Wilson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 29
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Aliens: Defiance #1

Apr 1, 2016

Aliens: Defiance #1 starts as a by the numbers Aliens story. By issues end it's clear this series is going to be much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Civil War II #0

May 22, 2016

Civil War II #0 is low on action, high on long drawn out conversation. If reading Carol Danvers having a therapy session sounds fun, this is the book for you. The art is gorgeous though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 20, 2016

For fans of D&D, Heavy Metal, Dragons, Lord of the Rings, and just a touch of Wheel of Time, this could be the next big series to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Ghost Rider (2016) #1

Dec 9, 2016

I was bummed that Ghost Rider #1 wasn't as good as I hoped. I've come to know what to expect with Felipe Smith's Ghost Rider but this opening issue fell short. With odd characterization and half of the title character's main story taken up by the insanely annoying Totally Awesome Hulk, the book falters. Luckily, the art in both stories is enjoyable with Moore's being an amazing standout. Hopefully future issues won't feel as flat and maybe we'll get some more Tradd Moore artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 6, 2016

A good start and introduction even though it jettisons the "legacy" character for his replacement.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hellblazer: Rebirth #1

Jul 26, 2016

The Hellblazer: Rebirth #1 is a great relaunch for the title and brings John Constantine closer to his roots, even if in a toned down fashion. The original setting, returning characters and classic Constantine games are present which makes it the closest to the original Vertigo run that DC has gotten. First time readers will find a great introduction into the magician's twisted world won't be lost. Long time readers should enjoy it too, as long as they don't mind a slightly tamed version of Hellblazer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
I Hate Fairyland #5

Feb 22, 2016

I Hate Fairyland #5 is a great end to the first arc of Skottie Young's mad and twisted fairy tale. If you think you're the audience for this book and are intrigued, go out and by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 12, 2017

Justice League of America Rebirth #1 is standard "round-up the team members" fair. There's nothing new or unique in the story that a seasoned comic reader won't have already seen dozens of times already. Readers who absolutely must see things from the beginning will want to pick this up, but nothing of consequence happens. Ivan Reis is the standout, with his artwork picking up the slack. The last preview page interests me the most and makes me want to see where this goes, but if things don't pick up quick I'll be dropping this soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Karnak #2

Mar 1, 2016

Warren Ellis has made Karnak a great title with a revamped character that is cold and brutal. Issue two has great action and the majority of the artwork is great. I hope the delays don't continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kill Or Be Killed #2

Sep 12, 2016

Kill or be Killed might be Sean Phillips and Ed Brubaker's best work yet. Until now the top spot was taken by The Fade Out, but Kill or be Killed is unlike anything else from the duo that I'm dying to see what comes next. Yes, there are elements the two have used before but the addition of the supernatural is a much-needed departure. Sure, it's only on issue two, but I'm hooked and have been enthralled with the story. Issue two doesn't disappoint, both from art and story, and I highly suggest everyone go give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
M.A.S.K.: Mobile Armored Strike Kommand: Revolution #1

Oct 3, 2016

M.A.S.K. Revolution #1 is a decent start to introducing M.A.S.K. to the new generation but falls a bit short of its potential. The "gimmick" of the property is barely seen and the issue is one long character introduction. While it's not bad, the "military soldiers trying to make the cut" trope has been done before. There is promise though, with lead hero Matt Trakker now African-American and the updated suit designs by artist Tony Varas looking sleek and cool. I'm dying to see M.A.S.K. make its return and interact with all the Hasbro properties, making the eight year old Wilson jump for joy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #3

Jan 29, 2016

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #3 is a great, fun book for readers of all ages without pandering to young readers. It's got some good art and, of course dinosaurs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Moon Knight (2016) #2

May 11, 2016

Moon Knight #2 is another great entry from Jeff Lemire and Greg Smallwood. While only on issue two, it is becoming one of the best Moon Knight series in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Nighthawk #2

Jun 25, 2016

Nighthawk #2 is a well written, dark book that touches on some hot button issues. Fans of Squadron Supreme or dark stories should check this hidden gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Prez #6

Dec 6, 2015

Prez #6 packs a bunch of humor and satirical bite into the closing issue of the first mini-series. It's a satisfying conclusion but leaves me wanting more. I just hope there's more to be had.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Renato Jones: The One % #3

Jul 11, 2016

Disappointing compared to the first two, Renato Jones: The One% #3 reads like a scatterbrained Sin City rip off. The artwork is great and the strongest element by far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Rumble (2017) #1

Dec 21, 2017

Rumble #1 is a great return for previous readers and introduction for new. Arcudi is setting up another crazy, monster filled fantasy story and Dave Rubin's art is a terrific fit for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Secret Wars #9

Jan 15, 2016

Secret Wars #9 is a wonderful conclusion to the event, that has a respectful send off for Reed Richards. Artwork is fantastic and extremely detailed. The best part about the story is that it has a conclusion, and changes nothing about the Marvel universe, leaving nothing to repair later.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Spawn Kills Everyone (One-Shot) #1

Aug 23, 2016

Do yourself a favor and DON'T BUY THIS COMIC! Don't even read it! I'm shocked it's getting a second print and if it wasn't for our rating system automatically calculating the total, I would give this book 1 out of 5 stars. I haven't hated a comic this much in a long, long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #6

Jul 19, 2016

A terrific one shot story that delivers. Perfect for introducing new readers to the title's tone while also telling a spooky tale. It never stops sending chills down your spine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Fix #2

May 17, 2016

The Fix #2 is a hilarious comic full of unique characters and ridiculous scenarios that you can't help but like the leads. Spencer and Lieber work wonderfully together and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Flintstones #2

Aug 15, 2016

I never thought it'd be possible, but The Flintstones is the best of DC's Hanna-Barbera revamp on the rack. Mark Russell writes a hilarious comic with biting satire and social commentary that hits the bullseye so accurately it's scary. Steve Pugh draws recognizable yet modern and redesigned characters that works well. If you're looking for a funny and almost subversive comic about modern day, but set in the stone ages, The Flintstones is the one to read. Highly, highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
The Gingerdead Man Meets Evil Bong #2

May 25, 2018

Not even medicinal herbs can help this comic's story and jokes better. Recommended for fans of the franchise only, those that may be out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #50

Mar 15, 2016

A great issue of the series, though not the special kind you would expect for a fiftieth.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #52

Apr 26, 2016

Transformers #52 has some great character moments and improved artwork. It is the beginning to something that might be extremely entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Transformers: Sins of the Wreckers #2

Jan 1, 2016

Transformers: Sins of the Wreckers #2 is a fun book for readers and a great one for Transformers fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Titan's Return #1

Aug 1, 2016

If there was a time to be a Transformers fan, now is the perfect one. With the comics and toy line (and soon cartoons) all carrying the same event, there is tons to be excited about. The Transformers: Titans Return one-shot is perfect to get readers of all kinds hooked. My hope is that those who find the Titans Return toys cool will check out the comics, and vice versa. The writing and art team on this issue do a terrific job of setting the story up and introducing readers to what is coming next. I can't gush enough about this and even though I'm a GIGANTIC Transformers fan, I'm confident that all readers will enjoy this. If you're curious about Transformers comics, this one will prove how great they can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

Donny Cates and Ryan Stegman are off to a killer start in this new volume of Venom, with ideas that could be refreshing in a Venom comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Vikings vs. Unicorns #1

Apr 18, 2016

Vikings vs. Unicorns #1 is a fun, soaked in rainbow-colored blood good time. Though it may have its flaws, fans of Norse mythology and vikings for sure will want to give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

3rd

February

More