The Next Batman: Second Son #8

Writer: John Ridley Artist: Travel Foreman Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: April 21, 2021 Cover Price: $0.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 9
9.1Critic Rating
6.1User Rating

+ Pull List

What tragic event on  Jace Fox’s 17th birthday forever altered the course of his young life and tore his family apart? The truth is at last revealed at his deposition…and it’s not what you think it is!

  • 9.3
    The Super Powered Fancast - Timala Elliott Apr 21, 2021

    Foreman's heavy use of character expression, combined with the ink and color work of Rapmund and Lokus, work very well together. The entire issue is beautiful and engaging. However, the ending pages demand the most praise. The panels there are hauntingly beautiful and filled with emotion. I was spellbound by them. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    COMICON - Scott Redmond Apr 27, 2021

    This creative team is crafting a truly engaging, emotional, and insightful story that looks at not only the hardships and privilege of one family but also takes a deep look at issues that plague so many of us in reality. Moody-focused artwork brings full attention to the story, making every panel truly engaging whether it's one full of action or one full of talking characters. They are truly doing something special and different set within the confines of Gotham City and the world of Batman. Read Full Review

  • 1.0
    Bats20832 Apr 22, 2021

    DC Comics "Future State:" Killers are Heroes.

    I thought we already had that storyline on Earth 3?

    That is the "success" that John Ridley is having in telling the "story" of "the Next Batman" - who by "chapter 8" (issue 4?) still has no "Next Batman." But we have a killer named Jace Fox? Unlike Bruce Wayne's Batman origin story where he responds to killing of his parents, in the "Future State" DC Comics we have a Jace Fox as "Next Batman" with origin story of being a killer himself.

    I mean NO WONDER John Ridley has been dragging his feet on the "Next Batman" origin. How would that have read in the press and the major reviewers (all of which are studiously ignoring Ridley's writing on this now)? "Future S more

  • 10
    Psycamorean Apr 25, 2021

    I actually really liked this one. I felt that Jace's backstory was really engaging, even though I've seen it before.

  • 8.5
    EDiakota Apr 30, 2021

    " I had a choice to make and i made mine."
    - JACE FOX

  • 8.5
    Toonstrack Jun 2, 2021

    Now this is an intriguing origin

  • 1.0
    fenixalasnegras May 19, 2021

  • 9.0
    Josecab79 Apr 20, 2021

  • 8.0
    tonpas1989 Apr 20, 2021

  • 7.5
    mrDovydas Apr 25, 2021

  • 1.0
    RedKSuperman May 12, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More