Marvel #6

Writer: Alex Ross, more Artist: Alex Ross Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: March 17, 2021 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 1 User Reviews: 8
7.0Critic Rating
6.8User Rating

The overarching story of Doctor Strange's battle with Nightmare concludes in spectacular fashion as illustrated by Alex Ross and Mitch O'Connell! And before that, Nick Fury battles a conspiracy to destroy S.H.I.E.L.D. courtesy of Greg Smallwood, and the Silver Surfer returns to a dead Earth thanks to Lee Bermejo! It's the best-looking release you'll see all month!
Rated T

  • 5.5
    Spacey Medicine Jul 10, 2021

    Fine!

  • 8.0
    Kalaoui Mar 22, 2021

    That Greg Smallwood story was a delight to read. Kudos to him for the doing the whole thing from script, art to lettering! But 9 pages at the end of ads is just nonsense for $5. Makes me buy less books from Marvel in the end so just shooting yourself in the foot with this crap. So to recap Greg Smallwood = Very Good and Marvel Comics Corporate = Trash. ;-)

  • 7.5
    King-Maker Psycamorean Mar 23, 2021

    This was a strong issue to end on, but this anthology was all over the place. The art usually managed to impress, but the storytelling was sometimes lacking.

  • 6.0
    CrazyforRAMU Jul 18, 2021

    In the frame story, Strange pulls out an inevitable win over Nightmare, illustrated by Mitch O'Connell's trippy retro art. First, though, the last two anthology strips: A loving homage to Nick Fury's Steranko days and a gorgeous but roughly-written dirge featuring the Silver Surfer. This series proved why Kurt Busiek's original anthology concept for Marvels was shelved for so long: Without great writing, great art can only go so far.

  • 4.5
    C.V.R. The Bard Mar 24, 2021

    Throughout this whole series, I skimmed through alot of the stories. This issue I treated no different. I am tired of the bew trend in short stories going through corporate comic's Big 2. I am glad this was not the original "Marvel" as planned. Honestly, it's not worthy enough to hold the title, even with the big payoff art at the end.
    I would have rather had just a Strange vs. Nightmare and skipped the throwaway shorts. Even with Bermejo in this issue, I really just got tricked into reading a 6 part Strange book and the only Sorcerer Supreme's I respect are Vodoo , Doom , and Magick in that order.
    I'd rather peep Ross' covers on Hulk, Iron Man, and Cap - this ain't it. A definitive miss with 2 good splash pages that deserve a p more

  • 8.0
    tonpas1989 Mar 17, 2021

  • 7.5
    Comix4fever Mar 22, 2021

  • 7.5
    mrDovydas Oct 3, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

December

1st

November

More