Wakanda Forever: Avengers #1

Writer: Nnedi Okorafor Artist: Oleg Okunev Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: August 22, 2018 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 9
8.7Critic Rating
5.3User Rating

THE HUNT FOR MALICE REACHES ITS CLIMAX!
The Black Panther joins the fight against Nakia, A.K.A. the villainous and crazed Malice! Finally, the man of her dreams is within Nakia's grasp. But he's brought a few friends with him, and they're not happy about the world-ending weapon she just unleashed. The seemingly all-powerful Mimic-27 has already laid out Storm and the X-Men, and the Dora Milaje are at a loss. If they're going to save Wakanda and the world, Okoye, Ayo and Aneka will have to delve deep into the mysteries of the Doras. Best-selling author Nnedi Okorafor reveals secrets of the Dora Milaje in the final installment of WAKANDA FO more

  • 9.4
    On Comics Ground - Aaron Jones Aug 28, 2018

    The escaped power of the Dora Milage weapon, the Mimic 27 is running lose with the powers of multiple X-men thanks to the recklessness of Malice and her obsession with T'Challa. Now things are really out of hand and Black Panther and the Avengers and X-Men have to join forces to protect the city. A complex plan is set in motion and the mimic weapon is stopped but not without cost. This is emotional, funny, and creative journey into the mythology of the Dora is worth the ticket price. Pick it up! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Adam Barnhardt Aug 22, 2018

    Avengers: Wakanda Forever #1 is a poignant end to the inter-title Dora Milaje adventure Nnedi Okorafor has sent us on the few months. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    RaisingBlack Aug 27, 2018

    This story really brought it home in the end and gave a character a solid ending (we could use more of that to make room for other characters). Malice is a character that needed a real arc and dimension and Okaorafor really did that.

    Really this mini is just the first reintroduction of the writer who will be taking on Shuri in October. I have a lot of hope for that book but I do wonder if the maturity of the writing and tone will be there. I also wonder how much Shuri as she is now will be taken. Shuri has been more spiritual than technology based in her powers. Coates as done amazing work with her in Black Panther and more worry is that progress will be sacrificed to bring Shuri in line with her MCU counter part.

    Ei more

  • 7.5
    Gizmo May 27, 2019

    Other than some imperfect figure drawing here and there, the art is an upgrade from the previous installments. The story hits it's stride as well, I like how this ties back to the goop from Black Panther: Long Live the King. Nakia is obviously reminiscent of a crack addict, I'm glad she could find a path to redemption.

  • 7.0
    CrazyforRAMU Mar 7, 2019

    The end of the Mimic story redeems Nakia and makes better use of the "sentient vibranium" concept the author first floated in Black Panther: Long Live the King. This is an undeniably flawed comic, but also an undeniably passionate and ambitious one. Many of the peripheral storytelling jobs are handled roughly, but the central story about Nakia is impressive. The art is a perfect match for the writing and it evokes the same feelings of novelty, daring, and not-always-successful ambition. I would have liked to see the first two issues handled this well for sure.

  • 4.0
    SloboSOY Aug 23, 2018

    The last part was maybe better, it's not really good. I wonder if marvel use this to make a nakia more close of the movie character in some month. For me that would have be better to do this right away even it that scratch some of his past.

    Cover - Variant not related 1/2
    Writing - 1/2
    Arts - Make this a little better even if not perfect & with to much coloring for the background. 2/3
    Feeling - 0/2

  • 3.0
    Spacey Medicine Mar 5, 2019

    This wasn't particularly well written and I didn't care about it.

  • 8.0
    Wolf Warner Aug 23, 2018

  • 4.5
    Herushalaim Aug 24, 2018

  • 4.5
    YourGreenMuse Jul 21, 2019

  • 1.0
    Billyndo Aug 27, 2018

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More