Adrian's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 23
9.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #1

Jul 9, 2019

If you are a fan of Critical Role and the adventures of Vox Machina, I cannot recommend the seriesenough. For those who have not yet to enter the world of Critical Role, I can see the Critical Role: Vox Machina Originsseries being a great starting point before jumping into the first campaign. The issues are short but jam-packed with everything you will need to know to grow with these characters before they hit the stream. The group is not yet complete, so there is still time for first introductions and character moments for fans old and new while they continue their mission to save Grog.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #2

Aug 14, 2019

The threat to Grog may have more to it than meets the eye and we still have yet to meet Percival de Rolo (Taliesin Jaffe). I am excited to see the group grow to its final form as this story only takes place during the second session of their home game. This means there are many things that may be new for all readers in the future. As a side note, the cast read the first three pages of this issue at before their Talks Machina live show at SDCC 2019. Really fantastic to see the crew get back into their old characters if only for a moment. You can find it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #3

Sep 18, 2019

Critical Role: Vox Machina Origins II is half through its six issue run and the pace has certainly picked up. Readers are gaining more insight into Vox Machina's origins and they are becoming more of a family with each issue. Further, readers will also begin to see the groups transition away from just a band of hired hands to their chaotic/neutral good nature. With the story getting deeper and the temptations for gold growing greater, they are having to decide what they deem important. With more members to join later and they way that Critical Role: Vox Machina Origins II #3 ends, I am excited to see what the last half of the series has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek vs. Transformers #4

Jan 18, 2019

The issue feels like it is meant to be fun and issue four really is that pay off. Captain Kirk has his own struggles controlling the sentient Fortress Maximus. In the midst of the two titans Trypticon and Fortress Maximus dueling, we are left with panel after panel of interactions with members of opposing teams having their own battle while shooting off one liners that would make a fan of either series proud. The later part of the issue introduces new twists and turns with Deception-Klingon alliance that should keep readers interested in the series as it concludes in issue five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek vs. Transformers #5

Feb 28, 2019

If I am being honest, I want more. I would love to see this crossover grow into some spectacular universe where the Autobots join the Federation and the Borg and Decepticons form the scariest alliance anyone has ever seen. Alas, a crossover love can dream and with the way that issue five ends, who knows? Maybe Megatron will escape as he tends to do and seek partnerships in parts unknown. Until then I recommend taking on this miniseries and experiencing one of the most intriguing crossovers I have come across yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #1

Feb 2, 2019

In all, issue one has me wanting to go back and rewatch episodes of Star Trek from all the different series to prep for the ensuing conflict. It seems like this miniseries will be an ode to long time Star Trek fans with quips, callbacks, quality interactions and a compelling battle of greatest minds in Star Trek. Setting phasers to hype for issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #2

Feb 28, 2019

Overall, issue two delivers what I hoped for after my issue one review: quips, callbacks, quality interactions and a compelling battle of greatest minds in Star Trek. I am really unsure of the next challenges that will face our heroes next. It is obvious that they are binding their time, waiting for an opportunity to strike back against their puppeteers. Knowing Q, that won't be so easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #3

Apr 19, 2019

Finally, the cliffhanger that this issue leaves of off will undoubtedly hold me over to issue four. As a fan of Deep Space Nine,I believe that Q's next obstacle will truly be challenge for the Starfleet officers but maybe even the trio as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #4

May 26, 2019

The wait from issue to issue is a long one. However, issue four has made the wait more than worth it. I am excited to see what the team at IDW Publishing throws at us next. We are building to the climax of the series and I am on the edge of my captain's chair.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #5

Jun 15, 2019

While I may not be as satisfied with this issue as I was others, I still enjoyed it. The character interactions are still quality. The art style is still unique. The mystery is still present. I was just hoping for more. I have been on board with the writing team thus far as they really nail the lore of the Star Trek franchise. I will continue to put my faith in their ability to wrap up the series in a way that makes sense with all that we have experienced to this point. I am ready to see plans play out. I am ready to be stunned with twists and turn like I have been in previous issues. I am ready to see Q get his.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #18

Feb 21, 2019

At a $3.99 price point, I am not sure if I could recommend going out to pick this up for just half of the issue as Raiders of the Lost Gundark isn't the most riveting addition to theStar Wars canon and you don't NEED to know about Ducain. Instead, wait until IDW Publishing releases volume six of the Star Wars Adventure series in July which will contain all the issues of Flight of the Falcon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures #19

Mar 28, 2019

As I mentioned in my review ofStar Wars Adventures: Issue18, I still think waiting for the larger volumes is the way to go for this series. I will admit that I enjoyed both of these stories much more than the previous issues. However, these short stories are really just appetizers that I think will be much more digestible for Star Wars fans of all facets in a bigger serving size as they typically are realized with clearer themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #20

Apr 21, 2019

The rest of the issue provides readers with twists that will entertain and a moral quandary for the always tactically thinking General Skywalker. However, I am more intrigued with the introduction of Kreeda. If the new wave of Star Wars canon media has proved anything, it is that we have not yet learned all there is to know about the Force.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #22

Jun 8, 2019

While this issue does not provide the same kind of story with our titular heroes or provide new groundbreaking context to the Star Wars canon, I have to say that this was the story that I enjoyed more in this issue. Waterhouse provides an easily digestible story that is overlayed with a message that readers of all ages should hear. Further, Fleeces captures the emotions of Reebak in a way that made me want to reach into the pages and protect her from the tauntaun bullies. Reebak is the best girl and deserves all the love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #24

Aug 25, 2019

While there isn't heavy canon information like in "Kidnapped", I was pleasantly surprised with how the story unfolds in "Win/Lose." The stories in "Tales from Wild Space" often feature lessons that are unequivocally wholesome. Writer Harris provides a slight departure from this norm. While the moral of the story remains wholesome, there are ways to interpret it as slightly selfish as well. As the Star Wars Adventuresseries is aimed at younger audiences, I really appreciate the ending not just being black and white. It shows that there is not just one way to show others the folly of their ways, and shows how to help others improve their shortcomings.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #25

Sep 14, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed Star Wars Adventures #25. The single story issues are quickly becoming my favorite in the Star Wars Adventures series. The amount of story that is able to be fleshed out is just unmatched compared to the two-story norm. I hope that Dawson continues to return to the Star Wars Adventuresseries as a writer. Her ability to convey relationships between characters is some of the best in theStar Warscanon. This story alone will bring younger readers, and even older readers not familiar with novelizations, into seeing that Star Wars is much more than what we see in the movies.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures Annual #2019

Aug 17, 2019

Overall, "So Much More" is sweet and too the point. However, due to the art and showing more of Leia's childhood, I think the length was perfect. The messages are delivered well and the art is fantastic. Even if Leia doesn't remember Queen Organa's stories, I surely come away from this story with a rekindled love for Padme Amidala.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Flight of the Falcon #

May 5, 2019

Although these stories they tell may not have ramifications for anything we see on the big screen, Star Wars Adventures: Flight of the Falcon may be the first time we see Star Wars canon literally come to life atGalaxy's Edge.I for one, look forward to talking to Hondo about this adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #1

Oct 3, 2019

I very much look forward to see how writer Scott and the rest of the team can Grand Moff Tarkin even scarier than he already is inReturn to Vader's Castle #2 – The Curse of Tarkin.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #2

Oct 8, 2019

Tales from Vader's Castle excelled in paying homage to classic horror and Return to Vader's Castle #2continues that trend in a fantastic way. Next week can't get here soon enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #3

Oct 18, 2019

Overall, I continue to enjoyReturn to Vader's Castle.The cat and mouse game with Hudd and Vane in the through-line plot is turning up and the Rebel is on the verge of escaping. However, given the threats that undoubtedly lurk in Vader's castle on Mustafar, it doesn't look good for Hudd. I am just as excited to see the next Spooky Wars, but I am just as excited to see how Hudd's story plays out in the back half of the series. With the title of the next issue,Vault of the Living Brains, I am even less optimistic about his chances.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #4

Oct 25, 2019

The main story continues to progress and readers will certain enjoy the cliffhanger Return to Vader's Castle #4.The team at IDW Publishing only have one more issue to wrap up this year's Spooky Wars. Given the tone of the rest of series, I wouldn't be surprised if the story didn't have the happiest of endings.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Return to Vader's Castle #5

Oct 31, 2019

Return to Vader's Castle does not end on the same cliffhanger thatTales from Vader's Castledoes. However, I do hope that Spooky Wars continues in 2020. There are still a lot of characters for Scott and the team at IDW Publishing to work with and even more horror stories to draw from. Even if Scott shifted the focus to heroes rather than villains, I would still be on board for another five issues. That being said, who does not want to see Scott tackle a horror story with Thrawn, Boba Fett, or even General Hux at the center?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More