Adrian's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 13
9.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Critical Role: Vox Machina: Origins II #1

Jul 9, 2019

If you are a fan of Critical Role and the adventures of Vox Machina, I cannot recommend the seriesenough. For those who have not yet to enter the world of Critical Role, I can see the Critical Role: Vox Machina Originsseries being a great starting point before jumping into the first campaign. The issues are short but jam-packed with everything you will need to know to grow with these characters before they hit the stream. The group is not yet complete, so there is still time for first introductions and character moments for fans old and new while they continue their mission to save Grog.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek vs. Transformers #4

Jan 18, 2019

The issue feels like it is meant to be fun and issue four really is that pay off. Captain Kirk has his own struggles controlling the sentient Fortress Maximus. In the midst of the two titans Trypticon and Fortress Maximus dueling, we are left with panel after panel of interactions with members of opposing teams having their own battle while shooting off one liners that would make a fan of either series proud. The later part of the issue introduces new twists and turns with Deception-Klingon alliance that should keep readers interested in the series as it concludes in issue five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek vs. Transformers #5

Feb 28, 2019

If I am being honest, I want more. I would love to see this crossover grow into some spectacular universe where the Autobots join the Federation and the Borg and Decepticons form the scariest alliance anyone has ever seen. Alas, a crossover love can dream and with the way that issue five ends, who knows? Maybe Megatron will escape as he tends to do and seek partnerships in parts unknown. Until then I recommend taking on this miniseries and experiencing one of the most intriguing crossovers I have come across yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #1

Feb 2, 2019

In all, issue one has me wanting to go back and rewatch episodes of Star Trek from all the different series to prep for the ensuing conflict. It seems like this miniseries will be an ode to long time Star Trek fans with quips, callbacks, quality interactions and a compelling battle of greatest minds in Star Trek. Setting phasers to hype for issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #2

Feb 28, 2019

Overall, issue two delivers what I hoped for after my issue one review: quips, callbacks, quality interactions and a compelling battle of greatest minds in Star Trek. I am really unsure of the next challenges that will face our heroes next. It is obvious that they are binding their time, waiting for an opportunity to strike back against their puppeteers. Knowing Q, that won't be so easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #3

Apr 19, 2019

Finally, the cliffhanger that this issue leaves of off will undoubtedly hold me over to issue four. As a fan of Deep Space Nine,I believe that Q's next obstacle will truly be challenge for the Starfleet officers but maybe even the trio as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #4

May 26, 2019

The wait from issue to issue is a long one. However, issue four has made the wait more than worth it. I am excited to see what the team at IDW Publishing throws at us next. We are building to the climax of the series and I am on the edge of my captain's chair.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #5

Jun 15, 2019

While I may not be as satisfied with this issue as I was others, I still enjoyed it. The character interactions are still quality. The art style is still unique. The mystery is still present. I was just hoping for more. I have been on board with the writing team thus far as they really nail the lore of the Star Trek franchise. I will continue to put my faith in their ability to wrap up the series in a way that makes sense with all that we have experienced to this point. I am ready to see plans play out. I am ready to be stunned with twists and turn like I have been in previous issues. I am ready to see Q get his.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars Adventures #18

Feb 21, 2019

At a $3.99 price point, I am not sure if I could recommend going out to pick this up for just half of the issue as Raiders of the Lost Gundark isn't the most riveting addition to theStar Wars canon and you don't NEED to know about Ducain. Instead, wait until IDW Publishing releases volume six of the Star Wars Adventure series in July which will contain all the issues of Flight of the Falcon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures #19

Mar 28, 2019

As I mentioned in my review ofStar Wars Adventures: Issue18, I still think waiting for the larger volumes is the way to go for this series. I will admit that I enjoyed both of these stories much more than the previous issues. However, these short stories are really just appetizers that I think will be much more digestible for Star Wars fans of all facets in a bigger serving size as they typically are realized with clearer themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #20

Apr 21, 2019

The rest of the issue provides readers with twists that will entertain and a moral quandary for the always tactically thinking General Skywalker. However, I am more intrigued with the introduction of Kreeda. If the new wave of Star Wars canon media has proved anything, it is that we have not yet learned all there is to know about the Force.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #22

Jun 8, 2019

While this issue does not provide the same kind of story with our titular heroes or provide new groundbreaking context to the Star Wars canon, I have to say that this was the story that I enjoyed more in this issue. Waterhouse provides an easily digestible story that is overlayed with a message that readers of all ages should hear. Further, Fleeces captures the emotions of Reebak in a way that made me want to reach into the pages and protect her from the tauntaun bullies. Reebak is the best girl and deserves all the love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures: Flight of the Falcon #

May 5, 2019

Although these stories they tell may not have ramifications for anything we see on the big screen, Star Wars Adventures: Flight of the Falcon may be the first time we see Star Wars canon literally come to life atGalaxy's Edge.I for one, look forward to talking to Hondo about this adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More