Antony Ellis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Comic Addiction Reviews: 50
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #595

May 25, 2009

So, shock horror, Antony Ellis reviews, and loves something other without an X in the title, and not an X-Man in sight (oh okay, Wolverine does feature in the issue but he doesn’t count – he’s carrying his Avenger membership!) I can’t wait to read the rest of this arc and perhaps add The Amazing Spider-Man to my regular reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #597

Jun 8, 2009

The ending alone will have readers coming back (and yay – we only have to wait a week) but even without the cliff hanger, the heady combination of Jimenez’s pencils and Kelly’s snark would have me returning to finish this arc even without the shock ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man #599

Jul 13, 2009

I’ll be sure to keep reading The Amazing Spider-Man at least to see how the art team and writer switcheroo works and see if it suits my tastes. If you haven’t picked up American Son yet, I would advise you to do it in a shot as Joe Kelly has crafted one of the best Peter Parker stories I’ve ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2010) #1

May 20, 2010

John Romita Jr’s art was always going to polarise. Personally, I’m a fan. I feel his characters, whilst having slightly chibi-esque features, scream comic book superhero. The line’s change in tone is reflected in a beautifully bright and colourful book too and this was like a spoonful of lemon sorbet after the dense dark meat that was Siege.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cable #14

May 4, 2009

Whilst still not at the level Messiah Complex was at it’s midpoint, Messiah War is still worth reading and its importance for the X-Line is unmistakeable. Just as Stryfe has realised Hope is linked to the future of mutant kind, so should readers by picking this series up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cable #17

Aug 15, 2009

I understand my review of this book has seemed fairly negative, however, I did enjoy the issue as a whole. There were some really interesting and different parts, including the character of Emil acting as the narrator for the arc, which for the first time in the series history has flitted away from either Hope or Nathan. Preview material for next month also has me excitedly awaiting future storylines and after Messiah War I didn’t think I would be saying that about the time spanning Nathan and Hope Summers anytime soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cable #24

Mar 12, 2010

Cable, as a series, did it’s job. It kept Hope safe ready for the true final chapter – and it sort of kept my interest too. Good job Mr. Swierczynski!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Avengers #7

Jul 19, 2009

Utopia continues to impress with its third chapter even though this felt like the middle segment of the story and contained more set up than resolution – I suppose that is to be expected though. I’m looking forward to seeing where Fraction takes the plot now, especially now that future covers have revealed, in typical X-Men crossover style, that the other X-Teams, like X-Force, will soon be joining the fray. I know that I’m probably not alone in my anticipation of the X-23 and Daken showdown!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Avengers #8

Aug 27, 2009

Utopia, in my opinion, is one of the great X-Men storylines in a very long time and it does feel like it is going to have very lasting consequences for my favourite team in comic books, however, as an Avengers storyline also – it really isn’t worth the read. That said, it does seem like the conclusion will focus more on the Dark Avengers and this is perhaps where its relevance on Norman’s crew will be cemented.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Avengers/Uncanny X-Men: Utopia #1

Jun 23, 2009

Messiah War has really disappointed me and as that series ties up this week also, it’s great to see X-Men fans getting a second bite at the cherry for an epic crossover in 2009. Like Fraction’s Uncanny X-Men, Dark Avengers/Uncanny X-Men: Utopia feels classic but also fresh and new and I’m eagerly awaiting the next issue to see where this crossover leads both flagship titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Wolverine #75

Jun 24, 2009

The cynic in me rolled his eyes when I first heard this series announced when I was at the X-Panel at New York City Comic Con in February this year, but as I’m becoming more and more drawn into the Dark Reign storyline I see the need for this story and Daniel Way and Marjorie Liu have surprised me with the quality of the storytelling and the interesting examination of one of the freshmen of the Marvel cast of characters. Don’t be put off by it being another Wolverine book! Buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Wolverine #76

Jul 20, 2009

Of all the Dark Reign storylines at the moment, Dark Wolverine is the one I am enjoying the most, and I feel you get more panel time with the Dark Avengers than you get even in their own title. The main focus on Daken, Norman and Bullseye with smaller glances at the rest of the team is a good idea and shows a careful and controlled writing style and the book seems to be thriving in this partnership. As I said last issue – Dark Wolverine is awesome – pick it up and don’t be put off by the admittedly worrying fact that it is the story of Wolverine’s son. Dark Wolverine (and Daniel/Marjorie) have so much more to offer than angst and daddy issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark X-Men: The Confession #1

Sep 26, 2009

The art duties on this book as capable, and it is nice to see moments from Messiah CompleX, Cable, X-Force and the Dark Reign titles reimaged by a new artist but Cansino’s art isn’t mind blowing, and particularly when the introduction to this scene in Uncanny X-Men was originally penciled by Terry Dodson with awesome colours by Rachel Dodson, you can’t help but feel a bit cheated by the choice of artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Mutants (2009) #2

Jun 7, 2009

Wells has bounced back after a bit of an average issue and I’m looking forward to where he takes this cast of characters from the former students they once were to fully fledged X-Men. I am hopeful that Wells continues the upward trend and continues to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Mutants (2009) #11

Apr 3, 2010

All in all the book is a departure from the direction Zeb Wells was taking the book (with the Apprentice style sub-plot of Cyclops looking for his successor) and the departure from this theme will only be further extended with X-Men: Second Coming taking over the plot for the next three months, however, the latter crossover has me so excited I think I can wait a few months longer to see which of the potential candidates is Scott’s heir apparent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Mutants (2009) #12

Apr 13, 2010

The art this issue is handled by Ibraim Roberson. He is effective in pencilling essentially an elongated battle issue, and has particular success in his representations of Cannonball (who has never looked better in my opinion) and Magik during her attempt to rescue Hope. The colours, handled by Brian Reber, are great too with light effects of several characters powers popping from the page brilliantly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Siege #4

May 16, 2010

As an event, it seems Siege did its job. It set up the brave new world of The Heroic Age and has me seriously stoked for it too, and I love the direction Marvel are sending Steve Rogers in. However, I felt Siege as an event was strangely compressed. If I hadn’t been reading Dark Avengers and New Avengers, as well as Siege: Loki and Siege: The Cabal, I don’t think I would have felt I got the whole story. I certainly didn’t get this feeling from Civil War and Secret Invasion which were able to fit more of the story into more issues, with fewer requirements to read the tie-ins.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unwritten #1

May 16, 2009

One issue has me eagerly awaiting the next, so it seems that Carey has done it again, but I’m very aware that this could be a case of a fantastic premise that doesn’t really go anywhere! However, with Vertigo offering the first issue for $1.00 with 40 pages of story – where is the harm in taking a chance? The X-Addiction mantra comes to mind – “in Mike Carey we trust!”

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men #509

Apr 29, 2009

Now that Madeline and her group have made their first move, I’m intrigued to see how their endgame develops and plays out. I’ll be especially excited if this develops with Uncanny pulling double duty over the next couple of months – I’m greedy like that!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Uncanny X-Men #511

Jun 8, 2009

This issue is Fraction’s first clunker since taking charge of the X-Book, but a lot of the blame should rest firmly at his pandering of Land’s artistic strengths. While the idea of a Sisterhood is a great one, particularly with links to Cyclops’s former life, the whole storyline became nothing more than the chance to draw some X-Boobs rather than write some great X-Books. I’m sure Fraction will bounce back from this arc as already mentioned the next storyline and the crossover with Dark Avengers looks to be a storming return to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men #514

Aug 15, 2009

Utopia is fast becoming one of the great X-Men stories (and essentially that’s what it is – fans of Dark Avengers, at the moment, are getting the short shrift in this crossover). I’m anxiously awaiting the final two issues in the event and can’t wait to see all the blood and destruction now X-Force have been called into play to tackle Norman Osborn’s original super team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men #515

Sep 29, 2009

The last comment was a bit cutting, and perhaps a tad unjust, but following Terry Dodson’s classic superhero art style, Greg Land’s America’s Next Top Model style pose-a-thon just doesn’t pop – fierce, it ain’t!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men #516

Oct 15, 2009

Followers of TheComicAddiction.com and The X-Addiction Podcast will realise that I’m not a fan of Greg Land’s art work, and although there are a few frames of the villainess strutting and posing like they’re on the edge of the runway, on the whole Greg Land’s art work was... well, pretty fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men #517

Nov 25, 2009

Towards the end of the issue further development with Emma and Scott finds it’s way back into the narrative (with it becoming the main story in Uncanny next month). However, the most interesting aspect of the issue (in terms of writing and visuals) is the segment involving Rogue and the New X-Men. In a little over a dozen panels Matt Fraction manages to get across Anna Marie’s new role as tutor and protector of the next generation of X-Men perfectly and with bad ass art to boot – and, as much as it pains me to state it, but with much more success than Mike Carey has done in six issues of his new direction for X-Men Legacy with Rogue as the central character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny X-Men #524

May 7, 2010

Uncanny X-Men #524 is, quite simply, brilliant – a well timed examination of the emotions behind the crisis, and the family behind the superhero team. Matt Fraction’s script is drenched in emotion, and Terry and Rachel Dodson provide fantastic art to boot.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wolverine (2003) #72

May 25, 2009

I’m happy that Old Man Logan finally seems to be wrapping up, and I’m of little doubt that Millar’s “opus” will read better in trade form where the lengthy delays won’t have slowed the pace to a crawl (for example – I forgot Logan was after cash for his family due to the time since the first issue was published). It’s still worth a look but for a huge X-Men fan like me, it’s of little relevance to the ongoing adventures of Wolverine and the X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine Origins #36

May 25, 2009

Wolverine Origins finds itself in a strange place come next month. Wolverine becomes Dark Wolverine and follows the actions of Daken as Norman Osborn’s government sponsored agent and Wolverine: Weapon X seems to be documenting new adventures of Logan whilst still ripping some inspiration from Wolverine’s past. I’m unsure where this book is heading, but an interested enough to stick around to Wolverine Origins re-establish itself and craft a new identity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine: Weapon X #2

May 18, 2009

I’m glad Aaron is working on this book and getting to write Wolverine. I’ve said before in other reviews and via X-Addiction, that Jason Aaron’s version of Logan is perhaps the most truthful depiction in years and by far the most fun. Wolverine: Weapon X is head and shoulders above Wolverine Origins and not as pretentious as Old Man Logan and for those reasons alone, it deserves to be most people’s go to for their Wolverine fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-23 (One Shot) #1

Mar 20, 2010

As much as I'm enjoying the title, I know Dark Wolverine can't last forever, but I still want X-Men storylines from Marjorie Liu and X-23 along with NYX and her previous prose within the X-Men universe have shown that the writer really gets the teenage characters leading me to believe a series focusing on a team of New X-Men might fit here perfectly. Well " we can dream can't we!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Factor Vol. 3 #42

Apr 18, 2009

So why Peter David isn’t promising to blow your socks off each month now with shocking cliff hangers in X-Factor, he does still seem to be sticking to his promise that the quality of the book is on the rise. Of the past four issues of the book (since the reveal of the baby dupe) I’d probably mark this as my favourite instalment of X-Factor in 2009 due to the wider focus on the larger cast, awesome art and a killer final page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Factor Vol. 3 #44

Jun 8, 2009

It’s another positive issue of X-Factor, although I wish we’d have gotten a little snippet of what is happening with Rictor and co, and I have to state that I saw the twist of the issue coming a mile off (but I think Peter David might have wanted this to be the case). X-Factor has been up and down even with its return to form, but with a focus on more than just Jamie, David is getting it right this month at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Factor Vol. 3 #47

Aug 22, 2009

The art by Valentine De Landro is, as I’ve mentioned in previous reviews on the series, perfect for the book and I’m glad this artist seems to have settled down as the regular on the book. While the storylines have begun to creep away from their noir-like roots, the art style still works for the title. Great images in this issue include a disgustingly creepy portrayal of Cortex’s mind powers and a naked Monet about to bash someone’s head in!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Force #14

Apr 22, 2009

I’m still not totally blown away with this event but I recognise it will be of lasting importance to the X-Line and have faith in Kyle and Yost to do great things, and this issue didn’t disappoint, so am happily onboard awaiting crazy action and mutant bloodshed (as I’ve come to expect and love from X-Force).

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Force #16

Jun 23, 2009

Messiah War was ultimately a letdown that will be remembered for bolstered the sales of Cable and disturbing the flow of X-Force during an amazing arc, and perhaps little else, which considering where the tale of Hope Summers began, is a little sad. Little seems to have changed and the X-Line remains untouched by this three month ‘event’. That being said X-Fans have Dark Avengers/Uncanny X-Men: Utopia (also out this week) for that big event fix!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Force #18

Aug 28, 2009

Messiah War may have put some readers off X-Force and the blame for this should be placed firmly at the feet of editorial who used the crossover to bump Cable’s flagging sales in my opinion. Those who jumped ship, can climb aboard again as X-Force is back and better than ever!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Force #21

Nov 18, 2009

The art on this month’s instalment is not so successful as the previous chapter. Crain seems to have fallen back into his muddy art style and whilst some pages are fantastic (like the return of a certain big name), others are blurry and extremely hard to follow. Crain is still a great pick for the theme of the arc and I can’t wait to see more of what he has to offer when other classic characters meet with the current incarnation of the X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Force #25

Apr 3, 2010

Kyle and Yost achieved the seemingly impossible with X-Force by putting an ultra-violent team together, calling them X-Force, including outdated concepts from the ninties that didn’t really work first time, but somehow writing the best X-Men run in a very, very long time. Good work boys! Let’s hope whoever succeeds you can fill those four shoes! Oh – and you’re forgiven for Messiah War.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Force #26

May 1, 2010

Second Coming has just got really serious – deadly serious, if you’ll forgive the terrible pun, and with Kyle and Yost leading the charge, and exciting tie-ins like Hellbound and Blind Science ready to drop, it is fast on it’s way to being considered legendary among X-Crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Force/Cable: Messiah War Prologue #1

Jan 1, 2007

All in all things are off to a slow, but promising start. Its a prologue that I didnt need to be honest, but I understand the need to get a jumping on point for readers who havent been following Cable; rest assured Kyle and Yost assume youve been reading X-Force! This is a tough one for me to judge as I could have done without it and wished I would have been treated to action from the get-go. Similarly the plot point of Bishops misinformation tactic is a negative too as it comes across a little too juvenile for my liking. However, good art and hope for the rest of this crossover (pun intended!) will have me coming back for more next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Forever #1

May 29, 2009

All in all, I’m really excited to see more of this series and in particular to discover where hypothetically Claremont would have taken these characters. The series is shaping up to be a brilliant reminiscence, being nostalgic and very self referential. It almost feels as if time stopped for a while and is now only just starting up again. I only hope that the bi-monthly schedule doesn’t drain some of the brilliance of the setup. Don’t be put off by what you may have thought of some of Claremont’s more recent works which have been generally a mixed bag – X-Men Forever is well worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Forever #2

Jun 24, 2009

X-Men Forever was another project that I was dubious about when it was first announced earlier this winter, but it really is a fun book and the stories don’t feel tacked on “what ifs”, as Claremont manages to effortless recapture his series when he was at the top of his game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Forever #3

Jul 12, 2009

X-Men Forever is a great book – and it really shouldn’t work but it does! I’m enjoying Claremont’s continuation of the book and only hope that other fans are picking this title up and not simply casting the title aside based on the quality of some of Claremont’s more recent attempts at kicking starting an X-Book. This is no New Excalibur – Chris Claremont is really back on his a-game with X-Men Forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men Forever #5

Aug 15, 2009

I’ve come to realise that X-Men Forever is the X-Men book I look forward most each month. The story flows fast due to the twice monthly schedule and are exciting enough to have you salivating for the next issue. Try not to be put off by the admission price – it really is worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men Legacy #226

Aug 22, 2009

As I mentioned earlier, Suppressing Fire when read apart as part one and two does disappoint as both singular issues don’t deliver enough action, but read together in annual style, they provide a really fun story with an awesome kick ass Rogue with the X-Men again. The hints of what is to come with the title are also very intriguing and Carey does great work to give Trance some important character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men Legacy #234

Mar 20, 2010

Artistically, the book is good, with Yanick Paquette, of whom I’m not normally a fan, really shining in his characterisation of Indra and Rockslide at best. However his more traditional human forms are good, but the Clay Mann cover of Rogue makes you wonder hunger for the continued presence of that artist with the X-Books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men Legacy #236

May 23, 2010

Land’s art aside, this is a really great issue of X-Men Legacy and my continued enthusiasm for Second Coming hasn’t diminished but in my head I just keep thinking Choi and Oback next week!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men Origins: Wolverine #1

Apr 29, 2009

While I wouldn’t recommend you rush out any buy this book, it is definitely worth flicking through in the store and seeing if it takes your fancy. Kudos too to Chris Yost for managing the seemingly impossible task of doing Wolverine’s long history justice in just one issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Second Coming #1

Apr 3, 2010

Forget Seige! You don't need to Cerebra to see that X-Men: Second Coming is the event to read in 2010 and an epic tale five years in the making. The One-Shot does the job perfectly. There are enough reveals to keep you flicking the pages, and enough anticipation to get you coming back for more including the Hope and Cyclops reunion that Scott has been dreaming of for a year, now. We’ll be covering this event in its entirety via written reviews and on our dedicated mutant-centric podcast X-Addiction, so keep your Cerebra pointed right here at TheComicAddiction.com for your Second Coming insight!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Second Coming - Revelations: Hellbound #1

May 9, 2010

Hellbound is a triumph of a first issue. Yost’s mix of virtuous and dark heroes is exciting and intriguing whilst Harvey Tolibao’s pencils benefit from the hellish theme. The inclusion of a cut-and-paste of Magik’s mini-series is a nice touch too. Tie-ins to big crossovers can often burn a reader with their obvious cash-in feel, but Hellbound is nothing like this and could be set to be the true gem of X-Men: Second Coming, especially for fans of Craig Kyle and Chris Yost’s New X-Men run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Young X-Men #11

Feb 18, 2009

The art this month is also a step in the right direction with the future segments being fittingly washed out and bleak and Rafa Sandoval’s present day segments being gorgeously clear and a dream to look at. One standout panel of Dani Moonstar’s eyes is particularly stunning and enhanced by a bright colour palette. Another prominent panel of Sandoval’s is the final page which is an awesome spectacle and powerfully emotional to boot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More