Calum Petrie's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Flickering Myth Reviews: 42
6.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #1

Aug 8, 2018

The issue wraps with a typical cliffhanger to draw you into the next chapter, which I will very much be looking forward to as issue #1 was certainly a page turner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #1

Sep 29, 2016

The overall art style used within the issue was a more child-like representation of the world compared the more mature art style used within the Black Cross series. The adventure of the issue had pace, with a nice twist on the present day story, but the dispute between the Assassins and the Templars has not provided anything new fromthe stale motivation for the gaming series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #2

Oct 19, 2016

I do not hate the story; I am just a little disappointed that we are getting a rehash of another tale about pieces of Eden.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #3

Nov 16, 2016

The art style does take a lot of maturity out of the story and leaves the story feeling more light hearted even when confrontation is on the page. The story might of had more of an impact if the art style was similar to that of the "Black Cross" series, where the art style lends itself to the darker nature of those Assassin's Creed stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #4

Jan 17, 2017

The final chapter was a more enjoyable experience with less novelty factor and more drive to round off a four-part series in a satisfying manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Origins #1

Mar 12, 2018

This is one for those who have dived into Assassin's Creed: Origins, enjoyed the story of the character's progression and want to delve deeper into these compelling characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #3

Jun 15, 2016

It is hard to tell is this issue felt shorter because it was split into to obvious halves, all I am aware of was it did fell short. I want to know more about the story which to some degree tells me I am not invested in the story and wish to know the outcome of what happens with the intertwined fates of Black Cross and Darius Gift.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #4

Jul 27, 2016

With one issue left in the series it will be interesting to see how the story comes to a close, also if all the loose ends are tied away nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #5

Sep 7, 2016

With the conclusion of Templars, the set up for another series featuring Black Cross is announced and willbe released later this year. With the intentions of the characters now clear, Black Cross looks to be the focus of a Templar man hunt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #6

Oct 19, 2016

This issue was actually refreshing, as the story was not bogged down with the inner working of the Templar order and a drawn out speech. Instead the short bursts of conversation were filled by new characters, and the present day sections of the story were far more entertaining than the Animus adventure. I look forward very much to finding out where the adventures of Bolden, Graff and Black Cross end up once they reach the shores of Libya.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #7

Nov 16, 2016

The cliff-hanger of Black Cross being wounded and the fate of Bolden in the Animus facility do actually make for an intriguing point plot to end on. For once it has left the reader curious and wanting more, the way a good cliff-hanger should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #9

Jan 27, 2017

This four part arc(#6 " #9)has taken a different approach but still had no major payoff, the time spent invested in the arcseries now felt very underwhelming. The hope is that the next part of this series will be more interesting is high, though I'm not too optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Assassin's Creed: Uprising #1

Feb 3, 2017

Overall I am not disappointed with the issue, but I found a lot of the character introduction fast paced and throwing too much information at the reader in such a short space of time. I feel like possibly these opening issues could possibly being 1.5 times the size of a standard issue to make sure they take the time to get all the character building to a reasonable pacing.Hopefully the next issue builds a good solid foundation for the rest of the series to move forward on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Demi-God #1

Apr 17, 2018

I will give the story credit for moving away from the now normal superhero origin story where the powers are gained by an accident. I look forward to seeing where our over inflated ego of a hero goes to next and what the next issue has for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deus Ex: Children's Crusade #4

Jun 2, 2016

There is not a lot to be said about character development within the issue unless you count a humorous comment Adam makes and places him very out of character. Though the issue leaves a set up for the final instalment of the series it did not leave me fulfilled like previous issues, but rather more interested to see where the story progresses to in#5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deus Ex: Children's Crusade #5

Jun 29, 2016

This issue ends like most Deus Ex story lines, with one man talking to a group of screens. The Illuminati always win, though Adam Jensen is getting ever closer to them. To find out where the journey takes Adam next, you will have to buy Deus Ex: Mankind Divided to see what happens next for Task Force 29.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dishonored #1

Aug 3, 2016

For the fans without a doubt, but can be an interesting introduction to newcomers who are looking forward to the anticipated sequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dishonored #2

Sep 7, 2016

The issue is an extremely enjoyable read and the story arc growth of Officer Cottings is a welcome oneas a lighter mirror to Corvo's dark and twisted world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dishonored #4

Oct 20, 2016

The final issue of the series dealt with the duo investigations of the story in mirror but sometime opposite approaches. The delivery of the tale was very well crafted and delivered in an exciting manner than never left me bored and just wanting to finish. My heart would sink at the end of each issue and now it is livid that the cliffhanger ending has just slapped me in the face!The art style in the series was vibrant and added layers of depth to the story. I could almost just read through the series again with the original games soundtrack and believe I was immersed even further into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dishonored: Peeress and the Price #1

Sep 27, 2017

The art style within the issue lends itself very nicely to the dank and dreary back drop of Dunwall, and delivers it in an extremely stylish manner. Violence and gore are expected within the Dishonored stories, and though there is never a "tasteful" way to deliver gore, the artists certainly did not leave much to the imagination of the reader in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elric: The Ruby Throne #1

Nov 28, 2018

The fantasy genre is so easy to overlook due to over saturation, but the world building and characters contained within this issue alone meansElric: The Ruby Throne is certainly a story worthy of a fantasy lover's attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Friendo #2

Dec 2, 2018

I may have got a little preachy in that last sentence, though the issue has been nothing short of thought provoking. I very much look forward to where the story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Friendo #3

Jan 6, 2019

This bizarre tale certainly kicks up a few gears in the latter half of the issue, where the main character Leo is hardly even present. Though with some extremely sinister figures emerging from the background it is going to be hard to predict where and what the hell actually happens next. With the insane new cast of characters, it's not even worth trying to imagine what is going to go down in issue #4, yet I am compelled to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gears of War: The Rise of RAAM #1

Jan 26, 2018

This story is a strange creature " it is released many, many years after the first Gears of War, and brings us back to character who only made a proper appearance as a story-driven figure in one game. Now I am not saying RAAM is not a villain to behold in the series, but it all just seems a bit odd that after no mention of the character in years, we now see a resurgence of him here, as the series lays out the backstory that we never knew about the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gears of War: The Rise of RAAM #3

Mar 31, 2018

The issue boasts more beautiful artwork, sticking to a very bland and boring colour scheme. The art style and colour choices mimic the dank and dark world that these beings are used to living in, creating a setting which readers can associate with.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
IDW 20/20: Ghostbusters #1

Jan 24, 2019

Overall, I did enjoy the issue, but I just think I was expecting more when I heard about the 20/20 event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Life Is Strange #1

Nov 13, 2018

The issue is a must for anyone who experienced the original Life is Strange story. The artwork is not overtly adult, while not exactly being childish either; it instead hits that middle ground much like the characters who are not adults and not children either. I very much look forward to following the story to its conclusion, just as I'm also sitting patiently waiting for the next episode of Life is Strange 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Life Is Strange #2

Jan 7, 2019

The return of faces, locations and memories are as strong for fans of the game. The issue reflects a timeline that many did not dare to chose for the story, yet this is shaping up to be the chapter we needed to find out " the "what if" story line that should never have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Life Is Strange #3

Feb 2, 2019

This issue has certainly lived up to the creative writing and plot twists that made the original video game so compelling, and I am interested and hyped to see how this story ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #1

Sep 13, 2018

The issue ends with a proper cliff hanger, which would certainly have left me invested if I had not already converted by that point. A very enjoyable read, and I'm anticipating the next issue's release.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #2

Oct 10, 2018

The story did not peak past the issue #1 cliffhanger, but the setting up of the future plot has saved the issue from dropping any score.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #3

Nov 27, 2018

The writing is maintaining a brisk pace while still letting readers keep up to date with everything that is going on in the story; as all the characters have been introduced, this issue focused more on setting up some kind of end game. My biggest gripe is with myself " I came into this series with no previous knowledge of the series and feel I am missing key elements that might take away some of the emotional impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #4

Feb 1, 2019

The showdown against the series' big bad is a relatively shortaffair but does not take away much from the characters' personalities and development. The issue ends on a relatively positive note while not wrapping everything up in a neat little bow. This is not the final adventure for this duo, but hopefully it's the last time they recycle a villain, as on this occasion it had a relatively anti-climactic outing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Once & Future #1

Aug 14, 2019

I very much look forward to finding out where this story goes and what is in store for this odd couple of hunters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Penny Dreadful #1

Mar 28, 2017

With the number of TV show adaptations to comic stories that are around today, it could be forgiven to write this comic off as a cash in on a big budget TV show. However, it earns its place on the shelf with the TV series, and delivers a profound and unique looks into the origins of a mystery that has brought three seasonsof TV to the small screen.Not quite a must read, but it is probably of most interest to people who are fans of Penny Dreadful;it complimentsthe TV series and shouldn't be thought of as a stand alone tale within the universe of the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rod Serling's Planet of the Apes: Visionaries #1

Aug 21, 2018

I very much enjoyed this graphic novel, more than I thought I would with the subject matter. The original-eraPlanet of the Apes films transfer much more easily to print media where the limitations of CGI and costumes/make-up are not present. When this book ends with the story being totally wrapped up, there is a sense of finality where I knew the story wouldn't have to be extended; it's a stand-alone tale that tells a brilliant story and ends on a powerful note.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #1

Jun 8, 2016

I am sure that new comers to the modern adaptations of Sherlock may enjoy this if they have not watched the BBC's unique interpretation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's legendary sleuth. As for fans of the TV show, I would recommend giving this issue a miss as it will not give you any new insight to the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Crow: Memento Mori #1

Mar 31, 2018

Overall Memento Mori delivers a lovely stylised telling of a new Crow story. The David tale was very basic in terms of story and took a few pages of religious literature to get into, though it was an opening issue and so it has many places to go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Raid (2018) #1

Jul 29, 2018

The first issue of this series flew through quickly; this could be because I found the story to be very interesting, or perhaps I just enjoyed the change of genre. All I really do know is that this is a series I am looking forward to finding out more about when the next issue drops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Raid (2018) #3

Oct 3, 2018

The fight scenes in this issue are played out beautifully and you tend to move through the fighting rapidly like it was playing out in front out you, and the artwork in general is outdoing itself in this series. The original source material made for an extremely enjoyable viewing experience and this comic adaptation is doing just the same; it is just a shame the issues are over before you know it. Anticipation builds up to a climactic boiling point, and I am very much look forward to finding out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Raid (2018) #4

Nov 14, 2018

The conclusion to thistale is not just the missing link in The Raid 2's story, but it is a beautifully crafted combination of story and art. The story is not a happy tale, yet in the larger scheme of The Raid series, it fits in nicely and becomes more than just a stand alone story-within-a-story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Spider King #2

Mar 26, 2018

The story here is intriguing enough, and it will be interesting to see what happens in the subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More