Chaston's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 36
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Avengers (2016) #673

Nov 13, 2017

The Worlds Collide crossover is what most comic books should be when trying to tell a classic superhero story. Nothing is rushed or out of placed and each moment means something. Waid is using six issues total to tell this and he knows he doesn't have to be in a rush to get anywhere. And because he is the writer on both series, his love of every character just shines through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #674

Dec 18, 2017

Besides the predictable nature of Viv sacrificing herself to save the worlds. It really doesn't take away from how good the issue was. It's just solid writing and solid art all across the board. And considering that there is still one last part to go before the crossover ends. It's difficult to imagine what could come next after such an ending to this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #675

Jan 14, 2018

This is exactly what you want from a superhero story. The world is in danger and the heroes have to come together to save it. For the Avengers, it almost seems like it's been too long since we got this kind of story on such a grand scale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #676

Jan 26, 2018

This story has the potential to be a really fun ride. There are plenty of elements to this story that any reader would be happy with. A worldwide crisis, villains galore, lives hanging in the balance, mystery, and intrigue. So why worry right? Voyager is the only thing that can make or break this. And it's a valid concern considering we've been through this song and dance before. While Waid, Ewing, and Zub are good writers. They're skating on thin ice just to pull this off as it is. Not just to make Voyager work but also give you a good Avengers story overall. So far, so good"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2016) #677

Jan 29, 2018

This is writing at its best, period! Waid, Zub, and Ewing managed to pull off what is so difficult. Introduce a new character, flawlessly integrate them into the story without taking anything away from the other Avengers. And give you a great story all the way around. I can't wait to find out what comes next! I'm all in! Any Avengers fan should be all in too!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #678

Feb 2, 2018

The only real drawback here, is despite how fast things are moving. The reader doesn't really learn anything new here. That doesn't take away how enjoyable this issue is though. Avengers No Surrender has you hooked from the moment you open the issue. And in all fairness, that's what any comic book reader wants. To be hooked, drawn in and looking forward to what happens next. "Avengers Observe!" This is how it's done!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #679

Mar 1, 2018

First to last, I'll keep this simple"Avengers No Surrender is just a good damn story! Despite even the silliness of "Avengers Fever," which is only silly because of the name given to the disease. It's forgivable as it makes sense that a person exposed to so many different people, races and powers would be affected by it over the years. I'll lend my own silliness to this however and say, fans of the Avengers should be catching the "fever" and enjoying this ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2016) #683

Mar 14, 2018

Avengers No Surrender Part 9, the fun is just beginning. We now know Voyager was never an Avenger. But who is she? What's her real purpose? This far into the story and we haven't even scratched the surface. This is what superhero stories should read like. Just when you think you know it all, you realize you didn't even know the questions. Amazing comic book storytelling!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #684

Mar 16, 2018

This story is a blast and so much fun. I never know what to expect each week. My only fear thus far is when the story ends, the ride will be over. The Hulk hasn't been this interesting or scary since "Planet Hulk" and "World War Hulk." But when this story does reach its conclusion. Waid, Zub, Ewing, and everyone involved deserves to take a bow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America (2017) #696

Dec 26, 2017

This isn't exactly a fresh new beginning or a different road for Captain America. Nothing has changed. And that's a real disappointment as they really have the opportunity to tread new ground with this hero. Steve Rodgers could have finally felt what it was like to be Spider-Man or the X-Men as they are hated no matter how good they do. As a reader, this is just a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain America (2017) #697

Jan 8, 2018

A decent issue with a better ending. Considering the first few issues of this new era was basic at best and not on the exciting side of things. It seems things could be finally getting interesting again. The part that worries me here is that Captain America's evil counterpart was vastly more interesting. If only because it was a huge change of pace. And Waid and Samnee have their work cut out for them trying to make what's old, new again. And hopefully, this is the first step in bringing out a more interesting Captain America.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Captain Marvel (2017) #125

Nov 12, 2017

I love Captain Marvel, I want to get behind this book because I feel Carol Danvers should be up there with the likes of Captain America, Thor, Iron Man, ect. But Stohl needs to pick up her game and stop worrying about getting a few laughs in her book and start treating Captain Marvel as she deserves. Because in my eyes, Captain Marvel isn't the Wonder Woman of Marvel or even the Superman of Marvel. Carol Danvers should be blowing them out of the water in terms of importance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Marvel (2017) #126

Dec 29, 2017

Misdirection isn't a bad way to tell a story and in fact, can really help when it comes to surprising moments you didn't see coming. However, it just didn't play out that way and it hurt the story this time around. Captain Marvel is still a good book with a great writer and equally great artist. And in this case, I would just forgive and move on as the saying goes. "No one is gonna hit a home run every time they're up to bat."

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Marvel (2017) #127

Jan 2, 2018

Captain Marvel is a great female hero and character. One of the best in this humble writers opinion. But when I great character is treated with a lazy approach it can hurt that character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Marvel (2017) #128

Feb 5, 2018

Dark Origins is a weird ride as everything is silly with such a series title. Stohl brings twisted aspects such as Thanos as a hero and another upside down concepts. Save for a few confusing story moments, it's still a fun ride and enjoyable. Hopefully, Dark Origins ends with a bang and some serious positive moments. And I definitely look forward to getting back to our "regularly scheduled universe."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #13

Nov 2, 2017

It's really simple, this book is just fun! Champions is a consistent joy to read and even as part of this crossover with the Avengers. Champions shines as bright if not brighter than the Avengers. This type of book has been a breath of fresh air not had since the very first Young Avengers, New Mutants, or New Warriors. It is exactly what you want from a teen book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Champions #14

Dec 13, 2017

Unfortunately, Part 4 of this crossover is the weakest in this arc. It's too fast and too much in such a short amount of time. There isn't enough for real character moments and this is probably the time it was needed most as Vision comes face to face with his altered daughter for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Champions #15

Dec 29, 2017

If you're not reading Champions, you're missing out on something special. I haven't enjoyed a teen series like this since Young Avengers started back after Disassembled. These characters just work beautifully together and it's so much fun. I can't praise this series enough or articulate how good it is. This is this current generation's New Mutants or New Warriors. This is the kind of series anyone could pick up and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Champions #16

Jan 24, 2018

This book is from start to finish, a must read. Nothing is overly complicated or unnecessary. There is no wasted motion is the writing or its art. It's fun, heartfelt, and meaningful from the word go. I can't wait to find out who'll become a new member of this awesome team. And more than that, I'm looking forward to the resolution, if any, for Viv and her sister Vivian. And what is up with Vision and Vivian? I didn't know they could sneeze. This is the only book that makes me feel like a kid again who can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Champions #17

Mar 12, 2018

Champions has been the best book, consistently, since issue 1. Every arc has been amazingly fun and so well written and drawn. Yup, Champions is my favorite book, hands down. Cyclops, Ms. Marvel, the totally awesome Hulk, Spider-Man (Miles Morales), Nova, and Viv Vision should go down in history alongside such teams as the New Mutants and Teen Titans. There is so much more to do with this team and I am strapped in for every ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Champions #18

Apr 10, 2018

While it seemed a little too easy that the new Wasp could just undo the Evolutionary's humanization of Viv. (Perhaps I'm just not aware of how smart Nadia is supposed to be). Waid still closes out his final arc on a high note. Mark Waid loves this book and you could tell with every issue he wrote. Him leaving this book is as heartbreaking to me as Cyclops having to leave the team. Both Mark Waid and Cyclops will be sorely missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Champions #19

Apr 27, 2018

Jim Zub and Mark Waid just finished on Avengers No Surrender together. Considering the outstanding teamwork they did on that book. Zub is probably the best choice to take over where Waid left off. Zub begins in fine style, remembering that this is a teen book and doesn't miss the subtleties that give a teen superhero book heart. I'm strapped in and ready to see what's in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Champions #20

Jun 6, 2018

The tone and fun of the Champions from where Mark Waid left off are still there. So is the style of art that Ramos had used to give the book it's energy. Champions is still consistently good and I have high hopes for this beginning arc. And Nova asking Viv out on a date after almost dying is classic stuff. With Jim Zub at the helm, this book is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #12

Nov 8, 2017

After twelve issues it is finally time to see what Thanos is all about when he gets to be the threat readers know he can be. Other than the length of time it took, this has been a solid story and nowadays, solid stories are difficult to come across.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #13

Dec 25, 2017

A great start to a story where we will get to see the Thanos we wanted to see all along. This is the mad titan in all his power-hungry glory. And I can't wait to see what happens next when his future self and Thanos interact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #14

Jan 1, 2018

Here's the thing, Thanos has always been a simple character. He's a power-mad villain who wants to conquer the universe. So initially thinking that this character could hold a series was questionable at best. But I have to say, I love this book. Thanos has so much to work with and Cates is peeling layer by layer back and it's so much fun. This series to make Thanos more than just some big bad guy who wants to kill and conquer. Might just be what helps set Thanos further apart from other bad guys. Depth is what set guys like Magneto and Dr. Doom apart. But this just might put Thanos miles above the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #15

Jan 27, 2018

When it comes to villains and what makes them great, Cates understands there has to be more than power and ambition. There has to be reasons and standards. While Thanos has always been a great villain, Cates is bringing out more to him and I can't wait to see what's in store. And while the writing is solid and the art is amazing. It's still an issue of talking and none of the revelations, even Frank Castle as the Ghost Rider, is enough to make this book a "10." Still, the intrigue and good storytelling is apparent and that's what makes Thanos a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thanos (2016) #16

Mar 9, 2018

Thanos Wins is perhaps the most unique story going right now. In retrospect, you know you're not reading the book of a protagonist. And yet you can't help but cheer for Thanos in certain ways. Donny Cates is bringing his "A" game in order to give you a Thanos, unlike anything you've ever read about the Mad Titan. This is amazing storytelling and art from top to bottom. Thanos definitely is winning here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #17

Apr 11, 2018

Fortunately, Thanos Wins was not just a title to the story, but a fact. Nor did the fight between the Surfer and the two Thanos' disappoint. It was gritty, gruesome and awesome. Now, what is the real payoff? What does Cates have in store for the conclusion to this bloody epic tale? Personally, I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos (2016) #18

Apr 18, 2018

With so many stories from the future and heroes who worry about the inevitable outcomes. "Days of Future Past" for example. Thanos does the one thing no one seems to be able to. He made sure this particular future won't exist. While the gruesome tale is fun from start to finish. The deeper meaning gives this story a purpose that isn't superficial. Bravo Donny Cates and Geoff Shaw.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #702

Jan 9, 2018

This book is so good that I honestly don't think I can articulate just how good. Thor is a superb comic book in every respect and if you're not reading this series. You're missing out on what makes a comic book so amazing. From the writing to the art, and everything in between. Thor is from first to last, the best title out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #703

Jan 25, 2018

I can't praise this book enough as it is going down as one of my all-time favorite runs. This is just amazing comic book storytelling. "Nuff said!"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Mar 11, 2018

Perfect! That's what The Mighty Thor is, perfect! It's not just an epic superhero story or an epic comic book story. It's an Epic Tale! One that will go down as one of the best stories of all time. If you're not reading The Death of the Mighty Thor, you're missing out on history being made.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #705

Apr 12, 2018

The Death of the Mighty Thor is the best comic story you'll read this year, hands down! This will go down in the annals of great stories alongside The Dark Phoenix Saga and The Infinity Gauntlet. From the writing to the art, it's a magnificent example of what comic book storytelling should be. Do not miss out on this epic tale!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #706

May 16, 2018

From first to last, The Death of the Mighty Thor is beautiful in every aspect. From the writing to the art, it's hands down an amazing story. And one with a happy ending that is most deserving. I for one will miss Jane Foster as the Mighty Thor. But just as this issue told, this isn't the end of her story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mighty Thor (2015): At The Gates Of Valhalla #1

Jun 6, 2018

Thor #1 is not really something anyone needs to continue where the final issue of Jane Foster as the Mighty Thor left off. It's a nice piece and "quaint." But nothing is revealed that makes this issue relevant. There nice moments and a reminder that things are far from over. But you don't need to read this issue to realize that when Thor starts it's new series again.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More