Chris Bennett's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 117
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
2000AD #1950

Oct 1, 2015

So there we go, I've managed to read and review my first Prog. The last time I read an issue, it was a digital copy, however, this time round I went to a real-live shop and got a paper copy from a real person! I'm happy to report that having an actual *thing* in my hands, helped suck me into the rabbit hole further. My other half and my bank balance might not like it, but I'll be along for the ride now, for as long as I can hold on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 15, 2016

While occasionally the book can appear to have a little too much style and not quite enough substance, in fairness it doesn't take itself too seriously and it did genuinely made me laugh. Furthermore, it requires no background reading to enjoy fully, so new readers can jump right in and enjoy the action, but you can bet I'll be looking to absorb everything I can about Archer and Armstrong from here on in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #13

Jun 10, 2014

Overall, this was a good issue with a lot to get your teeth into. However, I would have scored it much lower if not for the back-up story, which manages to elevate this book above simply providing the usual thrill of watching the writing team of Mignola and Allie continuing to shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #16

Sep 10, 2014

The series is on track with returning to BPRD soonish, with agents appearing more frequently and nods to characters of the main series. I'm not quite ready to let go yet, but goddamn, its been a fantastic ride so far. If previous issues have been a shot of whiskey in how much punch they're packing, this is the coffee that cures the hangover. Pleasant and necessary, but in a very different way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Alice Cooper #1

Sep 2, 2014

While there is nothing wrong with it, the first issue just felt a bit too weird to me, which is why I can't give it a perfect score. However, it does the job well enough of introducing us to this strange new take on a Rock God.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Monster #1

Jan 19, 2016

Asking plenty of questions, and setting a good pace, American Monster is shaping up to be a doozy, and I for one am getting comfortable for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astounding Villain House One-Shot #1

Oct 29, 2013

For a slice of Halloween Humor you should probably pick this up, but then if you don't like nice things and you prefer the caped and cowled, serious and meaningful books, this might not be the one for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Axe Cop: American Choppers #1

May 20, 2014

While not one for everyone, it's definitely one for everyone with a sense of humour – not to mention fans of Adult Swim – as it has a very “this is actually for adults, but we're pretty sure kids will enjoy it as well” feel to it. Go buy this book, go on, tell them we sent you or I'll find you with my axe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #120

Jun 17, 2014

With a few cameos that will make the fans happy, a plot point at the end that will make for an interesting arc, and a nice jumping on issue for new readers, this issue hits all the marks even if it is a little slow at getting going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #131

May 20, 2015

Managing to make a book look both gruesome and beautiful is no mean feat, but it's a feat which B.P.R.D. has been well known for in the past, and Peter Snejbjerg definitely does the book justice and meets the quota nicely. From the first CRACK, to the last CRUNCH, this issue is equal parts colourful (fair enough its mostly red, yellow and orange, but still), and bleak, with a realism to the action which s nothing short of brutal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #133

Jul 15, 2015

A slow burner as I've already said, but a pleasant one. I'll be interested to see where this goes, as I'm sure things are about to get weird…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #137

Nov 17, 2015

The only downside to the book is a familiar one, in that it's all about setting up the next issue, and poses just as many questions as it answers. As past experience has taught us, it's always worth the wait, but in single issue format, it can be frustrating to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #1

May 4, 2015

With a solid pulp/horror feel to it, even though the first issue is mainly set-up for the rest of the series, this may very well be the finest arc of Baltimore yet. Buy it. Buy it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #2

Jun 3, 2015

More questions are posed than answered, but then it's still early days yet and I think I've made it pretty clear I'm sucked in. You should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 27, 2017

All the boxes are ticked here for me, but with the bar set so high already, it did fall slightly short of a perfect score, in a ‘good, but not great' way. That's not to say that this should be skipped over by any means, because let's be honest, it's still gold, and worth the cover price for the Terminator Batman alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

Overall, while its probably not essential reading for long-time fans of the character or regular readers of Detective Comics, as a jumping-on point for new readers, lapsed fans, or simply people who just want to read a bloody good book, its a dead cert purchase. I know I for one cant wait for the series itself to finally get underway.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Big Man Plans #3

Jun 3, 2015

Now I know what wrenches are really for….

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Big Trouble In Little China #13

Jul 16, 2015

While it may be slightly light on substance, feeling very much like an opening chapter (which, to be fair, it is), this is an undoubtedly strong beginning, and for someone who has jumped straight in I felt completely sucked into the story and hooked within just a few pages. One for the 80's kids, the nostalgia lovers, or simply anyone that loves a good old-school action movie….in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #1

Jun 20, 2017

If you want a hard-hitting, ultra-serious crime noir sci-fi-a-thon then this is not the book for you. However, if you're like me and can see the joy in this, and think that heavy metal is most bodacious, then break out the flannel and ripped jeans and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black #1

Oct 4, 2016

This isn't going to be a book for everyone, but there's a statement to be made here, and it's an important one. Black people, and other non-white races are criminally underrepresented in today's comic industry, both on the page and behind the scenes. It's becoming more and more apparent that something has to change, and this book is definitely another step in the right direction. Rich in real life drama and racial tension, it manages to handle itself in a way that may seem forced to some, but very necessary to others.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #1

Jul 19, 2016

For fans of Twin Peaks and Kingdom Come alike, this is a book you'll want to get on board with from the very first issue, before sitting back and getting comfortable for what promises to be one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Borderlands #4

Nov 12, 2014

With a nice teaser at the end as to where the story is going from here, I'm definitely a convert. It's a nice bridge between the recently released "Pre-sequel" and Boarderlands 2 (my personal favourite) and I can only hope they keep it going for the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Borderlands #8

Apr 14, 2015

With a few derpyfaces, the art isn't quite perfect, and I'm still not a fan of the overly sexualised covers, but with that second page, a liberal use of the color purple, and “rum chop” now my new favorite way of bottle opening, it manages to capture the fun side of the book which I think could be easily overlooked

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 #16

Jun 18, 2015

The story itself seems to be going at a slower pace than i would have expected or maybe wanted, but the journey the characters are going on, and have been going on under Gage's pen has been more rewarding than i could have hoped it to be. The gang is back together, even if some of them are missing bits, the wrong ones are dating and one of them is a child again, but it's like getting back in touch with an old friend you haven't seen for years and catching up every month. That can't be a bad thing, can it?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chew #38

Dec 13, 2013

While in the grand scheme of things it could probably be skipped (though knowing Layman, there's plenty that could be reintroduced in a later issue) its a good issue that put a smile on my face more than once and that can't be a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chew #40

Feb 25, 2014

Something else that should be added on, at the end of the issue in the mail section, someone has created a chart that list all of the powers that have been seen in the book and what volume they can be found in. Even someone like me, who has been with the book from the start, found this useful and a welcome addition for any fan. I know I'd buy a print of it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chew #41

Apr 29, 2014

It is a strange thought, though, that even after 41 issues the book still has the freshness of the first few issues and remains a funny, enjoyable read. The team of Layman and Guillory have created something truly special here, and this month it shines though with this issue. While not my favourite issue of the series, it was a much-needed break from the somber tone of previous issues. If there was one word to try and sell you on it, it would have to be “POYO”!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #50

Jun 30, 2015

While the tale itself seems to have a marmite quality to it, I'm definitely in the 'love it' camp. I love the ridiculous names that other Cibopaths have, I love the art style, I love that it still surprises me, and I love that there's only two volumes left. After that, it will be complete and I'll know the ending (I better know the ending!)

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Chew #51

Oct 28, 2015

This was not an easy review to write, and no offence was meant by it. I can only hope this was a minor blip in an otherwise superb series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clockwork Angels #1

Mar 18, 2014

I honestly can't recommend this book enough, I was hooked within the first few pages and the art is beautiful. if you're a fan of Rush's music or Anderson's writing then you need this book in your life. If you enjoyed the book but don't know Rush, then I highly recommend listening to the album of the same name to give you a different perspective of the story!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clockwork Angels #2

Apr 29, 2014

If you're not reading this already, even if you have no idea who Rush are (ask your dad), any fans of well-written fantasy books need to be picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clockwork Angels #4

Aug 5, 2014

A pleasure to read, even if it could do with picking up the pace a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Colder: The Bad Seed #2

Nov 26, 2014

In an issue where the lead character is oddly absent, he's not missed as the story is fleshed out to a point of no return for readers, as I honestly don't think anyone in their right mind will be able to put this book down once they get started. This book should be given to all aspiring horror writing teams as a bible for just how to do it " it's just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Colder: The Bad Seed #3

Dec 23, 2014

Buy it. Just buy it. You can thank us later.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Colder: Toss The Bones #2

Oct 26, 2015

Always a solid winner, it preys on your subconscious in a way you shouldn't enjoy, but will leave you dying for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 14, 2017

Snyder and Tynion IV are both riding high on hot streaks these days, with practically everything they touch seemingly turning to gold, and this is no exception. Oh, and did I mention the art team?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death Sentence: London #1

Jun 9, 2015

Overall a very solid first issue that grabs you by the balls and doesn't let go. Go get this book in your life!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Sentence: London #3

Aug 12, 2015

Definitely not fun for all the family, but definitely fun for everyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death Sentence: London #4

Sep 10, 2015

Overall another strong issue from the duo, and with the way it's going, an ongoing could be the best thing that's happened to the series as I always thought the mini was too short to tell the story Nero had in mind for us. I really hope choosing the lace doesn't mean what I think it does though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dept. H #1

Apr 19, 2016

Team Kindt is on to a winner here, and I'm in…. Deep.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Descender #3

May 7, 2015

With a combination ofthe two, art and story, Lemire and Nguyen are onto not just a sci-fi hit, but an instant hit in the world of literature. You're doing yourself a serious disservice if you'renot picking this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #941

Sep 28, 2016

All in all, as crossovers go, it's still one for ‘tec fans that aren't invested in buying the other issues. It progresses the overall arc nicely with only a few niggles, and provides a fun, lively read. DC haven't dropped the ball yet with their flagship title, and it doesn't look like they're going to any time soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #965

Sep 28, 2017

An absolute must buy for Bat fans, Tim Drake fans, and everyone in between.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #11

Apr 9, 2014

While there isn't as much action in this issue, it still feels like we've only begun to scratch the surface of what's going on, and I know for sure I'm strapped in for the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
East of West #13

Jul 1, 2014

If this book wasn't on your pull list before then this should definitely be the issue to drag you in. Once again, the team of Hickman and Dragotta prove that they're a force to be reckoned with, and I truly think that we could be seeing the start of something we'll be talking about for years to come with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #22

Dec 1, 2015

I know that by now, I dont need to tell you how good EoW is, because – to be honest – it does thatall on its own. You pick up a trade of it and are instantly immersed in a world that Tolkien would be proud of. EoW is a series that is best read in the one sitting, or at least in a sizeable chunk. The story flows in a way that seesissues compliment each other, enhancing the overall story in the process. This issue is a notableexception though, as it is dynamic, fast paced and, from start to finish, an absolute schooling in minimalist storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #3

Jul 21, 2015

Something something we don't talk about Fight Club. Something something still hooked on it like morphine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Frostbite #3

Nov 23, 2016

In a book of nice touches, I could have easily just filled this review with Mr. Freeze style puns and you would probably still pick it up, it's that good. However, with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing and a story that seems both familiar and fresh, this could be the beginning of an instant classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Furious #1

Jan 29, 2014

Not much else can be said except that while it wasn't perfect, as a first issue I can't wait to see where the take it from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham By Midnight #1

Nov 26, 2014

This is one for fans of the creative team " or fans of the horror genre as a whole " rather than someone looking for another Bat-Fix. Gotham by Midnight isn't one to miss and I think it's safe to say I've buckled in for the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #1

Jan 13, 2016

A welcome return to the Lanterns of old, Edge of Oblivion has a real space western feel to it, while deftly managing to avoid certain pitfalls that the overuse of tropes can bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #8

Oct 30, 2013

While it doesn't make me want to go anywhere near the main book, I'm glad that it still feels like a GOTG book and Francavilla is a welcome addition to the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #2

Aug 10, 2016

Overall though, this is a stellar second issue that has made me care about these characters again. It really goes to show that when Green Lantern comics are good, they're really good. Hopefully the story will continue to improve in leaps and bounds and avoid the all-too-frequent situation where a new book appears to hold such unlimited promise only to go off like a wet firework.  I'm keeping my fingers crossed, that's for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
HaloGen #2

Mar 31, 2015

With snappy dialog and big open pages, it's a damn fine book, but there are still flaws (although minor).The pages can seem messy and cluttered at times, and the “speech bubble on the opposite side from he person that's actually talking”, while different, can be distracting at times when you're trying to work out who said what. In spite of these niggles, this is asolid second issue that has sold me on picking up the rest of this arc.HaloGen gets my stamp of approval for the music alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harrow County #8

Dec 9, 2015

For fans of old school Thriller/Horror, this is a perfect, all be it slightly clichd end to a damn fine story. Need more now. Right now. Please and thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy in Hell #5

Dec 4, 2013

It's gorgeous, it's bleak, the story's short, you don't need any previous knowledge, now go buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #7

Aug 25, 2015

Mignola is a true master of his craft, from the way he manages to tangle in pieces of humour to a reasonably dark tale to the way that negative space is used to further the story to the way it's almost what isn't shown more that what's actually on the page that makes the biggest impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #10

Jun 1, 2016

I'm genuinely gutted that this is the end, but at the same time, it ties up one of the greatest characters of all time. He has burned bright, and he's definitely not going to fade away any time soon. Mignola has finished his prized creation in the only way he could, and it's nothing short of perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injection #2

Jun 9, 2015

This is shaping up to be something beautiful. with the Sci-Fi esque "she knows" at the beginning to the all out action of the rest of the book, there's something in the works here that could be amazing. Only problem is, I still have no idea what that something is yet, and i don't know if that's a good thing 2 issues in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injection #6

Jan 12, 2016

Aside from a few pacing niggles, an interesting turn of events that I genuinely wasn't expecting, and the absence of ANY answers, issue six is a solid welcome back nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invader Zim #1

Jul 7, 2015

I don't think there's much else to say about the book and to be honest, you really should be reading it by now, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invader Zim #2

Aug 18, 2015

With the way the story is progressing, it seems to be taking on a slightly more serious tone than that of the series, and as long as all the characters are reset by the next issue (pretty sure there's going to be a riot if they don't) then this could be a very strong series that should draw in a whole new age group of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invader Zim #6

Jan 6, 2016

The issue ticks all the boxes you'd want from a Zim book. Seriously, it could be an episode of the show so easily " with one notable exception. It's clear from the first page that Green has brought his own original style to the book which seems to be one part Ren and Stimpy, two parts European newspaper strips. Everything is much more over-animated than previous issues, with big, bold "anime" style eyes and a slightly flat colour, giving the book a noticeably different tone to previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Man (2012) #23.NOW

Mar 22, 2014

It's safe to say I'm now official a convert, and will be picking up the next few to see where the story takes us, and I urge you all to do the same. You won't regret it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Man (2012) #24

Apr 14, 2014

I've enjoyed the ride so far with the first two issues of this arc, and while I'm not a convert just yet, the story intrigues me enough that I'll give it to the end of the arc before I properly pass judgement,

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Itty Bitty Hellboy #3

Oct 29, 2013

With the recent announcement that Dark Horse may be making more Itty Bitty stories and with this being anything to go by, the IBHB series could be an interesting inclusion to the all ages genre with no capes and cowls. and i don't think that's a bad thing!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jackpot #1

Apr 14, 2016

Regardless, it's clear that Aftershock have yet another winner on their hands here with Jackpot, a series which starts with a bang and serves as a damn fine addition to their already throbbing roster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Legacy #4

Mar 4, 2014

My only gripe of the book is the massive wait between issues, but that can't be helped and can just be added to the pile of "but it's comics, right?" However, trust me when i say this book is worth the wait and a fantastic read from beginning to end. Do yourself a favour and not only pick it up, but read all 4 issues in the one sitting. You can thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Aug 2, 2016

That said, this is a very promising and solid first issue of a series that's bound to be a runaway hit for the iconic duo. The biggest praise I can give it is I'm going to go out tomorrow and buy a physical copy, because I'm certain that it'll be even more glorious in print.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lantern City #1

May 12, 2015

There's big plans ahead for this series and i'm glad i picked it up, safe to say i'm sold on the concept and look forward to the series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legendary Star-Lord #1

Jul 3, 2014

One that should appeal to new fans, or rookies trying to find a jump on book after watching the film, Legendary Star-Lord ticks all the boxes and features a final page that wouldn't seem out of place in “Original Sin”. There's more than enough to keep you coming back for more here, folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Legendary Star-Lord #3

Sep 4, 2014

From a guitar wielding Rocket to a glorious nod to a certain movie/peanut butter jelly time, this book is ridiculously good fun and a very pleasant change to whatever seems to be going on in the main GoTG book

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lenore Vol. 2 #10

Jul 23, 2014

If nostalgia is taken out of the equation though, the story still holds up and manages to fill that niche hole of a YA book that doesn't hold back with dirty humour and good art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters of Midtown #1

May 23, 2016

In a world currently obsessed with Capes and Cowls, it's refreshing to have a a pulp Sci-Fi book where the hero isn't perfect, and doesn't always win. If you manage to get to the end of this one without a grin on your face, or wanting the next issue straight away, then there must be something wrong with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lobster Johnson: The Forgotten Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 9, 2016

With all these supremely talented creators working seamlessly together, this manages to be a fun done-in-one, like a meet up with an old friend you haven't seen in a while. There's nothing particularly new, as such, but it's definitely good to catch up and see each other again and, most importantly, to make plans to do it all again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lobster Johnson: The Glass Mantis #1

Dec 30, 2015

Grimy and Gritty until the very end, it's a pleasure as always. On a day that I really needed cheering up, Messers Mignola, Arcudi, and Fejzula provided.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lone Wolf 2100 #1

Jan 6, 2016

While the series isn't likely reach the 28 volumes set by the original, with 4 issues to work with there's definitely some groundwork being laid for an incredible story here. My only worry is that there's just not going to be enough space to do it justice. Definitely a title to look out for, especially for the sheer the strength of the concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mad Max: Fury Road - Furiosa #1

Jun 18, 2015

All in all, it's a must by for anyone that enjoyed the film and wants another slice of the action. for those of you that didn't enjoy the film, maybe this will help give you more insight as to why the rest of us liked it and you're wrong? Also anyone that watched the film and thought Immortan Joe was right, because they were his wives, maybe this will show you just how wrong you truly are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Honestly though, I really can't say enough about how good this is. Just go buy it, okay?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #5

May 20, 2014

The downsides of the book are few, but the constant rhyming got a little irritating after a while and, if I'm being honest, it's just not my kind of thing. For an all ages book, I've read a lot worse, however, not much that were better. It's something that I definitely feel I could get behind if I had kids or young children in the family, as it did have a solid overall narrative and even though I didn't necessarily like it myself, the rhyming would definitely be appealing to a younger audience as it gives the book a nice ‘Dr Seuss' feel to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Another stellar issue from Team Dick. They lose half a point for “Shark Attractant” though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Phonogram: The Immaterial Girl #1

Aug 10, 2015

Music has always been magic to me. This book goes to show that comics can be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens #15

Mar 15, 2016

Honestly, I think I need a little time to think about this issue. I need to talk to people and find out what what they thought about it. I need to know where the creative team are going with it. For that reason alone, and for it being one of the most thought provoking issues I've ever read of a series, it gets a perfect score. I might not have enjoyed it, but I can't help respecting why it was needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 3, 2014

It's not the most perfect first issue, but it still does a cracking job, setting the scene for the series and bringing Rocket back into the public eye with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #3

Sep 4, 2014

As I've said in my Star Lord review, this is so much more fun than what is going on in the main GoTG book right now, and while it might not be the same iteration that people are used to from DnA's run on Guardians, its a damn fine book and I can only hope Marvel don't milk it for all its worth and ruin it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #15

Oct 29, 2013

Saga is one of those books that anyone who reads instantly falls in love with, and I think it has something to do with how relatable it all seems, from how a family operates after a bereavement, so dealing with the loss of a loved one, to accidental hallucinogen ingestion. It all seems real. It's a story you want to be a part of and know what's coming next, that almost is like a drug as when it goes on hiatus I feel like something is missing every month. If you're not getting this book already then take it from me, it might be a drug, but it's one of the good ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Wars #1

May 7, 2015

This first issue was light on substance, but heavy on the action and made my innerseven-year old do a happy dance as everything fell apart and felt like one big giant action figure show down (you all know fine well what I mean). Hopefully there will be more meat on the bones of future issues, but as it stands, I think I need a wee lie down before I tackle any more of this

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Serenity: No Power In The 'Verse #2

Nov 29, 2016

Overall, issuetwo builds nicely on the series, bringing up all the same feelings you felt watching the television show, and with the sad news of the passing of Ron Glass this week, it is a trulynecessary purchase for any Firefly fans out there. It made me feel a little better anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 20, 2016

For fans of D&D, Heavy Metal, Dragons, Lord of the Rings, and just a touch of Wheel of Time, this could be the next big series to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #9

Jun 18, 2015

There's only a few books out there that I don't want to turn the page, through fear of just what might be on the next turn, but there's only one Southern Bastards, and that last page took my by surprise in a way that I didn't expect it to. Damn you Aaron. Damn you right in the facebeard

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #10

Jul 29, 2015

Hands down one of the best books on the shelves today, every issue gives you a punch to the dick and kicks you while you're down, but in a good way, y'know? So pour yourself a beer, get some BBQ and dive right in to this one. Yall can thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #12

Nov 11, 2015

We get some major characterisation changes with this issue, as a few grow, a few get worse, and a question I've had since issue 1 is closer to being answered. Goddamn, I love this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Riders #2

May 12, 2015

If you're only going to get one book this week, make sure it's this one. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Riders: Galaxy of Brutality #1

Mar 30, 2017

There's a real punk feel to this book, as there was with the last arc, which is by no means a bad thing. In fact, it's a breath of fresh air, if that air came from a sweaty bar, blasting Black Flag or Sabbath, and it came through the window from a man called Bubba. Bubba seems like a really nice guy though, once you get to know him. In summary, buy this book. You owe it to yourself, really.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #1

Jan 11, 2016

An absolute pleasure to read from start to finish, with what may have been an obvious curveball thrown at the end, it was still fun as hell nonetheless. I'll eat every bad word I previously said about it. I dare you to give it two pages as well. Trust me, it'll have you hook line and sinker.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

Gleason and Tomasi have made me care about Superman again. This series is that good. An amazing start to the year, then, and proof once again that this is how superhero comics are meant to be – fun and packed with action. Oh, and for what its worth, that last page is a doozy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

All in all, this is easily the most excited I've been about a DC book in a good long while. I think you will be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman: Rebirth #1

May 31, 2016

Tomasi, Gleason, Mahnke and Mendoza have done something I didn't think was possible; they've made me care again about Superman, a character I had written off years ago as sensationalist and boring. I actually want to pick up two Superman books now to see where this story goes, That's never happened before!  Simply put, this is the introduction and the jumping-on point to the Man of Steel that you've been waiting for. It's never been easier, with everything you need to know tied up in a neat little bundle. So if Superman has ever interested you, even in the slightest, now is most definitely the time to start reading. I know I will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supreme: Blue Rose #1

Jul 25, 2014

A detective story with a SciFi/dreamlike twist, I was sold almost from the very first page.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ten Grand #10

Jul 29, 2014

I was always taught that if I can't say anything nice, to not say anything at all, but in this case there are good points to be noted, I just don't think that the series is living up to the original premise that sucked me in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Empty Man #1

Jun 10, 2014

BOOM! seem to be pushing more and more these days for a chunk of the horror comic market, and if the rest of this series is anything like this one (perhaps with a bit more depth to it) they could be in for a damn good shot at Dark Horse's Horror crown.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Empty Man #6

Sep 29, 2015

While the pacing might be off a little at the start, and the art a little dark and hard to understand at times, overall it's an enjoyable read, and you'll be looking over your shoulder for a while at night once you've finished.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Goon #44

Nov 26, 2013

Art, good. Story, good (I think) and if you speak Spanish or have a phrase book handy it would be damn enjoyable. It's just maybe a bit too quick of a read for us unilingual (did I just invent a word?) And would make for an even more confusing read for newcomers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Occultist #3

Dec 3, 2013

A solid book, let down slightly by the middle-ness ( is that even a word) of it. that ultimately is still enjoy reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sandman Overture #1

Oct 30, 2013

Safe to say, it was an absolute pleasure to read overture and i have no idea how i've managed to keep this spoiler free, but i highly recommend picking this book up, whether you're new to comics or Sandman, or have been reading since the original series #1. You can thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Squidder #2

Aug 5, 2014

As a side note, fans of the art should definitely be checking out both Templesmith's and 44Flood's Instagram accounts where there are daily posts of awesomeness!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wicked + The Divine #4

Sep 20, 2014

This is one that fans will love and new readers will be confused with. But hey" who starts a series at #4, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Wicked + The Divine #12

Jun 30, 2015

While I was initially unhappy about the new direction of the book, and I'm still not sure if I'm massively keen on where its going, compared to where it began I can safely say that I'm now confident that it's going to be an interesting read regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #5

Sep 3, 2014

A solid issue, but one that fails to meet the standards of the previous 4 by a smidge. Still found it to be a necessary read, mind you!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2014) #6

Mar 12, 2015

On with the rest of the book! Dauterman continues to nail it with this issue, especially with his take on Heimdall and the rainbow bridge. The disjointed panels look incredible and nicely visceral, giving a stark difference between the Thors (spoiler: one has a giant axe again). Featuring another cheap appearance by Coulson that can be forgiven and a pact that can surely mean no good, this issue really did have it all. Go buy it, please and thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tokyo Ghost #6

Apr 19, 2016

Yes, it's shock value, but it's shock value with meaning. The TG team manage to have the book being very adult, with very adult themes, but it's all there to convey a message. Whether or not that message is understood, or simply swept under the rug and written off as entertainment remains to be seen. However, when you look back at previous attempts to do similar (I instantly think of Transmetropolitan, Ex Machina, and Pride of Bagdad), each are still widely regarded as well written, thought-provoking, highly-charged books, and for me, Tokyo Ghost is right up there with the best of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tokyo Ghost #7

May 26, 2016

If you're not picking this book up already, then it's time to put down the phone, close the laptop, go outside and buy it! Tokyo Ghost is presenting a message we can all take to heart; less tech, more time for people. Don't be like Lem. Hey, wait… is Lem short for Lemming?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tokyo Ghost #10

Sep 1, 2016

To Messirs Remender, Murphy and Hollingsworth, these past 10 issues have been a absolute joy, and I hope it's sooner rather than later that we see the like of this again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trees #3

Jul 25, 2014

In summary; still don't get it, still beautiful, but maybe wait for the trade so you get the whole story?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trees #7

Nov 26, 2014

I still maintain that the series is best read in chunks as there just isn't enough meat in then single issues, but when put together, there's definitely a spark of a great story in there somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unfollow #12

Oct 12, 2016

I've fawned over the book enough now, right? It's near damn perfect, and has been since issue one. If you're not reading it by now, you need to go and rectify that immediately, because if the final few pages of this first year are anything to go by, the next twelve are going to be even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X'ed #2

Mar 30, 2016

Overall then, this is a fairly solid second issue, and one which does its best to build on the fast pace of the first. However, it did seem to fall apart slightly during its unwieldy information dump, and I think it was hampered slightly by the significant gap between issues. Pretty minor niggles at the end of the day, and I'm still hooked. Here's hoping the next one comes out soon!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More