Christina Hamlet's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics, Comic Watch Reviews: 39
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #13

Aug 25, 2017

Overall, the opener to this story has me happy that I picked up the book. Death, drinking, sarcasm, supernatural beings and more death are all in nice balance and the set up for the next issue was a great teaser. Dark things are afoot and it looks like bad times are in store for John. I hope they last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #14

Sep 29, 2017

The second installment of The Inspiration Game sees a little less action and a little more back story, but still delivers an engaging story. Things are looking more and more grim for John Constantine, but now hes drunk and pissed off, so who knows what could happen at this point. But Im looking forward to it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #15

Nov 2, 2017

Its a series worth reading. Though its definitely not the same book, this series continues to harken back to the Hellblazer of old. So much like the old John but still doing his own thing. This book is a solid check in the success column for the Rebirth lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer (2016) #16

Dec 3, 2017

New creative team, new story, same troubles for John. Poor guy really can't catch a break. Or keep a friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #17

Jan 5, 2018

Johns treading familiar ground pretty quickly this time. Hopefully, hell get drop-kicked out of this rut, and soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellblazer (2016) #22

Jun 6, 2018

In general, this book continues to maintain interest and lead down twists and turns that make for a good story and a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #23

Jul 7, 2018

This story and indeed this book just keep getting better. The current arc is well-worth picking up for Hellblazer fans or someone just looking for a good story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #24

Aug 11, 2018

If the series has to end, this was a good note to go out on. Good health, John, and good night.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Jun 20, 2017

My overall assessment is this is a solid start for a book. New readers can look forward to a story with lots of energy and heart, established fans can look forward to a treatment that takes the best elements of Supergirl and moves them forward. Supergirl is an icon, and one that hasn't been treated all that well since her death in Crisis on Infinite Earths in my opinion. She was one of the many pieces that never quite fit into place again. If this issue is any indication, DC is finally letting Kara shine again, and is going to remind everyone that she really is a Supergirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Dreaming (2018) #1

Sep 17, 2018

Overall a well-written and drawn issue with a slight drawback in its accessibility to new readers. The Dreaming is off to a great start and with a little love to newcomers, it has the potential to embrace a whole new crowd of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe #1

Aug 27, 2018

: Each of the four books stemming from this one look well-worth picking up. I spent my formative years in the Dreaming, and this issue felt very much like a return home but at the same time a brand-new journey. Whether you are a returning fan or a brand new reader, this issue heralds a brave new world ready for exploration. Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #25

Jun 29, 2017

Overall the issue was a solid capstone to Wonder Woman's rebirth and a perfect send off from the creative team. Next issue will see the beginning to an exciting chapter in Diana's life. If it's anything like what we've seen so far, it's going to be an incredible ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #26

Jul 14, 2017

Ultimately, it was a decent start to a new arc. A few major plot lines seem to have been abandoned unceremoniously, but time will tell on that. A few major plotlines have started, some with a bang (sorry! It was right there, I had to do it). The art and the writing are new and may take some getting used to, but the team has at least thus far shown they've got ideas and they're ready to run with them. Let's see where they go!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

If the story had been fleshed out more and given more motivation and meat to it, it could have been a solid start. But as it was, it was so generic it was barely worth telling, and seemed to be an excuse for a sequence of action scenes and some post-battle cookie therapy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Aug 31, 2017

Conclusion: Overall this has become a solid arc, exploring Dianas past and present, her convictions, her friendships, and her heart. After an uncertain startup, I am now looking forward to each new issue and the continuation of a satisfying story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 16, 2017

While the style of both the art and the writing are solid and enjoyable, the Heart of the Amazon storyline has been a rollercoaster of a story in terms of quality. The final leg of the journey was a sharp drop from last issue. I give it points for the team showing its capable, but theyre producing far below what I think theyre capable of. Hopefully the next ride will be more fun and a lot smoother.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #31

Sep 29, 2017

The current arc is off to an interesting start and Im enjoying both the art and the story but I worry that Diana is going to suffer from a perpetual identity crisis. For now though, Im looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #32

Oct 30, 2017

Overall, Wonder Woman as a book seems to still be trying to find its balance since Rebirth. The good news is that the stories themselves are well-written and the art is solid. Next issue sees us learning more about Dianas history and perhaps tying things together a little more. And of course, we expect to find out what Grail has planned for Diana. Whatever it is, its probably not good, but almost sure to be exciting!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #33

Nov 3, 2017

I'm really struggling with this book. Since Ruckas run ended the series seems to be casting around in all directions to find its identity. There is nothing really bad about the book, its just.bland right now. The current arc seems to be less and less about Diana and more and more about other people around her, shes become almost a spectator in her own book. Bring Wonder Woman back, team, ultimately shes who were here to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #34

Nov 16, 2017

This story is turning out so far to be solidly okay. I was a bit thrown off by the interruption of Children of the Gods with Times Past, which I dont think helped this arc out with its struggle to keep an engaging pace. Im waiting to see the resolution of Dianas family reunion and learning more about Jasons motives for his choices. Hopefully, there will be more depth to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #35

Dec 4, 2017

The creative team is doing a pretty good job of writing a comic book with a classic feel and with class themes, they just don't seem to be writing a Wonder Woman book. I hope to see Diana taking an active role in her own book again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #36

Dec 25, 2017

Jason could do with a little more sense, Diana could do with a small time-out, and things are definitely getting more interesting. With so many heavy-hitters on the field now though, my only concern is that Diana might get lost in this mix again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #37

Jan 4, 2018

The Children of the Gods concluded with an issue that tied everything up well. Overall the arc was a good one, with the only real criticism of Diana being an almost secondary character for much of it. Now that this arc had concluded it will be interesting to see whether Diana plows headlong into another emotional rollercoaster of if she actually takes some time digest all shes been through in the last couple of arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #38

Feb 5, 2018

This was a solid start to a story, despite the awkwardness of Jasons party shenanigans. Of all of the arcs since Ruckas run ended, this is the most promising. Im looking forward to the new take on Vanessa and how Diana is going to handle her troubled friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #39

Feb 17, 2018

The Silver Swan arc is still off to a good start, but its still just starting because of all of the side arc distractions. This still has potential to be one of the better recent arcs, well see what the finale brings.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #47

Jun 4, 2018

Most of the issue was taken up with a fight and the origin of Jason's armor. Still, the actual appearance of the Dark Gods at the end of the issue means we'll likely be getting some answers soon, as well as the rest of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #48

Jun 20, 2018

This book has all the trappings of a story with some real potential. The Dark Gods are a little on the mustache-twirly side, but still a solid threat with an interesting build up. The guest stars make sense. The art is solid and keeps the story flowing. But this issue was a stall out for an already slow pace. And for whatever reason Robinson refuses to write Diana for more than a couple of pages in her own book. Maybe there is a master plan in here somewhere, but I cant find it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #49

Jul 8, 2018

Overall this installment was a boost to the story and injected some much-needed life into things leading up to issue 50 and the conclusion of the Dark Gods attack. Ive ridden the book pretty hard about the over-use of Jason to the exclusion of Diana. To a lifelong Wonder Woman fan, this issue was a much better use of bothcharacters and a solid example of what Id want to see in Dianas solo book. I'm still not enamored with the story overall, but as an individual installment, this was much improved.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #50

Jul 20, 2018

After the last issue I held out some hope that the issue would make use of its oversized status to flesh out some meat to this story and make it a solid end to this run. Those hopes were quickly dashed, but at least Jason might be out of the picture for the time being. Hopefully, the next chapter of Wonder Woman will actually feature her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #51

Aug 11, 2018

Overall a solid start for a new creative direction, well written and beautifully illustrated. Insights into the past glimpses into the future and a compelling story audiences can relate to on multiple levels. More, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #52

Aug 12, 2018

The Enemy of Both Sides is off to a great start with new faces and old frenemies, and with Wonder Woman taking center stage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wonder Woman (2016) #53

Sep 1, 2018

Overall this was a solid issue with both the story and the art. Even as god-fatigued as I am right now, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. Aztek and Artemis are both excellent guest stars for the story, and I'm looking forward to what's going to become of Diana's aunt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Wonder Woman (2016) #54

Sep 16, 2018

This book seems to continually struggle to find its way out of this loop of gods, corrupt rulers, and family in crisis. I'm hoping the next issue ties things together in a new way, and we don't see another case of Diana struggling with betrayal and loss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #2

Jun 23, 2018

As a single issue, this is one of the better issues of late if for no other reason than Wonder Woman is the central figure throughout, a quality that has been missing in the regular series of late. But as an annual, the story was fairly sparse despite the extra pages. The artwork helped the book along, but as it was it was a confusing use of a special issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 23, 2017

This is what a comic should be fun but with depth, high adventure with heart. If this continues, this will indeed be a story for the ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Oct 30, 2017

Overall the book is well-paced, dynamic, engaging and most of all " fun! Everything an action-adventure comic book should be. If you aren't reading this series, you should be!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Dec 2, 2017

This book is turning out to be a real joy. This is one of the best crossover comics that I've read in some time. And this is a great book for both Wonder Woman and Conan. It's just so much fun, this is how comics should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #4

Dec 29, 2017

I'm still riding high on the quality of this book. If you have not been reading this series, you need to pick this issue up and the three before it. Now. I mean it, stop reading this and go get these books!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Feb 6, 2018

This issue keeps up with the same high quality that the previous installments have had. Im looking forward to the final installment next issue, though Im not looking forward to the end of such a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More