David Hildebrand's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 50
7.9Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Amerikarate #5

Aug 15, 2017

This issue is an outstanding jumping on point. Go out and buy Amerikarate #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amerikarate #6

Sep 13, 2017

Amerikarate #5 is a very entertaining story. It makes no excuses for what it is and this is what makes it exceptional. McKinney and Kalman have created this over-the-top world that I never want to leave. The characters, the humor, the nostalgia: I love it all! If you dig 80's action and raunchy humor, and do not have Amerikarate on your pull list, then you are living your life all wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amerikarate #7

Oct 3, 2017

If you are into dirty humor, sex, graphic violence, unique uses of curse words, and haven't picked up this book, what the hell is wrong with you?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amerikarate #8

Nov 8, 2017

I will be waiting to see what is next for Sam, Cynthia, the President, and of course the Eagle of Freedom. You know the drill by now, this where I am going to tell you to run out and pick up Amerikarate #8, so just do it already!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Clue #4

Sep 12, 2017

Anyone who is a fan of mysteries will enjoy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Clue #5

Oct 31, 2017

Paul Allor has done a wonderful job moving along the story in the short amount of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Clue #6

Nov 21, 2017

If you're a fan of the board game and the movie like I am, Clue is worth the read despite the lackluster conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Fang #1

Nov 13, 2017

Dark Fang is definitely an interesting take on the classic vampire tale, though I'll need to see the next issue to determine if it is worth sparing from the sunlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 6, 2017

A far cry from last year's Wacky Raceland, Dastardly and Muttley #1 starts out good. I am surely going to pick up the second issue to see where Ennis carries these two. There are a lot of questions that need answering and I have a sneaking suspicion that Ennis will get a little darker as the story progresses. Check it out, it is definitely worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dastardly And Muttley #2

Oct 4, 2017

I don't mean to be so rough with my opinion on Dasterdly and Muttley #23. I will continue with the series because there are only four more issues to go. I really want to be fixated on the story and care about what's going on but that has yet to happen. Oh well, there is always issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dastardly And Muttley #3

Nov 1, 2017

Dastardly and Muttley #3 is easily my favorite issue thus far. It has humor, it has action, new characters are introduced, and the feeling of danger is finally there for Dastardly and Muttley. I hope Garth Ennis keeps his foot to the floor and continues to finish this story with a solid second half.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dastardly And Muttley #4

Dec 6, 2017

Two issues to go, and I'm back on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dastardly And Muttley #5

Jan 3, 2018

This comic just doesn't always fire on all cylinders with me. Ennis writes decent enough humor, but it's the pacing of the story and how it has all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dastardly And Muttley #6

Feb 7, 2018

Overall, the book and the series as a whole aren't entirely terrible. There are some fun moments in Dastardly and Muttley #6, however, I was expecting a lot more to the end of the story. If you are a fan of these characters, then I say go ahead and check out this issue and the rest of the series. You just might find more joy with the story than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool vs. Old Man Logan #1

Oct 18, 2017

If you are a fan of these characters, more than likely Deadpool Vs. Old Man Logan is already on your pull list. But if it isn't and you are on the fence, I am here to tell you run out and pick up this book! The action is rowdy and the comedy is actually humorous and will bring a smile to your face. It's a fun book and I am looking forward to what this creative team has up their sleeve for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dry County #1

Mar 14, 2018

An entertaining beginning to what I hope flourishes into a great crime story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 3, 2018

A fun trip back in time with the iconic Elvira as she crosses paths with Mary Shelley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gasolina #1

Sep 19, 2017

Overall, Gasolina was a pleasant surprise for me. I did read this first issue twice because there is an incredible amount to take in. The first read through, I was thinking, there is entirely too damn much going on here. The second read through, I was able to see Mackiewicz's vision clearer and I welcome what is coming next. I did mention there were aliens, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gasolina #2

Oct 25, 2017

I like certain aspects of the story, but there is a lot going on that I think takes away from the focal point of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
James Bond: Moneypenny (One Shot) #1

Aug 29, 2017

Unless you are a James Bond fanatic and feel the need to pick up everything Bond, I cannot recommend this book. I was hoping for a gripping and action-packed Moneypenny story and instead, I got a Moneypenny short with a lot of filler. It is a one shot that completely misses the bulls eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
John Wick #1

Nov 28, 2017

It's well written, but do we really need a John Wick origin story?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Wick #2

Apr 18, 2018

John Wick #2 is an improvement over the premier issue, but still nothing special. The story has been done before. Revenge on old foes, just insert John Wick as the protagonist. I would like to see something injected into the story to add another level of excitement and danger. I thought we might see that after the end of John Wick #1. By the way, where is that blonde girl anyway? Hopefully she reappears in issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lowlifes #1

Jul 3, 2018

Buccellato delivers a gripping story right from the start. Looking forward to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Made Men #3

Nov 21, 2017

It reads like a high budget B-movie. Mixed with horror and comedy, Made Men #3 is worth picking up. She's alive!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Made Men #4

Dec 20, 2017

If you are a horror fan or a fan of Frankenstein, I highly recommend you checking out Made Men. It's an interesting twist to the Frankenstein lineage, complete with action, well fleshed out characters, and a dynamic story. I love when I cross paths with comic books that surprise me as much as Made Men. Do yourself a favor and add it to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Made Men #5

Jan 17, 2018

Made Men #5 is my least favorite issue so far. I am not giving it a terrible score because I still like Tobin's vision. I like Jutte, Hadry, and Leo. I am sure things will pick up, and I hope to see the other members of the team. Where the hell are they? Fingers crossed they show up in issue #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Medisin #4

Sep 27, 2017

The countdown to the conclusion is on. The MEDICs are ready for war. The Lords of Discord have begun their assault. The biggest question is, will you be reading the next issue? I sure as hell will be!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Medisin #5

Oct 11, 2017

I highly recommend this book to anyone that wants to step outside the box and enjoy a different hero/villain story. The characters are what drive this book, proving that you don't always need to fill a comic book with action. Good drama can carry a comic just as well. Medisin is definitely worth your time to pick up and read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Medisin #6

Nov 29, 2017

Medisin is a comic that certainly deserves more attention than it has been getting. I highly recommend this book to anybody that is looking for a different type of superhero/super villain story. There's always room for new heroes".um, villains, and maybe Ethan and his team of doctors are the ones to answer the call. I look forward to a new Medisin story arc. Don't have us waiting too long, Jeff!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Misbegotten Runaway Nun #1

Sep 20, 2017

Misbegotten: Runaway Nun is a story that has quite a few interesting ideas, just horrible execution. The focus is scattered throughout the book. I don't know if I should care about the battle at the beginning, or if I should forget all about it and hope Monroe hooks up with J-clone. Maybe if the events were switched around in the order of the story, it would have been an easier read. But the best I can say is that the Runaway Nun needs to keep on running.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paradiso #1

Dec 6, 2017

I jumped ship on dystopian stories a couple of years ago, but Ram V and Pramanik have pulled me back in, if just momentarily to go on this journey they have laid out before me. Paradiso is a fun and creative story so far. If you are into dystopian or sci-fi stories, then you are doing yourself an injustice by skipping Paradiso #1. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paradiso #2

Jan 10, 2018

The mystery behind the characters alone is enough to pique any reader's interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paradiso #3

Feb 14, 2018

Paradiso is definitely a book that I highly recommend you checking out. I know I have said in the past that dystopian type stories have worn on me. But this has a different look than your run-of-the-mill dystopian world. It has just the right touch of science fiction to set it apart from the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #5

Aug 22, 2017

If you are looking for a twisted love story with massive amount of blood and gore, Plastic is the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Port of Earth #1

Nov 7, 2017

The first issue is full of setup, but the premise is very interesting. Kaplan may have another hit on his hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Port of Earth #2

Dec 13, 2017

The political drama is better than I expected, and we also have some action! And it all clicks, nothing feels forced. There is some seedy stuff that is about to happen behind the scenes at the ESA and I can't wait to see it all unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Port of Earth #3

Jan 9, 2018

When you hit up your shop this week, snag Port of Earth #3. Hell, grab the other two if you don't have them.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Robocop: Citizens Arrest #2

May 8, 2018

I am going to hold on for at least one more issue. Robocop is gearing up for a comeback tour, so I am hoping for the action to pick up. If you are a long time Robocop fan like me, you are more than likely going to have the same hang ups that I have. I can't really recommend this story so far. I put that decision in your hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Robocop: Citizens Arrest #3

Jun 13, 2018

If you are a Robocop fan and are enjoying this story, more power to you! I just couldn't do it. If you are new to Robocop, this is not the place to begin your journey with this legendary character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spirits of Vengeance (2017) #1

Oct 4, 2017

If you're a fan of just one of these characters then I highly recommend you checking Spirits of Vengeance out, you are in for a hell of a good time!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 6, 2017

This is aimed at younger readers and I am sure the ones that read it will absolutely love it. But for me, I will stay at the deeper end of the galaxy and the Star Wars stories that I have grown accustomed to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos (2016) #16

Feb 28, 2018

There are so many reasons for me to recommend the is book. If you are a fan of Ghost Rider or Punisher, this is a no-brainer to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Gingerdead Man Meets Evil Bong #1

Mar 20, 2018

If you love Full Moon Features and their stable of unique and obscene characters, then you are going to love this!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Hard Place #1

Aug 22, 2017

Overall the book isn't bad, I will most likely continue the story. I want to see what happens to AJ and I know that Wagner will flesh out the characters more once the story really gets going. So my faith is not lost in The Hard Place just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #2

Sep 26, 2017

It took the second issue to get my full attention, but I am ready for what Wagner and Rummel has to offer up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Hard Place #3

Oct 24, 2017

I feel like The Hard Place #3 takes the story back a step with the progression of the characters. In fact, there isn't any progression -- just some head scratching. I'm not jumping out of the car though. I'm buckled in for the long ride; I just hope that it all pays off at the end of this journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #4

Nov 21, 2017

Despite a couple of slow and head-scratching moments, The Hard Place has been an interesting take on a generic bank robbery tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Hard Place #5

Dec 19, 2017

Overall, The Hard Place was an enjoyable tale of a bank robbery gone sour. The action was intense, the characters were likable enough that I was cheering for them, and the pacing of the story worked. If you are a fan of Doug Wagner, then The Hard Place will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Venomverse: War Stories #1

Sep 6, 2017

Bottom line is go buy this book! Venomverse: War Stories #1 is a well written anthology with an all-star group of creators that you absolutely can't avoid reading! I was on the fence if I was going to check out the Venomverse series that is also being released the same day, but War Stories just violently shoved me off that fence! Venomverse, here I come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
VS #1

Jan 31, 2018

The characters are solid and the action is exciting -- and there is plenty of it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More