Girish Kumar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Galactica Reviews: 56
7.2Avg. Review Rating

6.5
A+X #1

Nov 4, 2012

The second was a bit more absurd. Hulk and Wolverine fight over a piece of Cake. A Piece of Cake? Seriously? Then the future versions of them arrive and they fight it out. The first page tells us not to focus on continuity. So, Hulk being in the Avengers Towers is to be ignored? But, the end of this is very good. It makes you wonder.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
A+X #4

Jan 27, 2013

This is the best issue of A+X ! Both the parts were equally enjoyable!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #692

Aug 24, 2012

Thenegatives of this issue were the introduction of Alpha. I don't know what they are going to do with him. Plus he stole The Thing's catch phrase “It's Clobbering time!” As soon as he said that I was thinking to myself- WHY THE HELL WOULD HE SAAY THAT? Alpha has clichd powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #694

Sep 27, 2012

The issue was okay. The art was also good. Dan Slott has written the story nicely, but the story fell flat at some points. The way they got rid of the alpha powers was disappointing. I would have liked if there was a face off between Spider and Alpha or something like that. For a story focusing on Alpha, he doesn't spend much time in spotlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #696

Oct 27, 2012

Max gets into Peter's lab and tries to help him. Know that he is a genius inventor, he comes across all his inventions ‘for spider man'. The whole issue is good. I really can't wait for issue #700. The big finale!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #697

Nov 17, 2012

Giuseppe Camuncoli does a great job with the art in this issue, especially the fight sequence between the two Hobgoblins. I'm surprised that Dan Slott hasn't run out of ideas for the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire: Lord of Nightmares #1

Jun 20, 2012

Dustin Nguyen has crested the characters soawesomely.The dialogues werevery good and the scenes were awesome too. If you love the American Vampire series, thenyou”denjoy this one too. Snyder, explores the history of the American Vampire. Since it's based in the real world, this series of comics is more interesting. The true intentions of the characters,is revealedonly at the end. And the climax gives you goose bumps.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers Vs. X-Men #8

Jul 19, 2012

There are only 4 issues left and they should progress in the story, if they want to end this series properly, to give way for their major post-AVX plans. It was an enjoyable read. Can't wait for the last 4 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Vs. X-Men #9

Aug 2, 2012

Kubert gives us some wonderfully detailed artwork. Jason knows how to use Kubert to his advantage. The scene where Colossus and Emma meet in the desert was just beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Avengers Vs. X-Men #10

Aug 17, 2012

This issue mainly focuses on Cyclops. We only see Cyclops moving from one threat to an other. Once he finishes the first he moves on. We usually get Wolverine, or Spider Man or someone such, to fill us on the details. This also had some inconsistencies.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
AVX: Consequences #4

Nov 4, 2012

But, as I mentioned before, it doesn't work as a whole. The Avengers don't have much to be focused upon either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batgirl (2011) #14

Nov 17, 2012

This was otherwise a very good issue, one that must not be missed

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #10

Jun 21, 2012

The scenes were awesomelyportrayed, which adds to the intensity of the plot. This series is like a psychological thriller, which just gets better with every issue. This issue answers many questions about the court of owls. And the last few pages were so awesomely awesome!. I have no words to describe how awesome it was!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2011) #12

Aug 10, 2012

All in all this was a very good issue, though not completely Batman oriented..

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

Scott Snyder's story shines in this issue. There's not much to hate. This is one of the best Batman books I've read. The artwork was just amazing. The cover art too was mind blowing!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 17, 2012

Throughout the issue, we are left wonderingwhether Joker know Batman's alter ego. We get our answer at the very end of the issue.The only negative of the issue was the back up story. It was quite disappointing. It wasn't as good as in the last issue. This one deals with the Joker meeting Penguin.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #0

Sep 27, 2012

While reading, I realized that there was a change in the art style; it was almost like reading another comic. I was wondering how this happened and then I turned to the cover and realized that there are two different writers for this! They have completely different styles and they do not mesh together! Both of them are great artists but only one should have done the artwork. So, I didn't like this issue much. It was a real low for the Batman series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #1

Jun 28, 2012

It isn't the best batman book on the stands. It could have been made better. But it still is awesome! The new villain is scary and the feel is like a classic comic. Now WHERE IS GORDON?! He was smoked by the boogeyman and then he saw hallucinations of his daughter.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #12

Aug 24, 2012

In this issue, I don't know where Hurwitz is going with the story. Sadly this was a disappointing issue. The next issue is the #0 and it will be a prequel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #13

Oct 28, 2012

The art was also wonderful. Finch's art matched the tone of the book. He made the Scarecrow look scary in this issue. He has shown horror in all the pages of this book. But at one point the art got a little boring. Anyway the book was good enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Before Watchmen: Comedian #1

Jun 22, 2012

Other than that a good issue. But praying that it gets better as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Before Watchmen: Comedian #2

Jul 27, 2012

In this Issue Comedian, goes to Vietnam. Where he enjoys himself in, well killing people. It was his exact sentiments in one of his dialogues. But at the end of the day, without Alan Moore, any watchmen series isn't going to be good. This is also the only one of the series, which doesn't deal with the origin story. But this is probably because he isn't one of the MAJOR characters from the original Watchmen series. Given that his death is the first scene in the movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan #1

Aug 24, 2012

All in all, this was an awesome one, and now, I'm excited for the next issue. We do not know whats going to happen till the final pages of the books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan #2

Oct 11, 2012

This issue was very good and easily one of the best Before Watchmen series'.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #1

Jun 28, 2012

I didn't like this one. The story was written all haphazardly. I just pray that the next one is better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #2

Aug 2, 2012

But other than the aforementioned problemsAndy & Joe Kubert have done amarvelous job with the story. I wonder how Rorshach's series would be since he is featured here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Before Watchmen: Rorschach #1

Aug 17, 2012

On the whole, this was the best Before Watchmen book, cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jun 15, 2012

The artwork in this comic was very good! The whole story was nicely written. It was a good follow up to The Minutemen #1 of last week. Amanda Conner's attention to detail, iscommendable. She has drawn even the objects in the fridge. She is truly talented!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Marvel (2012) #2

Aug 17, 2012

Dexter Soy has made this story so much better and enjoyable. Marvel should take such risks again and bring us some awesome material like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Marvel (2012) #3

Aug 31, 2012

The artwork by Dexter Soy has been flawless. He has depicted the characters awesomely. DeConnick's dialogue and story too are marvellous. There will be a point in the future issues, where Helen and Carol will meet. And by the looks of the one page comic at the end, it will have some consequences. The best thing for Marvel to do right now is to give tons of comics to DeConnick. This series has been stellar since the very first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Marvel (2012) #4

Sep 27, 2012

Just like the previous issues, the art is AMAZING. The ships and Cap's powers are drawn very well.Especiallywhen she is shot down by the large eye kind of ship, she gets ups and the whole scene in the comic looks blurred and so does the speech bubble. I think that was just genius. Also when she gets up and creates the energy field and destroys the ship, looked beautiful. The whole book was nicely drawn. Soy and Barrionevo have done a wonderful job. Kelly as usual shines in this. Her plot is just brilliant. She has made me fall in love with Captain Marvel as a character and because of her; she has become one of my most favorite characters in the Marvel Universe. This issue may not have been as exciting as the previous one but still it is an AWESOME one!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Captain Marvel (2012) #5

Oct 18, 2012

The artwork is also brilliant! This issue has one of the best artwork! This is also the best issue. Emma Rios is so awesome. The cover art was also fantastic. I really want to give a standing ovation to the team for such a wonderful comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Captain Marvel (2012) #6

Nov 3, 2012

Emma Rios is no less awesome; she too showcases her artistry in this issue. The last issue had very little action sequences and she handled it well. This had tons and she handled this wonderfully. This is becoming the best comic book series in the shops at this moment!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain Marvel (2012) #7

Nov 24, 2012

The digital art of Dexter Soy is amazing as usual. His use of digital inks is awesome. One striking panel sees Rambeau storm off after an argument, and Dexter gracefully illustrates her long trench coat waving behind her as she turns over her shoulder to deliver one final quip. Dexter's art style and pencil work is amazing. This series is going to be one of the best series of the year. Kelly Sue's run with Marvel has been fruitful. The story was also simple and easy to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain Marvel (2012) #8

Dec 23, 2012

Dexter Soy's art was amazing, as usual. He saved his best for last. Sadly, his art stint with Captain Marvel is over. But on the bright side, he has a gift for drawing giant robot. The robot was AWESOME! I hope his next job is doing more robots!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #1

Aug 3, 2012

This is an awesome series whereDeadpoolhas gone mad. The end brings out all of his madness but is stillbelievable. This issue has some comedic elements to it, but it just enhances the madness ofDeadpool.Daliborhelps sell his madness to us through his artwork in the issue. This seems to follow in the footsteps ofAVXand of Kill Bill. This also has a good deal of brutality in it too (thus the extra parental advisory given on the cover).

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #2

Aug 11, 2012

We were introduced to the newly maddened Deadpool in the previous issue. This issue, I'd expected some justification for the killings or something of such sort, but I got nothing. We know whats going to happen in this comic from the title itself, but what we want is something more interesting. Thesoliloquies of Deadpool are less than interesting. They don't provide any information into the character. What I liked was the commentary on how Deadpool is being used as a character. This issue wasn't too good. The story was badly written. And some of the scenes, the emotions of the characters looked melodramatic and they looked posed. I'm all up for killing Spiderman and getting rid of him as I don't like him, but they could have made it little more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #3

Aug 17, 2012

But, on the bright side,Dalibor Talajic'sartistic skills have become beter since the last issue. Thats the only good thing about this.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #4

Aug 24, 2012

The writer Cullen Bunn, has done some good work in the past, but this series isn't one of his shining moments. I wish I could erase the memory of this series from my mind. On the bright side the artwork was good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Detective Comics (2011) #12

Aug 2, 2012

He uses a jet pack in this issue which came from I don't know where. Tony Daniel does a better job at drawing than writing. The ending with Sgt. Bullock was a nice touch to clear the impression left by the disappointing story line. The good news is that the story is now going in a different direction and hopefully it's in a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2011) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2012

As I mentioned before, the dialogue was unintentionally silly at times. But the artwork od Romano and Pere was good. You can see the differences in the styles. Pere has a morestraightforward approach while Romano has a more loose and free style. This issue doesn't bring any new changes in the Bat-Universe. Hopefully, the next year for Detective comics would be much better that the previous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
FF (2012) #3

Jan 27, 2013

Other comic companies should learn from Marvel and put out more issues like this for us!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2011) #12

Aug 17, 2012

This was a very good issue. Really can't wait to see where this arc goes. By revealing that Hal will become a Black Lantern lot of things change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2011) #14

Nov 8, 2012

Simon Baz might just be the best thing that happened to the Green Lantern series. Mahnke should stay on the GL series as he has made this issue the high point of the GL series. The artwork is outstanding and the coloring of the issue was also awesome. They bring out the the darkness of certain scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #1

Sep 1, 2012

Back on earth, Hal is beating Black Hand, which Eric Van Sciver depicts nicely. The whole battle sequence was pretty good. Eric has done a very good job with the explosions in this issue. For beings who are supposed to be purged of all emotion, they sure are pretty angry. They want to create a third army after destroying all the other lanterns. The guardians have some good reason for creating a third army. This issue had made me more excited for October.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #12

Aug 17, 2012

The same problem, I had with the other GLC issues appears here too- there's way too much going on in the series. The Alpha's and Green Lanterns are the same color, and this causes a lot of confusion in the panels. But on the bright side, the issue ends with a funeral scene, which was very good. There is only one problem that remains, what happens to Stewart? The Alphas had sentenced him to death, just because they died, that doesn't mean that he is off the hook. We'd probably get to know what happens, in the issues to come. But the writer hasn't given us any clue to his plans for John Stewart.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Green Lantern: New Guardians #12

Aug 24, 2012

Other than that it was a good conclusion to the story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hit-Girl #1

Jun 28, 2012

All in all I though that this was an good first issue. It has a nice start. The dialogues are nice and the artist has done a great job in recreating the faces of Hit-Girl and Kickass. I hope it gets better with the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League #10

Jun 28, 2012

Graves' character is creepy and he has some wicked powers. He has slegitimatereason for hating the League. His back story was also shown nicely. The dialogues were good. Jim Lee, the artist, has done a great job with most of the panels, but he made Graves look like a villain who time travelled form the 90′s to face the JL. Most of the characters don't have much expression which leaves much to be desired. The villain make the super hero go through the same thing normal humans go through and I think that is just awesome. The last few scenes where Wonder Woman and Superman are attacke and they turn old was also quite cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League #12

Aug 31, 2012

This issue was a decent close to the first year of comics for Justice League though the previous issues haven't been so great

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Punisher: War Zone #1

Oct 27, 2012

I just hope that the art becomes better in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Saga #8

Dec 23, 2012

The whole issue was wonderful and funny and had some awesome and funny moments. An especially great moment comes once Marko stands up to his mom, quite forcefully, only to sneak a please in there at the end.Saga is the best comic I've read in my sixteen years. Fiona Staples' art was wonderful.. BKV ended it with a wonderful cliffhanger that makes you want the next issue right away!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Men #1

Jun 16, 2012

Issue #1 doesn't jump directly into the story, but this is just the first step to what might be an awesome series. It also is a good start for those who haven't read any of the Spider-man series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Talon #0

Sep 27, 2012

Tynions dialogues are awesome and his narrative is solid. He does spice up Calvin's personality. Court of Owls play a big role in this and he uses their disturbing nature to show us that they are one of the greatest villains ever. Guillem March has done a great job with the artwork. He brings out the horrific scenes of the court of owls nicely. His artwork was very good in this issue. I hope that Calvin will be an anchor for the second year of DC's The New 52..

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #1

Aug 24, 2012

Can't wait for the next one!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wonder Woman (2011) #16

Jan 27, 2013

The art was amazing! How much ever you praise Cliff Chiang, its not enough. He makes a scene as simple as two people talking in a bar and drinking, look spectacular. The mostimportantthing is that the emotions are never buried by his art.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More