GreenBasterd's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bloody Disgusting Reviews: 59
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Abe Sapien #2

May 2, 2013

Its just great having Abe back. This arc is only the beginning as this ongoing series while undoubtedly continue alongside BPRD and Hellboy in Hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abe Sapien #4

Jul 5, 2013

This series is one of my favourites of the year, and I cant wait to see where Abes path takes him in coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #5

Aug 9, 2013

Its a sad fact but Abe Sapien wont be back in his own ongoing until October, I dont know if this means that he will make appearances in other book along the way, but I am certain that we will miss this book in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #7

Nov 14, 2013

Month to month Im always excited for more Abe Sapien.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abe Sapien #9

Jan 10, 2014

If the Hellboy family books keep coming like this, my Best of 2014 list will lose vacancies quickly. “Abe Sapien” is an outstanding book that sets the tone for the coming year at Dark Horse.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Abe Sapien #10

Feb 14, 2014

I like where the story is going and the art is stellar, but I`m waiting for some more tie-in information to come to the front of Abe`s ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #11

Mar 13, 2014

This story line is really starting to tie into its two companion series. As the year rolls on I cant wait to see just what Mignola and the gang have in store for Abe Sapien.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Advance Deadly Harvest Graphic Novel #1

Jul 26, 2012

“Deadly Harvest” has a solid story line thus far and the idea behind the book itself gives it a good hook for any readers that enjoy a good scifi twist or even TV shows like “Deadliest Catch”. Its real easy to get in the characters heads while twists in the plot still leave it unpredictable, especially in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #106

Apr 18, 2013

This arc has not been my favourite arc from BPRD but it makes good ties to other books and elaborates on the Russian occult history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #108

Jun 20, 2013

I truly am enjoying this arc. The writing and the art are stellar, making this a top notch entry into the B.P.R.D. canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #111

Sep 20, 2013

Solid read, Liz Shermans Situation is getting real heavy and Im looking forward to seeing just what the story has in mind for her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #112

Oct 18, 2013

This week definitely blows the story wide open, and with only two issues remaining there is little doubt lots will be going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #114

Dec 20, 2013

A solid issue to cap off what has been an informative and entertaining story arc. Looking very much forward to 2014 and the forth coming Reign of the Black Flame.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth: Exorcism #1

Jun 29, 2012

Listen, if you havnt begun reading the Hell on Earth story line your are seriously starting to fall behind. Collect your pennies, beg on the corner, I dont care but get into your local shop and start powering through these books. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth: Exorcism #2

Jul 25, 2012

After this issue I dont know whats coming next from Mignola and the gang, but I look forward to it wholeheartedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Devil's Engine #2

Jun 20, 2012

Fun, fast paced, and a cliff hanger to boot! If youre not sold on following the “Hell on Earth” event, I dont know what kind of comics youre reading! Get in there!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Devil's Engine #3

Jul 19, 2012

There we have it, another story arc in the BPRD world comes to a close but dont let that get you down! With Exorcism next week ending that means a brand spanking new arc is right around the corner and I doubt this is the last weve seen of any of the characters involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Return of the Master #1

Aug 30, 2012

Mike Mignola and John Arcudi knock another issue out of the park. I cant wait for “Hell on Earth” to really start unraveling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Return of the Master #2

Sep 28, 2012

It's becoming clear that Mignola has less to do with the “B.P.R.D.” books, but the Hell on Earth event proves that he's put his faith in good hands. Given how far into this event we are, shit will be hitting the fan anytime now…Hopefully. With 3 issues left in this arc, the story should start to pick up its pace next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #4

Jun 28, 2013

Im incredibly impressed by how far this book has come from its first issue to now. Gabriel B and Fbio Moon have showcased their abilities as both writers and artists. This book finishes with a decent cliff hanger so it will be interesting to see how the final installment plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: Chapel Of Bones #1

Jan 3, 2014

Though the pace is deliberate, fans of the series will dig the reveal of the Chapel of Bones. 2014 is shaping up to be an intense year for Baltimore.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: Chapel Of Bones #2

Feb 7, 2014

Ben Stenbeck working in tandem with Dave Stewart gives this book the extra oomf it needs, with so much action going on it's the little details that for me are the most appealing. In many of the panels there are surging flames or skeletons transforming into dust but even the simplest put of dust is penciled into the illustration. I've been praising Dave Stewart for years and this book is just one of the many testaments to his skills as he puts panels with powerful colours next to ones with dark ones and shadows.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bedlam #1

Nov 1, 2012

Bedlam has a lot of potential, though the story was confusing at times the ending tied together well, leaving so much room for the creative team to run free. The issue is also extra-sized, which gives you an extra bang for your buck. Every fan of the horror genre should read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bedlam #2

Nov 30, 2012

“Bedlam” is like a 7-layer nacho dip. It has many different layers that are becoming more mixed together and there's no end in sight. Not lacking violence and gore either, this book has potential to become one of my favorite reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bedlam #11

Jan 24, 2014

“Bedlam” has slowly gone from the top of my reading list to the bottom. Hopefully the ship will be find its course again so I can jump back on the boat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #1

Aug 3, 2012

Ain't no D-listers on this one, Mr. Liefeld.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ex Sanguine #1

Oct 18, 2012

Seeley is on a mission to deliver a new take on love and vampirism, and it's coming up roses thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ex Sanguine #2

Nov 18, 2012

Though this book does centre around a love story (not my usual cup of tea) Im really enjoying the direction it is going, as well as the different creative elements that set it apart from other vamp comics. Dark Horse is quickly solidifying their rep as the big boss in horror comics and this book is just another example of their dominance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ex Sanguine #3

Dec 15, 2012

This book is definitely a hit in my eyes with a fresh story that can draw in different types of horror hounds. Vampires tend to be overdone but this book does major justice to the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extermination #1

Jun 8, 2012

“Extermination” #1 is quick and fun read that brings something new to the superhero genre. BOOM! has something on their hands with this one and it will be a treat to see how the characters compromise their respective codes and give into their survival instincts.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
GRIMM #1

May 9, 2013

The book takes a while to establish itself, but there is potential here. I look forward to issue #1 in hopes that it can build up some steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harvest #1

Aug 3, 2012

A.J. Lieberman and Colin Lorimer have outdone themselves, and are pushing the boundaries of horror comics. Not only was I impressed by the entertainment value, but the art itself is beyond the level of many comics out there today. The sheer awesomeness of the book makes Harvest the new go to for horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harvest #2

Sep 5, 2012

Harvest has me hook, line and sinker. This is shaping up to be one of the year's most refreshing horror stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harvest #3

Oct 4, 2012

Harvest is a very fresh take on a theme that is rarely touched on in any artistic medium. Any horror fan should love this book for its creativity and art, though this issue lacks the gore that we have come to love from Lorimer the story is still as twisted as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harvest #4

Nov 8, 2012

Harvest fits its own niche and set a precedent for anyone who is thinking of dropping a book with a similar premise. If youre a horror fan and you havent read this book yet I dont know what youre waiting for, only one more left to cap it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy in Hell #1

Dec 6, 2012

Whether this is your first time or youre a diehard fan, Hellboy In Hell is the kicker to a very big chapter in not only Hellboys world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy in Hell #5

Dec 6, 2013

A slower issue overall, but Im not to worried about it. With so much going on in the Mignolaverse Hellboy will surely play a predominant role.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hoax Hunters #3

Sep 13, 2012

The second and third issues of “Hoax Hunters” have rounded out the book. As the story plods along and the team gets closer to solving the case, there's no doubt the level of danger will increase as well. A solid read for anyone who wants jump into a new book thats only going to get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lord of the Jungle Annual #1

May 25, 2012

Lets get into the nitty gritty, Sergio Fernandez Davilas art style, I can't say is overly impressive. He brings a classic cartoony animation that I would associate with most average artists in comics. Im not saying it was bad, it certainly suited that story, it just wasnt anything to call home about. Aside from that, Santosh Kumar Raths colouring helps to kick things up with lots of bright colours in the outdoor atmosphere, and a darkened element as the situation changes from one of happy freedom to captivity. As a side note, very good job on the blood; if you read the book youll know the part of the story I'm talking about.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mars Attacks #4

Sep 28, 2012

From the first issue, the writing and illustrations have been top notch, with no shortage of comical violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monster & Madman #1

Mar 14, 2014

With its combination of unique style and clever writing, I am impressed with this issue. There is only room for growth as the story arc trundles on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monster & Madman #2

Apr 3, 2014

Overall, a brilliant second issue to the story arc; both characters are developing quickly along with the plot. This is a must for horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Pariah #1

Feb 27, 2014

“Pariah” has a lot of potential and even though the first issue leaves some to be desired. There's something about the book that makes me want more, I'm just not sure what it is yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #3

May 18, 2012

As for the art by Fiona Staples, it is genuinely impressive how well it suits the story. Her clear cut lines, tedious characters faces, coupled sketchy lines for clothing and other elements of the environment compliment one another well. This is a deadly duo that will go down in the history books as one of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #5

Mar 21, 2013

Another home run is put into the books for Saga, Ill just quietly lock myself into my room and cry softly till next months issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #8

Dec 20, 2012

“Saga”, potentially my favourite book in circulation, has so many different genre elements in it. I dare say the creative genius behind it rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien and Frank Herbert. This hasn't been much of a review, but more of a spewing of my love for the series. It's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #12

Apr 11, 2013

If youve read my reviews before, you know this book is the be all end all of my existence, hate it or love it you have to appreciate what BKV and Fiona are doing for not only the genre but for comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #13

Aug 15, 2013

If you can't tell, I absolutely love "Saga" and have since day one, not only because of the creativity within the art and story itself, but because the universe is vast, complicated, and genuinely awesome. A little something has been missing in my life these past few months, and this week I got it back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #16

Nov 28, 2013

Every issue is a genuine pleasant surprise. This one is no different and I can guarantee the next will be even more extreme.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #17

Dec 19, 2013

There's no doubt that “Saga” has hit its climax, but I cant wait to witness the fallout in the new year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samurai Jack #1

Oct 25, 2013

"Jack" fans have waited a long time for the return of their beloved samurai, and the creative team offers a solid start. At this point, it's hard to say if the series could sustain itself as an ongoing, but time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sledgehammer '44 #1

Mar 14, 2013

Im pretty impressed with this book, I know both these guys can put together quite the epic tale and this one has potential to rank up with the rest of their work.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Spawn #223

Sep 6, 2012

The issue ultimately lacks heart and action. I was craving more carnage and less talk, but the cliffhanger ending offers hope that next issue will pack more of a punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Chosen #1

Oct 25, 2012

Chosen is fast paced, action pack and as the story that grows from dark to ugly. Im really liking where this book is heading and with only two issues remaining the story will surely pick up its pace if thats possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Creep #0

Aug 2, 2012

Great creativity in both the idea and its artistic paneling, but it does lack the bang for your buck factor as it's not the most exciting tale. There is potential in this story, and Arcudi is known for his creativity, so as a fan of Dark Horse I'm hoping the next one will bring a little bit more pow!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Tower Chronicles: GeistHawk #1

Oct 3, 2012

It should be noted that this is a beautifully published volume. It's a 68-page story, no ads, a nice cover, interior flaps, and thick pages all for under ten bucks. It's well worth the cash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valen the Outcast #7

Jun 15, 2012

If you havent picked up “Valen”, what are you waiting for? Action packed, fast pace, and an intricate story that I know will leave you craving the next issue. As this one comes to an end I can only wait in anticipation for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade: Demon Reborn #1

Aug 16, 2012

The final few pages coupled with the art should make any Witchblade fans proud of Dynamite's work. It's two great issues for the price of one, which is always a good thing in my books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade: Demon Reborn #2

Aug 31, 2012

As far as art goes, issue #1 is top notch, the story however is developing a slower than I hoped for such a short miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More