Gregory Paul Silber's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 68
7.3Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (2016) #957

Jun 8, 2016

While Action Comics #957 isn't a masterpiece, it's difficult to find much to complain about. The biggest problem is that it still has a complicated premise that may baffle new readers, yet it uses this strange situation to its advantage. If you're willing to overlook how convoluted DC's current canon is–which you should, because that isn't this particular comic's fault–I wholeheartedly recommend jumping onto Action Comics right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All Time Comics: Crime Destroyer #1

Mar 1, 2017

Look, I'm sure that Bayer and company are having fun, and seeing such a fantastic version of Herb Trimpe's art makes this issue worth the price of admission alone. If you have an affection for superhero comics of a certain era, you may get a kick out of All Time Comics: Crime Destroyer, but if you like this kind of thing, you might be better off reading Jack Kirby's Captain America run from the 1970's first instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
All-New All-Different Avengers #0

Oct 6, 2015

If you're a completist and plan on getting any of the comics previewed here anyway, you may find something worthwhile, and even a few pleasant surprises, in Avengers #0. If you're just looking for great stories from a sampling of some of the top names in superhero comics, though, you're likely to be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
American Blood #1

Sep 29, 2016

American Blood is far too rough around the edges for me to recommend with the fervor that I did with Terror Assaulter: O.M.W.O.T. The collection may be of interest if you already know that you enjoy Marra's work, but if you already read Terror Assaulter and want more comics in that vein, you're probably better off just tracking down Gangsta Rap Posse (both the first and second issues) while they're still available as single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Angry Birds Comics #1

Jun 11, 2014

If the idea of reading comics about Angry Birds sounds too silly for you, Angry Birds Comics probably won't change your mind. But if you have kids that are fans of the franchise, they may get a kick out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Another Castle #1

Mar 4, 2016

Another Castle #1 is refreshingly progressive, refreshingly kid-friendly, and most importantly, refreshingly fun. Buy this for a prince or princess in your life"just be sure to treat yourself to it first.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Axe Cop: American Choppers #1

May 14, 2014

If a comic's greatness can be judged purely on the virtue of its entertainment value (which, in most cases, should probably be the case), then Axe Cop is one of the greatest comics ever conceived.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

While the art holds it back, Batman's latest debut issue remains promising thanks to Tom King's confident, capable hand. I plan on buying the next issue, and the issue after that. So should you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

Batman #7 kicks off "Night of the Monster Men" in spectacular fashion, with some great action tempered by quieter, yet effective character moments. It's comfortably familiar and accessible while refreshingly new, with innovative takes on old concepts. In other words, it's emblematic of what DC's Rebirth has been getting right.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

Read this for King's lyrical dialogue, his emotional honesty, his willingness to show us recognizable humanity through the lens of colorful superheroes even as that sounds like the stupidest endeavor on the planet. Read it for Mikel Janin, Becky Cloonan, Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez, Tim Sale, Neal Adams, and a host of other exceptional artists proving once again that superhero comic book art is still art, goddamn it. Read it because you believe that corporate-owned superhero comics can mean more than an endless sea of profit driven by movies, video games, and toys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Widow (2016) #1

Mar 2, 2016

Though it has little semblance of plot and is almost completely devoid of pathos, Black Widow #1 brings to the table some of the most exciting action that comics are capable of for an impressive debut.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bloodshot & H.A.R.D. Corps #18

Jan 9, 2014

Bloodshot and H.A.R.D. Corps #18 suffers from mediocre art and clumsy writing, but a sense of humor and some compelling ideas may still convince some readers to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Champions #1

Oct 5, 2016

While Champions #1 perhaps tries to accomplish too much in one issue, it looks like it's shaping up to be yet another winner from one of the most consistently impressive superhero writers in comics. I don't think I've ever read a comic by Mark Waid that I didn't like, and I'd be shocked if that changed with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Horse Presents #30

Nov 22, 2013

If you've been following this series, you may want to defer to critics that have as well. If you're a newcomer like me, I'll tell you this: there are enough interesting moments here to make it worth a try, but I'm not holding my breath for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dark Horse Presents (2014) #1

Aug 19, 2014

It's not perfect, but this new Dark Horse Presents #1 hits more than it misses. Pick it up for the showcase of artistic talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dark Horse Presents (2014) #2

Sep 17, 2014

While Dark Horse Presents #2 doesn't have as strong a hit-to-miss-ratio as the first issue, there's still enough good material here to justify a purchase. The "Action Philosophers" feature alone may be worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Dark Horse Presents (2014) #3

Oct 15, 2014

With only one truly standout story, Dark Horse Presents #3 is hard to recommend, even to readers that followed the first two issues. Still, the great thing about an anthology format like this is that there's so much potential for things to improve in the next issue. So, if you're an optimist, don't give up on this series just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jul 12, 2016

Dark Night: A True Batman Story is the kind of memoir that I wish I had written first. But if someone else had to get to it before me, I'm glad that it's this good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Day Men #2

Dec 12, 2013

Day Men #2 disappoints as an individual issue, but there's enough good stuff here to give reason for patient readers to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

Despite my nitpicking, this is a strong follow-up to a great opening issue. I haven't decided yet if this is a comic that I'm going to be following for the long-haul (not when there are so many other great books coming out right now from DC), but I'll certainly be picking up the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 10, 2016

As for non-Deathstroke fans, this is well worth a try, even if "no, especially if"a comic about a merciless killer that goes around stabbing and shooting people for money doesn't sound like your cup of tea. This is a smart, ambitious, thematically rich debut, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2011) #27

Jan 10, 2014

Batman: Detective Comics #27 is far from perfect, but there's enough good stuff in here to justify the $7.99 price tag.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 8, 2017

Detective Comics #950 is essentially just an ordinary issue of Detective Comics that just happens to be nearly twice as long, but by no means is that a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doctor Spektor: Master Of The Occult #1

May 30, 2014

Doctor Spektor: Master of the Occult will probably not reach the heights of other Mark Waid projects like Daredevil and Kingdom Come, but it's nonetheless an intriguing premise with a fun execution, albeit with some mediocre art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
EGOs #2

Feb 14, 2014

Frankly, I couldn't follow much of what was going on in this issue and the previous one, partly because it was so hard for me to care about the characters. Stuart Moore has said that the marriage of Pixel and Deuce is particularly interesting to him, but Saga this is not. I don't buy Pixel and Deuce as a couple. I don't even buy them as a couple that isn't right for each other. They just seem to be two people that were thrown into a marriage for the purposes of a story, with no plausible reason for why they would have been drawn to each other in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Oz #4

Nov 13, 2013

If you're a part of what seems to be the target audience for Zenescope comics, it's hard to imagine that Oz #4 will give you what you're looking for. If you're just hoping for a compelling story with believable characters, you'll be even more disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Indestructible Hulk #16

Nov 29, 2013

Mahmud Asrar is no Walt Simonson, but he still does a more-than-capable job of keeping with the general aesthetic that several previous artists have lent to this run, while still providing his own distinctive touch. It's expressive and dynamic, yet he doesn't fall into the same traps that many artists use to convey such energy " namely, needlessly confusing layouts and tastelessly harsh lines. My only real complaint is that his depiction of Banner seems a bit off. He looks at least a decade younger than previous artists on this series have portrayed, and in some panels he looks like a completely different person than he looks in others.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Indestructible Hulk Annual #1

Dec 5, 2013

If you like Hulk and/or Iron Man even a little bit, you'll likely have good time with Indestructible Hulk Annual #1, but even those who have been following the main series won't miss much if they skip it either.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Inhumanity #2

Jan 30, 2014

Inhumanity #2 isn't a terrible comic, but at best it's a missed opportunity. Matt Fraction seemed to have everything he needed to make a great comic: great artists, great ideas, and a great deal of talent. One can't help but wonder how things may have turned out had Marvel given him greater freedom.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Juice Squeezers #4

Apr 4, 2014

The bug-squishing antics of Juice Squeezers should entertain younger audiences, but the dose of adrenaline that the series finally receives in its last issue isn't enough to save the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Klaus #2

Dec 16, 2015

Regardless of your bias and expectations, there's no denying that this is a fun comic with some gorgeous art. It should help get you into the Christmas spirit, but I also hope that people won't let the end of the holiday season stop them from sticking with this series to the end. I'm excited to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Low #1

Jul 30, 2014

Remender's story has potential, but Tocchini's art is so hard to follow that it significantly detracts from this comic's enjoyableness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Magnus: Robot Fighter #1

Mar 13, 2014

It's okay. There's a surprising amount of talent on display, especially on the visual side, although Van Lente needs to find his footing soon before readers lose interest. Fred, my man, you're too uptight. This is a comic about robot fighting. Lighten up and have some fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Miracleman #1

Jan 16, 2014

Miracleman #1 is not Alan Moore's most impressive work, and Mick Anglo's original Marvelman comics have not aged as well as one would hope. Nonetheless, the artwork is strong throughout, and there is plenty of reason to believe that this series will eventually become the tour de force that we've been told it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nailbiter #1

May 7, 2014

Though it's a long way from greatness, Nailbiter #1 proves that, at the very least, its creators know how to do horror. I'd call that an accomplishment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Negative Space #1

Jun 11, 2015

Negative Space is the most promising new science fiction series I've encountered since Saga. If you've ever been depressed, or felt like the universe is conspiring against you, you need to pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Negative Space #2

Sep 22, 2015

Negative Space #2 may be a much different comic than the first issue, but that doesn't make it any less great. This is one of the most thematically rich pieces of sci-fi that you could hope to read, and it looks absolutely gorgeous. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Negative Space #3

Jan 28, 2016

Sweet, smart, and darkly humorous, Negative Space remains an under-the-radar gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Negative Space #4

Apr 18, 2016

With an off-putting, yet fitting ending, Negative Space #4 culminates in one of the greatest depictions of depression that I have ever come across in fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightworld #1

Aug 7, 2014

It may not be very accessible, but Nightworld provides a uniquely dark, romantic experience unlike anything else on the stands right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! #1

Dec 28, 2015

Patsy Walker, A.K.A Hellcat #1 is a near perfect first issue. While not a masterpiece, it's a charming, fast-paced, and consistent comic that will have you coming back for more with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Popeye Classics #16

Nov 14, 2013

This is fantastic. In a brilliant display of economy, readers are acclimated to Popeye's current status quo with a premise that's simple enough for new readers to understand, yet intriguing enough to make them want to keep reading, without suggesting that they are missing crucial elements of the story if they didn't read prior issues. However, it also gives a great incentive for readers to catch up on earlier issues. Who doesn't want to find out how Popeye got the power to speak to animals?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #1

Feb 18, 2016

Sweet Christmas. This is everything you would want out of a first issue. If you have any interest in these characters at all, or even if you've never heard of them, give Power Man and Iron Fist #1 a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Rai #2

Jun 4, 2014

Rai #2 has some good things going for it, but it commits the one of the worst sins that a comic (or pretty much any piece of entertainment) can make (aside from, I don't know, giving the reader cancer): it's boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Saga #16

Nov 30, 2013

As exceptional a comic as Saga continues to be, it still feels a bit over-praised (heresy, I know, but can you please put your pitchforks down for a moment and here me out? Thanks). Make no mistake, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better ongoing series on the stands right now, but let's ease up a bit on the "BEST COMIC EVER" rhetoric, okay, internet? It's not unlikely that ten or fifteen years from now, after the series finally comes to its conclusion and the dust of the hype settles a bit, that we'll all be looking back at Saga as the next generation's Sandman. But for now, let's just enjoy Saga for what it is: a great comic that fails to shatter every notion of sequential art that came before it, but succeeds in just about every other way a comic book can.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #19

May 22, 2014

This is one of the best issues of Saga yet, which is saying a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sexcastle #1

Mar 11, 2015

Sexcastle is a stellar example of comics' capacity for humor and action. If there is any part of you that enjoys seeing (fictional) people get punched in the face, read this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shadowman #13

Dec 5, 2013

I won't be adding it to my pull list any time soon, but Shadowman definitely seems like something I could get into, so perhaps I'll explore Jack Boniface's world a bit more in the trade collections. If you're interested in psychological horror, dark fantasy, or noir-style mystery, Shadowman #13 is worth a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Southern Bastards #1

Apr 30, 2014

Absolutely. I'll definitely be reading the next issue, and probably several more after that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Southern Bastards #2

May 30, 2014

Southern Bastards is one of the best new comics on the stands. Get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Slammers #1

Mar 31, 2014

There's a bit too much going on for Star Slammers Re-Mastered #1 to work as a first issue, but the exciting premise combined with spectacular art should still be enough to make readers want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman Unchained #7

Jul 3, 2014

Superman Unchained #7 isn't the best that this series has had to offer, but with some deftly handled action, it's enough to make readers want to come back for more. I know I will.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Superman: Rebirth #1 doesn't have much in the way of plot or action, so if you want to jump into an exciting new Superman comic in media res, you may have to wait until Superman #1 in a few weeks. But if you want a transition from the previous series to the current series, or a crash course on what Superman's been up to, you could do a lot worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Delinquents #3

Oct 21, 2014

It's a heck of an accomplishment if a creative team is able to make me laugh out loud once in a twenty page comic. I laughed out loud several times during my reading of this issue, sometimes more than once per page.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
The Eltingville Club #1

Apr 23, 2014

No. It's as bad as that time that time something something Gambit something something (crude sexual act) something something (genetalia related obscenity).

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Fifth Beatle: The Brian Epstein Story #1

Nov 20, 2013

As for me, as questionable as The Fifth Beatle can be at times, I was immensely satisfied by the time I finished it. I didn't expect to find so many connections between Brian's struggles as a manager and my struggles as a writer. I didn't expect to gain a newfound respect for the "suits" of the music industry, so often portrayed as the villains of artistic expression. I didn't expect to feel so moved by events that I knew were coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Illegitimates #1

Dec 19, 2013

With an interesting concept and a solid creative team, The Illegitimates still has potential to spare, but this debut issue is inexcusably expository.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Maxx: Maxximized #2

Dec 11, 2013

Like its debut issue, The Maxx: Maxximized #2 is rough around the edges, but there's no denying its sheer visceral thrills. It's an odd, unsettling piece of psychosexual horror that actually seems to have something to say. If you missed this gem during its first run, here's your second chance to experience the beautiful madness of Sam Kieth.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Midas Flesh #1

Dec 19, 2013

Fans of Ryan North's comedic work may be disappointed by the slow-burning science fiction of The Midas Flesh #1, but with its ambitious ideas, snappy dialogue, and delightful artwork, there's ample reason to believe that patient readers will be rewarded for coming back for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Paybacks #1

Sep 17, 2015

Though I hope that this comic adds some emotional depth in later issues, at the moment, it's getting by on action and humor. If you're looking for a fun twist on the superhero genre by a fresh new creative team, you should give The Paybacks a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Wicked + The Divine #1

Jun 18, 2014

This is a solid start to what could likely become an innovative, stylish new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thor: God of Thunder #19.NOW

Feb 12, 2014

Jason Aaron certainly has a great sense of humor, but he's still telling a high-adventure, action-oriented story, which Esad Ribic portrays beautifully. Aaron's writing tends to be pretty dense in this series (which is definitely a good thing), but when Ribic has a large panel to work with, you can be sure that he's going to make it count. Ribic's had some stiff competition from guest artists like Ron Garney and Nic Klein, but he makes a welcome return to Thor: GOT's interior pages with this issue.Is it Good?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Transformers vs. G.I. Joe #1

Jul 23, 2014

Whether you've been a fan of Transformers and/or G.I. Joe for years or if you've somehow never heard of the franchises, Transformers vs. G.I. Joe is definitely worth picking up. Just try to get your hands on the (free!) zero-issue first.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Trees #2

Jun 25, 2014

With its utterly brilliant concept, Trees has the potential to be a great series, but with inappropriate art and lack of character focus, the second issue is a disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Turok: Dinosaur Hunter #2

Mar 6, 2014

I want to like this series, but until a better artist steps in, I can't justify spending time and money on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.5
Twilight Zone #1

Jan 2, 2014

Given the durability of the franchise with the freedom and potential it offers storytellers, it's inexcusable for The Twilight Zone #1 to be such a mess. It's bloated, boring, and pretentious, with art that only further ruins an already weak story. Skip this and watch the original series. Something something something" in The Twilight Zone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman: Earth One #1

Apr 5, 2016

Wonder Woman: Earth One is a sexy, daring take on the character that brings Diana back to her roots while giving her a breath of fresh air. It's problematic, to be sure, but I admire it for taking risks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Gold #1

Nov 14, 2013

X-Men: Gold has some major flaws (even by anthology standards), but the better moments are strong and plentiful enough to satisfy any X-Men fan. Here's to fifty more, indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

4th

February

More