John Hays's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 124
7.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
52 #1

May 14, 2006

The Resolution: Did you ever get annoyed when you were young and people told you that you had great potential? It essentially means that, while you COULD do great things some day, you havent actually done anything just yet to truly prove yourself one way or the other. Nevertheless, thats exactly what I have to say about this first issue. 52 Week One shows definite potential, both with the creative team gathered as well as the initial plot hooks, but at this point, its still too early to really love or despise it. To do either just yet wouldnt really be fair to the series. I read great things from DC about what will happen, and I expect great stories based on the past works of the creators involved. I just hope that the novelty of the uniqueness of this project doesnt ever get in the way of solid storytelling, and that, a few years down the road, each of the creators involved can look to 52 as their defining piece of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #2

May 19, 2006

The Resolution: Alright, now were talking. I really enjoyed getting my feet wet with each of these stories, and cant wait to see where they lead. Of course, since the title IS weekly and has so much ground to cover, it might be a while before we get back to all of these particular plots, but theres plenty of time, and I would wager that whatever new plots are introduced next week will be just as engaging. Is it week three yet???

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #4

Jun 2, 2006

Answers to these burning questions surely await usin week five!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #5

Jun 9, 2006

All of these questions and many more are sure to be addressed in future installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #7

Jun 23, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #8

Jun 30, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #9

Jul 7, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #10

Jul 14, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #11

Jul 21, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #12

Jul 28, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
52 #13

Aug 4, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #14

Aug 11, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #15

Aug 18, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #17

Sep 1, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
52 #18

Sep 8, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #19

Sep 15, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #20

Sep 22, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #21

Sep 29, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #22

Oct 6, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #23

Oct 13, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #24

Oct 20, 2006

By the way, as Jim stated in his review, BIG THINGS COMING TO THE 52 REVIEWS!! Stay tuned!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #25

Oct 27, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #26

Nov 3, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #27

Nov 10, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
52 #28

Nov 17, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #30

Dec 1, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #31

Dec 8, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #32

Dec 15, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #33

Dec 22, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
52 #34

Dec 29, 2006

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #35

Jan 5, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #36

Jan 12, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #37

Jan 19, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #38

Jan 26, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #39

Feb 2, 2007

(3 of 3)But definitely something to keep an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #40

Feb 9, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #41

Feb 16, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #42

Feb 23, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
52 #43

Mar 2, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
52 #44

Mar 9, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #45

Mar 16, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #46

Mar 23, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #47

Mar 30, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
52 #48

Apr 6, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
52 #49

Apr 13, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
52 #50

Apr 20, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the upcoming installments of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
52 #51

Apr 27, 2007

We can only hope that these and other questions will be addressed in the FINAL installment of 52!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
52 #52

May 4, 2007

Will I return to continue the weekly reviews of Countdown? Thats actually up to you guys. Let me know your thoughts. Id like to shake it up somehow, set this review apart from the others a bit more. Gimme some feedback, folks!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Abra Cadaver: The Afterlife Adventures of Harry Houdini #1

Aug 20, 2006

Overall, I was disappointed with the story. I was really looking for a more serious, realistic take on what Harry Houdini might be up to in the afterlife, not some story about him being drawn into hell before hes even dead, just to end up back on Earth in Germany. I dont recall Germany being part of the afterlife. I dont think Ill be reading any more of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics #833

Nov 18, 2005

I really like that the Queen of Fables has been brought back, but I just hope that the next issue really cranks things up a notch when she starts bringing out the Kryptonian fables. One last thing to add would be that, when I made mention of Byrne using his Kryptonian style for the queens garb at the end as opposed to Waids Birthright style, Simone responded with That was my requestwait and see!.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Superman #1

Nov 20, 2005

Overall, I enjoyed this issue, much more so than the first issue of All Star Batman and Robin, the Boy Wonder. I like Grants original idea on how to kill Superman and am interested in seeing what other outrageous surprises he has in store for us as we go along.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Superman #2

Jan 29, 2006

Overall, Im really enjoying the storyline; I just hope we get to see the payoffs for everything Grant is setting up here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #647

Dec 5, 2005

Overall, its a good issue with plenty of tough choices on Batmans part, which always makes for good reading. Alfred narrates the early part of the story, pointing out the basic differences between what makes Jasons style work and what makes Bruces style work just as effectively. Watching Bruce and Jason work together again is rather nostalgic, until the other shoe drops and Bruce realizes just how much things have changed. I cant wait to see how Batman intends on ending this situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Birds of Prey (1998) #87

Oct 24, 2005

Overall, its a good issue. Theres just enough plot movement with The Calculator to make you feel engaged, as opposed to some titles where the first part of a multi-part storyline is extremely slow, and the subtle hint that there might be more good news for Barbara in the future is probably what long time readers have been hoping for. This issue was good enough for me to be on board for the length of the storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Forest 2 #1

Oct 5, 2005

Overall, I really enjoyed the story, and would like to go back at some point and pick up the first issue to get a better feel for the characters involved, and I also hope they continue the series because I cant wait to find out what happens to Jack and Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Harvest #1

Nov 15, 2005

I have very little idea of what is going on in this story, but in this case, thats a plus and makes me want to definitely come back for the next issue. I think Josh has a real winner on his hands here. In his own words, it combines sci-fi, old religion, and horror in a unique and suprising way, and I cant wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Atom: Armageddon #2

Nov 22, 2005

Overall, this is a great way for new readers to get a tour of the Wildstorm universe. This issue was stronger than the last because we are introduced to more characters, and the storyline is developing nicely. I cant wait until the big climax issue where Captain Atom meets up with the Authority, alluded to by Mr. Majestic in this issue. Good stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cry Wolf #1

Oct 31, 2005

I like the idea of this origin story, and am interested in seeing if it carries into an ongoing series. I dont know of many ongoing series set in the twenties, so the combination of the time period and the unique abilities of the main character could make for a successful series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Day of Vengeance Infinite Crisis Special #1

Jan 13, 2006

Overall, this was a great wrap-up to the Day of Vengeance mini series. It provided closure to the various plot points, while keeping the door open for the eventual ongoing Shadowpact series. I can only hope that the other specials are have this good of a showing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Defenders (2005) #2

Aug 19, 2005

I was considering 1BULLET here, but Kevin Maguires art is top notch as always, and the cover is entertaining, so I added a second bullet. I cant believe I just wrote a mostly negative review for some of my favorite writers, and I sincerely hope that this issue is a deviation from the rest of the mini series and that the boys can get back into their groove with the next issue. As others have mentioned online, Id love for these guys to get their hands on the original Avengers: dumb Hulk, yellow Iron Man, Ant Man, Wasp, and Thor. Now THAT would be rich material for some BWAHAHA!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Defenders (2005) #3

Oct 4, 2005

Overall, its a pretty amusing issue. I just wish that Giffen and DeMatteis would give up trying to balance drama and humor and let this particular miniseries explode into the full-on humor that made their JLI run so lighthearted and fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dracula vs. King Arthur #2

Sep 7, 2005

This comic was quite different than what I had expected, but was very well done. The writing, as mentioned, was surprisingly seemless, and the art fit the forboding mood quite well. While Im not sure if I will continue with the series, I would definitely suggest picking it up if you are a fan of either mythology.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Drax #1

Sep 25, 2005

Overall its an interesting premise. I just hope that Giffens busy schedule coming up doesnt take away from the quality or timeliness of this work. I guess well have to just keep reading to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Firestorm #20

Dec 21, 2005

Overall, this is a really good storyline. In its own small way, from what I read about where its going in terms of Firestorms personal growth, it will end up being a bit like James Robinsons space arc in Starman, in that Jason will come back a much more mature person and hero. I cant wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Freshmen #3

Dec 6, 2005

(If you wish to better understand this report, be sure to pick up Freshmen each month from Top Cow!)

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fusion Anthology #1

Jan 17, 2006

Overall I cant recommend this anthology, at least not at this price. With each story only being about three pages long, making it cost just a few dollars like a DC Countdown would make much more sense and probably grab a larger share of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
G.I. Joe Sigma 6 #1

Dec 20, 2005

This is not a series I would buy, nor would I buy it for a younger reader when I dont see any problem with the current G.I. Joe series as it is. The regular series is not graphic in its violence, and the storylines are engaging, making you highly anticipate the next issue. At the end of this issue, I really had no anticipation for the next issue. Thats not a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe Special Missions: Manhattan #1

Apr 13, 2006

Overall I really liked this first issue. It allowed me to become more familiar with second tier characters, and it even had a full listing of all reserve Joes. Thats worth price of admission alone! I would just think twice about the art team next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Joe vs. Transformers: The Art of War #1

Apr 3, 2006

Overall, Id say this is a good start to a promising storyline. I do hope, however, that the mysteries found in this issue are explained at some point, and not simply due to lack of retelling previous minis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
G.I. Joe vs. Transformers: The Art of War #3

Sep 5, 2006

Overall, this issue seemed like it wanted to hit a lot of markers, like Snake Eyes being with Scarlett, Optimus talking with Hot Rod, and Serpentor rallying the troops, but I just dont see a real depth to the underlying plot, and Im so far disappointed by this miniseries as a whole. I hope things get better soon, or else this might end up being the last pairing of these franchises for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe: America's Elite #4

Oct 4, 2005

Overall its a good issue in a seemingly great continuation of a great series. I cant wait to see where they go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe: America's Elite #9

Mar 27, 2006

This series continues to shock and surprise, keeping readers on the edge of their seats, never knowing who will surviveand who wont. Its this level of personal cost that will keep G.I. Joe: Americas Elite on the top of the Devils Due list of best selling books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes Declassified #1

Sep 6, 2005

I really felt the intense irony of how the story ends, and combining that with the cover to the next issue, (not as cool as the arm but you cant hit a home run every time) Im hooked! Great stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes Declassified #3

Nov 10, 2005

As I mentioned above, Im really enjoying this storyline. The pacing is just right, the art is solid, and the plot has a similar feel to that of Origin, Marvels Wolverines origin story. I look forward to reading the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes Declassified #4

Nov 25, 2005

This is just a great story, and its not slowing down one iota. Each issue moves the story along, while revealing new and shocking surprises, causing the reader to eagerly await the next issue. My only complaint is the simple fact that it is a mini series and must end!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2005) #4

Sep 5, 2005

Hal basically talks to Kilowog, talks to General Stone, and talks to Hector Hammond. Talk, talk, talk. Good dialogue, dont get me wrong, but this is Green Lantern! I want big splosions man! Hopefully well get more of that next issue, although it will take some great writing to convince me that some shark-man has any business trying to take on a Green Lantern. Fortunately, this is Geoff Johns were talking about. Great writing is his bread and butter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2005) #5

Nov 21, 2005

Overall, I found this issue an improvement on the last one. A lot more happened in this issue, setting up a lot more to happen next issue, and an old joke of a villain was given a new deadly lease on life. Now we get to wait a month to find out how the aliens plan on altering Hal Jordanand how he plans on stopping them. I cant wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2005) #12

Jul 17, 2006

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue. It was a great reunion with both the Cyborg as well as many old Corps members, most notably Arisia. Plus, it really makes me want to check out the next issue, which is always a plus for a comic book. I wonder what else Geoff has up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hatter M: The Looking Glass Wars #1

Oct 30, 2005

So overall, I really like the concept, although I would like it to be a explained a bit more. Is Hatter staying in our world? Is the puddle going to take him back to Wonderland? Are we ever going to see what is going on with Alyss? Ill be very interested in seeing how this concept is received by the comic community.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hatter M: The Looking Glass Wars #2

Mar 14, 2006

I definitely recommend this title to anyone looking for something outside of the usual comic fare. The only similarities to the classic Alice are the names. This tale is destined to follow a different path, its own path, and thats a good thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Horrorwood #1

Jun 6, 2006

Overall, I would recommend this title to those who long for more carnival-themed books, or just more books that focus on the supernatural. It will really take at least one or two more issues before I can really narrow it down to what genre this book is going for, since this first issue might end up being the only one that focuses on the carnival aspect. Hopefully, it will find its proper niche and do well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Crisis #1

Oct 16, 2005

I love how this mini series has started, and cant wait to see where it goes. Its icing on the cake to know that, as the mini series goes on, well be getting specials to wrap up the four mini series leading up to this, as well as getting a weekly series, 52, out of it all in the end, written by an all star team. As I said before, I cant wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinite Crisis #2

Nov 12, 2005

While Im still looking forward to seeing where this is going, Earth 2 Supermans words are reminding me a bit too much of Parallax or the JSA in DC2000, and I just hope were not going down that road once again, and that Geoff has other surprises up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinite Crisis #3

Dec 30, 2005

Overall, I like the twists and turns, but I really hope things start to come together before everythings all said and done. We have been teased that one single entity is responsible for all of the things occurring, and I dont want that to be forgotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Intimidators #1

Jan 30, 2006

The premise is certainly interesting, but not exactly my cup of tea. Im just more into the shinier, more moral heroes, I guess. I will admit that, for what it is, its written well, so I cant fault it for that. The art is decent, but nothing especially unique or captivating. So, if youre into the anti-hero concept, you might want to check this title out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JLA #117

Aug 12, 2005

I really want to like this storyline, and I really have until this issue. Dont get me wrong: its not totally derailed for me just yet, but I see a big obstruction on the tracks up ahead, and I dont know if the trains going to make it through safely or not. Whatever happens, though, with Johns at the wheel, Im on for the duration of the ride. (Oh, and did I mention that I loved seeing Jimmy Olsen get some panel time, if only for a brief moment?)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
JLA #118

Sep 19, 2005

This storyline is completely living up to my expectations, and helping to bring back some of the faith I had temporarily lost in my favorite writers and characters during Identity Crisis. Im looking forward to how this ends, and how it plays into the upcoming Infinite Crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JLA #121

Nov 3, 2005

So, while Im interested in seeing where this story ends up going, Im thus far not too impressed. Things will need to start moving along at a faster pace to keep my interest. Hopefully this storyline will be about more than just the Key, because right now its boring me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
JLA #123

Dec 18, 2005

Im looking forward to the final confrontation between Green Arrow and Batman, but this storyline has been extremely disappointing overall. I just hope that DC will still care enough about the title when it returns to bring it back in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JSA #77

Sep 19, 2005

I just hope that, since Geoff is currently writing Green Lantern as well, he decides to bring Airwave into that title, since I think he would make a great supporting character there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JSA #78

Oct 10, 2005

Overall its a good, solid story. I like the balance between the plot elements that are tied into Day of Vengeance, and the plot elements that are solely JSA, as opposed to the complete Donna Troy/Rann Thanagar War plot last issue. I think its always a good idea not to focus too much on tie-ins at the expense of your own ongoing plot. I look forward to seeing how these plots resolve, and where the JSA goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
JSA: Classified #2

Aug 28, 2005

One question regarding the story would be: whats the deal with the ring found by those examining the rocket? If its supposed to be a Legion flight ring, then that seems like an error, since so far everything that the Psycho Pirate has thrown at Kara has only been seen by her. Hopefully theres something else going on with that ring. Obviously there are things we do not yet know, because Ive never known Psycho Pirate to be able to construct illusionary people out of thin air. Who is the third party behind the illusions? Im looking forward to finding out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
JSA: Classified #3

Sep 26, 2005

Luthors presence at the end is surprising. He seems to be in the shadows of every storyline going on right now, and it will be interesting to see how his various endeavors might relate to each other. The Psycho Pirates ending statement goes along with my continuing theory that Power Girl is really a holdover from the pre-Crisis Earth 2, and Im really looking forward to seeing how Geoff might be able to take a sudden 180 degree turn from this in issue four just to mess with us once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
JSA: Classified #4

Nov 1, 2005

I would recommend this storyline, overall, as a good and fun story to read, but I would leave it up to the reader to decide whether they really get an ending or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
JSA: Classified #5

Nov 25, 2005

Good read here. While I wasnt expecting much coming off such a big story in previous issues, I was very pleasantly surprised. I learned a bit more about villains I was only somewhat familiar with, and can now look forward to seeing them interact with the JSA in future installments. After reading this, can anyone question the need for an ongoing villain title? I dont think so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice #12

Jun 17, 2007

Overall, I really enjoyed Justice. This is the scale that the Justice League SHOULD be on a consistent basis. Let the individual character titles have the slow character issues. JLA is THE action title (well.you knowother than that OTHER Action title). I REALLY loved the glimpse of the Legion at the end, but it only whets my appetite for an Alex Ross Legion story. We must see it, and soon. This is the Legion that is making a resurgence in current DC continuity, so the timing would be perfect. Four bullets all the way, and Im sure that once I read it again all together, the pacing and other issues will take care of themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lost Squad #1

Oct 25, 2005

Overall, its a pretty good issue, and Im interested in seeing where its going and if it can deliver on what it promises, but I would change the art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lost Squad #3

Apr 14, 2006

Overall I give it a decent rating, since the story is good. I just am not a big fan of the pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mega City 909 #7

Sep 28, 2005

As I said before, Im sure this would make a good video game, but it just isnt my cup of tea in comic form. I would be interested in seeing how well it does over in Asian markets, if sold there, compared to the U.S. market, since it seems to be a more common type of story over there, what with all the role playing games that use similar concepts for their stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
MU #4

Sep 28, 2005

This is another story (by the same writing and art team that produces Mega City 909) that would make a great game, but in this case the comic story isnt bad either, and Im interested in seeing where it goes, especially after the appearance of a new and potentially greater threat on the last page. Good stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
OMAC Project #5

Aug 30, 2005

So is Brother One in Sasha now? If so, whos controlling the OMACS? Will our heroes kill any more OMACS knowing innocent people are inside? What will happen? I know Im hooked. If Rucka can keep this level of intrigue going into a regular series, then I think well have a hit on our hands next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Praxis #1

Oct 2, 2005

Again, its all over the place; very hard to follow. I can only hope the series gets into some type of flow in the next issue, or it will never hook readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sequence #1

Sep 11, 2005

The third story, well for one thing there wasnt even a title so I dont know exactly what to call it. The art was excellent, with the penciled hair details really catching my eye. Plus, youve got to love pugs; theyre so ugly, theyre cute. However, the story, if you could call it that, left much to be desired. Nothing of any substance really happened. She didnt catch any ghosts. She didnt go to Coney Island. She didnt help the boy find his parents. I just didnt get a good feel for what the story is really about, other than the idea of her being a reluctant ghost hunter. Weakest of the three.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Bulleteer #1

Nov 6, 2005

While I thought this issue was pretty good, not great, I think the next issue will provide a better insight as to where the series is going, since that will be the first issue of Alixs Bulleteer career. Im interested in seeing how she goes about being a superhero, and what obstacles lay in her way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Frankenstein #1

Nov 28, 2005

Overall, I thought the issue was pretty decent, but Im really much more interested in seeing where it goes from here with the Frankenstein monster back in the picture. I cant wait to see the confrontation between the monster and Mr. Melmoth, now that Melmoth has his new crew and a few new tricks up his sleeve, and Im REALLY looking forward to seeing the meeting of Klarion, who is used to his Grundy-style undead guys, and Frankensteins monster!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Klarion The Witch Boy #3

Aug 22, 2005

Irvings art throughout this series is really on the level of something you could hang in your home (depending on your decorative tastes, of course). It really is what drives me to look forward to each next issue, and I sincerely hope he continues on either an ongoing of Klarion or something along those same lines once this mini series has finished.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Seven Soldiers of Victory: Mister Miracle #2

Dec 8, 2005

Overall, I had to grade this one down a bit, because I was hoping for more insight as to whats really going on. Grant just likes to string us on a bit too much with some of these titles. Plus, I havent even seen a hint of Sheeda activity here, so what does this even have to do with the rest of the Seven Soldiers storyline? Hopefully well find out in the next issue, and Ill enjoy that one more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2005) #1

Aug 14, 2005

Am I on for the duration? I dont know yet, too early to tell. Give me a chance to get through the initial string of guest appearances helping Kara find her place, and then Ill see where they decide to go from there. Plus, with Loeb signing an exclusive to Marvel, we know that hes only going to be on for so long, but, unless Im mistaken, we dont know who is going to replace him yet. In a time with most readers collecting too many titles as it is with all the Infinite Crisis tie-ins going on, is that the kind of start that inspires confidence for long term commitment? Only time, sales, and DC upper management can tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2005) #2

Sep 26, 2005

Overall, I had to take some bullets away from an otherwise positive review due to the lack of explanation for the attack by the Titans. It seemed forced, and should never have happened. Hopefully, this is just a speed bump in an otherwise solid series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman #650

Mar 17, 2006

During the past few years Ive really backed off the Superman titles, because the creative teams changed so often, and each titles style was so hard to get a feel for. I had grown up enjoying the triangle days of tighter continuity, and with this arc, I feel like all is once again right with the world. I greatly look forward to seeing where it goes, and have added it to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman #652

May 15, 2006

I cant recommend this storyline enough. Its the best Superman ongoing stuff Ive read in years. I look forward to seeing the payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Batman #22

Oct 3, 2005

Im really enjoying this storyline, and cant wait to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman/Shazam! First Thunder #1

Sep 12, 2005

Overall its a solid start to what should be a good miniseries. In contrast to their last pairing, the two superheroes actually encounter each other by the end of this first issue, suggesting that we will get to see full fledged interaction in the second part of the story, and thats certainly something to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman/Shazam! First Thunder #2

Oct 10, 2005

Overall, its another really good issue in what is shaping up to be a great miniseries. I am really looking forward to the next issue, where our two heroes will hopefully get to go toe-to-toe with the immediate villains, and perhaps even get some idea as to who the REAL villains are!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Shazam! First Thunder #3

Jan 9, 2006

This mini series is one of the best in a long time to be apparently flying under the radar, and I really hope it gets recognized once its done. It definitely needs to be traded and advertised through the roof as something DC should be proud of.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman/Shazam! First Thunder #4

Mar 23, 2006

Needless to say, I loved this mini series, and highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2003) #29

Nov 15, 2005

Im fascinated with this return of Jason Todd storyline. As Dan Didio said at Wizard World Texas, its one thing for Batman to have the memory of one of his greatest failures; its another thing entirely to have it staring you in the face everyday. This was round one in the highly anticipated Robin vs. Robin matchups. I cant wait until Dick Grayson runs into Jason one on one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Darkness #22

Oct 25, 2005

Overall, it wasnt a very impressive issue, but it is only part one of three, so I guess it would be better to judge the entire storyline as one piece. However, if you play by the rule that any single issue should be enough on its own to lure someone into the series youre writing, Id say this one didnt succeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans Companion #1

Dec 12, 2005

The Titans Companion is a valuable tool that serves two purposes. First, it allows those unfamiliar with Titans lore to learn the rich history these fine creators have brought to the DC Universe. Second, it provides a wealth of information about each creator that even the most die-hard Titan fan may be completely unaware of. Combine these two aspects with the large assortment of donated art pieces, and you have yourself the perfect gift for any comic book fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Villains United #5

Sep 16, 2005

Overall, I would say this is easily the strongest issue of the miniseries. It will be quite a trick for issue six to outdo this one. I look forward to seeing how Gail can rise to the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Villains United #6

Oct 14, 2005

Next April a Villains United 32-page one-shot Special will be published that will show how this particular mini series ties in with the Infinite Crisis. As Dan Didio puts it, "the Villains United Special doesnt focus on the Secret Six as much as it does the villains of the cabal, and their role in Infinite Crisis."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
What Were They Thinking/Some People Never Learn #1

Apr 26, 2006

Overall I would recommend this title to anyone wanting a good chuckle.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade #88

Oct 4, 2005

Overall its a good issue, more character driven than action in this case. What surprises me is the next issue blurb, saying that the next issue will be part one of a three part story. This makes me think that they are going to bury the current storyline until after the upcoming arc, but I hope thats not the case and that theyre just using this as a type of prologue into the upcoming story. We shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine Origins #1

Apr 16, 2006

I like the idea of this series, but I really hope there are some major reveals very soon or else this one is going to stay on the shelf at my comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More