johnlees's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 62
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2011) #1

Sep 13, 2011

As for Morrison, this is the master of the dizzying high-concept at his most open and accessible, telling a story that I think can appeal to everyone, from loyal Super-fans to dubious cynics. I had high expectations for Action Comics #1 from the moment it was announced, expectations that rose even further after reading Supergods, so its a testament to the quality of this comic that those expectations were mostly fulfilled. This is the Superman comic weve been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Western #1

Oct 20, 2011

So, when it comes to my wild-card selections from DCs relaunch lineup this month, it seems Im now 1-3. I dont yet know if Im ready to make another long-term commitment to DCs weird western world, but for the duration of this storyline at least, ALl Star Western has grabbed my interest, and reminded me why I had such fondness for Jonah Hex in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Vampire #33

Dec 23, 2012

During the hiatus, I think I might try a marathon readthrough of all 33 issues, see how this saga reads as a whole. And if you dont read American Vampire, if you say youre a Scott Snyder fan but just stick to his Batman, now is the time to amend that and play catch-up. I dont know what lies ahead for this cracking series. But I cant wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #1

Sep 13, 2011

Of all the New 52 comics I read this week, Animal Man #1 was perhaps the biggest surprise. Sure, as soon as I heard Lemire was onboard back in June, I added it to my list of comics to buy, but after that I largely forgot about this comic. Amidst my hype for other books, I might have taken this one for granted. It ended up being the fourth comic I got round to reading yesterday, after Action Comics, Swamp Thing and Stormwatch. But it topped Stormwatch. It even topped Action Comics. In fact, Id rank Animal Man #1 as one of the best comics to come out of DCs relaunch yet, second only to the astounding Swamp Thing #1. It would seem that the Dark is the place to be in the new DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #2

Oct 20, 2011

For the second month running, Swamp Thing and Animal Man stand head and shoulders above a strong offering of new DC titles on the week of their release. In fact, when I got to my local comic shop on Wednesday afternoon, I picked up one of the last two remaining copies of Animal Man on the shelf, and had to get the display copy of Swamp Thing: if anything proves to me that DCs relaunch has thus far been a success, its that quality titles such as Swamp Thing and Animal Man that are selling out. If I got nothing else from the New 52, these two sister titles would have made the whole relaunch worthwhile. In terms of Animal Man #2 in particular, the pacing of this comic is relentless, with narrative and visuals coming together to create an utterly immersive experience for the reader. Both Jeff Lemire and Travel Foreman are on top form, and Animal Man has already established itself as one of the very best titles available on the shelf from any publisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2011) #1

Oct 20, 2011

On just about every level, Aquaman #1 is a huge success. While my curiousity had been piqued, I did not expect going in that this would be DCs best new release of the week, but it was. Im now an Aquaman fan, thanks to this issue. And Im sure I wont be the only one. I think my friend Sergio is about to have lots of company.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #1

Sep 13, 2011

In a week crammed with big releases, Batgirl #1 was one of my least anticipated comics of the week. But by the time Id read all my purchases, this ended up being one of the best. When I first heard of this new Batgirl series, I thought it would be a lesser cousin to Batwoman, but now Im in a position where I dont know how Batwoman #1 is going to top this. Id call DCs relaunch a huge success thus far, and if Batgirl emerges as one of its hottest titles that success would be well deserved. I, for one, have been recommended it to new and lapsed readers, female and male alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

In the end, Batman #1 didnt turn out to be my favorite of all the DC #1s as I expected it would be coming into September: thus far, that honor is still held by Swamp Thing #1, also by Scott Snyder. But I would say Batman #1 is the best New 52 title Ive read so far that doesnt fall under the DC Dark banner. Its classic Batman, and should feel simultaneously rewarding for old readers and welcoming for new ones. And in the background, we get the sense that a narrative is brewing that could make the issues that follow even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #2

Nov 18, 2011

Two issues in, and Im already imagining the complete, 11-chapter graphic novel collecting this saga joining the canon of classic Batman stories alongside Snyders Black Mirror, might I add. The pacing is careful and deliberate, with some cards still being held close to the chest, but you get a sense that Snyder knows exactly where he is going, and that the pace and the stakes will continue to escalate with each passing installment. Furthermore, this is a comic that looks simply stunning, with Greg Capullo and his artistic collaborators giving us one of the slickest looking titles of the New 52. Its a good thing that this is the most read comic of all the New 52, as few titles out there showcase all thats great about DC and comics in general better than this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #3

Nov 18, 2011

Its getting hard to review this title on a monthly basis, without just repeating the its great! hyperbole. My conclusion for this issue is the same as it was for the last one, and I imagine next month Ill be saying the same thing: Batman #3 is the best issue yet, building on what came before and steadily ratcheting up the tension. Its so rewarding when a comic doesnt just coast on the power of the title characters brand name. The writing is striving to provide fresh insight into Batmans character, while the art is innovative and charged with a desire to explore new and exciting possibilities the comic medium makes available. This is comics done right.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #5

Jan 29, 2012

With Batman #5, this story has now topped The Black Mirror. If Snyder can keep up the quality, were looking at another all-time classic. Im expecting Batman #6 to finally break this streak of this title constantly outdoing itself, because I genuinely think you cant top a comic as good as Batman #5. But all the same, I expect it to be great, and the third week of February cant come fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #9

Jun 27, 2012

Any complaints I have about Batman #9 are slight, and probably stem more from me reading too many comics than any substantial forthcomings of the actual creative talent involved. But still, I didnt enjoy this quite so much as the best issues of this run thus far. But Im still hoping that Snyder, Capullo and co blow us away with the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #1

Sep 28, 2011

I said in my review of Batgirl that it would be hard for Batwoman to top it, and in the end, I probably still liked Batgirl a little more. Im more of a writing guy than an art guy, after all. But this is still a great comic: the art is amazing, and the story is engaging enough that this never just feels like a nothing book with pretty pictures. If you enjoyed the Rucka/Williams run on Detective Comics, J.H. Batwoman #1 should not disappoint you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bedlam #1

Dec 23, 2012

So, in closing, is Bedlam the next breathtaking creator-owned comics sensation? Not quite yet. However, there are enough promising elements in the mix here that, given time, it could very well develop into it. Definitely worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Catwoman (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

The next issue promises well see The Morning After, but Im not sure if Ill be hanging around for it. I was on the fence as regards reading Catwoman past the first issue as it was, but the ending might have pushed me off. Its a shame. Perhaps its not rational or fair, but in spite of some good work done by Winick and March, this shows that all it takes is one poorly-executed scene to leave a bad taste in the mouths of readers and a negative overall impression of a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chew #20

Aug 31, 2011

Overall, this is a pretty unremarkable issue of Chew, mainly setting the stage for more interesting things to come. But such is the nature of this series that even the less than stellar installments can still make for a fun read. Next year, Showtime will be producing a pilot for a Chew TV series. So, if you want to be one of the trendy kids who liked the series before it was cool, nows the time to jump onboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC Universe Presents #1

Sep 28, 2011

Overall, DC Universe Presents #1 was a good comic. Both the writing and art are played well, but also played a bit safe. Im certainly interested enough to pick up the next issue, but for this Deadman story to make the jump from good to great, some more has to happen next time round.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Demon Knights #1

Sep 28, 2011

I just hope that, like Secret Six, Demon Knights can avoid cancellation, and is given time to build up the cult audience it is surely good enough to attract. Paul Cornell and Diogenes Neves have crafted something really special here, and if you like diversity, if youre up for trying something a bit different from the norm, give Demon Knights #1 a try. Im pretty sure you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics #879

Jul 19, 2011

If youve not been reading Detective Comics these past few months, youve been missing out. Its a shame that were now entering the endgame of this particular saga, with the DC Relaunch in September drawing ever closer. The good news is that Snyder will be jumping over to Batman #1 with the arrival of the New 52, and so Im pretty sure that title is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics #881

Aug 31, 2011

Both artists deliver the goods, as they have throughout this run, and I was very happy to see Snyder, Jock and Francavilla all named on the cover of this final issue of Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2011) #1

Sep 13, 2011

I dont want to spoil it, but its a total game-changer, one that puts everything youve read up until that point in a whole new context. It is without a doubt the best last-page cliffhanger of any of the New 52 comics Ive read thus far. Damn you, Tony Daniel. Now I HAVE to read issue #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fatale #1

Jan 29, 2012

Its certainly holding some cards tightly to its chest in an understated opening chapter, but Fatale is off to a strong start. If this is any indicator of whats to come, Image is set for a very good 2012.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fatale #2

Jan 29, 2012

Fatale #2 remains a slow-boil, substituting immediate thrills for more of a slow, creeping dread. Its not the easiest sell, and I imagine its not going to be everyones cup of tea. But this elusive tale is growing on me, and I get a real sense that were going to be rewarded in the long run for sticking with it. Image has a big year ahead of it in 2012. But Fatale has already set the bar high.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #1

Oct 20, 2011

So, The Flash #1 is an aesthetic triumph, and Manapul and Buccellato do a good enough job with the writing that the absence of Geoff Johns is not felt too sorely. I was expecting this to be a comic Id be dropping after issue #1, but it looks like Ill at the very least be back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #1

Sep 28, 2011

So, as an overall package, I wouldnt say the first issue of Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E. quite matches the debut chapter of Animal Man. But this is still a quality comic, and another strong addition to the DC Dark stable. I love comics that are jampacked full of the kind of ideas you can really only get away with in comics, and this is one of those.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

So, in the case of this series, the DC relaunch did its job. Green Lantern has a new lease of life. I thought this would be my last issue, but my interest in the character and the mythology has been revived. Im back onboard, Geoff. I hope what youve got coming in future issues is able to keep me there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Heart #2

Dec 31, 2011

Heart #2 is not an action-packed comic, and while some of the characters follow well-worn archetypes, the narrative doesnt really fall in line with the sport movie cliches you might expect. The drama here is largely internal, and as a character study, this comic is a compelling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heart #3

Jan 29, 2012

Heart has ended up being a quite different comic than what I, and perhaps some others were expecting. Its been a lot more introspective, and less a celebration of the thrill of MMA than other recent cross-medium efforts such as, say, Warrior. Heart is more concerned with what drives a person to compete in the sport, and its assessment is that not all those impulses are healthy. But still, as a character study, Heart continues to be an understated, but quietly compelling read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heart #4

Apr 19, 2012

In my review of Heart #1, I talked about the potential for this series to make comic fans interested in MMA, or MMA fans interested in comics. In the end, Heart wasnt really a series that was a classic showcase for either. It ended up being something more universal than that, dealing with big ideas such as the human struggle to excel, for our lives to mean something, that I think can be relatable to any reader. With a lot of other Image titles getting such acclaim, this one seemed to slip by under the radar. But its a diamond in the rough it could very well be worth seeking out as a graphic novel in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I, Vampire #1

Oct 20, 2011

So, in closing, lets cast aside the myths and the bad press. No, this is not soppy, angsty teen love piffle like Twilight. Yes, there is room for another vampire comic, even after American Vampire. The Dark stable of comics have been among the biggest winners of the New 52, and I, Vampire is the perfect closing note to that trend. I was initially hesitant about picking up issue #1, but therell be no such doubt about coming back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Journey Into Mystery #631

Nov 18, 2011

But while Journey into Mystery still needs to find stable footing on the art front, the writing is as consistent as ever. Kieron Gillen has emerged as one of Marvels most dependable writers, and Journey into Mystery continues to be the best showcase for his immense talent. As long as I can keep reading about what Lokis up to, Ill still have a Marvel comic on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #1

Sep 13, 2011

So, under the weight of all that expectation, Justice League #1 might not quite match up. But if you cast aside that expectation, and take it just as a Justice League comic, Geoff Johns and Jim Lee give us a first issue that offers much to like. I think that a lot of people who picked this up will be back for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #1

Oct 20, 2011

Justice League Dark #1 is a comic based largely around foreshadowing. We see the threads of a plot, and the players are carefully laid out before us, but this is almost entirely set-up. But its written and drawn compellingly enough that Im already invested, and eager to see that story fall into place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lazarus #1

Jul 3, 2013

Last year Image floored us with a bevy of impressive comics debuts hitting in quick succession: Fatale, The Manhattan Projects, Saga. This year, Lazarus seems to be leading the way for another round of exciting debuts coming this month, with Satellite Sam from Matt Fraction and Howard Chaykin dropping this week and Sheltered from Ed Brisson and Johnnie Christmas due the week after. And the Image Expo revealed that theres a whole bunch of other exciting launches on the horizon. If the rest of these upcoming titles are anywhere near as good as this exciting debut of Lazarus, Image is set for another vintage year. With two highly regarded creators operating on top form and bringing out the best in each other, its safe to say that while this issue was a pleasant surprise, the next one will be carrying some lofty expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mind the Gap #1

Jun 27, 2012

Ive deliberately not mentioned any of the plot. This is a mystery book, and I think its best that you discover what the story is about yourself, if my review hasnt put you off. All I can say is, this wasnt a book for me. If youre an avid fan of Morning Glories, or if you like Lost and its various imitators that followed it, you might be a lot more keen on Mind the Gap than I was. If youre on the fence, its still worth checking out. 50 pages for $2.99, its a great deal. And really, I may be totally off-base here. The comic is getting some amazing reviews elsewhere. Maybe months from now Ill be kicking myself for missing the Mind the Gap bandwagon. So, if youre at all curious, dont let me put you off.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

And, to be honest, thats really all I have to say about Nightwing. It didnt really leave much of an impression on me either way, and so I didnt find enough right or wrong with this to elaborate further. Hardcore fans of Dick Grayson might enjoy it, but there are too many other books doing more to grab my attention for this to really stand out from the crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pretty Deadly #1

Nov 14, 2013

So, as it turns out, Pretty Deadly #1 has quite a lot to digest. In truth, I feel like Ive barely scratched the surface in this review, you really ought to just go read the thing and make up your own mind. This is a thorny, difficult book, and its not for everyone, but I think if you engage with it, youll find a whole lot to admire, including career-best work from both Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Rios.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Lanterns #1

Sep 28, 2011

But nice art isnt enough to bring me back for more. In the couple of days since I read the comic, Ive pretty much forgot what happened. Theres nothing particularly wrong with Red Lanterns #1, but theres nothing that stands out enough to make me interested in picking up issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Resurrection Man (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

With how excellent the other DC Dark titles have been, I had high hopes for Resurrection Man #1. This is probably a bit of an oxymoron, but I read it expecting it to surprise me. But this issue ended up being the weakest of the Dark comics thus far. But by regular comic standards, this is a good debut, and there are enough intriguing elements at work here for Resurrection Man to gain a fan following.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #2

Apr 19, 2012

So really, its a case of more of the same with Saga #2, and thats a good thing. After introducing us to this expansive world last issue, here Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples get more intimite, fleshing out the details and the characters, and keeping the story continuing apace. That first issue wasnt a one-off. It seems Saga is set to become a comics highlight of every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #12

Apr 10, 2013

Saga #12 is another masterpiece from Team Saga, almost recommendable as a standalone read due to a narrative so tight and dialogue so sharp it could be a one-act play. But of course, I couldnt in good conscience recommend this without suggesting, nay demanding, you throw yourself into the 11 issues of magnificence that preceded it. Saga ends its first year in style. If the years to come maintain this quality, the series will find itself up there amongst the all-time comics greats by the time it comes to its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scalped #50

Jul 2, 2011

So, while it does work as a standalone tale, Scalped #50 also manages to act as a comment on the series as a whole up until this point. Life can be difficult, life can be almost unbearable, but the very act of living is a triumphant overcoming of the odds. Perhaps it is a comment that applies to the creators as well as the characters. Scalped has defiantly lived on to its 50th issue. Congratulations to everyone involved in getting this far: now let's see where the rest of the story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scalped #56

Mar 22, 2012

Throughout this issue, more than anything, you get a palpable sense that the end is nigh. Scalped #56 feels like it could be the final issue in itself, but thankfully theres four more to go. Still, I cant help but feel really sad: in a few months, I wont have a new issue of Scalped to look forward to! This is the same feeling I got as I neared the end of the final seasons of The Shield and The Wire. Itll truly be the end of an era.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scalped #60

Nov 5, 2012

And now, were leaving the Prairie Rose Reservation. These 60 issues have been an incredible journey, one of the best comics-reading experiences Ive had or am ever likely to have. Every month I knew I was in for a treat when I saw a new edition of Scalped on the shelves, and throughout its run it managed to consistently be one of the best titles in circulation. Now, theres a massive void in my reading pile that will not be easily filled. Its a shame that it wasnt read more widely, and I can only hope its audience and acclaim continue to grow in the years to come. A big congratulations, and a massive thank you, to Jason Aaron, R.M. Guera, Guilia Brusco, letterer Sal Cipriano, cover artist Jock, editorial team Will Dennis and Mark Doyle, and all the other creators who have made this comic so special over its magnificent run. Scalped is comics at its very best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six Vol. 2 #35

Jul 19, 2011

It's going to be a bittersweet final issue, and this chapter skillfully sets the stage for it. From small character touches, to high-octane action, to barmy comedy setpieces (most of which belong to the goofy King Shark in this issue), Simone and Calafiore score on every level. Even as it approaches its endgame, Secret Six is as consistent as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stormwatch (2011) #1

Sep 13, 2011

Comparing this to Cornells other work, I wouldnt say Stormwatch hooked me as fastly and as strongly as Knight & Squire (which, by a few pages into the first issue, had me wanting to just put the book down and scream, I LOVE THIS BOOOOOOOOK!), but there are big, inventive ideas here, and plenty of potential for this series to be a real grower. Like most of Cornells work, its instantly likeable, and shows a skillful balance of the wildly inventive and the relatably clever and witty. A promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2011) #1

Sep 13, 2011

This comic is a masterpiece of technical craft, both in art and writing (and lets not forget the rich coloring of Nathan Fairbairn: this is a comic where green packs as much dramatic punch as in Green Lantern), and is the most exciting first issue of any comic Ive read in quite some time. It has human drama, it has horror, and it has mysteries and unanswered questions, including a big one that acts as the first issues cliffhanger. But it doesnt feel decompressed. I got plenty of satisfying content in Swamp Thing #1. But all the same, the wait for Swamp Thing #2 is going to be agonising. One things for sure, though: I wont be forgetting what comic I should be looking forward to most this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2011) #2

Oct 20, 2011

Its still early days, and the story is just starting to come together, but I already think that both Scott Snyder and Yanick Paquette could be shaping up to give us the finest work of their careers thus far with this Swamp Thing saga. Issue #1 was a brilliantly-constructed introduction, and issue #2 is a masterclass in escalation and building upon the groundwork laid. Right now, along the top shelf of my bookcase, I have a hardcover DC Comics Library edition of The Roots of the Swamp Thing, collecting the original Len Wein/Bernie Wrightson run, and next to it I have volumes 1-5 of Alan Moores The Saga of the Swamp Thing. If this story keeps up the quality, I already yearn for a hardcover edition I can place next to those all-time classics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #3

Nov 18, 2011

If Swamp Thing #3 might has lost a step from the first two issues, its only a step. This is still superior comics storytelling, steadily setting the stage for an epic drama. Once again, Swamp Thing and Animal Man are the best comics of their week, and stand proudly as the crown jewels of DCs New 52.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #6

Mar 1, 2012

DC has ensured that the first Wednesday of the month is always a treat for me, with the one-two punch of Swamp Thing and Animal Man ensuring quality reading. I felt a little premature heaping hyperbole on Swamp Thing in its first couple of issues, but weve now accumulated nearly a trades worth of material I believe next months Swamp Thing #7 will be the last chapter of the first collected edition so I can now say with confidence that Snyder and his artistic collaborators are giving us the best Swamp Thing story since the Moore era, and a tale that can stand respectably alongside Moores masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing (2011) #7

Mar 22, 2012

This is a title that has ranked near the top of DCs output since the month of its debut, but with Swamp Thing #7, the creative team raise their game. This feels like a culmination of all that has been brewing in the series over the past six months. But more than that, it makes those excellent first 6 chapters feel like little more than a prelude, suggesting that the stage has been set for a truly epic saga to unfold. Swamp Thing truly is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fury of Firestorm: The Nuclear Men #1

Oct 20, 2011

So, after reading The Fury of Firestorm: The Nuclear Men #1, Im much in the same position as I was before. My admiration for Gail Simone, Ethan Van Sciver, Yildiray Cinar, and Brian Buccellatto too (I didnt even know it was him working on the book until I checked the credits for this review, he displayed some real diversity from his trademark style on The Flash) remains as strong as ever, and each showcased their stuff effectively in this comic. But at the end of it all, I still just dont give a crap about Firestorm. The creative team didnt really do anything wrong. Maybe the character just isnt for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Manhattan Projects #1

Mar 22, 2012

I picked up The Manhattan Projects #1 on something of a whim, but it ended up being one of the best comics I read this week, and now Im onboard for at least the next few issues. Images hot streak continues. As for Jonathan Hickman, the style and inventiveness of his work here makes me curious about sampling his other creator-owned work: The Nightly News, Pax Romana, and particularly The Red Wing, as I hear thats another collaboration with Nick Pitarra. It also makes me want to revisit and possibly re-evaluate the work of his I've previously read.At last, it would seem, Ive joined the ranks of Jonathan Hickman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Manhattan Projects #11

Apr 26, 2013

I've gotten used to saying "It's Jonathan Hickman's best work since The Nightly News," but the longer the series maintains this level of quality, the less certain I become about even that caveat at the end. In a storied career that has seen Hickman do some acclaimed work on some iconic franchises, comics history may yet remember his work on The Manhattan Projects most fondly of all. And in Nick Pitarra, he has the perfect collaborator. Pitarra is doing star-making work here, and has quickly been elevated to one of my favourite artists. The Manhattan Projects #11 suggests that there's enough steam in this narrative to sustain this comic for a long time yet. Let's hope that is indeed the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Manhattan Projects #12

Jun 13, 2013

The Manhattan Projects has always been good, boasting big ideas and a fascinating cast of oddball characters from the very beginning, but since issue #8 Id argue the series has upped its game to a whole new level, with an unbroken chain of 5-star masterpieces. With this insanely high standard, The Manhattan Projects is beginning to challenge even the mighty Saga as the most consistently awesome comic currently in the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Sixth Gun #13

Aug 11, 2011

This may not be one of the better issues of The Sixth Gun, but even a weaker instalment of this excellent series is better than much of the comics on the market. And Ive built up enough faith in Cullen Bunns storytelling abilities to feel confident that, in the end, Bound will all come together just as nicely as Cold Dead Fingers and Crossroads, and The Sixth Gun will continue to excel in its second year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Underwater Welder #1

Nov 5, 2012

I loved this book. As soon as I finished reading it, I immediately wanted to read it again. I fear that my review hasnt really done it justice, as Ive just gushed rather than really going into detail, but I think the specifics of the graphic novel are something you need to discover for yourself. Hopefully my recommendation is enough to convince you to give it a try. The Underwater Welder instantly shoots to the top of my best of the year considerations, and once its had a little more time to percolate in my mind, it might end up making a dent in my best of all time rankings as well. A must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Think Tank #1

Aug 7, 2012

Image has been bombarding us with cracking new titles this year, and amidst all the high-profile debuts it might be easy to overlook Think Tank. That would be a mistake. Give Think Tank #1 a try, and youll be treated to a cleverly-written book with gorgeous art from Rahsan Ekedal. It gets my recommendation!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Velvet #1

Nov 14, 2013

Overall, Velvet #1 was a resounding success. Of course, I expected it to be. Image is really spoiling us in 2013 with this ridiculous number of quality comics. It seems like near every week theres a new noteworthy debut from the company, with more and more high-profile creative teams launching exciting new projects with them. Im starting to think were in the most exciting time for comics since the proto-Vertigo of late 80s DC with Alan Moores Swamp Thing paving the way for the likes of Hellblazer, Grant Morrisons Animal Man and Doom Patrol relaunches, and The Sandman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

So, for my first toe dipped into the Wonder Woman waters, Id say I ended up enjoying it. Theres some good ideas here, and I can sense Azzarello is trying to build a mythology around Wonder Woman that feels fresh and edgy. Combine that with stylish art by Chiang, and this stands as one of the better New 52 releases of the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wraith: Welcome To Christmasland #1

Nov 15, 2013

I think the reason Im so disappointed about this being a short-lived miniseries rather than a new Locke & Key sized opus is because the world introduced here (to me, at least, for the first time) is so rich and packed with horrid detail that I want to spend a lot of time in it even if I most definitely wouldnt want to spend any time in Christmasland! At the very least, the excellence of Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland #1 makes me want to check out Joe Hills novel N0S4A2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #2

Oct 27, 2013

I considered Zero #1 to be a great single issue, but Zero #2 cements this comics status as a great series. Ales Kots vision for Edward Zero and his world is more fully taking shape, and Tradd Moore floored me with heart-rending, career-best work. Is issue #3 out yet? Is it? IS IT?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More