Jonathan Schultz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerds On The Rocks Reviews: 77
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.6
A-Force #1

May 21, 2015

Overall I really think this series is worth checking out, it has a lot of potential. The characters are written well, I'm still a little off put by Stephen Strange, but he was with Dr. Doom when everything went down. He is the only one who seems extremely out of character, but at least there is a reason. The issue has a nice combo with the great art and writing and an excellent cast of characters at their disposal. Plus this is one of the series that Marvel confirmed will continue after Secret Wars is over, which is definitely something to look forward to!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
All-New Ghost Rider #5

Jul 30, 2014

Yes, the art is disproportionate and super cartoony at some points, but I really enjoy it. It brings a lighter feel to what could be a very dark book and makes it a really fun read. I really like the flames and the ghost Rider design, its quite different from the actual flaming skull we are used to. I really like the new legacy heroes that Marvel is introducing lately with Ms. Marvel and All-New Ghost Rider; they are fun new spins on existing characters while bringing something new and fresh. I cant wait until Robbie gets to meet Johnny Blaze!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
All-New X-Factor #20

Jan 22, 2015

The final issue of All-New X-Factor is here and it almost leaves me with more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New X-Men #35

Jan 22, 2015

This has been a really fun arc and I love seeing Miles interact with out 616 heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #4

Jul 25, 2014

Ramos' art is top notch. I'll never get sick of his work. Or the way he draws peter/Spider-Man. I really enjoy his character designs for Silk, her costume is pretty rad. I hope he sticks with Slott on this book for a while. I think he is doing some of the best work of his career on this Superior Spider-Man " Amazing Spider-Man run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #7

Oct 9, 2014

Both stories are fun and the artwork is great. I wouldnt miss this issue if youre looking forward to Spider-Verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #8

Oct 23, 2014

Great conclusion to the Ms. Marvel team-up and an awesome back-up story leading directly into Spider-Verse!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #9

Nov 6, 2014

Solid story paired with AMAZING artwork, though the pacing does feel a little inconsistent at times. Definitely looking forward to see where this little event is goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #12

Jan 7, 2015

So much happens in this issue and had I not been reading all the tie-ins, I would be a little confused as to what certain characters are up to. But this job does a good job of summarizing what is happening elsewhere briefly while moving the story further ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #14

Feb 14, 2015

The artwork was great, although I wish they would have picked one artist to do the whole thing. I think it takes away from the story when the art changes halfway through, especially since in this case the art styles and colors are so different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing X-Men (2013) #17

Feb 26, 2015

This was a solid issue, the story is engaging and up until the end you don't know which one of the "contestants" actually becomes the new champion of Cyttorak.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant-Man #1

Jan 7, 2015

The writing is great, reminded me of Nick Spencer's work with Superior Foes of Spider-Man which was one of my favorite books last year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Aquaman (2011) #40

Mar 27, 2015

I like Jeff Parker's take on Aquaman more with each issue that comes out but this one kind of felt flat to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #38

Jan 31, 2015

Scott Snyder's Batman Epic is starting to come full circle. Everything is falling into place and we discover some things about the Joker's new toxin. This story is really digging deep into the history of Gotham which makes me curious as to what Snyder's Endgame is for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman and Robin (2011) #38

Jan 22, 2015

The artwork in this issue is very pleasing, Damian's nightmare is pretty creepy and it is oddly satisfying to see Robin flying everywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Science #8

Aug 26, 2014

Great issue; one of my favorite series on shelves right now. If youre not reading this, you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Widow (2014) #9

Aug 10, 2014

Phil Noto is the perfect fit for this book, his lines and colors really give this book an incredible tone that keeps me coming back issue after issue. His artwork is absolutely flawless and he does such a beautiful Natasha. I could stare at his work for hours and his cover for the issue is extremely clever. I hope he is on this book for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Widow (2014) #14

Jan 22, 2015

This is exactly what I would want a Black Widow movie or television show to be. It has a great supporting cast that really humanizes Natasha and doesn't make her seem so alone, although she really is. The writing and art is so consistent from issue to issue with this book, and I always know I'm in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2014) #4

Jun 19, 2014

Waid and Samnee make an incredible team; they really find a nice balance where the strong art matches the strong writing. Samnees art is such a joy to look at, the colors and pencils work so well together. Im really glad he has been with this book for as long as he has, it doesnt make Daredevils world seem overly dark and gritty like Alex Maleev and Michael Lark on their big Daredevil runs. And that is a nice change of pace, especially with the move out west to San Francisco. There are so many good things about this issue (and the series as a whole) that I could go on forever but Ill stop here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Daredevil (2014) #6

Jul 25, 2014

I was slightly disappointed when I saw Chris Samnee wasn't on art but was very satisfied with Javier Rodeiguez. He had a fantastic two page spread with Daredevil listening for clues and some other really cool layouts taking advantage of Daredevil's unique abilities. The artists on Daredevil, coupled with Mark Waid's writing are what make this one of my favorite books every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Daredevil (2014) #12

Jan 16, 2015

We are not in Hell's Kitchen anymore and it is truly evident simply based on the art in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Body Road #6

May 26, 2014

This is definitely a miniseries worth checking out if you like a good old fashioned revenge story. It has great characters and fantastic artwork. This issue is the perfect way to end the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2011) #37

Dec 4, 2014

Amazing artwork, good story. I'm looking forward to this new arc from a great creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Detective Comics (2011) #38

Jan 7, 2015

I really like the way this creative team portrays Bruce/Batman, they are really surprising me with their run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Edge of Spider-Verse #1

Sep 11, 2014

The artwork is fitting for the time period, maybe thats because Isanove just had a run on Savage Wolverine also taking place in that era. The artwork isnt my favorite, but it still is a nice looking issue, I certainly didnt hate it. And every issue for this mini-series has a different artist so I look forward to seeing some other art styles on the books. I really liked the Spider-Man Noir costume in this issue; it reminds me a lot of Peters Symbiote costume (or better yet, Agent Venom) just without the big white spider sprawled across the chest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Edge of Spider-Verse #2

Sep 18, 2014

Such a fun ride and great artwork. Looking forward to seeing more of Spider-Gwen in Amazing Spider-Man #9!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Edge of Spider-Verse #3

Sep 25, 2014

This book is a very fun read with both great art and writing. Definitely a Spider-Man Id like to see more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Edge of Spider-Verse #4

Oct 3, 2014

The weakest issue of Edge of Spider-Verse yet, you could probably get away with skipping it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Edge of Spider-Verse #5

Oct 16, 2014

Very fun issue. Great art and awesome story. Bring on Spider-Verse!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Elektra (2014) #11

Mar 27, 2015

I absolutely love the art by Michael Del Mundo and colors by Marco D'Alfonso. It is a perfect balance of beautiful and gritty. To me, the art was the biggest selling point of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fantastic Four (2014) #4

May 15, 2014

James Robinson and Leonard Kirk make a killer team. The action scenes are fantastic in this issue; Kirks artwork is very consistent throughout. I really became a fan of his work when he was on X-Factor with Peter David and was very excited to see him joining this creative team. I am really enjoying Robinsons take on these charactersand things with him behind the helm things are certainly going to get worse before they get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Grayson #6

Jan 16, 2015

The plot of this issue seemed all over the place and I feel like it didn't move forward all that much. At least I can now say I gave it a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #24

Feb 14, 2015

The artwork was really fun; it is cool to get to see some the transformation that some of the heroes go through when they succumb to the power of the Black Vortex.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952 #2

Jan 7, 2015

There is quite a bit of story progression in this issue. The first issue was a little slow and this one definitely has a faster pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Howard The Duck #1

Mar 12, 2015

I love Joe Quinones artistic style; it is a great fit for this book. Art-wise, the only thing I found strange is that Felicia is in her old Black Cat costume. Maybe it's laundry day? Her new costume as seen in the pages of Amazing Spider-Man and Hawkeye vs. Deadpool has really begun to grow on me. Either way, the art looks good on every page. The line work is great and the colors are very appealing and do not overpower the art. The end result is one good looking book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Hulk (2014) #5

Aug 14, 2014

Great issue from new writer Gerry Duggan and fantastic art brought to you by Mark Bagley. Worth checking out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Inhuman #2

May 29, 2014

Awesome art, cool characters, but the fact that it has been almost 2 months since issue #1 doesnt have me very invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Inhuman #10

Dec 18, 2014

Spider-Man vs. Medusa! That alone is worth the price of admission! On top of that you get some great writing and artwork!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Invincible #118

Mar 27, 2015

The recap section in the front of this issue summarizes 117 issues and makes this one easily accessible for new readers. And at 25 cents, you can't go wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Legendary Star-Lord #1

Jul 4, 2014

I enjoyed the art, although I don't think it is Paco Madina's best work. It did look a little sloppy in some panels, but overall was pretty solid. One of my favorite scenes in the issue is when you get to see Rocket, Groot and Peter singing Karaoke. With scenes like that, what's not to like!? Plus this issue had some awesome All-New Young Guns variants if you were lucky enough to snag one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Magneto (2014) #3

May 8, 2014

If youre not reading this title and like what else is going on in the X-Men titles this is totally worth picking up. Or if you are simply a fan of this guy from the X-Men movies or cartoons its worth a try (I hear he is in a movie coming out soon that has TWO Magnetos for the price of one!)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Moon Knight (2014) #3

May 9, 2014

This issue has a cool story paired with great art. I'm really enjoying this new take on Moon Knight. I think Warren Ellis has some interesting things in store for us. Plus the Ryan Stegman variant cover is perfect!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
New Avengers (2013) #20

Jun 27, 2014

I was pretty unfamiliar with Valerio Schiti when he was announced as one of Marvel's All-New Young Guns at Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo in April. I liked the preview art they showed for New Avengers when he was announced to be joining Jonathan Hickman on this book. I have been very pleased with him on this series so far! Now I have to go back and check out some of his other work (Journey into Mystery was already on my list because Sif).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New Avengers (2013) Annual #1

Jun 27, 2014

Beautiful artwork, fantastic story. This issue makes me wish Marvel was putting out a monthly Doctor Strange title by this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Nova (2013) #20

Aug 21, 2014

All-around solid issue from Duggan and Baldeon! Plus the truth about Sams Father!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Orphan Black #1

Feb 26, 2015

To me the pacing was extremely fast, and I think it would be very hard to follow if you haven't seen the show. This made for a very uneven issue even though I wasn't sure what I was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Punisher (2014) #6

Jun 6, 2014

Not the best ending to the first arc but it was still enjoyable. Mitch Geradas has some nice looking action sequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Punisher (2014) #9

Aug 8, 2014

Not that Mitch Gerads art was bad to begin with but it really was excellent in this issue. I really enjoy his rough looking Frank and his pretty, deadly Natasha. Also, the fighting sequences are pretty rad and I like the sound effects. With the last page I am very excited to see where this series is going especially after seeing how things play out the way they do in this crossover. Things are still looking pretty grim for Frank Castle, what fate awaits him with so many things happening out of his control?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 4, 2014

Overall, the story was engaging and absolutely hilarious. I was expecting this book to be both fun and funny and it delivered on both accounts. To me, this was a perfect first issue. I'll be staying with this book at least as long as Skottie Young is behind the helm. I think he will do awesome things with Rocket.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Secret Avengers (2014) #5

Jul 17, 2014

Strong writing and fantastic art, another solid issue featuring our favorite secret secret agents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Secret Wars (2015) #1

May 6, 2015

The art is wonderful. It is fitting that Esad Ribic iSW1s joining Jonathan Hickman for this book because they launched the most recent volume of Avengers together. The action sequences are big and exciting while the scenes with Doom and his crew are dark and foreboding and the artwork does a great job of capturing this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sex Criminals #10

Jan 31, 2015

This series surprises me with every issue. They keep finding new ways to make this series interesting and appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sons of Anarchy #10

Jun 12, 2014

The thing I enjoy most about this issue is that we get to see some faces that are no longer with us in the show. And its nice that even though they are deceased in the show, they can still be interesting characters in the comic book. If youre a fan of the show and not checking this book out, I highly recommend it. If you havent seen the show, that also is worth checking out (its on Netflix!) and sorry for the mild spoilers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sons of Anarchy #17

Jan 22, 2015

Ed Brisson really has these characters voices and personalities down and it is a fun ride still exploring that universe now that the show is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spider-Gwen #1

Feb 26, 2015

Overall, I liked the artwork. Some scenes are stronger than others but I think it really fits the tone of the book. The colors are great; they are simultaneously vibrant and subdued which leads to some great pages. I am definitely looking forward to what comes next in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spider-Man & The X-Men #1

Dec 12, 2014

What I did like about this series is that it does have the same feel as of Wolverine and the X-Men written by Jason Aaron. It had some good character moments and some good humor. The thing that worries me is the plot, how long can this potential mole storyline be drawn out? Because after that I feel like Spider-Man would have fulfilled his responsibility and go back to doing whatever a spider can. The art for this issue was fantastic. Personally, I think it is the biggest incentive to pick this series up. I like the way he draws Spider-Man and the rest of the cast. The colors are very nice in this issue as well, they dont overpower the artwork. Visually, this book is very appealing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #1

Jul 10, 2014

Great writing with an engaging story and characters although the art wasn't anything special. Overall, I am looking forward to where this series is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Spider-Woman (2014) #1

Nov 20, 2014

Great if youre keeping up with Spider-Verse and want to delve deeper into the story! If not, Id skip it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Star Wars (2013) #18

Jun 14, 2014

Great ending to an okay arc. Brian Wood is doing a great job with these characters making it an enjoyable read every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 16, 2015

I am really excited to see where this series goes because even when you think you know everything about Star Wars, they go and surprise you with a final page like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Star Wars: Darth Vader #2

Feb 26, 2015

Larroca's art is great and the Delgado's colors really bring the characters to life and it almost feels like you're watching Star Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #12

Jun 6, 2014

I always look forward to this book. The writing and art team for this book are excellent, Nick Spencer does an awesome job writing these guys and Steve Lieber does just as well drawing them. They've genuinely made me care about this ragtag group of villains. This book is the highlight of my week when it comes out. It's a funny read and sometimes it's just plain fun to root for the bad guys, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Teen Titans (2014) #1

Jul 16, 2014

Off to a decent start and has great art. I have high hopes for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Ghostbusters #4

Jan 31, 2015

This has been a fun little crossover. I have enjoyed the characterization and utilization of each and every character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #129

Jul 9, 2014

Another stellar installment in our favorite zombie apocalypse story, brought to you by Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Walking Dead #130

Aug 14, 2014

Interesting plot twist and fantastic artwork. Another good issue of zombie apocalypse goodness!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #136

Jan 16, 2015

Carl steals the show this issue. Talk about character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #137

Feb 14, 2015

Robert Kirkman does a great job of giving these characters personal struggles to overcome and not making it all about the walkers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Wicked + The Divine #7

Jan 22, 2015

The thing I love about this series is that although they are gods, the characters are so representative of people you meet in everyday life, minus the powers. This leads me to believe that it is truly a story of humanity and not just gods, which is very perplexing and keeps me coming back every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Thor (2014) #5

Feb 14, 2015

Jason Aaron is doing a great job keeping me guessing and subtly dropping hints without giving too much away.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Uncanny Avengers Vol. 2 #1

Jan 31, 2015

As an issue I loved this, but that is because I have been keeping up with Remender's previous Uncanny Avengers run as well as AXIS. As a first issue I wasn't too sure about it. It seemed to lay down a lot with insufficient explanation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #24

Jul 30, 2014

Kris Anka is one of my favorite artists recently and I love the way he draws the X-Ladies. It was nice to see him draw some of the Jean Grey School staff and just not the New Xavier School staff. Anka does a really nice job with such a large cast in this issue and I swear this guy keeps getting better with every issue he puts out! Overall, this was an extremely enjoyable issue. The pacing for the issue is nice and I like that it accomplished more than the last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Wolverine (2014) #5

Apr 30, 2014

Not the best issue of the series so far, but it is worth reading if you are enjoying Paul Cornells run with the character. And hey, it has a brief bar fight between Thor and Logan so whats not to like?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wolverine (2014) #6

May 17, 2014

This is a very fast paced issue; a lot seems to happen in a very short time and the pacing works very well with the artwork. Gerardo Sandoval does some awesome work with this issue, and let me tell you does he do one hell of a Sabretooth! Im looking forward to the conclusion of this arc as we keep inching closer to Wolveines inevitable death.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wolverines (2015) #1

Jan 7, 2015

I am excited to see where this series goes, especially with an ending like that. Although, this book will definitely have to step up its game if it's going to stay a $3.99 weekly book. I don't know how long I can justify that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Wolverines (2015) #2

Jan 16, 2015

I enjoyed this issue much more than the first. The pacing of this issue is great and I like the way the plot is moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
X-Force (2014) #4

May 1, 2014

The artwork of this book is much better fit this time around! I felt that Jorge Molina's artwork suits the book better than Rock-He Kim during the first three issues of the book. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the art on those three issues but it didn't feel right at times. Molina's art is great; I really enjoy anything he does. He is very consistent throughout the issue and I feel this helps the story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

1st

November

More