Lauren Fiske's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 51
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8
DC's Harley Quinn Romances (2023) #1

Feb 2, 2023

I want to congratulate DC on such a stellar outing and the many teams that worked on the different chapters. creating a collection such as this one can't be easy and DC used this opportunity to provide work for several new and up-and-coming talents. Any future Valentine's Day issues will hopefully feature even more new creators and team ups. Also, more queer stories!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #1

Oct 2, 2021

Are there any allusions we missed? What are you most looking forward to in this series? Drop a comment below.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #2

Oct 28, 2021

I'm captivated by the mysteries presented in this issue. I think it's pretty easy to stay on the edge of your seat until the next issue comes out! What do you look forward to seeing in future issues? Did you think anything was missing from this one? Drop a comment below!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #3

Nov 26, 2021

My few complaints with this issue are really only limited to the length of the story! The intrigue's always increasing and the art just keeps getting better. I'm especially pleased that none of the issues have been as terrifying as the first one (remember those bees?) because I thought I was going to have a hard time reviewing this book! Even the terrifying aspects of Deathstroke have been entertaining, though and I'm excited for the direction readers are being taken in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #4

Jan 1, 2022

Deathstroke Inc. #4 is mostly a transitional issue. While these are important in the overall arc of the series, that means that it isn't the most exciting. The plot is pretty basic and doesn't stand out. The fast pace is fun and it's great to understand more of the canon of DC and this title, but transitions can only get you so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #5

Jan 29, 2022

I do think the final scene has immense potential and am excited to see what Joshua Williamson and the team behind DeathstrokeInc. come up with next. For now, though, I'm going to keep that final image of Deathstroke in my mind's eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #6

Feb 26, 2022

Deathstroke Inc. #6 was alright. The issue won't be an award winner and receives my lowest rating for an issue in this series. In all honesty, it mostly just gets us from #5 to #7.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #7

Mar 26, 2022

Slade had mentioned seeing a dark vision of the future. I'm not sure if the villains from the closing pages of this chapter are the threat he saw, and only time will tell what will become of Deathstroke's fears.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #8

Apr 29, 2022

Deathstroke Inc. #8 was neither good nor bad, but it was absolutely just a crossover issue, both for the series and the “Shadow War” arc. I can't believe I'm writing it, but I miss the storyline about Slade Wilson kind of going off the deep end and creating his own villainous cooperative. Hopefully,we'll be back to our regularly scheduled Deathstroke shenanigans in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #9

May 27, 2022

I also wonder if we'll see Deathstroke, Batman, and Robin encounter one another in this way again. The crossover was amazing, but I do want more Slade Wilson-centered stories for his series. Now that “Shadow War” is over, I'm sure we'll be back to Deathstroke the Terminator in no time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #10

Jun 30, 2022

I'm looking forward to finding out more about the grey anti-hero and understanding more about what makes him tick. What did you think of this week's issue? Are you excited to learn more about Slade Wilson's origins? Leave a comment below.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #11

Jul 29, 2022

Are there any details we missed? What do you hope to see happen between Green Arrow and Deathstroke? Drop a comment below with theories and ideas!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #12

Aug 27, 2022

This arc really has me hooked! Deathstroke Inc. continues to evolve and grow with fantastic art, colors, and an engaging story. Clearly, there's a lot more to unpack with Slade's backstory (if that ending is any indication!), so I'm really excited to see how this continues to go. Admittedly, I'm a bit over Wintergreen, so I hope to see more interactions between Deathstroke and Green Arrow instead. I'm also excited to see how Slade reacts to the news of his unborn child and how that will continue to affect his psyche.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #13

Sep 29, 2022

Deathstroke Inc. #13 slowed down a lot. This is common with transitional issues, but it's still a bit disappointing. As far as transitional chapters go however, this was pretty top tier.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #14

Oct 27, 2022

Drop us your opinions and comments below!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathstroke Inc. (2021) #15

Nov 23, 2022

Hopefully, future chapters will bring back the vibrancy and excitement of those from the inception. Trying at patience, we shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #1

Oct 19, 2023

This first issue gives readers a solid start that promises more entertainment in upcoming issues. Seeing the superheroes and villains facing off against the most iconic giant monsters in history is surely the recipe to an excellent crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #2

Nov 20, 2023

I'm genuinely enjoying this series more than I thought I would. It's definitely not a series that you can pick up, set down for an issue, and pick up again without some disruption in the continuity, but that's not a bad thing with how this story has been designed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #3

Dec 21, 2023

Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong #3 has many strengths and only one weakness for me. The art is consistent and beautiful, there are a ton of amazing characters, and there's enough mystery left to keep the series interesting for a few more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #4

Jan 18, 2024

Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong #4 continues to give me more questions than answers. This has been improving with each issue as the characters also learn more, but overall, this issue feels like it was just about getting from one point to another. Everything the creative team came up with seems to have worked, but the book's just not quite in-depth enough to stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #5

Feb 22, 2024

As the issues keep releasing, hopefully, more and more storylines will wrap up, leading to a satisfying overall ending in the future. For now, though, I'm going to continue making predictions about what's motivating everybody in this series, and hoping that Superman and Lois get to confirm their engagement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #6

Mar 21, 2024

Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong #6 is setting up this series for a strong finish. It's not a perfect read, but considering how much is left to get on the pages, the creative team is doing an excellent job. This issue features so many vibrant colors and truly looks stunning from page to page and I can't wait to see how the various storylines finish out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong (2023) #7

May 23, 2024

While the series could have been expanded or paced a bit differently, Justice League vs. Godzilla vs. Kong #7 provides a fulfilling conclusion to this brief yet packed saga. The cast of characters was massive but worked well for such an involved story. It was neat to see so many different settings covered in one series, instead of sticking to just one hero's city.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #1

Apr 24, 2021

Stay tuned for more issues and reviews ofThe Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries. If you've read the first issue, drop a comment about your impressions below!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #2

Jun 8, 2021

Tune in again for the next review of The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries, and if you have any thoughts on this issue, drop a comment below!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #3

Jun 18, 2021

This issue seemed like it was trying to pack a lot into a limited page amount. While I was entertained, some bits of the story were a bit boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #4

Jul 16, 2021

Anybody else have more positive thoughts to share or pushback on my opinions? I'd genuinely love to hear them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #5

Aug 14, 2021

Fellow readers, what did you think? Please let us know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #6

Sep 18, 2021

What did you think of this issue? Should the comics include more callbacks to previous iterations of Batman or Mystery Inc.? Drop a comment below.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #7

Oct 12, 2021

All the same, I'm excited for the next issue of The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries, if only because things can only get better as the series comes to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #8

Nov 10, 2021

I'm just unsure about this time around. The Batman/Scooby-Doo Mysteries #8 had a lot more violence (to some extent) and shenanigans compared to the previous issues but didn't go for any level of accuracy or depth in the madness. The series doesn't seem like it takes itself as seriously as I'd prefer it to, this chapter especially.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #9

Dec 15, 2021

We've got three issues left in this series and if they're like this one, I sadly won't be sorry to let it go. I'm holding out hope however and I'm still on the edge of my seat for next time! What are your thoughts on this issue? Is my harshness warranted? Let me know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #11

Feb 13, 2022

There's only one last adventure coming with the Bat and Mystery Gang combo. Now that it's at its end, I'm a bit sad. The series has been delightful on the whole, and I've loved getting to see the most iconic crime solvers ever working together. Perhaps they'll get a new animated feature together soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2021) #12

Mar 12, 2022

If our collective experience has proven anything, it's that no matter how many cases we solve… there arealways more mysteries to be found.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #1

Oct 14, 2022

Future issues are sure to be more action-packed, and maybe they'll even feature more fun cameos from both the Batman and Scooby-Doo universes. As Ra's says to Velma, "Patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #2

Nov 23, 2022

I'm truly glad that the series is anything but mediocre. Sure, these stories aren't going to teach you life lessons or inspire a massive cinematic franchise. But why does media have to be "serious all the time anyway? I'm grateful for this little comic and the little bits of escapism to my childhood it provides. I'm sure it will continue to be a brief but lovely departure to youth for us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #3

Dec 16, 2022

Overall, this issue was fine. It's not stellar, won't break records, or make history, but we've got another mystery solved by Batman and Mystery Inc. and you can't ask for much more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #4

Jan 13, 2023

Did anybody else enjoy this issue as much as I did? Do you think the Scooby Doo elements were well done? If so, please leave a comment below!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #5

Feb 16, 2023

I got what I wanted overall and I'm sure there's more Scooby Doo content coming down the line. This week's issue just felt a bit safe to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #6

Mar 15, 2023

The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.6 was okay. Personally, this issue was a miss for me but it's an okay comic to read if you're looking for something simple. I think more could have been explored with the ultimate villain of the issue as well as the inclusion of Madame Xanadu. I also think a more complicated crime than a string of bank robberies would have suited the story more, but maybe that's just me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #7

Apr 13, 2023

This issue was fun! I actually really enjoyed The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.7, it just wasn't long enough. A talent show, an appearance by Joker, and Batman/Bruce Wayne constantly having to swap roles all form part of a recipe for a good time. That time was just brief, so, sadly, I can't rank this issue as highly as I would've liked.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #8

May 11, 2023

The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.8 is fine. Conceptually, it's a fun story with light twists and a surprise appearance by a secret "villain. As expected in Sholly Fisch issues, the plot's a little complicated but not quite as confusing as in other instalments. There's a lot left to be desired with this issue's art style, but that's just down to personal taste, and I've elaborated on that more than enough. Nothing is really wrong with this issue, it's just not up to the high quality we can sometimes expect from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #9

Jun 15, 2023

There were so many references in this issue! The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.9 made sure to truly go for a crossover. From both big bad clowns showing up to the opening, depicting a young Shaggy and Scooby losing something they loved at a theater (poor Bruce Wayne!), this issue was rife with parallels and clever winks to the readers. I'm still not entirely sold on this issue's art style, but that doesn't take away from the story at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #10

Jul 13, 2023

This week's issue of The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries was a decent outing. The plot wasn't overly complicated if a little predictable. Everything about the issue was pretty consistent, which made for a fairly easy read. All the characters seemed to be their usual selves and everything was fine. It just wasn't the most exciting issue and that's okay. Everybody needs an alright filler every now and then and this time is no different.

View Issue       View Full Review
1
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #11

Aug 10, 2023

I tried with The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.11. I really, really did, but reading this issue just frustrated me and almost gave me a headache. So many things were incorrect or nonsensical that I couldn't get into the story. I can appreciate the creative team trying to do more with these stories and bring the characters of the Batman and Scooby Doo franchises into the future, but this wasn't the way to do it and none of it adds up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2022) #12

Sep 12, 2023

The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries #2.12 works fantastically well as both a standalone issue and the possible finale of a fun series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2024) #1

Jan 3, 2024

It's so nice to have this series back. It's been my favorite title to review and, so far, the third volume's delivering on the usual fun. With such a solid start from The Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3.1, the rest of the volume will hopefully follow through and maintain the excellent quality of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2024) #2

Feb 7, 2024

Overall, I've missed this series, but The Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3.2 didn't reach the standard I've come to expect. A simple story, basic art, and some light humor aren't solid ground for this excellent series. The rest of the volume will likely vary in quality as well, but let's hope that future issues will deliver an upswing in caliber.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2024) #3

Mar 7, 2024

ConclusionThe Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3.3 is a comforting issue that hits everything I've come to expect from this series. It was enjoyable and brought a good amount of fun. Overall, this issue was just solid entertainment and an interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2024) #4

Apr 3, 2024

The Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries #3.4 plays with some fun ideas, but felt like it didn't commit all the way. Still, this go around was a solid issue with an interesting villain and quality page time for the main cast. Megan Huang had a great introduction and I'd like to see her work in the series again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries (2024) #5

May 8, 2024

I really do love The Batman and Scooby-Doo Mysteries, so I feel bad rating it lower than usual. Sadly, though, the issue left a lot to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More