Mike Bedard's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 74
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Nov 28, 2018

Aquaman is almost in theaters, and I'm very excited to see it. It's bound to be a financial success, and I have no doubt that within days or weeks of its release, a press release will come out affirming a sequel is in the works. Aquaman is an iconic character with plenty of stories to pull from. While the higher-ups are talking about potential sequel ideas, I genuinely hope Drowned Earth is in talks to be adapted. That ending reminded me a lot of The Dark Knight Rises, and it would make for a thrilling conclusion to a trilogy of Aquaman films.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #14

Aug 23, 2017

Batgirl and Nightwing team up after both receiving a mysterious text. We also get a view into Barbara Gordon's past with an old friend, Ainsley.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #15

Sep 27, 2017

So far, the Summer of Lies arc has really needed some more consistency. It will jump from Batgirl and Nightwing tossing off one-liners to innocent people dying horrific deaths to misplaced romance. With the teaser that the Red Queen will be revealed in the next issue, hopefully this arc will keep it up a notch and deliver something truly great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #17

Nov 22, 2017

The issue does a great job of showing the impact drugs can have on not only users but on everyone in the user's life. Edith was destroyed. Barbara blamed herself. Ainsley was a great character for this arc. Here you have this intelligent individual with a ton of potential, and because of drugs, all that potential goes down the drain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #19

Jan 24, 2018

This is a great issue that excellently showcases Batgirl's brute strength as well as her detective skills. I can't wait to see how the story progresses in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #20

Mar 1, 2018

The issue feels as though it should have been two separate stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #21

Mar 28, 2018

Overall, this was a good detective story with characters you care about. It's the kind of story that leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy inside, and with some of the comics out there right now, I like having a pleasant story with a happy ending to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #22

Apr 25, 2018

From the very first panel, I would've sworn this was going to be a Ready Player One parody. Turns out the guy just wears a goofy visor and shoots electricity at people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #23

May 23, 2018

Batgirl goes full Inception in the newest issue and the second part of Strange Loop. As you'll recall from the last issue, Barbara was trapped in a dream-state. She learns the dream she's in is giving her everything she ever wanted, and in order to break out of the cycle, she needs to choose a different path.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jun 27, 2018

Ultimately, this is a solid issue with a lot of nice character moments for Barbara. She gets a chance to show off her tough-as-nails, Batman-esque side when she's chasing down criminals on her motorcycle. She also shows off her brilliant side (in the vein of Oracle), too. Whereas a lot of issues out this week are part of an overarching series, it's nice to get a simple one-off story like this. Sometimes what you need most is a nice morality tale with a few jokes sprinkled in, and this issue delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #25

Aug 15, 2018

We get four entertaining Batgirl stories in her anniversary issue, and while the thematic elements could have been a bit more cohesive, it makes for a wonderful celebration of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #26

Aug 29, 2018

In fact, Grotesque's M.O. is not unlike the Joker scene with Barbara in The Killing Joke. In that famous scene, Joker takes photographs of Barbara after she has been shot, turning her broken body into "art" to later torture Jim Gordon. Upon reflection, Grotesque is kind of the perfect villain for this arc, and it's no wonder why Batgirl is more vicious than usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #27

Sep 26, 2018

There has been a lot of discussion over Barbara Gordon's portrayal in recent years in the comics. Her disability made for great representation, showing she could still be a compelling character even without donning a moniker with "Bat" in the name. When she regained use of her legs, one could almost interpret it as a betrayal of that representation. This issue ends with a cliffhanger, and it will be interesting to see how the creative team handles this delicate balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #28

Oct 24, 2018

That's the main crux of the story. Grotesque's true identity is revealed, and Barbara discovers it potentially too late. Now that her dad is guarding valuable art, his life is at risk, and only she can save the day. I'm sure we'll get plenty of action in the next issue, but for now, it's nice to see Barbara recognizing she has value no matter what identity she assumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

In a way, James is Barbara's Joker. This issue makes it clear he intends to break her very much in the same way Joker wanted to show he could break Batman in that film. And he won't rest until they're both locked up in a padded cell forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Harley Quinn/Gossamer #1

Aug 29, 2018

Gossamer may not be an A-list Looney Tunes character, but the writers are able to have a surprising amount of fun with him teaming up with Harley. The fact he doesn't talk pairs nicely with Quinn's persona, who tends to talk a little bit too much for her own good sometimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #26

Aug 23, 2017

Harley Quinn goes on a rampage and considers a future in politics. I 100% endorse Harley Quinn's campaign. I've had my fill of violence for some time now, and I would love to see Harley genuinely putting on a mayoral campaign.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 6, 2017

This fill-in issue is a welcome breath of fresh air before we enter what is sure to be a tumultuous election for Harley. With the title of the next issue being Vote Harley! we will soon see Harley take on the man. Maybe well get some insightful political commentary out of the story arc, too!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #28

Sep 20, 2017

I have really been looking forward to this issue, and Im excited to see what Harley plans on doing. Right before her big announcement, she did murder a bunch of people. They were criminals, but Im expecting DePerto to bring Harleys body count into contention. Im also interested in seeing if the following issues draw on real world events, like the 2016 election, to provide commentary on how politics are conducted in the real world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #29

Oct 4, 2017

Im a big fan of Scarecrow, and I was excited to see him enter this arc. I hope he plays a more active role going forward. Its clear his plan was to make Harley freak out in the middle of a debate to make her lose credibility. However, it seems simple enough to explain how she fell victim to fear gas. If anything, it seems like falling victim to Scarecrows antics would make her more sympathetic to the public. Of course, thats assuming there isnt more to Scarecrows plan we havent seen yet...

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

Harleys political arc is a lot of fun. Going forward, I would love to see more satirical scenes like DePertos worst nightmare in this issue. I was actually more captivated by that scene than all the action beats with Poison Ivy green-ing the city. This issue had a lot to juggle between DePerto, Harley making the city a better place, and the new romantic subplot. I hope they can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #32

Nov 22, 2017

The carnage is fun, but it's nice to see Harley react like an actual human being under the circumstances

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 20, 2017

This issue barely leaves an impression. The mayoral race, which had a lot of potential, is won by Roberts. Politics are all but forgotten, so now we just have Harley being sad one moment and then seeming to be back to her old ways the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Jan 10, 2018

This issue was a little all over the place and was definitely lacking in action. We never even got to see what song Ivy sang for karaoke. One thing's for sure: it's time for Harley to start kicking things up a notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 17, 2018

The humor, mystery and action all played perfectly in this comic, and now that the introduction is out of the way, we can see Bat-Harley in all her glory.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #36

Jan 31, 2018

We get a chance to see Bat-Harley in all her glory in the latest issue of Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #37

Feb 7, 2018

I would highly recommend the current run of Harley comics to anyone who's not onboard yet. Every issue is a delightful romp. If you're like me, you'll have your roommates knocking on your door to figure out why you're chuckling in no time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #38

Feb 21, 2018

This issue is automatically all right in my book for bringing the Condiment King back into the mix. In fact, this whole issue is a delightful smorgasbord of B-list Batman villains wreaking havoc in New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #39

Mar 7, 2018

It's been a real treat seeing all these supervillains make New York their playground. All I really want to see is a showdown between Harley and Condiment King.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #40

Mar 21, 2018

It's great to see Harley have a sense of agency once again. She's sort of been in zombie-mode the last few weeks, and we get to see the full spectrum of what makes Harley great in this issue. She ain't afraid to crack some jokes, but she's also willing to see the beauty in the most tortured among us. It won't be long until we finally get this Harley vs. Penguin showdown we've been teased with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #41

Apr 4, 2018

This issue did everything needed for a nice conclusion. Harley's crew is back together and ready for the next adventure. The Batman villains will likely return to Gotham, and we can just sit back and enjoy the insanity that is certain to be Old Lady Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #42

Apr 18, 2018

It's a great one-off issue that wraps up the Penguin storyline in a unique fashion while still being entertaining in its own right. And with the news that we may have to wait a while for a Mad Max: Fury Road sequel, this issue should be enough to tide people over for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #43

Jun 6, 2018

Overall, it's a fun issue to open a new arc. It still leaves a lot of questions unanswered, and I have to admit: I kind of miss Harley hanging out with her pals. Granted, she has Bernie the Beaver with her, but he's mostly there as a voice of reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #44

Jun 20, 2018

Unfortunately, it seems as though Harley has no intentions on taking her necessary doses. As such, the ending is a bit of a letdown. For a while, Harley has been going back and forth on needing her friends and not needing them. She pushes people away, but when they inevitably come back, she's delighted to see them. It makes sense for her slightly schizophrenic personality, but at a certain point, you just want her to pick one side or the other. At least Frank and June got a date out of this whole ordeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #45

Jul 4, 2018

This issue certainly warrants a read. The idea of Harley Quinn wreaking her own special brand of havoc on Apokolips is definitely intriguing, and I'm looking forward to what the next issues will hold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #46

Jul 18, 2018

That being said, the saving grace of this issue is the jokes. There are some pretty good one-liners in here. I particularly enjoyed Harley's short recap of the previous issue while she's fighting Petite Tina. Now that Harley's against Granny Goodness, hopefully we can start seeing a little more action and conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #47

Aug 1, 2018

Overall, this is a solid issue with plenty of great standout moments. There's also a fantastic cameo toward the end that's better left discovered on your own. With a few laughs and fun action, you just can't go wrong, and this issue certainly delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #48

Aug 15, 2018

The jokes are solid, and the action is appropriately Harley Quinn-esque. Now I just really want to know why that video game is so special.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #49

Sep 5, 2018

The last two pages tease a far more interesting story than this one. I for one am looking forward to seeing what the writers have cooking for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #50

Sep 19, 2018

This issue celebrates Harley Quinn's 50th issue in an appropriate manner. It plays around with breaking the fourth wall but also shows the impact Quinn has had on people since she came into existence. There are plenty of Harley stories yet to come, and as long as they continue to be as entertaining as this one, Quinn will always have fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #51

Oct 3, 2018

There's a lot of cool concepts to play around with, but this issue does not really pounce on them. The cover shows Captain Triumph with a newspaper reading "Fascists No More." There was a good opportunity to delve into Captain Triumph still needing to fight fascists of today, but besides a couple panels showing him beating up dudes in gray suits, nothing really happens with it. This type of plot line could only work with Harley Quinn, and I'd like to see the creative team expand upon the ideas presented in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #52

Oct 17, 2018

There's a line in this issue that really stuck with me: "Nostalgia is a trap." Lately, Harley has been wanting to go back to her old life of crime. Not because she liked being a criminal more but because it was just simpler. The same sentiment could apply to a lot of people these days. These days, everyone's nostalgic for the 90s because that time seemed easier. There wasn't the same existential threat posed by technology and social media, and people weren't constantly talking about politics every single day.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #53

Nov 7, 2018

I had similar critiques for the last Harley arc regarding Captain Triumph, and the creative team really turned it around in the second part. I'm hoping something similar will occur this time. But at the end of the day, it's still an enjoyable Harley Quinn story about a relevant issue. It's funny, but there could be more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016): 25th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 13, 2017

This anniversary issue is a great way to celebrate Harley over the years. Each issue delves into a unique aspect of her character, whether it's Harley as a wild card, a genius, or just a woman looking for love. Anyone who loves Harley Quinn should definitely pick up this issue. From Batman: The Animated Series to Margot Robbie's portrayal in Suicide Squad, Harley Quinn has come a long way. Here's to 25 more years!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

In this issue, the members of the Justice League get involved in the most awkward family reunion ever when their future children travel to the past to get their help.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 6, 2017

For this issue (and the previous one) there hasnt been a lot of action. Its been a lot of setup and a lot of exposition, and Im hoping it leads to something great. With that being said, Ive really enjoyed the character development in these last couple of issues. Its been incredibly intriguing seeing how each member reacts to meeting their future children and learning a little about what kind of parent they each are. I cant wait to see how this all turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

Its also nice to see a real emotional core in this story. While the other kids may be focused on killing Wonder Woman, Serenity is spending time with her mom, Mera. Once Arthur breaks up the family reunion, we see that hes not completely lost. Hes still got a soft spot for Mera. Could his fondness for his wife be his undoing? Im excited to see how this all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #30

Oct 4, 2017

This is a fantastic arc, and anyone not reading it already sure is missing out. Whatever happens in the next issue or two is bound to have a lasting impact on the Justice League for some time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

The issue is gripping from start to finish. None of the individual challenges seem all that daunting. It's more about stretching the team to its limits, and it's a refreshing change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

I love Justice League arcs where the League has to go against the American government. When done right, I find these issues often lead to interesting, important conversations about what a superhero's role is supposed to be in the universe of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

This issue is almost certainly serving as a launch pad for fun to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #39

Feb 21, 2018

More interesting threads keep getting added to this storyline. I can't wait to see how they all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #40

Mar 7, 2018

Priest is doing a bang-up job with this arc. He's putting the League members in some interesting conundrums and asking important questions. It's really fascinating to watch the most powerful people on the planet debate who is most disposable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #41

Mar 21, 2018

Priest has done an amazing job with this arc. The action often takes a backseat to the moral quandaries our heroes are placed in. What's the right thing to do in all of these situations? And the truth of the matter is that there's simply no easy answer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #42

Apr 4, 2018

The League has done their best the last few issues to navigate the boundaries of right and wrong in a world that frequently operates in gray. For a team made up of aliens and demigods, the Justice League is still as clueless when navigating political waters as anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 18, 2018

This arc has been all about how, in the world of politics and borders, there is not always an easy answer. The Justice League cannot solve a humanitarian crisis by punching something, and the League has even had to contend with the fact that their presence could make a crisis worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

There's a ton of great stuff in this issue, but what I love about it more than anything is its willingness to take risks and be bold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

There are a lot of moving pieces associated with this story. There's a lot that still needs to be answered, but for the time being, it's an enjoyable mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

It's taking a long time to figure out just what the hell is going on, but I'm enjoying the ride. Snyder has crafted a Justice League story where no one feels like an afterthought. Every member of the League gets a chance to shine, and even the villains are given their fair due. For any other writer, I'd be nervous about whether the arc could stick the landing, but I trust Snyder.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 18, 2018

I loved how this issue gives the Justice League more of a backseat. Instead, we get treated to the Legion of Doom's perspective. The first couple of panels giving us some insight into Gorilla Grodd's mindset were absolutely chilling, and they were excellent for setting the stage for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

It's nice to get an issue from the villains' perspectives, and although the villains aren't empathetic, the disconnect just makes them all the more terrifying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

Snyder has been masterful at creating plenty of organic twists and turns. There really are no weak players. Generally, with issues like this that have over a dozen active characters, there is usually at least one plotline that just isn't engaging as the rest, and I really have to slog through the pages until something more interesting happens. With this storyline, everything is essential. Everyone has an important part to play, and I look forward to every character's upcoming actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 5, 2018

The Justice League has to confront the fact they are not merely working against Luthor and the Legion of Doom. They may very well be working against the nature of the universe. It's a high-concept idea, and I'm looking forward to seeing whether the team here can follow through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

Much like the last issue to focus on the Legion of Doom, this is an intriguing issue. While it doesn't offer much in terms of action, I'm certain it will play an integral role in the stories to come. It's almost like we as the reader are psychologists gaining crucial insight into the minds of monsters. It's a little scary, but you'll find yourself coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2018) #9

Oct 3, 2018

I was surprised the story didn't delve into what the hell was going on in the world when the moon was destroyed. At the very least, one would assume it would disrupt tidal patterns. That is until I noticed the title of the next issue is "The World Drowns." This issue may have been slow, but hopefully it's setting up more intriguing developments to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #10

Oct 17, 2018

If there's one thing this issue left me with, it was the need to see more. I want to know more about the invaders. With their awesome designs, I hope they come with equally awesome backstories. I want to see Superman and Flash do more than just fruitlessly search for the Legion of Doom. I'm certain the next issue will deliver in spades. I trust Scott Snyder implicitly at this point. This issue just serves to whet your appetite while tantalizing bigger things to come in a couple weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2018) #11

Nov 7, 2018

It does end with a nice cliffhanger with the Legion of Doom teleporting into Batman's lair. It seems as though things will return to the previous storyline, and hopefully Snyder can make good on the teaser that was the Batman Who Laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2018) #12

Nov 21, 2018

The art's great, and the writing backs it up wonderfully. One of my favorite lines in the issue is when Batman busts into the Hall of Justice and tells the Legion, "Right over here, we have the part of the Hall where Batman kicked the asses of the Legion of Doom." It's just a cool line to bring Batman out of remission in an epic fashion. Overall, Drowned Earth is picking up in a big way, and with the promise of a Death Kraken on the way, this is one storyline to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 25, 2018

The first issue of Justice League Dark definitely lives up to its name by being darker and more disturbing than a lot of other comics on the shelves now. Wonder Woman serves as a nice surrogate for the audience, and I'm looking forward to seeing a lot more messed up magic in the future. For now, I'll think I'll watch the DC animated film Justice League Dark, which is probably better than any live action version of the film we could ever hope to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 22, 2018

If you like more macabre stories, then this is for you. While the art's great, the story doesn't slack either. Especially that great twist that will leave you chomping at the bit for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 26, 2018

It's clear this is just the beginning, so if you aren't currently caught up on Justice League Dark, this is a great time to get started. Wonder Woman has a far larger role in this than I was anticipating, so even if you're only a fan of hers, this storyline is right up your alley, provided you have the stomach for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #4

Oct 17, 2018

If you haven't yet checked out Wonder Woman #56, then I'd highly suggest doing so. You will need the backstory, and Justice League Dark is one of the most compelling stories to hit stands recently.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Lady Harley #1

Oct 24, 2018

There are some great appearances toward the end once the duo winds up in Gotham. Honestly, you just need to do yourself a favor and pick up Old Lady Harley today. This is one series you're going to want to stick with, and reading it is the perfect way to put yourself in a good mood for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Lady Harley #2

Nov 28, 2018

An understated part of the issue I really enjoyed was the opening news flashes. I'm glad to see it carried over from the previous issue, and it's a fun little parody of the news clips featured throughout The Dark Knight Returns. Regardless of whether those Canadian zombies end up playing a major role in the plot, it helps color the world in a fun way. Ultimately, I just feel bad for anyone not reading Old Lady Harley right now.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More