Monica Archer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 33
9.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Adventure Time #69

Oct 4, 2017

Overall though, for any fan of Marceline, particularly if you enjoy seeing the Necrosphere and learning about Marcys relationship with her father, I would definitely recommend this issue, even if you dont normally read the Adventure Time comics. For fans of the comic, I found this issue particularly enjoyable, and dont think you should pass it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #14

Aug 23, 2017

Hope Larsons first issue gives us just enough of the story to really get us hooked, but promises much more. Its exciting to see that Batgirls new storyline has clearly been planned out so carefully from the beginning. By intercutting scenes of Barbara both in the present and in the past, we see the evolution of one of the most inspirational DC heroines in a new way, and Larson is able to demonstrate how years of crime fighting has impacted her. Everything about the way the comic is written and illustrated is new and compelling and I say without reservation that I give Batgirl: Rebirth my highest recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Three #11

Oct 26, 2017

In conclusion, if you really liked Eleven for the shows interesting cast or his more developed emotional connections with the people in his life, and were hoping for expansion on him as a person or any of the people close to him, as I was, this comic probably isnt for you. If you enjoyed the rest of the comics or Eleven isnt usually your favorite, you might actually like the way he is written in this, because hes a bit closer to the normal Doctors than he is in the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Ducktales #3

Nov 29, 2017

In conclusion, if youre enjoying the new Ducktales series, I would really suggest you give this comic a read. Odds are, if you like the show, youre already a comic book fan anyway, and these comics definitely hold to the high writing standard set by the show, and give you valuable insight into the past adventures of the older members of the Duck family.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #2

Aug 23, 2017

This particular issue gives us some good insight into the exact forces driving JemCorp and the city built on holograms. Most importantly, however, the comic does a good job keeping the question of Jerrica revealing her secret identity and her use of Synergy at the forefront of the readers minds, even though were in another dimension. If anything, each new fact she learns about this dystopia built on Synergys power helps to inform the decision about whether or not to come clean to the public back in her native world. In this way the writers have made this extra-dimensional dystopian adventure not only relevant, but absolutely integral to Jerricas character development. Kelly Thompson has laid the foundation for an absolutely phenomenal story about Jerrica learning what it means to be a leader and a heroine, and to place those lessons in the context of her making a huge decision about who she is, and I, for one, cant wait to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #2

Sep 12, 2017

This issue of Misfits was a great installment of an already great storyline, thoughtfully fleshing out both the alternate world of Infinite and Pizzazzs character. Thompsons writing continues to impress. As such, I continue to giive this issue and this comic series my highest recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 13, 2017

As for those who say this comic doesn't live up to its hype, my (not so) humble opinion is that they're flat-out wrong. It does that and much more, and I am certain it will be considered one of the greatest comic books of our era. Anyone who calls themselves a comic book fan, or even a consumer of important contemporary media, and does not read this comic is making a huge mistake, and doing themselves a grave disservice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mr Higgins Comes Home #1

Nov 3, 2017

The book is also a stand alone adventure, which is sort of rare nowadays in comics. I recently had a conversation with a friend who was complaining that we dont just make any fun stand alone comic books anymore, and I actually suggested this book to him in response. Its a fun single issue with a contained plot that is easy to understand but not overly simplified. For anyone looking for a good read, particularly for this Halloween season, I would definitely suggest you give Mr. Higgins Comes Home a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #59

Oct 5, 2017

Overall, in both this issue and most of the comic, the art for the Friendship is Magic comics is great. Its slightly less cutesy than the show, but it conveys emotions and the unique, iconic shenanigans of My Little Pony exceedingly well. The writing isnt always perfect, but it is usually pretty enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #8

Nov 15, 2017

If you enjoy the shows setting and humor and are interested in seeing more of the universe, this comic is a great choice. The characters are fun, the plot is interesting, the art is great, and the dialogue is funny and engaging. I would definitely recommend this comic to any fans of My Little Pony who are up for a fun, light-hearted adventure in Equestrias past.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Over The Garden Wall: 2017 Special #1

Sep 20, 2017

Everything about this comic is spectacularly conceived and executed. Not just the art and writing, but also the lettering, which is increasingly a digital process, is absolutely masterfully done. The stories are enjoyable to anyone who enjoyed the show, though honestly the tributes to different comic styles are so well done that any comic book fan should be eager to get their hands on it. This book is a masterpiece, much like the show that inspired it that any serious comic fan should appreciate and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Spider-Man/Deadpool #22

Oct 6, 2017

The art is pretty good, honestly Id say above average for Marvel lines, and, as Ive stated, the dialogue is great and the story makes a lot of sense. To any fan of Deadpool, these comics are a must, as they serve to develop his complicated relationship with Spider-Man, an increasingly important part of his character in the last five years or so. Personally, I enjoy them more than usual Spider-Mancomics, but if youre looking for the slice of life/soap opera elements that are usually prominent in the life of the web-slinging hero, you will probably be disappointed. This line focuses more on humor than anything else, which for Marvel, I find to be a refreshing change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Star Trek TNG: Mirror Broken #5

Dec 11, 2017

Overall, the comic is great, its a really entertaining and visually beautiful exploration of The Next Generation crew in the mirror universe, which was an idea that was sorely in need of writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #38

Nov 10, 2017

Anyway, I think this comic is exploring some interesting ideas and concepts, and I think there are a lot of questions worth answering about Jedha and Gerreras partisans, even if the Imperial side of the plot seems a bit lacking. And, certainly, for first time readers of the Star Wars comics, you couldnt ask for a better or more understandable introduction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star Wars (2014) Annual #3

Sep 25, 2017

Overall, though, I really liked this annual, both the art and the writing, and would say it was a real treat for anyone who was in the mood for a good focus on Han and Leia away from the stresses of the current overall mainline comic plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 11, 2017

As a way to reach out to younger audiences, both for Star Wars and comics themselves, I think that Star Wars: Adventures is pretty successful. Furthermore, it manages to fill in a few gaps in the canon, which is appreciated. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to share Star Wars or comics in general with their kids or are interested in Reys life before the movie or Jakku during the time of The Force Awakens. Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars Adventures #3

Oct 18, 2017

Needless to say, this was a particularly special Star Wars comic for me, and I would suggest it to all hard-core fans (even though its a bit different from what were used to for the comics) and to anyone who wants a genuinely enjoyable supplement to the most recent film additions to the canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #6

Oct 12, 2017

For anyone who wants to understand more about the Dark Side of the Force, and any of its practitioners in the Galactic Empire, this comic is a must. I would also seriously recommend it to people who just love Vader and want to read more about him, because it has an incredibly deep and thoughtful personal focus on the character that I feel was sometimes missing from the previous Darth Vader arcs. For more of the darkest complexities of one of the greatest villains of all time, you need look no further than this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #7

Nov 2, 2017

Anyway, I think this comic is one of the best links between different parts of the Star Wars canon that weve seen so far. Events in Vaders life and his relationship with Palpatine connect him with Kylo, while events regarding the surviving Jedi and Inquisitorius connect Clone Wars with Rebels. To any fan of Star Wars, casual or intense, this comic is definitely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #8

Nov 17, 2017

In conclusion, this comic is absolutely great. For those of you whove seen Rebels or Clone Wars, it should be incredibly satisfying and entertaining, and for anyone else, it is still a great insight into understanding one of the most iconic villains of all time: Darth Vader.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #9

Dec 8, 2017

Anyway, this was a great issue, I absolutely loved it. This comic is great, and if youre not reading it, youre definitely missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #12

Sep 14, 2017

The stage has also been set for a pretty epic lightsaber battle next issue between Rur (the alleged Jedi Spirit inhabiting a powerful droid body built by Aphra) and Darth Vader. And of course, with Aphra remaining behind to either save some artifacts because she can still be a hero! And rich!, leaving the potential for her to run into her old boss again. Definitely the Aphra plot is still one of the most compelling currently running in the canon, and this issue is not one to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #14

Nov 21, 2017

I do find the current setup pretty compelling though, and the writers have done a great job at making Tolvans situation something that were following alongside Aphras. Im really looking forward to the continuation of their story. I definitely recommend this comic to anyone who wants a fun sci-fi adventure and more expansion the secular/historical/criminal end of the Star Wars universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Mace Windu #1

Aug 31, 2017

The first issue of Mace Windu was everything I had hoped for, and more. A must read for Star Wars fans (particularly those of us looking to learn more about Mace Windu) and a great introduction to Star Wars comics for anyone looking to break in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Mace Windu #3

Oct 27, 2017

Honestly, if you care at all about the Republic Jedi, the Jedi Order as an institution or the events of Clone Wars and the impact they had on politics within the Order, you need to read this comic, you will definitely find it worth your while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Mace Windu #4

Dec 4, 2017

I do hope the comic gets back to actually dealing with the Jedi Orders hypocrisies instead of just excusing or glossing over them like Clone Wars always did, but at least its still showing them, I guess? Im going to reserve judgment on saying that its not living up to its potential, but this issue did certainly stray from the path a bit. Well see with the next one if they manage to find their way back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #19

Sep 27, 2017

This issue was, given the contents, pretty important to the entire Poe Dameron comic, definitely not one to miss for anyone invested in the setting of the new trilogy. It was also pretty fun and well written, I enjoyed a lot of the dialogue and thought that the art for this issue was particularly good. I for one am greatly anticipating the remainder of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #20

Oct 20, 2017

To summarize, this was a good introduction to what I hope will be a very rewarding arc of one my favorite Star Wars comics. It would be a decent place to pick up Poe Dameron if you havent read it before, and certainly is not one to miss for continuing readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #21

Dec 5, 2017

Still, I think this is a really important concept that weve introduced, and this issue was pretty landmark both in terms of the current state of galactic politics and underlying ideas. Definitely if youre a Star Wars person, or even want to just be sure youre prepared for the next movie, I would suggest you start getting into Poe Dameron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Rogue One Graphic Novel Adaptation #1

Dec 12, 2017

Anyway, thats my take on it. Its a pretty good graphic novel adaptation, especially for younger audiences. If you havent already got the Marvel one, or you were looking for an adaptation of Rogue One that was more suited for all-ages, this is definitely a good pick for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #26

Nov 14, 2017

I honestly love this sort of book, its not just a great exhibit of comic book art and also a heart-warming tribute to the comic book community. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this comic and seeing all of the love that went into it, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who loves Squirrel Girl, Ryan North, or even just comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War Mother #1

Aug 30, 2017

Still, the fantastic art and fascinating setting more than makeup for the mediocre interior writing and War Mother #1 is a pretty promising first issue. If youre looking for a fresh science fiction comic with spectacular art, a dynamic protagonist and unique setting, you should think about giving War Mother #1 a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Aug 31, 2017

I would still recommend the Rebirth arc to anyone who enjoys Wonder Woman, but I wouldnt put Heart of the Amazon anywhere on my list of favorite Wonder Woman comics, and given her recent surge in popularity, I dont fully understand why that is the case.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More