Rachel Freeman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Pop Break Reviews: 94
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Angelic #1

Sep 21, 2017

This comic tackles mature themes in a way that can be enjoyed and valued by a younger audience as well as adults. It's silly, it's fun, but the message is clear and it matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ascender #1

Apr 25, 2019

Jeff Lemire gives us a new story but manages to pay homages to Descender, again, without making it overwhelming to new readers. It taunts you to read its predecessor, but doesn't make you feel left in the dust for not having to yet. I don't know how long that will last though, so you should probably do that sooner rather than later. I already like Mila and this new villain of Mother seems like she is going to be exceptionally detestable. I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ascender #2

May 30, 2019

I don't think Dustin Nguyen can produce poor quality art. I don't think the man is capable. Everything he does is just so pretty " even when it's a grotesque tentacle monster with like 17 eye balls.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #33

Mar 27, 2019

Although Elena Casagrande and Scott Godlewski are new to illustrating this series, they do an amazing job. And John Kalisz's colors are fantastic, I especially loved the reds and blues during the argument between Barbara and Commissioner Gordon. I also just have to say that I really love the direction Batgirl is going following the creative team change. She looks and seems more mature, more Barbara Gordon, to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #36

Jul 8, 2019

I was very satisfied with this transition issue and I can't wait to see what Cecil Castelluci has in store next for Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #37

Jul 24, 2019

While Castellucci tackles all of this content well, it does feel like a lot for one issue. It could have definitely been split into two, but as I said previously, DC wants their event to kick off and everything needs to happen in specific order with specific timing or things will get thrown off. Hopefully that means next issue will be able to either split up or more effectively combine these three plots.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) #38

Aug 28, 2019

Carmine Di Giandomenico's art and Jordie Bellaire's colors were gorgeous as always and I really like the design of this "Oracle" character, I just don't understand her purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #39

Sep 27, 2019

I have my complaints, but Batgirl #39 is still a worthwhile read. So make sure you pick it up from your local comic shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

I've always loved any team-up with Batgirl and Supergirl. If you love either character, or you're like me and love both, I recommend picking this one up. The stories are interesting, the dialogue between the dynamic-girl-duo is great, and you get to meet some new enemies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 3, 2018

It was a great first issue, but I still need to see more of this story. There's also a lot that relies on readers having read We Are Robin and Batman: Zero Year / Endgame. If you haven't read them both, its not that you'll be missing the plot points, but you definitely won't have a full understanding of certain things they mean and even who certain characters are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 25, 2019

It was just under two years ago that Batman: White Knight #1 came out and a little over a year since the final issue, yet it feels like we've been waiting forever for Sean Murphy's story to return. Even so, this issue doesn't miss a beat bringing us back into the world of Jack Napier's Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Damned #3

Jun 27, 2019

Despite my criticisms, Batman: Damned is still a story I think you should read if you like darker Batman stories and if you liked Joker (if you haven't, you should 100% read Joker). While you shouldn't expect it to live up to Joker or to be mind-blowing, you can expect it to be an interesting, thought-provoking, read. Just be ready for those thoughts to never reach a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cold Blood Samurai #1

Apr 10, 2019

Massimo Rosi is clearly drawing from his ancient Greek source material, but he also making the story his own in a lot of ways. For example, mice aren't relevant. But more importantly, he's bringing life to characters he created. While certain aspects are similar to the original story, there is still much that is different to make this version unique and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Crosswind #2

Jul 27, 2017

Ultimately, this comic, yet again, delivers a quality and intriguing story with great characters and a fabulous and unique way of telling it's story. So make sure you pick up a copy of Crosswind #2 from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #4

Sep 28, 2017

I was not as enthralled by this issue as I have been with the previous three, but I still liked it and I'm still excited to read this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 15, 2017

While I wish there was more Hawkman and Hawkgirl, the issue sucked me in right away and made me excited for this summer event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 19, 2017

Scott Snyder's enthralling story telling and Greg Capullo's art are nothing short of amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days of Hate #1

Jan 17, 2018

Kot has made a fictional story that feels incredibly real. It's that sense of reality within the story he created that just envelops you. It's scary in a way, but it also makes it powerful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Batman/Elmer Fudd #1

Jul 1, 2017

This issue had me cracking up and kept me invested in the story. Batman seemed a little out of character with his one-liners, I could have done without that, but I understand why they did it. It just wasn't my cup of tea. This is a must-read for comic and/or Looney Tunes fans, so make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #1

Feb 7, 2018

While there are times Dejah is drawn in a way that is clearly sexualizing her, this does not detract from what's happening, nor does it detract from the look in her eyes like she will totally murder you without hesitation if you get in her way. Qualano manages to find this balance between keeping her looking sexy but also strong and fearless. Plus, when she gets her armor she looks so freaking cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dodge City #1

Mar 7, 2018

Josh Trujillo has created some wonderful characters, I can already tell. And I love the fact that there are several panels where Abril and Toms only speak in Spanish without a translation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

So, to start off, the art for this comic is great. I love the details, especially on the beast humanoids. Sumeyye Kesgin adds just the right amount of detail so you can tell these creatures are covered in fur but still have that human resemblance. And Jay Faerber does an amazing job capturing Amelia Earhart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Fantomah #1

Jul 27, 2017

Ok, I had to dock a little bit because there is one thing in the comic that bothers me"What's with the little boy's photo on the bridge? I mean, it's clearly a place where this child died, but we see it several times so it's obviously relevant. But why? There's no overheard radio or tv news story about it, no one mentions it. It's just this picture of this little boy. On a bridge. With flowers and candles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Female Furies #3

Apr 4, 2019

While this issue ends ultimately with sadness, there is just a bit of light that shines as Barda meets Scott Free (winkwink). Their coming together makes me happy. And their coming together makes me eager for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghost-Spider (2019) #1

Aug 23, 2019

It was by no means a bad issue, but it isn't exactly a relaunch either, so I do recommend reading the previous issues first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ghosted in L.A. #1

Aug 1, 2019

My first impression of this series is a positive one. It already feels cute, light, and relatable, with a diverse cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Godshaper #3

Jun 17, 2017

My complaint was minuscule, especially compared to how amazing this book has been. I hope the skipping from A to B doesn't continue, but I also know sometimes you have a page requirement to meet and you have to cut down where you can. Regardless, I HIGHLY recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Going to the Chapel #1

Sep 4, 2019

This debut issue is a great start to what will clearly be a great series, so make sure you pick up Going to the Chapel #1 from your local comic shop!Happy reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

I feel like Jody Houser is on the right track though, especially when it comes to capturing her relationship with Poison Ivy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Inferior Five #1

Sep 18, 2019

It's not what I'd expect given the original Inferior Five works, which I'm totally okay with, but also I can see how this might annoy some people given the pretty huge jump from the 1960s plot to this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: 2017 Special #1

Nov 30, 2017

The way this special is set up, the stories shift from familiar to new. Every other story is a new character, so we are equally given time with new characters, and developments, origins, or simple side stories for characters we know and love. Each story is unique and tells its tale in a way that wraps up nicely. No story feels too long or cut short and you can tell the writers and illustrators know this movie, these characters, and this world. If you're a fan of Labyrinth, I have no doubt you'll love this special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #1

Feb 28, 2018

Simon Spurrier has such a knack for Jim Henson characters. His stories retain that Henson-esque familiarity but he still manages to make them his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #1

Sep 26, 2019

Nicole Andelfinger clearly has a good grasp on this world and who these characters are, and Matias Basla's art is just perfect for Jim Henson's world. I'm really excited to learn even more about Thra's history and Ordon and Fara's part in it, in particular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Joker/Harley: Criminal Sanity #1

Oct 11, 2019

Kami Garcia has given us a Harley/Joker story that is, if you follow true crime, totally plausible. Which is probably what makes this Joker even more unsettling than he already is, but it also makes Harley's obsession with him more understandable. Same amount of obsession, but for a totally different reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter Jet #1

Dec 8, 2017

One of the best parts of this comic is the mini comic at the end telling the origin of the jetpack. It's only part one though, so as we learn our current tale, we will learn the past leading up to it at the same time without it interfering with the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

Without spoiling, I will say that I really liked the ending. I like that everything is ultimately rounded up, but now we have a new question. It already allows us to start imagining what the JLA could be up against next. So make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ladycastle #4

May 31, 2017

I think adult women will like and appreciate the story, but I think young women will get something more. I think that's the audience where this book will shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lazaretto #1

Sep 6, 2017

I'm on board. I'm ready for this to take off. But I don't see the Lord of the Flies reference yet. I'm hopeful though. Even if it's not there (please be there) I still have pretty solid faith that this will be a story worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lazaretto #3

Nov 2, 2017

We are past the middle and heading towards the end of our story. Chapman throws one more wrench at us right at the very end of the comic that will tear at your heart. Just by what happened in this comic and its ending, I can already tell there's a lot in store for us in Issue 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lazaretto #4

Dec 20, 2017

I feel like I say it in every review, but I will continue to sing the praises of Jey Levang's art. Especially now that people's' skin is literally just falling off of them. Levang's art style is gritty. Not dark. It's gritty. These decomposing faces look super gross. And his attention to subtle details are fantastic. Things as little as blood starting to leak from Charles's eyes so the reader knows how far the disease has actually progressed within him without slapping us in the face with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lazaretto #5

Jan 31, 2018

I picked up the first issue of Lazaretto one day and I was immediately sold. I highly, highly recommend this series. So make sure you pick up Lazaretto from your local comic store. Happy reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Little Bird #1

Mar 15, 2019

Not only do we have these amazing characters, but we have probably the best villain for them to fight. Essentially he's a dictator and some kind of priest or Pope type character, and he's very representative of the Christian America, the views it had (and let's be honest, many still have), and the way America went about destroying all in its path that didn't adhere to its beliefs on God. Which may trigger some people, but while Little Bird may be fictional, American history was very real, and to me, that makes this story a necessary one to tell and to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lois Lane (2019) #2

Aug 9, 2019

The creative team has done an amazing job so far. They manage to keep up this intense feeling despite there not being a lot of action. I mean, Lois is a reporter. Yes, there is some violence and shooting, but this isn't a series about someone physically fighting crime like we often see. It's about fighting crime in a different way. Which is honestly, incredibly inspiring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lois Lane (2019) #4

Oct 3, 2019

It's not an action-y issue, but it's an important, developmental one. We get some great Lois/Jon moments and honestly, I really liked the point Lois made about the truth and why she keeps so much of it to herself. Big props to Greg Rucka for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lucy Dreaming #1

Mar 22, 2018

You can also totally tell Max Bemis and Michael Dialynas are Star Wars fans. The Star Wars is strong with this one. And it's amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 2, 2017

This was a fantastic first issue. The history of this future world was explained succinctly and in a way that was completely logical " during a celebratory assembly to announce the newest chosen cadets. And it didn't take up a huge chunk of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mech Cadet Yu #8

Apr 11, 2018

A bit of a hectic issue, but still enthralling. Mech Cadet Yu continues to be my favorite all ages comic (and by all ages I mean 9 years and up).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moonstruck #1

Jul 23, 2017

Moonstruck has a very Adventure Time/Steven Universe-esque art style. It's cute and sometimes goes in to that sketchy-derp style we all know and love, but it still remains different enough that it doesn't just feel like a copy of the same ol' " same ol' stuff. It's vibrant and colorful but can also be very bleak to match the situation at hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 22, 2017

I really liked this issue. I've liked all of the issue, though, so maybe I have a bit of bias. I just think Jody Houser is doing a phenomenal job with this character. The only complaint I really have is that I don't like the art FOR THIS SERIES. I think Shawn Crystal is incredibly talented and his art is beautiful. But Tommy Lee Edwards had this grit to it, his style felt perfect. It's also the style the series started with and had for its first 3 issues, so maybe I just need to get used to Shawn Crystal's. For now though, it just doesn't feel quite right for this character. We'll have to wait and see. I suppose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mother Panic #6

Apr 26, 2017

So in this issue, we don't see a whole lot of action from Mother Panic. It's mostly just Pretty being insane. Really, a lot of insanity in this issue. And you can see it in the art. The colors, the way the shapes and faces blend and distort.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #7

May 30, 2017

I think this is an excellent kick off to our new story arc and I can't wait to see where Jody Houser takes us. Also, beautiful artwork from John Paul Leon, I hope we get to see him for more than a couple issues. Be sure to pick up a copy of Mother Panic #7 from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motherlands #1

Jan 31, 2018

The comic maintains this outlandish tempo right up to the end. Which is expected by Simon Spurrier. His writing for Power of the Dark Crystal is elegant and beautiful " but if you have read Godshaper or Angelic (which if you haven't, you totally should) then you know just how out there he can get with the world and characters he weaves. One of my favorite things about Spurrier's writing is his use of slang. When he creates a world, he truly creates a world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Naomi #4

Apr 18, 2019

Finally, after four issues, we have at least an inkling of what Naomi is and where she may have come from. Only an inkling though, and really, it's barely even that. But it seems like we will start getting some concrete answers soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Naomi #5

May 16, 2019

Jamal Campbell's art is just gorgeous. I cannot sing the praises of his art enough. The characters are just so human and expressive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Naomi #6

Jul 10, 2019

I need more. I know it's a good thing that fans want more, but I can't help feeling like Bendis and Walker could have given us a little more than they did to hold us over until Naomi returns. Oh well, at least we can stare at Jamal Campbell's beautiful and feel more than satisfied by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
No One Left To Fight #1

Jul 5, 2019

Aubrey Sitterson and Fico Ossio clearly understand both the anime and comic genre well, so I have high hopes for this series. I can just hear the voice of Kyle Hebert saying "Next month in, No One Left to Fight"" and giving us a teaser that tells us nothing but gets us super pumped regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #3

Mar 22, 2017

I want to read the next issue, I want to know what happens next. Im still intrigued, but this issue really put a damper on the series thus far for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Once & Future #1

Aug 14, 2019

Magic, mysticism, and familiar names from old stories fill you with curiosity and just enough nostalgia to bring you in, but not so much that it's the same old story you read before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Pretty Deadly: The Rat #1

Sep 4, 2019

As if no time has passed at all, DeConnick and Ros don't miss a step in diving back into the dark, morbid world of Pretty Deadly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Raven #6

Feb 15, 2017

I wish we had a little more information, but you can only do so much in 6 issues. Ultimately, I was very happy with this series and it makes me want to start reading the new Teen Titans. Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ronin Island #1

Mar 6, 2019

Greg Pak could be building a bridge between two worlds and I will happily stand in the middle and help usher people across it. Giannis Milonogiannis's detailed art and Irma Kniivila's colors bring this story (that could easily be a show) to life. It reminds me a bit of Avatar: The Last Airbender in that it has a bit of a light-hearted feel, but can also very easily get serious. It's something that kids and adults can appreciate and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ronin Island #5

Aug 8, 2019

This issue has made a big set-up so I'm betting the next issue, as the official halfway point, is sure to be intense and you aren't going to want to miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rose #5

Aug 9, 2017

Meredith Finch loves to leave us on cliffhangers and this issue is no exception. She always does it in a tactical way. But damnit. I just want to know what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
RWBY #1

Oct 9, 2019

Mirka Andolfo's art is absolutely perfect for RWBY's style and Arif Prianto's colors are simply beautiful. Most manga is in black and white, so it's basically just a manga but with colors, which makes it all the more gorgeous to look at. This coupled with Marguerite Bennett's writing makes for not just pretty pictures to look at, but a solid story to dive into, again, even without prior knowledge of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #1

Mar 1, 2017

I really enjoyed this first issue. Im 100% on board. Its set to be an 8-issue mini but I already feel like I want it to continue because I can tell Im going to be incredibly attached to Abel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #2

Apr 5, 2017

We're only on issue #2 and I'm already getting sucked in to this series. Make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #4

Jun 7, 2017

Ultimately, not a whole lot of action in this issue, just lots of things on fire"but it's absolutely worth the read! Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sera and the Royal Stars #1

Jul 17, 2019

I'd describe Sera & the Royal Stars as a comic version of a Persian epic (obviously not a poem though). It immediately reminds me of ancient stories like Homer's Iliad and Odyssey or Dante's Divine Comedy. It's a heroic tale loosely based on actual history where mortal human chosen by the gods to save them because they cannot do it themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Snotgirl #6

Jul 5, 2017

After a 6 month hiatus, this comic didn't miss a beat. It did, however, totally debunk all of my fangirl theories so now I'm back to square one. My only real complaint is that, while interesting, I really don't care about Misty's history. I think that could have been condensed a little more to make more room for Caroline and Lottie development, but I also don't know what Leslie Hung and Bryan Lee O'Malley are planning. So it could end up being super relevant!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snotgirl #10

Apr 4, 2018

Bryan Lee O'Malley writes a hell of a story and the mystery keeps me coming back. He knows how to give you just enough information to keep you wanting more, but not enough to piece it all together. Top that off with the amazing artwork from Leslie Hung (the woman can make a ghost look attractive) and Snotgirl continues to be a worthwhile investment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Something is Killing the Children #2

Oct 17, 2019

Since I didn't get to say it in an initial review, Werther Dell'Edera's art and Miquel Muerto's colors are fabulous. I love the overall design of the environment and characters, but I especially love the monsters. So, big props to them " fantastic work, guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Space Bandits #1

Jul 10, 2019

Matteo Scalera's art and Marcelo Maiolo's colors are absolutely gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Subspecies #1

Mar 14, 2018

I think we have a lot of potential here and I have complete faith in Cullen Bunn's ability to write excellent horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sword Master (2019) #3

Sep 12, 2019

I'm really enjoying these two parallel stories and how they differ depending on the apparent medium. I mean, it's a comic, but this series is also being used as a way for Marvel to reach a more diverse reader group and introduce more people to the world of comics, which is an idea that I support 100%. Seriously, these two creative teams have been doing a great job with this task and I can't wait to see what more will be in store for this series and the others Marvel is doing this sort of expansion with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sword Master (2019) #4

Oct 2, 2019

Greg Pak, Fonda Lee, and Shuizhu have all clearly done their research on the stories they are telling and do an amazing job of fitting in to this new superhero narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Circle (2016) #4

Mar 22, 2017

As always, Alyzia Zherno's art was eerily gorgeous. I really think she was perfect for drawing this series. I do wish we got to see more of the action that happened and more of what Christian can do. We have one issue left and I still don't fully understand his power. Then again, neither does Christian, so maybe that's how it's supposed to be. That feeling was amplified in this issue though because there was a lot of action, but we didn't really get to see it at the same time. I'm incredibly excited and truly sad that next month I'll be reading the last issue. But it has been, and I'm sure will continue to be, a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Circle (2016) #5

May 24, 2017

As our story comes to a close, I have to say that I highly recommend this series. I enjoyed every issue, even this last one that felt a bit hectic and rushed. Ultimately, this story was amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fourth Planet #1

Feb 23, 2017

While I have my nitpicks, I still loved this issue. The fighting, the technology, the characters, everything seems to be growing and developing more and more in this new world and I just want to keep reading! That's how you know its a good story. So make sure you pick up a copy of The Fourth Planet #4 at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #3

May 30, 2017

So far, the characters have stayed true. While they are creepy, the Skeksis are still also comedic with their bickering. And the new duo, Thurma and Kensho, are a very different dynamic than Jen and Kira. Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #4

Jun 29, 2017

Ultimately, the plot continues to thicken. I'm interested to see how Jen will react when he sees what has really happened to the world he and Kira risked their lives to save. I also love the growing mythology of this world. Thurma's story about the Fire Maiden and the Ice Being who fell in love was so beautiful. I want to hear more stories about her people. I want to learn more about the other races in this world. Oh, and Kensho and Thurma are just. So. Freaking. Cute.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #5

Jul 27, 2017

I'm so happy we got more from Kensho, we got some sweet flame power action too. You should definitely pick up this issue and if you haven't been reading, jump on to Jim Henson's The Power of the Dark Crystal immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #7

Sep 28, 2017

We've kind of hit that part in the story where there's a bit of a lull. It's a lot of talking and learning new things, but it's not a lot of over-arcing plot development. However, this issue ends on an incredibly high note and you can tell that a lot of stuff is about to go down in issue #8. Plus, I could seriously just stare at the art and the scenery and the creatures all day and be happy. Kelly and Nicole Matthews have just mastered this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #10

Jan 10, 2018

We are approaching the last two issues, and I don't feel like I'm as excited as I should be. I'm not"not excited, I just feel like with only two issues left, things should feel a lot more critical. Plus, Jen and Kira seem way too calm about everything. I get that they're old and wise and stuff, but they could be a little bit worried. That being said, Kensho and Thurma have finally reached Thurma's home with the shard and now hopefully we'll see what the shard of the Crystal can do to save the top and lower worlds. Which are both now crumbling. I bet it's going to be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #12

Mar 14, 2018

A wonderful end to a wonderful series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unsound #1

Jun 7, 2017

I was very impressed with this first issue. Horror generally isn't a genre I connect with BOOM! Studios, but this series may change that. If you like horror and supernatural, then you'll definitely like this book. Make sure you stop by your local comic store and get a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unsound #2

Jul 6, 2017

I am enthralled by this story. I can't wait to see what happens next. I just wish it was a little more clear on what the fuck is going on in this place. However, that's the point. We are just as clueless as the poor characters stuck in this horrible place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unsound #3

Aug 16, 2017

This issue pushes us through the veil and in to the insane world that Cullen Bunn and Jack T. Cole have created together and it's absolutely fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Toyetica #2

Sep 21, 2017

I am an adult and I absolutely love this series so far. It's so cute and light, which is giving me a nice break from all the serious, dark, and depressing comics I usually read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Toyetica #4

Nov 9, 2017

As usual, this issue was adorable and it ends with a very important line that I think all children (and definitely some adults) should read and understand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Toyetica #8

May 30, 2018

Marty LeGrow is always good about leaving us with something new and curious once the current dilemma has been settled. Transitioning plots is not always done smoothly, but the way this world is set-up, there is an almost unlimited number of ways for a mystery to kick off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #3

Jul 23, 2017

While I absolutely loved the character insight, ultimately not a whole lot happened until the last couple pages of the issue. And the events that did happen just left me going, WHY IS THIS THE LAST PAGE?! which, I mean, is a good thing, but it just ends. Just, hey, here's this epic climax that's about to start"just kidding, you have to wait a month. This is a minuscule complaint compared to the awesome praise this comic deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #5

Sep 28, 2017

As always, Dietrich Smith gives us gorgeous and detailed scenery with futuristic inventions that really don't seem that far out of reach, coupled with Joana Lafuente's colors that shift between a beautiful past and a bleak present day, even if you aren't a fan of this genre, you can still appreciate the art for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 20, 2017

I love Wonder Woman, but I hope we get a little more from Conan in the next issue. She was definitely the spotlight of this debut issue, which is great, but also I'd like to see Conan do more than kill three dudes in less than two pages and then sit and contemplate Wonder Woman's identity for the rest of the issue. Even so, you should absolutely pick up this book. I can already tell it's going to be a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Year of the Villain: Special #1

May 2, 2019

I think we're off to a good start for these summer events and we have some great characters to look forward to, I just hope it doesn't get too convoluted.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More