Shane Tydeman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 82
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
2000AD #1974

Apr 11, 2016

I have become fond of anthology series and enjoy flicking from one story to another through a handful of pages, some tones vary from non-stop action with Judge Dredd, to horror/suspense to a mild humour to violence. Definitely not for children, 2000AD has stood its ground as a world leader in being unapologetic in its approach to the comic medium. However the tone or mood of Survival Geeks (has the Goonies vibe) especially with the comical animation art-style, for me this is a major shift of the mode and there are some laughable moments. Then we jump back into the gritty tones. Brilliant story-telling and art throughout this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #967

Nov 18, 2016

I am not a fan of Superman comics nor would I actively read them, this is one I'd definitely recommend. Has cool characters and beautiful art. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventure Time #42

Jul 23, 2015

From the opening page you immediately have the feel of the surreal animation and story telling of the infamous TV show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New All-Different Avengers #7

Apr 6, 2016

I wanna read on to see the mystery of the Hills, a fun classic feel with a whole the classic Avenger names who are different… if you are skeptical like me, give it a go as it is saved by the industry's finest. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Andre the Giant: Closer to Heaven #1

Nov 27, 2015

Being a wrestling fan myself since the late 1990s, I knew little of the legend of Andre the Giant from renting Wrestling videos from the video stores or from references. This is a great introduction piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astro City (2013) #24

Jul 8, 2015

We've all gone through stages where we don't know what we want with our lives and we make changes even though it's not the best decision. This is when we

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Aw Yeah Comics: Action Cat and Adventure Bug #1

Mar 10, 2016

If you'd like to read something different, stimulating and less serious, it's definately worth a look. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aw Yeah Comics: Action Cat and Adventure Bug #3

May 25, 2016

If you having caught the genius of Baltazar and Franco, frankly you're missing out. A great book for young and old for humor both generations will understand and appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Bat-Mite #3

Aug 17, 2015

This is a miniseries, it may best be read as a TPB.For a light-hearted laugh, do ya'self a favour and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman / TMNT Adventures #1

Nov 18, 2016

This is a nice looking book, a different tone from the previous run by Tynion And Williams but still worth a look! Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Dec 14, 2015

For fans of Batman and TMNT, or fans of crossovers this won't disappoint and it's worth buying upon release or waiting for the TPB or graphic novel. Do ya'self a favour and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Canary (2015) #1

Jul 5, 2015

Although it is a serious read, it is well balanced with humour. Reminds me of Jem and Josie and the Pussy Cats but with action. I strongly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bloodshot (2019) #10

Jan 18, 2021

Please, please keep Brett Booth on Bloodshot, he is the master storyteller of action scenes. For fans of 90's Image comics and their outrageousness " you will love this!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Bloodshot: Reborn #3

Jun 16, 2015

Brilliantly written and character development between agents Festival and Hoyt and their

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Booger Beard OGN #1

Jun 27, 2015

I had fun with this and I'm sure you will too!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Captain Canuck #0

Jan 4, 2016

You get two stories in one book, both are well written and illustrated. Both well worth a read. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Canuck #2

Jan 27, 2016

Oh Canada, you have too many anti-heroes.. here is your one true hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Canuck #10

Nov 29, 2016

Thank you Canada! For fans of action and need something else to read, do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #50

Jul 19, 2015

Kudos to Layman and Guillory to stick around to number 50! It's a testament to their commitment to their story to sustain consistency and creativity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deathlok (2014) #10

Aug 10, 2015

This is a very well written book, as Edmonson takes you on a ride full of espionage and suspense.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Detective Comics (2011) #43

Aug 17, 2015

Personally, I'd prefer this in a trade. For Batman fans alike, do ya'self and pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Doctor Fate #2

Jul 23, 2015

Doctor Fate is not now you perceived him to be.. a med student of Egyptian heritage Khalid Nassour based in Brooklyn now inherits the helmet of Fate. Can he cope with the responsibility and the visions he sees when wearing this helmet? Can he keep his friends and family safe in the process?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Donald Duck (2015) #3

Jul 26, 2015

This was a fun read! Story 1, for a book with a science fiction twist I found it hard to believe this book was made in 1976. It was smart, creative and funny especially the chemistry between Fethry and Donald.(the feathered odd couple!) Story 2, This art style is legendary in the Disney newspaper comic strip scene" The story is short yet tells a very detailed story and was absolutely hilarious!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Earth Invasion #1

Jan 19, 2016

This book has an interesting premise, I'd enjoy it more if the dialogue were improved and some narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
EGOs #8

Jul 27, 2015

This space voyage of a book has it all"A taste of science fiction, law of physics, a tale of suspense, a humorous robot with attitude, action and a taste of sabotage to top it off! This is an intelligent read which lured me back to the pages to see more and it lures you back for Moore!(ha!) And Storms' artwork accompanies Moore's genius!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (2011) Annual #4

Aug 10, 2015

It's a great origin story for these new recruits from different times and backgrounds and why they joined Zoom on his quest. Telling and re-telling the story from a different angle at the end of the book is great way to conclude.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
God Hates Astronauts #9

Jun 27, 2015

This book has a lot to offer as a lot happens in one issue and Browne has a very abstract and very detailed imagination, this is Jim Starlin's cosmic vs South Park/Family Guy fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Hornet (2020) #5

Jan 25, 2021

For fans of the Van Williams and the Dragon, Bruce Lee's adaptation from the 1960s (just like me) and fans of the Green Hornet overall " you won't be disappointed. And if you're looking for something different and fun.. well this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #8

Nov 16, 2016

This would not be the book to read from issue number 8, it is still early days and you can still pick up issues 1 to 7 from your local comic store or on Comixology. This book bleeds epic awesomeness! For fans of Lantern books you will not be disappointed and do ya'self and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn And Power Girl #2

Jul 26, 2015

This is where the fun starts" It is well written and has the space comic feel with the comedy relief of the curiously mischievous Harley makes this enjoyable as she questions the names of the planets as they sound odd like the planet of lust called Lustox as an example!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
He-Man: The Eternity War #15

Mar 7, 2016

For fans of the MOTU universe who have picked this up, you may have to read a few issues beforehand to be accustomed to the new look of familiar characters. Put that aside and it is a decentread, it ends with a mysterious figure and you need to read to find out who this is… Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Honor #5

Sep 18, 2016

I get where this is going and being the story that involving police and action, I wished the art would propelthe action scenes a lot more and give the story more grit visually. Just like Medic, I can see something coming further more and hope to see the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invader Zim #1

Jul 8, 2015

This was loads of fun, check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Jughead (2015) #3

Dec 28, 2015

This is my first All New Archie tale of Jughead and I'm impressed, it still has the layout and humour of what I'd expect from an Archie comic. Just looks different and still has the familiar cast such as Mrs Grundy, Reggie, Moose, Dilton, Betty and Veronica which is pretty cool. The imaginary adventure which spans to a different direction and pace was well planned and was a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
King: Mandrake the Magician #2

Jun 16, 2015

I recall Mandrake from the Sunday newspapers and the classic TV series Guardians of the Earth, but this is the first time I encountered him in a comic book with a modern twist. This a surprising joy to read, it's action-packed with humour. Treece's facial expressions are marvellous, you can actually read th

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Lara Croft And The Frozen Omen #1

Sep 17, 2015

This is a good first issue with an element of mystery in the storyline, Bechko does a good job of keeping suspense and leave you hanging for more.Green and Owens' art does compliment the storyline and the light colours give life to the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Last Sons of America #3

Feb 23, 2016

This would be fantastic film and I know Peter Dinklage would be perfect as Julian.This is a fine read and ends with a cliff hanger so you really need to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Martian Manhunter (2015) #3

Sep 2, 2015

This book has a surprisingly decent plot by Williams, it's dark including well paced suspense and the art by Barrows and Ferreira help tell the story. With evil monstrous villains looking for blood… a pleasantry for the least used and prolific member of the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mayday #4

Jul 26, 2015

The story has a Breaking Bad feel to it! No character is perfect and is flawed. Pires' pacing with moving back and forth and breaks the scenes with chapters (like a book) make it easy to follow for new readers and it still makes sense. Diotto's simplistic and rough art adds grit to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Medic #5

Sep 18, 2016

I cannot judge this book alone, there are 9 other books in this Double Take line up. I do feel the story is being stretched a little too much yet with the conclusion of Medic # 5 I did feel something special that I hope will shift into the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Mega Man #50

Jun 21, 2015

It's a who's who from the gaming world from both Sega and Capcom.This book is action packed from the first page and is addictive. The art is absolutely beautiful, it's almost like looking at photos of an anime. Being a fan of anime this is a lot of fun! The ending of the book has elements of comics from the past with a three liner of "what happens next!"

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miskatonic (2020) #3

Jan 1, 1970

There is a lot going on in this book that is very well written, Sable is a master of scene jumping.. without monologue the dialogue alone keeps readers in check and at the same time compelled to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Muhammad Ali OGN #1

Nov 7, 2016

For fans of Muhammad Ali or people interested in reading about the champ will love this, do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mycroft Holmes #1

Aug 4, 2016

I enjoyed it and look forward to reading more, fans of TV's Elementary and Sherlock will enjoy this also. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Predator: Life and Death #1

Feb 17, 2016

This is the first issue of a miniseries, for fans of the Predator franchise or in the mood for a shorty storied run " this is for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prez #1

Jul 5, 2015

Well written piece by Russell and beautifully crafted by Caldwell and the pacing is like that of a TV drama and is easy to follow considering it's very intelligent. What is detailed in the story, it shows the dependencies of social media in a world that has forgotten common sense. How many hits means more than credibility!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Regular Show #26

Aug 17, 2015

For Regular Show fans and new readers alike will find something to laugh at, do ya'self a favour and check this out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Revival #30

Jun 21, 2015

I was mesmerized by the beautiful cover".. The art by Laiso is flawless with the facial expressions are distinct with emotions and captivating. The mood is similar to 24 and is paced very well for a single issue.Although this story is based around the Revivers (and the book is called Revival) there was no major emphasis on the un-dead, this is not another Zombie story which is a treat. The characters and the story carry this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Rumble #10

Jan 5, 2016

For something a bit different, it is definately worth a try. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Saban's Power Rangers OGN: Aftershock OGN

Mar 28, 2017

Think of it like this" The Power Rangers has a much darker tone, the characters are heavily flawed. The MMPR is for those who need something lighter and fun. Therefore, you get 2 great stories to enjoy. Most of all, what I did enjoy was this is NOT an origin story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
Savage Dragon #205

Aug 10, 2015

What the heck was I reading? This story looks more like an immature teen movie rather than a superhero comic. This should be part of the story but this outweighed the entire story.. and really Mr Larsen, Why would we wanna know who the Dragon wants to bang next? I know it's been 20 years, maybe it's time to give someone else the writing duties? Keep your art as your artwork is still brilliant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Scooby Apocalypse #1

May 31, 2016

Overall, the first issue provides no punches in terms of action. It is filled with dialogue to introduce each character, tothose who watched the TV like I did. Keep an open mind as it is new and different in appearances " this is not a kids book and it is stimulating for adults. For those too young, this is like Supernatural and the X-Files where the heroes will set out to solve mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Sonic Universe #78

Jul 26, 2015

Growing up in the 90's this brought back wonderful memories of my Saga Master System II, Sega Genesis (Mega Drive in Australia) and the Sega Saturn games I owned as a kid. The art by Hesse and Amash bring one dimensional characters of Sega and Capcom games to life; and Flynn's humour makes it more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sons of the Devil #3

Jul 26, 2015

Based on this issue, the pacing and suspense of Buccellato's storytelling and Infante's facial expressions are flawless. You do feel there is more to the story and keeps you keen to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Space Riders #4

Oct 19, 2015

The art is gorgeous, very much Kirby influenced in the lines dots and weird colouring. It just works. The pacing of the story is very easy to follow, the art tells the story whereas the wording enhance the characters. Rangel and Ziritt are a match made in heaven. As a first time reader I was lured in a heart beat by the stunning presentation and layouts also I'm a sucker for space comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Man 2099 (2015) #5

Jan 6, 2016

I love this book, I hope you do too! Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Man/Deadpool #1

Jan 12, 2016

This book is well worth a look, for Deadpool fans and critics like me. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Woman (2014) #10

Sep 7, 2015

This book is a whole lot of fun and it's witty, Hopeless' direction is hopeful with questions needing answers and notably developing The Porcupine's previously lesser-known character in the Marvel Universe. He is an awesome wing man and/or comic relief for this story and given the right direction has potential. The added art by Bustos and Gandini is pleasing for the eye and is sharp and it emphasizes Hopeless' story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Kanan #9

Dec 21, 2015

For cosmic comic lovers and Star Wars fans alike, this book is A-grade and do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Star-Lord And Kitty Pryde #1

Jul 30, 2015

Little does he know, an elegant lady enters the bar and she is close to Steve's I mean Star Lord I mean Peter's heart.. none other than Kitty Pryde who has a meeting with notorious thief and womanizer Gambit. What is their agenda and what do we find out about their relationship? Okay this ain't

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Fruit #1

Jul 19, 2015

Unfortunately this book is based in the grim past of American history in the 1920s and the language used and the horrible treatment towards African Americans is not fiction. That aside it is well written and honest, the pacing makes the story very interesting largely because of the detail in each panel

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Street Fighter X G.I. JOE #1

Feb 24, 2016

Being a fan of both, I'd be suckered in to read the entire run. If you are not, you may want to avoid.The series of variant covers look pretty awesome and will generate more revenue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Superman/Wonder Woman #20

Sep 2, 2015

This was a surprisingly good read, DC fans do ya'self a favour, fly in and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
T.H.U.N.D.E.R Agents 50th Anniversary #1

Jul 29, 2015

This book is well written book and is not overly complicated making it an easy read with plenty of dialogue, the artwork pages including from the 80's by legends Dave Cockrum, George Perez and more are a bonus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Teen Titans Go! #29

Mar 10, 2016

This book is child friendly, yet there is enough action in this book for adults to be adjusted to also. There is a lot of humor (which made me laugh) in this book, yet it is not as silly as one would expect being an all ages book – credit to the writers. There is a level of innocence within this book, with familiar characters from the DCU which would make some alternative reading especially if you are fans of Teen Titan fan or Young Justice minus the violence. Also you don't have to worry about your kids reading this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #49

Aug 24, 2015

Being a fellow TMNT fan, this book is a a major treat.. It's a who's who of the TMNT, first of all Rocksteady and Beebop are in this issue and Metal-Head is a cool 5th member!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #1

Sep 2, 2016

The second was the back up story, I was super excited to read a Bill Sienkiewicz illustrated TMNT book and when I read it, there's only 6 pages. Although it wasn't a bad little read I was expecting more from the back up story.For TMNT fans, prepare yourselves for a fun ride whilst the little ones read TMNT Adventures. WARNING: Do not mistakenly switch books!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
The Mighty Titan #1

Dec 21, 2015

Martino does a decent job with the pacing of the story, especially switching between story around the villainous professor, then the commoner Mark Williams and the heroic Titan. This allows each of the characters and their stories to expand throughout future issue, which means we need to read on. Ciccitti's artwork is consistent and looks like he could illustrate any mainstream book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Mighty Titan #2

Jan 4, 2016

The highlight of this book is the topic which can be relatable especially to those who have been diagnosed or have had a family member or friend diagnosed with cancer. This story is honest to the emotions of the sufferer and those surrounding them.It's a great contrast to a character who is redeemed as invincible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
This Damned Band #2

Sep 3, 2015

Visually Parker and Kindzierski do a wonderful job by giving the feel for the 70's by demonstrating the dress of the era and the surrounding environments, a lot of research would've been needed to keep consistency and it is believable.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
TMNT: Amazing Adventures - Carmelo Anthony Special One-Shot #1

May 31, 2016

This book takes the roots of how TMNT books looked under Archie Comic's publication in the late 1980s and the mid 90s. It is filled with safe humor that is suitable for children and yes it is harmless; there is stimulation as it is too simple for adults to enjoy. Including immature jokes and the obvious conclusion" It may have worked better in the TV series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Tomb Raider #18

Jul 30, 2015

This is really a Tomb Raider book?This is a far cry from playing Tomb Raider on PS1 and the Top Cow books from the late 1990s!The artwork and pacing is a letdown..

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Trail #1

Jan 4, 2016

The pacing in this book is a bit slow due to the excessive wording, and less action. However being the first issue, there is a focus on introducing the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Trespasser #1

Feb 22, 2016

I'd be absolutely interested to see what happens next and I'd heavily recommend this read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #35

Aug 10, 2015

The appearance of the new X-Men roster is unique for a mainstream American comic, also their names aren't too appealing. Some of their costumes look somewhat like they came straight from an anime or manga. On the flip-side Golden Balls is awesome! He's a fun character, I admire the fact he's not the typical hero looking with the body builder's physique! Thanks to Schiti's art I'd love to see more of him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Vamplets #5

Aug 10, 2015

It has the charm of watching an anime, If you've read it from 1; or if you're like me and need to start from scratch then do y'self a favour and check it out!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
We Are Robin #7

Dec 21, 2015

The story's pacing is interesting, starts slow with the dialogue between Gordon's Batman and Grayson looking for the pieces and lured to prison and then.. Boom! Action with the battle between Red Robin and the Red Hood. I love action especially with swords and guns, this book does not disappoint. The scenes look like something either from a movie or animated series which was pretty cool!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
What If? Infinity: Dark Reign #1

Nov 2, 2015

It's a good read, not great. But if you are tired of The Secret Wars line and are seeking a one-shot which makes sense, then do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Where Monsters Dwell #4

Sep 7, 2015

Garth Ennis fans, you will not be disappointed! This is worth a look, do ya'self a favour and check it out!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2011) #47

Jan 6, 2016

For DC fans and especially Wonder Woman, this is worth a look. Do ya'self a favor and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #2

Dec 22, 2015

Like monsters, sword fights? Do ya'self a favor check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-O Manowar (2012) #38

Jul 19, 2015

Sandoval and Tarragona's art adds depth to this special issue as well as the bonus stories are worth a look!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More