T. A. Ewart's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: A Comic Book Blog Reviews: 43
6.9Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Superboy (2011) #1

Sep 20, 2011

This is how you start a new series. Make the hero capable and confident. Give him an interesting situation that needs to be solved. Don't beat him up for 1/3 of the issue or more, and if the story has to be over several issues, tell as complete a story as possible in the overture. It's not rocket science, it's old school. Hell, the story even starts and ends with splash pages, and you can't get more old school than that. I'm really looking forward to the next issue, and if you pick up Superboy, so will you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superboy (2011) #2

Oct 19, 2011

That being said, I'm still looking forward to issue #3, but if there's another cliffhanger . . . !

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superboy (2011) #3

Nov 16, 2011

It would be disappointing if not expected, which is cynicism at it apex. Thus far, Superboy included, many of the New 52 comics lack a steady foundation, as the thrust is for New, and not necessarily solid story telling. After three issues, it's fair to expect that Superboy should have established or accomplished something. At least you weren't overcharged a dollar for eight pages of interviews and sketches.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superboy (2011) #4

Dec 16, 2011

A perfectly good waste of 20 pages and a character who once deserved to wear the "S".

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superboy (2011) #5

Jan 18, 2012

These could be the adventures of any meta-human, and that's a major problem, because anyone who wears the “S” is not supposed to be run of the mill. The only saving grace of the comic is the artwork, and it's unfortunate that Silva has to be saddled with such a wastrel plot and tumbleweed ideas. Betrayal is the worst crime of all, worthy of the lowest level in the Inferno. DC Comics has betrayed the heart and soul of Superboy, a character that has grown so much over the last 3 decades, by allowing him to be treated in such a manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superboy (2011) #6

Feb 16, 2012

If taken on its own measures, Superboy #6 fails to do what a comic should in very basic terms. It's not entertaining. It's not compelling. It doesn't make the reader want to return next issue. If taken in the scope of the New 52 reboot, it's a great example of misdirected energy and the mess that such force makes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superboy (2011) #8

Apr 24, 2012

The biggest disappointment, and this has been stated before, is that Superboy held such promise on inception, and was reviewed very, very favourably. Now, it seems that the first issue was an alternate universe mishap and the proper universe has settled in. A complete and utter disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superboy (2011) #14

Nov 19, 2012

Honestly, Superboy has been a letdown since issue #3, and Tom DeFalco, whom I respect immensely, wasn't enough of a draw for me to crack issue #13. This issue has a better, tighter handle on the plot and pacing of the story, and the fight with H'El is good in establishing H'El's power and Superboy's limits. However the issue suffers from being reader unfriendly for the first 8 pages. Superboy has been crossover central and it hinders full involvement on the readers part. This crossover should be more inclusive as it involves Supergirl and Superman, but that remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superboy (2011) Annual #1

Jan 30, 2013

The annual is most certainly an interlude, but it does something that was neglected all too often with Superman and Superboy, previous to the New 52. We get to see them adventure together, but also bond together through the adventure. The juxtaposition of Superboy in Superman's costume, and Superman dressed as Superboy is also very endearing, as links them in a manner that was rarely done before, if ever, by showing us just how much of the past is prologue. These days, Clark was never Superboy, but his adventures in Action Comics are exactly that, Superboy adventures, and the annual matches up to that dynamic by showing us the differences in the two characters, and why a homemade weapon like Superboy, would look up to a “lecturer” like Superman. All in all, a fine annual . . . even if it is an interlude.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl (2005) #61

Feb 24, 2011

I still recommend Supergirl, if only because the team is telling a story, something that is absent from many comics these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2011) #1

Sep 22, 2011

I love Superman so much, that if you put the word “Super” on a comic book, I'd read it, if not buy it. That being said, Supergirl I actually like as a character regardless of her obvious connection. This issue just didn't hold up for me. It's much too short of a read to justify the cost, and feels as bad as those empty calories you were warned about as a youth. As a premiere issue of a new series, it's very flat, and I can't help but recall Jeph Loeb's reintroduction of Kara Zor-El in Superman/Batman #8. Check that issue out if you've more than three minutes to spare. Loeb's issue seems like a literary work compared to Green's 5 paragraph essay. I'll be back next issue, but you may want to wait for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Supergirl (2011) #2

Oct 26, 2011

There was a voluptuousness to the artwork, especially the close-ups of Superman, that helped keep the ludicrousness of the story from taking over, but the art won't save this book after issue three. Why? That's when Supergirl gets her new power, and sales will start to drop. If Superman is too powerful, as that vocal minority whines about so often, why is Supergirl gaining another ability? Especially with the faux debate that DC spins on, that Supergirl is more powerful than Superman. Superman's meeting with Supergirl has usually been a moment where he's pleased to not be alone, to have some family. Well, if you wanted a relatable situation, you now have it. The House of El is officially dysfunctional. Oh, 8 minute read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Supergirl (2011) #3

Nov 23, 2011

The costume needs to change from the waist down. Every full frontal shot of Supergirl reaffirms how silly it looks, and how painful it must be to be worn. It's a weak design that should be remedied posthaste, if only out of respect for the character. The new power that Supergirl demonstrates is the jump off moment for this book. There is no reason to give Supergirl an additional power, not when Superman's power set are continuously bemoaned as too great. Green's statement that yellow sunlight doesn't have to affect all Kryptonians the same is malarkey; it's red kryptonite in disguise and an attempt to make Supergirl more appealing by being superficial instead of giving her what she truly needs: a good story. Save your money, lads. It's better spent elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Supergirl (2011) #4

Dec 28, 2011

Supergirl is better than this. She deserves better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2011) #5

Jan 24, 2012

The art on the book is a saving grace, but I find myself saying this about all of the the Superman Family titles. Poorly written stories, eye-catching art. Reign's costume is blatant as sin. On the cover it looks as if her bosoms are falling out of the package. However, even the skin show cannot save this book from its poor craftsmanship.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2011) #6

Feb 22, 2012

Supergirl is 20 pages of inconsistency and incomplete story. This story could have been complete by issue 4, instead, it's been stretched, and for no reason other than the apparent monetary one, to no benefit of the reader. In six issues, what have we learned about Supergirl? Argo City? Her powers? Nothing. As long as readers keep throwing money after this thing, DC will be happy to provide more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2011) #7

Mar 28, 2012

It took seven, 7, SEVEN, issues to get to this point, and that is just unacceptable. We've seen Supergirl interact with Reign more than she did with Superman (who, by the way, we still don't know why he had to rush off from her). We've been given major villains out of nowhere (OK, from Krypton) and no cohesive direction for the character. She saved NYC, some would say. To that the response would be, “so what.” What is she going to do now? On this earth, there is no true purpose for Supergirl and after seven issues, nothing has been done to address that. It appears that you should never let structure get in the way of not only a good story, but also a bad one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl (2011) #8

Apr 24, 2012

In terms of looks, I wanted to like the issue, but the ability to read confounds that desire.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2011) #14

Nov 26, 2012

Kara has been using her fists to solve her problems from issue one and day one, and there wasno loss of schadenfreude watching her get kicked around for a wee bit. H'El presents a problemwhere Kara finally has to think. She has made horrible decisions thus far, and acknowledges the major one this issue, which is her continued distancefrom Superman. While it's still early to see where and how far it goes, it was better to see Kara using her brain, if only to a rudimentary decision, rather her balls (eggs?) to the wall actions of the previous year.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2011) #16

Jan 30, 2013

The toughest thing to get past in the story is that Supergirl shouldn't be this stupid. The previous issues have treated us to a Kara Zor-El unlike any we've seen thus far. She's petulant, moody, rude, and reactionary to say the least. However, her blatant stupidity is the worst thing about the title. Supergirl refuses to accept Kal-El as her cousin, but she has run to H'El with open arms, literally. The power source being taken from Argo City was dumb; Supergirl not questioning it was dumber, but the fact that she believes H'El with no proof or evidence, after being so resistant to Superman is the dumbest of all. If Johnson's goal is for Supergirl to hit bottom and become a heroine, how low does she have to go? Pretty low it seems.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman #708

Feb 24, 2011

Still, this story has run its course, IMO, and much like WONK, it needs to end sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman #709

Mar 30, 2011

The trouble is that the story goes nowhere. This issue would have been great inside of an 80-Page giant or annual, but for value, for those of us who have to decide what to buy and what not to, it just doesn't provide any conduit towards closure. The art is great, the colours, bright and inviting, heck, I even like the thought bubbles, but the story goes on, without any idea of where its going. Hopefully Superman will end up in New York City before this is over and do something worthwhile, like walk up the Empire State Building.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman #710

Apr 20, 2011

The only problem with 710, is that the story does not advance the plot at all. How many heroes need to come and console, psychoanalyze, and politely stick it to Superman? Since this storyline isn't over, until issue 712, I would hazard a guess for at least two more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman #711

May 18, 2011

The biggest problem I had was with the ending, which in light of what occurred in Action Comics 900, seems like a hat-in-hand apology on Superman's behalf, for an action that wasn't his own to begin with. Action 900 should have been a celebration of the character, and instead it made a mess that Roberson has to lend a hand to tidy, and "Grounded" was enough of a mess all ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #1

Oct 5, 2011

All in all, it's a start, and a solid one. At least he didn't get bloodied and beat up, but that can't be to far along if my pattern recognition is what I believe it is. The big question: Was all of this necessary, to tell these stories?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #2

Nov 2, 2011

P. S. The new costume still hasn't caught on with me, and it's not going to. I prefer not to see the crack in Superman's arse. It's nice that they solved the dubious Clark Kent disguise: glasses and hair slicked back. Ha! Slick the hair forward. Yeah, that's it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2011) #3

Dec 7, 2011

The New 52 has not been very well thought out, and what is worse, it's been even less thought out regarding Superman. So far Perez and Merino have offered readers what they can, but it's not what's needed to justify the drastic reboot that has happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2011) #5

Jan 27, 2012

Superman out of control, Superman not in his right state of mind, Superman possessed, it's all been done before, and this retelling of a thrice -told tale doesn't add anything new to it. Why Perez and Merino have been regulated into this type of story, which I believe they have been, is beyond me. It's a waste of talent, time, and two of the better hands at comic creation currently working. This has and continues to be an increasingly frustrating beginning for this “new” Superman. Perez and Merino's tenure ends with next issue, and as critical as I've been, I'll be sorry to see them go, because if Superman cannot be rendered well with them, it's even more frightening to think what other hands will do, even if the name Jurgens is among them

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #7

Apr 4, 2012

The story read like one from the 1990s, which is appropriate, as Perez's read like one from the 1980s. The problem, for me, is that it feels like things have happened before this issue that I have no knowledge of, when I haven't missed a single issue. At the end of it all, I feel like DC is trying to convince me that Superman is no longer relevant. It's working.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman (2011) #8

Apr 28, 2012

Again, for a comic that is working so hard, and really doing it's best to hit the right notes, there is something going on here that makes it hard to fall in line, let alone in love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman (2011) #9

Jun 6, 2012

The art of the issue is its saving grace, and despite the fact that Superman may be unimpressive, he's drawn well doing the mundane. The irony is too great to ignore. Giffen and Jurgens are said to be coming off the book soon, and I believe that is a good thing. Readers deserve to see the New 52 Superman, who has yet to be written, unless he's just the trunk-less costume. In that case, we've seen more than enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman (2011) #10

Jul 3, 2012

When will Superman be “super” again? This latest issue left me with more questions to pose, than anything else. It's been 10 issues, almost a year, and for all the talk of modernization, Superman seems caught in the past, and not the dynamism of the Bronze Age, or the creativity of the Silver Age, or even the weight of the years directly post-Crisis. He's trapped in that bubble of time that lead to this reboot, and he can't escape with all the power in the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2011) #13

Oct 25, 2012

After a year of thoroughly being so unhappy, it was a pleasant surprise to recognize Superman again. To see him powerful and confident again. To hear the words: "Truth, Justice, and the American Way", again. :)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #14

Nov 30, 2012

This issue will make two in a row, at least for me, and here's why: Lobdell seems to understands Superman. I'm shocked to say it myself, especially after the god-awful way that he wrote Superboy, but if you doubt my words, there's plenty in the issue to argue for this premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #15

Jan 3, 2013

It's great that Lobdell is being inclusive of what is happening outside of Superman, but to be frank, now that Superman seems to have its act together, I'd rather read stories concerned with the character and his adventures, instead of having everyone fit in. The backstory between Luthor and Superman is more interesting than the current storyline, as is the scar on his back that is as yet unexplained. We should have more time for bringing Superman fully into the light, and less guest appearances that detract from that. Lodbell and Rocafort seem up to the task.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #16

Feb 1, 2013

I look forward to Superman every month like I did when I was a lad and comics were part and parcel of entertainment. When this issue came out, I put all else aside to read it. I'll be doing the same next month. It's good to see so many of the neglected aspects of Superman come back and come back in full force almost seamlessly. Here's to hoping that Lobdell and Rocafort can keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman Beyond #0

Sep 14, 2011

So, if you've a few quid to spare and have some lid-time, Superman Beyond is a solid read, and better than much of what is out there, for Superman and beyond. Trouble is, that's not saying nearly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman: Earth One #1

Nov 18, 2010

Superman: Earth One is worth your time and money. It's one of the better Superman stories in a long while, and if you're a Superman fan, and want more stories, better stories, it helps to support the doubles to get to the home runs. Actually, for me, this one is inside the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #3

Nov 23, 2011

I probably won't have another look at Wonder Woman until Azzarello is off the book, as I can feel his crime noir just lurking in the background, waiting to take hold. Perhaps it's more appealing for a new reader, but for a demigod, or as it would be said in Greek: Hero, there's little of that part of the mythology happening. Until it does, I'll keep my 2.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wonder Woman (2011) #4

Dec 22, 2011

While I'm hopeful that Azzarello and Chaing will have a good run, this issue makes me question if they want to do the aforesaid at all, or if this is just another assignment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #5

Jan 27, 2012

Akins's artwork isn't for me, but that's because he can obviously do better linework is selective in his approach. Page 13, Panel 1 has an image of Wonder Woman that looks so fine, then on Page 15, Panel 3 she looks as doe-eyed as Sailor Moon. If he drew Wonder Woman with the same visual aplomb that he does the freaks of nature, the book would at least have art as a saving grace. Unfortunately, that just not the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #6

Feb 22, 2012

Wonder Woman has becomes Azarello's vanity piece, and he needs to be taken off of the book, immediately. Give him his pay and send him on his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #7

Mar 28, 2012

R.I.P. Kato: A true friend to one who has so few.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More