Trevor Richardson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 54
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Abbott #2

Feb 26, 2018

This issue doesn't slow down after the first issue's strong start with each team member bringing their best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Abbott #3

Mar 28, 2018

Though I didn't love the pacing, the series continues to develop an interesting protagonist in a world brought to life by excellent art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abbott #4

Apr 25, 2018

Though there are a couple details I don't love, the series continues to shine through excellent characterization and gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abbott #5

May 30, 2018

The series finale was totally satisfying, even if a little anticlimactic. The art team delivered their fullest to the end and I'd love for the hint of Abbott's story continuing to bear fruit one day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Dust to Dust #1

Apr 25, 2018

The script delivers solid, horrific action that's elevated by the gorgeous inking, well-executed coloring, and very smart lettering. There wasn't time to get to know the characters, but after an action-heavy debut, I'm sure there'll be time for that in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Aliens: Dust to Dust #2

Jul 10, 2018

This issue features excellent art throughout, but the characterization was a little flat and there were come coloring choices I didn't love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) Annual #1

Sep 19, 2018

From the stunning artwork to the grounded, genuine sounding voices, this annual tells an untold tale worth hearing in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batwoman (2017) #12

Feb 21, 2018

This issue delivers solid artwork that pairs nicely with the script's sense of drama and tension.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #13

Mar 21, 2018

An introspective, spooky script and equally unnerving visuals make this issue a solid start to the new arc and a great continuation of Kate Kane's mission against the Many Arms of Death.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batwoman (2017) #14

Apr 18, 2018

Though there were some details in the dialogue and coloring I didn't love, I loved the theatricality of the issue and it does a great job of maintaining the fun, action-packed pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #15

May 16, 2018

Though there were some lettering choices I found questionable and the script felt like it lacked major stakes, excellent artwork and distinct characterization make this issue another great entry in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Bolt #12

Apr 4, 2018

The whole creative team delivers an emotional, exciting conclusion to the series that left me completely satisfied and yearning for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2018) #1

May 23, 2018

Readers looking for a jumping on point, a fresh start to the series, or just an intriguing, stylish sci-fi story need look no further than this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Panther (2018) #3

Aug 22, 2018

Hopefully the series will develop the plot and characters more, but the sci-fi action brought to gorgeous, colorful life by Daniel Acua continues to make the series a really fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Blackbird #1

Aug 28, 2018

Overall, Blackbird #1 is a gorgeous debut that will appeal to fans of fabulous supernatural elements and grounded, emotional realism. Now that the premise and characters have been introduced, I can't wait to see where Nina's journey into magic will take her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackbird #2

Nov 7, 2018

This issue brought worldbuilding and excellent color work and made it a great second chapter of the series. I hope the layouts get a little more energetic and Nina's dad is developed a bit further, but overall a great issue that made me excited to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Bloodborne #1

Feb 20, 2018

Excellent artwork, an almost there script, and simplistic colors and lettering make the start of this series a mixed bag.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

This issue had an overall feeling which emerges in every element. That's only one of the many present signs of excellent storytelling at work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

The script, artwork, coloring, and lettering continue to work in purr-fect tandem to deliver an excellent read that makes it hard to wait another month for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

It's no surprise the art is excellent, and I love all the character work in the issue. I just really wish there weren't three pages that feel almost wasted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Catwoman (2018) #4

Oct 10, 2018

An issue as gorgeously drawn as it is emotional and upsetting, the Catwoman team made me want to know even more about Selina and Maggie, making this a trip down memory lane worth taking.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #5

Nov 14, 2018

This issue shows what happens when every member of a creative team fires on all cylinders, each elevating the other towards excellence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crystal Fighters #1

Sep 21, 2018

Though it's an all-ages series, younger readers will probably get more out of it. However, Crystal Fighters is still a really fun series with a solid cast and excellent coloring work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Aug 29, 2018

From Gail Simone's hilarious writing to Inaki Miranda and Eva de la Cruz's stunning artwork, this is not a crossover special to miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dream Daddy #1

Aug 31, 2018

Overall, Dream Daddy #1 was an absolute pleasure to read and fans of the property new and old are sure to get their money's worth with this faithful, joyous adaptation. There is a moment near the end that felt like it didn't get a ton of lead up, but I'm so happy it happened anyway that I'm willing to suspend my disbelief a little and get my life. I can't wait to see what the next team of creators has in store for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dream Daddy #2

Sep 26, 2018

C.A., Gross, and Otsmane-Elhaou deliver a fun issue that nails the characters' voices and plays with genre through highly expressive artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dream Daddy #3

Oct 23, 2018

Overall, Dream Daddy #3 adds another really fun issue to a thus far excellent series of love letters to the game and is worth picking up whether you've played the dating sim or have been loving the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dream Daddy #4

Nov 21, 2018

The whole team brought a sincere, funny, warm touch to each aspect of this issue from the script to the art to the lettering.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 11, 2018

The creative team took me to space, but kept things grounded emotionally and I enjoyed every page of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exiles (2018) #1

Apr 11, 2018

Every member of the creative team brings their best work to this strong start of the new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #12

Mar 6, 2018

This issue's script left me wanting more for better and worse, but the art continues to impress and makes me eager to see what Johnson's next project will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 26, 2018

This debut carries the weight of the heroes seeking help within its pages. It's a good thing every page is a stunner as each member of the creative team brings their best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #1

Jul 25, 2018

The characterization of the team is excellent, and the art team does a great job conveying mood and delivering consistently rendered work on every page. I do have some reservations about how far the book will push the envelope and if I'll be completely sold on Wonder Woman's spot on the team, but I can confidently reserve those judgments for later after such a solid start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 26, 2018

The team lineup is interesting, the artwork is stunning, and the world building feels natural and makes me eager to learn more. All in all, an excellent start to the new series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Life Is Strange #1

Nov 14, 2018

Everything about this issue makes me excited to return to Max and Chloe and see where their story takes them next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lockjaw (2018) #1

Feb 28, 2018

This issue made me laugh out loud and kept me smiling throughout thanks to its clever script and vibrant art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lockjaw (2018) #2

Mar 28, 2018

The jokes land, the art delivers, and the ending makes me excited for what's to come! I almost wish this wasn't a mini-series and we could keep getting wacky episodes with these characters for years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lockjaw (2018) #3

Apr 25, 2018

The entire creative team brings their usual best to this funny, charming series. Lockjaw's expressions steal the show on every page and I'll be sad to see the series go after next month's final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Man-Eaters #1

Sep 25, 2018

The issue is visually dynamic with mixed media and clean line art, but the visuals also go in tandem with a script that presents the premise with an excellent balance of humor and seriousness.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Rising: Squirrel Girl/Ms. Marvel #1

Jul 4, 2018

This is a fun read where I get to see a couple of my favorite characters team up, but there were some problems with the art that dragged it down a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #7

Mar 14, 2018

Tom King, Mitch Gerads, and Clayton Cowles deliver another affecting, emotional issue on all fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 18, 2018

An emotional read from beginning to end with just enough humor to maintain the pace accompanied by consistently excellent artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #9

Jun 13, 2018

Another excellent issue from Tom King, Mitch Gerads, and Clayton Cowles. Though the plot doesn't move much, the issue sets up a major conflict with a tight script and excellent artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Mister Miracle #10

Aug 1, 2018

The tone and unclear ideas in this issue's script are essentially saved by continually excellent work from Gerads and Cowles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

If you've been reading thus far, you know the Mister Miracle team is going to bring their A-game. Though the confrontation with Darkseid was satisfying, nothing will really surprise readers who have been paying attention thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 14, 2018

Even if I have qualms with some of the decisions made with the characters, this is a satisfying final issue with the same excellent art and lettering readers should expect from Gerads and Cowles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nancy Drew (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

The issue takes its time introducing the characters, which made me all the more interested for the mystery to really get into gear.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nancy Drew (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

If you liked the first issue, you'll like this one as well! I wasn't a huge fan of one plot point, but overall the quality level both in strengths and weaknesses are the same as the first issue, so the series is continuing with a good foot forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Shade, the Changing Woman #1

Mar 7, 2018

A poetic, reflective script and trippy art make this issue a must get for fans of the previous series and anyone looking for something completely unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Shade, the Changing Woman #6

Aug 1, 2018

The art team deliver their best work in the series for the finale, while the script felt too rushed, making major plot points less affecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Shock #1

Apr 2, 2018

Though the lineup of comic creators included suggests a shockingly good time, I can't recommend committing to this collection's sticker price given how little impact it left on me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Snotgirl #11

Sep 4, 2018

The creative team comes back off hiatus with a strong start to the new arc! Do we get any answers to the plot's many questions? No. Is the issue a gorgeous, hilarious read? Absolutely.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Snotgirl #12

Dec 5, 2018

My skin is clear. My crops are watered. My posture straightened out a little. This issue is a reminder about why Snotgirl is my favorite series (not that I needed one).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

Feb 28, 2018

An affecting, ambitious series held back by its short length, but elevated by consistent, detailed artwork throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More