The Next Batman: Second Son #12
Series Next

The Next Batman: Second Son #12

Writer: John Ridley Artist: Tony Akins Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: May 19, 2021 Cover Price: $0.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 8
8.6Critic Rating
5.3User Rating

+ Pull List

Jace Fox makes a stunning discovery in subbasement 13 at Wayne Enterprises and a plan formulates. His mentor’s final words to him will become clear--be a symbol of better things.

  • 9.3
    The Super Powered Fancast - Timala Elliott May 18, 2021

    Three members of the Fox family discuss Jaces recent injury and conflict arises. Later, Jace and Vol discuss a previous mission. Further research into their findings reveals something shocking. Meanwhile, Lucas Fox meets with someone that may change the future of Gotham City.The Story:The finale of this 12 part series ends in a manner that leaves you wanting more of the Fox family saga. There are some interesting twists that I would enjoy seeing fleshed out more. The mantle of Batman is an interesting one to be sure. And while I will definitely miss this weekly run, the conclusion felt more like: Until next time.The Art:Minimalist drawings and intense character expressions are combined with a cool toned palate in this issue. The combination is attractive and compliments the overall tone of the episode. The artwork is really engaging and drew me further into the story. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    COMICON - Scott Redmond May 26, 2021

    The Next Batman: Second Son comes to an end as the generally solid series leaves quite a number of plot lines unresolved ahead of its scheduled summertime relaunch. A majorly talented art team who hit the mark every single issue brings the series to a close with another stellar issue, full of emotion and intriguing montage-like moments. Read Full Review

  • 1.0
    Bats20832 May 19, 2021

    The Conclusion! Except, well, it isn't. It just sort of "buries" the you know, gross parts of Tim (Jace) Fox's origin story as a killer criminal in digital chapters, so "The Next Batman" can be revealed in August, free of this unpleasant backstory, for PR media to welcome a new series "I Am Batman."

    (See, they you told the "origin" - not OUR fault you didn't read it. Because we wouldn't want AP, CNN, media to get a line on what the ACTUAL origin story is. Just the "Next Batman" stories of understanding empathetic guy, who represents society better, never mind he is a killer... details, details, details.)

    We now know the "origin" (eyeroll) of Ridley's "The Next Batman" is the guilt of Tim (Jace) Fox over killing a H more

    + LikeComments (4)
  • 8.5
    EDiakota May 30, 2021

    " Know what Luke for somebody who's got all the answers, you’re sure no good at fixing problems."
    - TIFFANY FOX

  • 7.5
    Psycamorean May 24, 2021

    I'm almost tempted to give this a higher rating just to push back against the unhinged review.

    + LikeComments (4)
  • 1.0
    fenixalasnegras May 19, 2021

  • 8.5
    UxasIs May 23, 2021

  • 8.0
    Josecab79 May 18, 2021

  • 7.0
    mrDovydas Jun 6, 2021

  • 1.0
    Merlyn May 25, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More