Amani Cooper's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 86
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 8, 2016

4001 AD Bloodshot is a book that I can let consume my soul and my wallet. I kinda have a thing with post-apocalypse/futuristic dystopia stories. Jeff Lemire and Doug Braithwaite have given me that in a stunning way. All of the action and underlying story make this book very interesting, along with its great main character. With all that has happened, I'm still not sure if Bloodshot is gonna fight a good fight, turn to the dark side, or stay neutral on whatever conflict is happening. Maybe this isn't that kind of story. Whatever happens is fine with me because its pretty epic so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #23

Aug 9, 2017

You don't know how happy I am that Taylor and his team have stayed away from Secret Empire in this book. It would have disrupted the great flow. My one request for Marvel is that they keep such a great series running. If I haven't recommended this book yet, well I recommend it now. It's only gonna get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Forest #1

Jan 20, 2016

This book was like reading one of those Highlights magazines, except this wasn't really for children. The stories are great considering their length. All of the endings were sad, which isn't bad. There was a conclusion and not every story has a happy ending. I'm still unsure about the name, but maybe that's supposed to be the link between stories? The art styles of the books were nice. I can't pick a favorite, but they fit their respective stories. Don't expect anything constant when picking up this book, but you can expect some laid back reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
America #1

Mar 5, 2017

Lastly, Rivera and Quinones give us the sass, fun, and action that makes this character great. The pages speak for themselves. Great art. Good writing. I am expecting big things out of this book. Marvel's doing well with female led books so far. I know they won't let me down now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
America #4

Jun 21, 2017

If you are reading America and loving it, I won't rain on your parade. However, America needs work. Moreover, I love the characters, so I'll stick with it just a little longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bankshot #1

Jun 18, 2017

Bankshot #1 is on track so far. Hopefully the team will think about expanding this to a full series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batgirl (2011) #46

Dec 17, 2015

This book was a roller coaster. One moment you're sad for the tenants, and the next minute you're excited to see Spoiler again. You can definitely tell that something big is going to happen. Not just from the dialogue, but from the emotion and drama that can be seen on each character's face thanks to Babs Tarr. Keep in mind that Tarr's style is very cartoonish, so almost any emotion will be exaggerated. Also, some of the facial structures aren't my cup of tea. This includes sloping foreheads, very defined jawlines and chins, and very long, slender fingers. The cover of this book has it flaws as well. Just minor mistakes when Despite this,however, the big eyes, mostly normal anatomy, and bright colors are a boost. All in all, these details aren't going to be a problem if you're only focused on the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batgirl (2011) #47

Jan 20, 2016

I'm hoping that this isn't the end of a Spoiler, Bluebird, and Batgirl teamup. If not, then it would be great if Spoiler an Bluebird could do a lot more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batgirl (2011) #48

Feb 4, 2016

This ending was the last thing I would expect. I like the direction this book is going. Family/friend drama is great when its not overplayed. Grumpy Black Canary isn't really my thing, but I can deal with it. I do like our villain, Mr. Fugue. Not because of what he's done to Batgirl, but because his costume looks really cool. I'm actually hoping he becomes a recurring villain. I have to give it to Babs Tarr for the good work on this book. The Canary Cry doesn't look silly, the background effects are great, but I'm not feeling the costume. Fletcher and Stewart are doing fabulously besides Dinah's attitude problem. However, it is an interesting read, and I'm looking forward to more team ups, but just not too many in a row.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batgirl (2011) #52

May 26, 2016

I really can't wait to see what the next step in Barbara's life will bring. I'm sure it'll be just as fun and excited as this series was. Although this issue had an emotional ending, it makes me happy to have kept up with the series thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jun 25, 2017

If I'm not mistaken, this is the first Black Mask comic that I have read and reviewed. I'm sold. If you're into killers, secrets, and snorting drugs off food, add Beautiful Canvas to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Bitch Planet #7

Feb 19, 2016

Valentine Delandro's cover and art of this book is really great. The backgrounds have good details. The shadows are great, but in some places in looked reall out of place. In one page, Whitney is in a room full of bright white screens, but almost half her face is in shadow. I think the black can be eased up a bit. There seemed to be a bit of anatomical wonkiness, for lack of better words. It could have been shown in perspective, but it still looked short. However, I love the style and its sorta roughness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #8

Jun 22, 2016

Valentine De Landro does well to keep his art simple and not take away from the story. I'm not saying that it isn't something to stop and look at because that would be a lie. All I'm saying is that De Landro doesn't get caught up in too many details. This is a good thing to me because this story is becoming heavier and it's nice to be able to breeze through and not get stuck admiring. Pleases not that I love De Landro's art. The almost rough shapes of the bodies and the Kelly Fitzpatrick's colors are certainly a unique style. The diversity of characters is nothing to scoff at. It is really boring when all your characters have the same body type and look to them. When the introduction of new characters, I look forward to seeing what else De Landro will cook up for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #5

Feb 24, 2016

If you ever want to see the magic happening at Image, I strongly recommend Black Magick.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brutal Nature #1

May 22, 2016

I am very interested in the outcome of this invasion. Ich has a lot of work to do, and I can only imagine how much worse it could get. This is a fun book in a way. It adds a little spark of imagination to history, which doesn't have to be a bad thing. With this type of writing and art, how can it be a bad thing? While I have found the lives of native people to be interesting, I never really got into any Native American mythos, especiallySouth American mythos, but it may come in handy when ready this book. I don't think its required for this well thought out story, but I'd like to have some extra knowledge for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Cry Havoc #3

Mar 26, 2016

I am so glad that the stories can be kept separate through the colors used. I think its a fun storytelling strategy in a way. Spurrier and Kelly pull no punches in keeping this book brutal, but with a solid story. I would like to see some character development with the other soldiers like Louise. Just to see where they come from. Louise is definitely changing and that's good to see. Nothing seems repetitive and the story lines continue to flow. However, I feel like it may get stagnant with no real dynamic point in sight. I hope I am happily proved wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Cry Havoc #4

Apr 24, 2016

Speaking of the last pages, itwould be beneficialto take a look at them. I've learned a lot of history and mythology just by reading the annotations that have been provided. Also, looking at character designs and creative processes of the artwork doesn't hurt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cry Havoc #5

May 26, 2016

Like I said, I feel like this is a build up for a storm. Nothing wrong with that at all. Gotta get our story straight before things get crazy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cry Havoc #6

Jun 24, 2016

Cry Havoc has become such a great and drama filled story. I didn't expect it to be so touching. You might not see it that way, but there is some depth to it. Underneath all the bloodshed and naked bodies, there is real emotion. Don't laugh because I am serious. Who doesn't love gory stories with heart? Cry Havoc is a wonderful story that has been cool to follow. From Simon Spurrier's timeline hopping to Ryan Kelly's gritty art, this wild ride is one that I can go back to and enjoy over and over. You may be able to say that about a lot of books, but this one deserves a special place on your bookshelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC Comics: Bombshells #19

Nov 26, 2015

What can I say about Mary Sanapo that her art won't say? Its light and clear and flowy. It definitely keeps up with the look and feel of Ant Lucia's covers. Not too many lines or dark spots. I'm hoping to see more of Sanapo's work in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC Comics: Bombshells #20

Dec 10, 2015

There are some artists that give their characters the same face, but Andolfo has it down to a science. From hair to eye shape to eyebrows to facial structure. Overall great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
DC Comics: Bombshells #21

Dec 19, 2015

I am really loving Mirka Adolfo's art. It is very clean and stylish. She knows just when to make a panel detailed, and when to cast one in shadow. Why work harder than you have to? Each character she draws is so different from the next. However, with the help of colorist Wendy Broome, they all blend so well together. I can't wait to see more of this Batfamily and their "giant plans".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC Comics: Bombshells #22

Dec 22, 2015

Things are getting dark overseas for the Bombshells. Evil magic and PTSD can put a strain on characters. I am surprised at how deep this comic is getting with Steve's condition. We've seen stories about soldiers suffering from mental and physical damage, but to see it in a comic is"surreal. Leave it to DC to get deep. I must say I am loving Laura Braga's art. The sharp lines and shadows keep everything sorta edgy while still giving room for femininity in the female characters. Colorist J. Nanjan gives us some great depth and a real creep factor to the tenebrae. I do smell a Wonder Woman/Von Gunther smackdown on the way, and I am loving it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
DC Comics: Bombshells #23

Dec 27, 2015

If you don't think this issue is a tearjerker, you should go back and read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC Comics: Bombshells #24

Jan 3, 2016

These are the kind of questions Bennett probably wants us to ask ourselves. I have to say 'thank you' to colorist Kelly Fitzpatrick for keeping it nice and bright and for penciller Mary Sanapo for really outdoing herself with this one. Sanapo kept the art light, but full. The faces of the characters looked great. From the hair to the eyelashes to the decaying tenebrae. Despite the great work, there are a few hiccups. For instance, before Mera is grabbed, it seems she's missing a foot. Not sure if the bubble underwater is supposed to cover it, but it just looks like a nub with black crosshatching on it. Also, the hands sometimes looked clawlike. To end on a positive not,the bubbles and the hair flowing underwater really added to the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
DC Comics: Bombshells #25

Jan 12, 2016

This issue has a sort of Disney-esque style. The faces of our heroines are a bit rounder, and the eyes are bigger. The bodies aren't so slim, but it's a nice look. Even in a dark mood and setting, the colors are bright. Kortini's flashbacks take on a brownish hue, giving the panels a warm feeling. The shadows are done well, and the varying line weights match well with the different parts of the story. Props to this great Ant Lucia cover. The blurred parts of the cover really give off a sense of movement, and all the greens bring out the red of her hair and the gold of her accessories. Truly a nice cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
DC Comics: Bombshells #26

Feb 4, 2016

Bennett's character development for Kortini has been great. She's a shining star.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris #1

Jan 27, 2016

It is only a first issue, but we know we are eventually in for some action thanks to that little scene at the beginning. Frank Barbiere does lay it all out for us, but its only the beginning, and you are left with some unanswered questions. The art is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dejah Thoris #4

May 11, 2016

Dejah Thoris isn't a bad book. Dejah Thoris isn't a bad character. A bit stubborn, but aren't we all. Maybe all this will come back to bite Dejah later on. Maybe it'll come back to bit me later on. The only way to find out is to keep going, and that it what I intend to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity II #2

May 23, 2016

I don't always read Valiant, but when I do, I love it. I was given the opportunity to read Valiant since it was a publisher that I hadn't really considered. Since Divinity II was just starting, I decided that it was the best way to go. Reading Divinity opened my eyes to Valiant, but Divinity II suckedme in. I will be sticking with Divinity II and Valiant, and I recommend that you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity II #3

Jun 23, 2016

Trevor Hairsine's art is like a photo being digitally transformed into a cartoon. Ryan Winn's inks and David Baron's colors complete the image. I think these three are the only ones that can make rotting flesh look good. I know its not supposed to look good, but I don't need Zombie Divinity right now. It would be a bit distracting. I've said this before, but I don't like a lot of inks in a comic. However, Hairsine and Winn can tie it all together in a visually pleasing way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elektra (2017) #5

Jul 13, 2017

If you have never read an Elektra book like me, then I'm sure you'll like this. Its a great starting point for blossoming Elektra fans. At the end of the book, they show you a group of characters we are sure to see on Elektra's journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Generations: Wolverine & All-New Wolverine #1

Aug 16, 2017

Generations: All New Wolverine & Wolverine #1 is a perfect balance of action and heart that's part of the Wolverine charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham City Garage #1

Aug 16, 2017

Sugar, spice, and edgy motor bikes is what Gotham City Garage is made of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gutter Magic #1

Jan 13, 2016

Rich Douek paces this book really well. There were plenty of opportunities for predictable turns, but Douek surprised me with some of them. Of course you still have your common thief on the run story, but it is still a good read. The marketplace chase just might be my favorite scene because of how cool it is. Also, points go out to letterer Nic J. Shaw for putting up with those magic symbols and incantations. Now that the fantasy and steampunk side of the story has been set up, it will be interesting to see how the modern world will play into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gutter Magic #2

Feb 9, 2016

If I could get Rich Douek to make this an ongoing series, then I most definitely would. Even though its only a four part series, Douek paced it very well. Nothing is rushed, which makes me feel as if it could go on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gutter Magic #3

Mar 11, 2016

Brett Barkley's art and Jules Rivera's colors are still good. I love seeing the bright and intricate designs when it comes to spell casting. I am no longer bothered by all the hatching because it just looks right with this book. The city and skylines look absolutely fantastic from different angles. The way this creative team handles fantasy characters and creatures is really nice to look at. Nothing is over the top and nothing is lacking. I love the color schemes of the clothing, buildings, and sky. The palette blends well and gives off a fantasy steampunk feel that the story tells. Nic J Shaw's lettering isn't so bold, and can be a calm element on the pages. Even without the use of giant speech bubbles, Shaw's lettering still holds all the emotion to it, along with Douek's words.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms #10

Dec 31, 2015

The art of this book is very stylistic. You can't hate it, but you also don't love it. Rio is no longer the pretty boy he was before. Roxy' jawline is more chiseled than it used to be. I have nothing against a woman who isn't traditionally feminine, but she usually was. Also, everyone looked a bit similar. Same general face throughout the book with a few minor differences. I did like the monochromatic flashbacks. It wasn't anything fancy, but it fit well. I do long for a consistent artist on the book, but I'll have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms #11

Jan 27, 2016

Kelly Thompson really knows how to carry a story. Even though it jumps back and forth between the Misfits and the Holograms, it is mostly easy to follow. Also, I never have to worry about plot holes or anything like that, because the story flows from one issue to the next. All you have to do is go back and look if you aren't sure about something. If you want to feel some emotions but still get a great story, then I suggest a Kelly Thompson book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Jem and the Holograms #12

Feb 24, 2016

Sophie Campbell's art is just as responsible for this dramatic change. The Holograms look as if they shop at Hot Topic. No offense to anyone who shops there, but I know I would be too chicken to wear some of the stuff in this book. All the black really clashes and blends with the colors the Holograms are known for. It is so fun to look at all the different bodies and faces of characters. I love when an artist has no problem changing up features. It may sound like nothing, but if you look close enough at some artists, you can see it. Campbell's work is always good work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Jem and the Holograms #13

Apr 7, 2016

I'll never get tired of Sophie Campbell's art along with M. Victoria Robado's colors. Everything pops out, and the colors are so vibrant in every panel. Sophie Campbell has kept her characters from looking the same, and I really appreciate that. Jem and the Holograms is a really good book. for everyone. The visuals and story really get to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms Annual #2015

Dec 21, 2015

So many art styles in one book. I love it. Everything was, of course, very Jem. Even though Aja was in a post-apocalyptic world, I didn't have to worry about anything being dark and grim. I am all for comic books going deep into character flaws and personalities. Even the dark parts of the mind are interesting to see in a book as cheerful and bright as Jem and the Holograms. I believe this book can connect well with its audience this way. Its okay to not be 100% all the time and things will come together in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Jem and the Holograms: Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 10, 2016

Overall, there were some great spots that caught my eye. That variant covers are beautiful, and the regular cover was pretty interesting to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jem and the Holograms: Holiday Special #1

Dec 17, 2015

In some parts of the book, the art was great. In other places, not so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Kingdom Bum #3

Feb 17, 2016

It is unclear whether or not the story is going to follow a certain character, or if it will continue to show what is happening with each character. I wouldn't mind either way because it wouldn't take anything away from the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lumberjanes #36

Mar 22, 2017

To end on a positive note, the Lumberjanes is a book that seems to project some hidden messages. Sportsmanship, Friendship, and teamwork come through in the end. I don't know if that was Watter's and Leyh's intention. However, that's just how I see it. Lumberjanes is a book for your young sons and daughters. They will enjoy it, and maybe you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Merry Men #1

Jun 12, 2016

I feel like this is a book that you could give to younger people. I'm not saying just throw the book at small kids because I wouldn't recommend PDA to any kids. However, this book could be classified as friendly enough for younger audiences. Perhaps pre-teens? This book is very LGBT heavy, and I believe that's a good thing. With all the hetero-normative books we have, why not decide to change it up a bit. Again, I don't know how realistic this time period would have been with the LGBT themes, but its a comic book. Not everything has to be realistic. Plus, it might take away from the good story that is unfolding, and that would be boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #7

Oct 13, 2016

I had almost forgotten about Sana Takeda's fabulous artwork. Monstress is beautiful from the front cover to the back cover. The browns can lookmuddy, but there's always color there to compliment it. Whether its gold or blue or orange, the fantasy or steampunk aspect works. I really like the contrast between the humans and the Arcanics. Everybody is humanoid, but have distinguishing features. If everyone looked the same, that would be boring. Thankfully, Takeda knows how to make some magic. I really couldn't see anyone else handling the book but this duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Motor Crush #2

Jan 12, 2017

Tarr, Stewart, and Fletcher seem to be character/world building at the moment, and its working out just fine. As long as its not hindering the story, it'll flow. I have no doubts for this book. Motor Crush is only in its second. Therefore, we have a ways to go and plenty of time toadd on to this book. Slow and steady wins the race, but not for Domino Swift. I can only imagine the angst, sadness, anger, and hopefully joy that will come with the next issues. It's already been a bumpyride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #3

Dec 5, 2015

Warning to parents and young children! The language is heavy. This is not a book for kids, but mature readers can definitely get a kick out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #4

Jan 6, 2016

Cliff Chiang and colorist Matt Wilson are a good team. The blues, purples, pink, and browns of the book create an interesting flow. The monochromatic rainbow of colors during Tiffany's flashback fit well with what they were trying to convey. That being said, this story was very cinematic and would serve well as a 1980s movie or cartoon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #5

Feb 17, 2016

If you thought the apocalypse ushered in by time traveling soldiers was an adventure, just wait until this story unfolds. Even though we are at issue #5, so many things have happened, but so many things are about to happen. Brian K Vaughn really knows how to excite his audience. Just when you thin things have almost gotten itself together, there's more exciting new obstacles. Cliff Chiang's art on this book is so great. Paired with colorist, Matt Wilson, make me hopeful that the creative team will not change. There is a bit of a Back to the Future feel in this book, but I am loving it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #6

Jun 4, 2016

So many looses ends have surfaced in the span of 6 issues, but I know it's all going to come together beautifully. Now, I feel like I need to go watch Back To The Future or something. Time-space continuums are all cool until you really have to think more about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #14

Jun 21, 2016

Good writing and art like this make me wish I had got into Valiant sooner. I am about to go back and read the other Rai books. While I have some catching up to do, I want you all to read to jump in to Rai. I sure will be staying on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Sonja (2016) #2

Feb 13, 2016

Marguerite Bennett is great at building up a story. There is also a pattern to her work. This issue portrayed Sonja better than the last one. Not because of Sonja's identity crisis, but because of the way she leaps into action. Aneke's art is always good to see. That Cheshire cat grin comes up again on another character, and its pretty funny and creepy. I am glad that Aneke can portray such emotion on the faces of these characters. The page during the theater brawl was jumbled, but it had a lot of dynamic panels. I have to applaud Marguerite Sauvage on her beautiful covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Red Sonja (2016) #3

Mar 11, 2016

Aneke's art is great. His facial expressions are so funny. Seeing King Savas get angry with those facial expressions is priceless. However, Aneke does give him a regal look of sort while showing his true colors. I would have liked to see more of Savas's grand castle from the inside, but I'm not too picky about it. The way some of the hands are drawn could use some looking over. In some panels they look fine, but in other pages they look awkward and stiff. The fight scenes are great shots, and his open panels are pretty good. I love splash pages, and can count on Aneke for good ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Sonja (2016) #4

May 1, 2016

Bennett and Aneke really gave that issue that I was looking for. We're moving forward in the story. Aneke delivered on the dynamics in a pretty good fight scene. No blood (like I wanted), but still good. Hoping to see some heads roll next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Red Sonja (2016) #5

May 11, 2016

I will honestly say that Red Sonja may be lacking. It really needs some excitement in the book. There is always issue #6, so it can't get worse. I'm gonna be patient with this one. It may be worth it later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Sonja (2016) #6

Jun 23, 2016

This issue was much better, and I will be staying on to see the story continue. Yes, I am pleased with this book now, and no, I don't think I will be giving it up anytime soon. I am now eager to follow up on it. There are a few loose ends to tie up, and I'm sure there are plenty of other challenges to be met. As this story arc ends, I hope that this is just the beginning of the rest of Sonja's adventures. The soul of Hyrkania must triumph, and it will.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riftworld Legends #1

Jul 14, 2017

If you like fantasy and adventure books, then check out Riftworld: Legends #1. As a matter of fact, this book is free on Comixology, so what are you waiting for? I'm sure Williams and Wong has more lore for readers to discover.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riftworld Legends #2

Aug 2, 2017

Adventure/fantasy comics are fast becoming a genre that I will have to keep my eye on. Riftworld Legends is one of the reasons why. It certainly deserves a place in my heart next to Jeremy Whitely's Raven the Pirate Princess. Make sure you pick up your copy. This story is gonna keep getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Satellite Falling #1

May 11, 2016

I have come to trust a lot of indie books for good stories, and Satellite Falling is no different. I can already see this becoming one of my fave IDW titles next to Jem and the Holograms of course. I had no idea what I was getting into when I was presented with this book. I had no idea what I was in for just looking at the cover. Now that I do know, I want everyone to know that this book is definitely worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Satellite Falling #2

Jun 2, 2016

There is gonna be a bumpy ride ahead, so fasten your seat-belts and get your feels in check if your're an emotion sap like me. Satellite Falling has me eagerly waiting for the storm that's coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shaft: Imitation of Life #1

Feb 9, 2016

If you are uncomfortable with slander, then I don't suggest this book. If you are not okay with violence and blaxploitation, then don't read this book. However, this book is a decent read. From the cheesy mustaches to the ugly vests and turtlenecks, I guess Shaft gives a good portrayal of those old 70s movies (I didn't grow up then, so I wouldn't know). David Walker tells a good story. Throwing in flashbacks of Shaft's life helps to put his point across, Shaft's inner monster. Along with that was a lot of inner monologue. Detrich Smiths art is great. However, some of the panels from the fight scenes could be a bit more dynamic. I sure didn't see as many Afros as I expected, not that its bad. It just surprised me. Yes, this comic is a full of stereotypes, but they don't take much away from the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Shaft: Imitation of Life #2

Mar 11, 2016

Dietrich's art is great. I love the bright colors and great fashion. I don't know much about the 1970's, but I feel like this story and art gives a pretty good look into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #0

Aug 16, 2017

Could be better, could be worse. For a free issue, no harm done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Snotgirl #1

Jun 21, 2016

I kinda like the style of the book. Leslie Hung keeps it nice and colorful. I really love colorful art if you haven't guesses already. It almost reminds me of the bishoujo style of anime and manga that I have come across in the past except there is a noticeable difference. It is a good different, and it looks good for the most part. I wasn't a fan of the long fingers or some of the facial expressions, but Leslie Hung has a great art style. I know this may sound redundant, but I hate the snot! No amount of cutesy art will ever make that amount of snot okay in my book. Hung just gives it this really gross look to it. I know its snot guys, but I just can't. I am liking Hung's work, so I will try to keep with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Biggest Bang #1

May 22, 2016

This book isn't all bad. I now want to read Bigger Bang, not just to answer some of the questions I have in this book, but to actual read and study it. Yes, my comic book reading is methodical. Mixed feelings are continuing to grow by the end of this book. I know art isn't everything, but art is my life. Biggest Bang does seem to have a decent story, so I think I'll stay on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Biggest Bang #2

Jun 27, 2016

I may have ragged on this comic in the past, but it's getting hard not to like it. It has everything you want in a sci-fi comic book, Cosmic protectors, aliens, advanced technology, and now the destruction of all life and the universe. Fun times. DJ Kirkbride writes some incredible sci-fi adventures while filling in the genre gaps to make a well-rounded story. Between you and me, the romantic tension between Wyan and Cosmos is too good to throw away. I can't help but get the feeling that this writing s somewhat similar to older comics that were written to get shock value out of young readers. Nothing wrong with that because Kirkbride, along with Gotgzilas, is definitely winning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wicked + The Divine #19

May 9, 2016

Its really hard to find fault with Jamie McKelvie and Matthew Wilson's art. So I'm just gonna say that I truly enjoy it. Even when there are panels in almost complete darkness, Wilson still finds a way to throw in some nice colors. McKelvie's designs are incredibly fashionable. Not just the character style, but Valhalla and other cool buildings. Zero arguments against McKelvie and Wilson will be found here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #24

Dec 14, 2016

Anyhow, The Wicked+ The Divine #24 is just the start of another journey for Persephone and crew. Like I said, this book just keeps on rolling. I know I said to keep an eye on Woden, but a certain cult seems like its waiting to pounce. I hope to see a few more surprises here and there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
There's Nothing There #3

Jul 6, 2017

As long as the story progresses at a good pace, then There's Nothing There will continue to be on my list of recommendations.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Throwaways #1

Jul 8, 2016

The art of Steven Sanders differs from other comics for its not so in your face colors. That isn't to say that the colors are dull, but it is a bit earthy and calm. Also, Sanders uses a bold outline to his art. It makes things stand out from the background well. The closer it is to the audience or "camera", the bolder the outline. Both of these things is something I like in certain books, and they both mesh well for this comic. Moreover, the backgrounds complete the image, but seem to be muted to keep it from distracting the foreground. There are a few things misplaced, like Dean's wound, but it something so small that you might not notice. Sure these things annoyed me in the past, however it doesn't seem like a too constant thing, so I'll let it go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Ultimates (2015) #2

Dec 10, 2015

The Ultimates is one of those books that you read to get pumped.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Ultimates (2015) #3

Jan 6, 2016

Kenneth Rocafort and Dan Brown really came through in this book. The amount of detail in this book is incredible. From the alien plant life to the spaceships to each character's look. However, there are a lot of lines on the characters' faces, especially with Blue Marvel. I'm not sure if its to show age or depth, but, there are a lot of them varying from character to character. The very dark spots under the eyes of the character are a bit much. Also, the jagged shapes and lines can still be seen in most panels. Not a fan of them, but in some places, they serve their purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ultimates (2015) #4

Feb 14, 2016

Kenneth Rocafort's art is wonderful. His eye for detail is always on point. The monster on the cover proves this. He is great at showing age difference in Blue Marvel just with a few strokes. I love that. Sometimes, the characters came of as posey, but it wasn't to big of a deal. Some of the characters tend to fall by the wayside a bit. A big team effort is really in order here. This was a decent read, and I'm still expecting great things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Ultimates (2015) #5

Mar 27, 2016

Al Ewing is great for bringing these heroes together. They just work. Ewing's writing is pretty smooth, too. It's like watching a movie or a big budget TV show. Now can you imagine an Ultimates how or movie? I can. The way Ewing keeps going, its gonna be an uphill battle for the Ultimates.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimates (2015) #7

May 12, 2016

I am glad that Kenneth Rocafort is back on the book. No disrespect to the artist on the last book, but some of the art didn't do the book justice. Rocafort is in no way flawless, in my opinion. The dark bags under the eyes still bug me. However, it isn't enough to make me want to stop looking at it. I enjoy Rocafort's art, and I can get past the small things. Usually. I also love Dan Brown's colors on the outline of the panels. It kinda makes it stand out and not so boring. By the way, whoever is in charge of America's designs are doing a great job. All in all, the book is very vibrant, but easy on the eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Vampirella (2016) #1

Feb 29, 2016

Eman Casallos's art is pretty good. Sometimes the characters can seem a bit stiff, but other times the characters are done well. He does well with expressive faces, and the dramatic scenes seem decent. Kate Leth's writing was alright. Again, I have no prior experience with Vampirella, so I don't know if the character was spot on or not. However, some things did have loose ends. It is the first of the new series, so I can give it time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Vampirella (2016) #2

Apr 7, 2016

I was a little bored reading this book at first, but now I'm a bit more interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Vampirella (2016) #3

Apr 25, 2016

There are a few positives. Juliette is experiencing some growth. Although she went from smooth and mysterious to can't handle some of these situations. That's not necessarily a bad thing. She is a (mostly) normal character who is relatable. I do enjoy the character designs. The fashion and the way they make the monsters look bad is good. I do see the characters aren't too serious, and that really balances the moodiness.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Voracious #1

Feb 3, 2016

This comic almost seems like one big movie reference. From Aliens to Superman to Jurassic Park, we get a little bit of all these titles in one, and it blends together so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weird Love #18

May 24, 2017

In conclusion, Weird Love has been a mixed bag of good and not so good. I love the art of this time period, and it makes the books more fun to read. I will be following more of Weird Love. Love is in the air!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
World Reader #1

Mar 22, 2017

I just know World Reader is going to be a great adventure to keep up with. If Juan Doe's art doesn't keep you on this book, Jeff Loveness will.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wynonna Earp: Legends #1

Nov 23, 2016

Lastly, IDW has sold me on Wynonna Earp Legends: Doc Holliday. I would say the pros of the book is its easy readability. Cons for the book: Its way too short for my liking. If you're looking for good reading, pick up Wynonna Earp. Now we wait for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Yakuza Demon Killers #1

Nov 17, 2016

Yakuza Demon Killers is going to be a tough ride for Ochita and Rizzo. Watch as the stumble, barf, and ride their way through. I know I will.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More