Anubhav Dasgupta's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Addicts Reviews: 44
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
47 Ronin #1

Nov 16, 2012

Sure, 47 Ronin doesn't feel as grand as some of the other comics in stands right now, but it was well written, brilliantly drawn and for a first issue that has nothing but set-up, it was brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Adventures Of Superman (2013) #40

Feb 3, 2014

Max Landis, for all his claims of being someone who really understands Superman, is unable to project his voice on page, or even the Joker's. Couple that with Jock's grunge kinetic artwork that fails to work with a story about two people talking, and you've got something that simply doesn't work. Even though Landis' story has some interesting ideas, it fails to take off and results in a dull affair, the mediocrity of it heightened by the fact that it is the work of two of the more talented people in their respective industries.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Alex + Ada #1

Nov 13, 2013

My main gripe with this comic is that nothing really happens until the cliffhanger and it'll probably read much better in a collection. But it's got me hooked, and I'm looking forward to #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.4
Avengers: Children's Crusade #1

Mar 13, 2012

Till next week fellow comic fiends! In the meantime – here's something special, a preview of an in-the-works article coming soon about the stupidest heroes you've never heard off:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Long Death #3

Apr 25, 2012

Read it if you're a BPRD fan. If you aren't, get your hands on every BPRD TPB you can find because this is comicbook manna and you're missing out on something magnificent.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: The Pickens County Horror #1

Apr 2, 2012

So if you like intense action and a unique plot and definitely if you remember and even slightly liked the original series, somewhere deep down inside in the blackness of your psyches secret chambers, you should give this a shot!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Incorporated #10

Apr 29, 2013

I know I'm preaching to the choir but do not f***ing miss this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Beasts of Burden: Hunters & Gatherers #1

Mar 20, 2014

It's quite funny that a watercolour comic-book about talking animals succeeded where many other horror comics or books or movies, even, have failed: it made my heart pound in primal fear.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bedlam #1

Nov 7, 2012

Bedlam is an interesting comic. It doesn't entirely succeed in what it set out to do, but it does fare quite well and has a very compelling story to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jun 18, 2012

All in all, a very good comic, one that DESERVES your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chew #31

Jan 29, 2013

Rob Guillroy's art is, as usual, amazing. A perfect half-pair to Layman's whimsical writing style if there ever was one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Coffin Hill #1

Oct 14, 2013

I feel this comic is going to read much better in a trade, but this single issue is so dull that a five hour French art-house film might be more exciting in comparison.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dancer #1

May 28, 2012

Read this. Read the living hell out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Daredevil (2011) #29

Aug 5, 2013

Ending with the most unexpected cliffhanger in months, Mark Waid's Daredevil continues its winning streak. If you haven't picked this up, yet, I highly suggest that you do so. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Debris #1

Jul 31, 2012

Well, it's only issue one" Maybe I've been too spoilt by Saga, but what the hell.I'm curious as to where this comic will go. This is one of those comics that get better with each issue, I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Demon Knights #21

Jun 17, 2013

I hear that Demon Knights is going to be cancelled soon. It will be dearly missed, but I've got a feeling it's going to go out with more than a little thud.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Earth 2 #1

May 7, 2012

Despite a lackluster first issue, I've got a feeling Earth 2 will get much, much better. And even if it doesn't, I'll be reading it for Scott's art alone. And Atom is going to be showing up soon. Gotta love the Atom!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Edgar Allen Poe's The Raven and the Red Death #1

Nov 7, 2013

Fans of Edgar Allan Poe might find their feathers ruffled at the additions made to The Raven but fans of Richard Corben will be glad to have more of the master's works in their slimy hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairest #7

Sep 11, 2012

This comic is mandatory reading for fans of Fable, and non-fans will enjoy this comic immensely. Whoever you are, wherever you are, do pick this comic up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Happy #1

Oct 3, 2012

You'd think that so many years of writing, creating and mind-f***ing would have dried Grant Morrison's brain, right? You'd be thinking wrong. This guy hasn't left the playing field yet and he's still got a lot of winning hits left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hardcore #1

May 28, 2012

You'll love reading it. And most probably you'll like the ending more than I did. And I so hope it doesn't devolve into what I think it's going to devolve into.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #1

Aug 7, 2012

Pick this comic up. Read it. I doubt anyone's going to hate it. Marvel's got another hit on their hands after Waid's Daredevil began last year. And this may shape up to be even better than that.Definitely a Hawk-Aye!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 Annual #1

Jul 30, 2013

I think Matt Fraction's Hawkeye is the best thing to come out of Marvel in recent years and with comic-books about supporting characters such as Pizza Dog and Kate Bishop doing so well, it's no wonder why.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #5

Dec 10, 2013

There is not a thing about this comic-book that I dislike. And as a Hellboy fan, I couldn't love it any more. Even if you haven't been following the recent storyline, do pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infected #1

Aug 7, 2012

It's not a bad comic by a long shot, but it's not great either. Such a meaty concept could have been much, much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League Dark #7

Apr 2, 2012

Well, if you're thinking of chucking this issue, don't. The art is magnificent. Seriously, someone give this Admira Wijaya guy more jobs and sh*t. He's f***ing brilliant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lazarus #1

Jul 2, 2013

If there is one comic you have to read this week, let it be this one. You won't hate it. Chances are you'll love it. A fantastic, fantastic comic-book by true professionals, this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Locke & Key Alpha #1

Sep 17, 2013

There's one more issue left. And if Mr. Hill's lineage is anything to go by, all may not be well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mars Attacks #2

Jul 25, 2012

f Mars Attacks! continues being this good, then we're in for a treat! Don't hesitate to read this one. And if you're a fan of Chew, you should be castrated if you haven't started reading this one already!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Miss Fury #1

Apr 9, 2013

What may prove to be problematic is the direction they are taking the story. I won't reveal it to you, but I've got an inkling that after this fresh, fantastic start, Miss Fury will start to tread familiar pulp hero tropes. I hope it doesn't happen but even if it does, I'll be riding along because Madame Marla Drake has completely charmed me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mystery in Space #1

May 16, 2012

If you can overlook that awful eyesore of a story, this comic is a goddamn masterpiece. Do read if you haven't yet. And you might want to keep a tissue by your side while reading it. For, you know, the drool and the other bodily fluid (that I cannot mention on this site).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Powerpuff Girls #1

Oct 1, 2013

Children, just as it was with the TV show, will be enamoured by the comic for sure. Adults? Well, if you loved the show as a kid, there's no reason why you won't like it as a comic-book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ragemoor #2

Apr 25, 2012

And if you haven't read Ragemoor #1, don't be afraid to try this issue out. You can read and enjoy this one with little knowledge of what has conspired before.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Saga #5

Jul 24, 2012

If you haven't started reading Saga yet, you better start right now. You're missing out on gold. If you're already a regular reader, #5 may disappoint you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret #1

Apr 16, 2012

All in all, Secret #1 is a great start, and you should definitely check it out. For the art, and for the writing. And if you're a fan of heist films, or crime comics, avoid this only if you're a moron or retarded.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sex Criminals #4

Jan 14, 2014

Banned by Apple, called the best comic of 2013 by TIME magazine, loved and adored by people all over the world, second to only, uhm, Saga in epicness, Sex Criminals continues its home run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
She-Hulk (2014) #1

Feb 18, 2014

It is quite evident that Soule absolutely idolizes She-Hulk, and more-so than that, he sees this comic as a medium to satirize his own profession. The first issue was breezy fun; it'll be interesting to see how the comic shapes up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Men #1

Jun 18, 2012

Don't hesitate to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation² #1

Jun 4, 2012

I hope it gets better because this crossover has such a lot of potential. Also, you don't need to be very familiar with either series to enjoy this book. A superficial familiarity is enough to understand it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #17

Feb 11, 2013

Although it has a story that tries to be more epic than it actually is, and an ending that is more of a copout than anything, Swamp Thing #17 is quite enjoyable and a very fun read. But don't forget to check out Animal Man #17 before you read this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sweet Tooth #34

Jun 12, 2012

If you've been following Sweet Tooth, you'll love this issue. If you haven't, please check it out. This is absolutely masterful work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Talon #1

Oct 28, 2012

While you don't need to read Talon #0 to enjoy this comicbook, it's highly recommended that you do so as it adds to the character and gives a lot of essential backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #3

Mar 18, 2013

Three issues in, the quality of Todd has been fairly level. It is an unexciting comic book, but enjoyable nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Web of Spider-Man Vol. 2 #129.1

Aug 28, 2012

Read this if you're looking for twenty pages of fun, and it's a great jumping on point, too, even for the two people in the world who know nothing about Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More